paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park

Hollywood Sports Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
161Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 9030 Somerset Blvd
Bellflower, California 90706
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
davidholcomb Tuesday, October 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Usa Santa Clara
La river bed
Review: Pros:
Close to my house
$10 all day air and cheaper entry some times
Not crouded on weekedays

Cons:
Paint is expensive like a mofo
The guy at the air fill is disgruntled I asked him for some gun lube which took 30 minutes
Air fill takes a long time on weekends
you have to watch the 10 minute safety course
Refs dont ref fair except for a few
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SKI008 Saturday, September 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest-Cheaper, better airball field, better paint, but not as staffed and no "facilities"

Friendly Fire-Not around anymore, only 1 field, airball only, small, good to go on weekdays when no one was there

SC Village-Hard to rate, went during the heavy rains and field was flooded so only got to play on one field.

Review: I've been coming here for almost a year because I have a friend who's uncle is sponsored by them or something and can get us free air and entry. As good a deal as that sounds, I have rather mixed feelings about this place. Keep in mind, parts of this review have happened throughout my 1 year of use here, so not all of this happened in a day.

First off, the good:
-Facilities (Real bathrooms, vending machines, food, arcade, proshop)
-Nice air fill people. I've heard lots of guys say they are mean, but I've had nothing but good experiences with them. When I first got my matrix, it wouldn't shoot, so I gave it to one of the fill guys who played with it a little and got it to work. Plus, he did it for free and gave me a free air fill even though I hadn't bought air.
-Multiple Fields that they rotate so there's not long of a wait between games.
-Organized
-Safety: Refs are at the chrono making sure your gun is not hot. You have to attend a safety briefing every time you go. (Gets repetitive and annoying, but it's the thought that counts)

Now, the bad:
-Refs. The fields are large, and there just aren't enough refs to go around. I couldn't get a paintcheck called on myself so I just gave up and played on. Another time I was in a 1 on 1 shootout with a guy, I saw a ball break off his hopper and so did some dead players, he kept playing on, so I called a paintcheck. By the time the ref got there, he had wiped the hit, and the ref wouldn't pull him even with me and the dead players telling him he wiped. He then hit me with a lucky shot and we lost the game. (It was rec ball, but still)
-Wipers: Like said above, happens all the time. There are even people who will run up to you and wipe you down before you call yourself out.
-Fields sort of bottleneck: On 2 of the fields, you can''t easily go from one side to the other, there's only 1 or 2 ways to get across, resulting in standoffs that never end
-Expensive $25 for all day play, $10 more for air (all day) and the $60 for the worst field paint ever that you have to buy because it's FPO, though sometimes they use draxxus as field paint, most of the time it's this crappy stuff that Brass Eagle paint is better then.)
-Crowded: On weekends, there's probably at least 300 people there at once.

Overall, a mixed opinion, some days it's good some days it's bad.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

ajyizzle Sunday, September 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Good

* all the refs ive seen but 1 are very nice
* not 514621 miles away
* lil kids make me laff there
* lotsa first timers to help out/scare
* shop with most of the stuff u need
* 4 scenario fields ( apocolypse is n mad maxx r best)
* stadium
* free lockers ( if u get to them first but there r alot)
* vendos!
* right now its 15 bux to get in all day on sat n sun ( until nov sumthin 05)
* a couple of good deals
* refs stress safety
* they chrono ur gun and put a lil thingy on it so they dont have to check in field

Both
* they dont really clean up the scenario fields... could be good bcuz of all the brush makes it more realistic n camoflaugyyy... but then again its hard to move across sumtimes for example.. in the houses n stuff in apocolypse... in most of the rooms u cant get thru bcuz of the thick plants to the other rooms

Bad
* make u watch the safety video every time unless u memorized the rules and tell them
* the shop is over priced
* the paint is waaay over priced
* the whole place is over priced
* the 2 speedball places r to grassy/stinky/and they dont seem to clean up the broken shells much
* the walking doesnt seem so bad... but after a while of running and shooting u get tired of the long walks
* sometimes long wait times
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

FrontMenRule Wednesday, September 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sc village pretty good, Tombstone never been, Conquest never been
Review: Well hsp paintball park was the first paintball park i had ever played the game at and i think its a pretty good park. i really dont like the scennario fields all that much because the refs on the scenario field really suck. When u ask for a paintcheck on someone that is obviously wiping (i hate wipers) they kinda look at them and just say oh he's clean. but the new turf field is really cool. the only problems with it is that the sometimes deflate really fast, and the starting box is really gooy and slippery. i like the turf cuz i like to play the front or snake so its way funner to dive, but if u dont have a shirt under ur jersey ya get rug burn and it hurts a lot hollywoodsports paint sux really bad. and your only aloud to use their paint, but if you play speed ball all you need is paint that looks like theirs cuz they dont really check when ur in speed ball so just play speed ball and you dont have to buy their cheap, stupid, over priced paint

i gave it an 8 cuz its my home field and i like it their. all my friends go there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

flyersfan707 Thursday, September 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
tombstone, sc village
Review: i have played this paintball park for the whole time i have been paintballing and it is pretty good.

PROS
+scenario is good 4 fields
+speedball is good sometimes 3 fields sometimes 2
+alot nicer than most paintball parks
+nice refs
+turf feild is nice
+very safe

BOTH
+-alot of newbies

CONS
-FIELD PAINT ONLY the paint sucks
-some lazy refs
-there is only 1 speedball ref and he isn't even on the field
-it smells
-turf field is very slippery from paint on the break out area
-very OVER PRICED

Over all i think u should come try this paintball park, I enjoy it alot. it's the closest field to me so that is where i go
Last edited on Thursday, September 1st, 2005 at 7:25 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cbeyond Monday, August 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombstone, SC Village
Review: Ok well first things first, the refs. THEY ARE LAZY and most are rude. All they are supposed to do is blow up the field , yell 3-2-1 go that's it! And even that seems to be too tough for them to remember! They don't do paint checks, so u have to have one of your buddies to be the ref . (unless one of their friends are playing! then it's never fair) So if i could rate refs i would give them a -10000000000. The fields are in really bad condition they smell bad and the dirt tears up your pants and anything else. They only have 1 field at a time open, the turf field is really good except the fact the by the start box is so much broken paint is like running in grease so you get a late break. everything else is good.

Why tell someone they can start playing by 9 A.M. and then not even have the bunkers blown up until 10 A.M?????????
The prices are way to high 65 bucks for something i can get for $30 anywhere else???!!!! Hell, their field paint (white box) is shaped more like M&M's instead of paintballs!!!!!! Ever had Breakage issues????????. The entrance fee is $25 and that's to high as well, considering you have to pay an ADDITIONAL $10 for air? The only reason I go there is because its close to where i live.

Over all its a 5! And that's being generous
Last edited on Monday, August 22nd, 2005 at 11:55 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

noncab Thursday, August 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just about every field in Southern california
Review: The first time I saw HSP was on a trip back to Ventura from SC village. The place wasnt even open yet so we snuck under the old golf partitioning fence and took a look. Wow I cant even tell you hopw excited we were for the place to open. We were thinking this place was going to be our paintball Mecca. (And I remember when NAvaronne won the world cup) Been around a while.
WHAT A WASTE!!!
Let me start by saying it takes at least an hour or two when arriving at the field to start playing.
God forbid your gun goes down and renting is your only option. we took a freind with us to the park and this is what happens. First pay the enterance fee at the starting line. (Takes about 15 minutes)
Then Wait in line for your gun...then wait in line for your mask...then wait in line for air(the rentals were not gassed up)...then wait in line for paint.... then go to the worst chrono area you have ever seen....1 I mean crowded park and there was one chrono..Oh yeah then wait for the dumbest video you have ever seen..then you got to track down a ref and have him sign your pass. Then wait in line for the game to start.
DONT get me wrong the fields are tight....Except for one field with a lame maze in the middle oh yeah and BEE's. And that my freinds is where you will spend your day. The city maze is never available for walk onplay. And the mad max feild is flat out scary....Broken(I KID YOU NOT)Glass and more twisted pointy metal then you can imagine..
Last word..Refs are horrible. I can understand that this is a crowded field but please have some sort of control other than the 12 year old girl talking to us like 3 year olds for 15 mins when all we want to do is play. I love safety these refs are just lame.
All in all the most wasted excuse for a paintball field it is a crying shame.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HALOB1 Friday, August 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC
Review: GOOD:
nice people on the field
not a far walk from ur car
nice fields
theres a couple of great refs like 3
food by the paintball area
not a long wait like 3 min

BAD:
a lot of bad refs [lazy,dont check for breaks]
only FIELD PAINT thats like $50 - $60 for a case

Overall it is a very good field I would tell you to try it.And for the paint you can go to the paintball store around the corner and get the same paint for $20 - $30 cheaper
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

welts dont hurt Monday, August 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC VILLAGE, JUNGLE ISLAND, TOMBSTONE, ADRENALINE
Review: WOW! My friends and I played here for the first time. We played the sunday night session and I must say I was very impressed. One of the biggest problems I see with people getting upset at other parks is the un-organization and from my first experience here at Hollywood I would have to say this place has there System down to a science.

At first it took a little getting used to since the park is contained behind walls and fencing you have to be prepared to carry your equipment into the park since it's not as easy to go back to your car like at most of the southern California parks. No big deal though, they have lockers big enough for all your equipment. The staging areas are shaded and looked nice and organized.

The only down side if there really is one would have to be paying $54.00 for a case of there lopsided dimpled field paint. Everyone else has to use it so it wasn't such a big deal.

Air-fills were super fast and convenient.

The one thing I loved most about this park was the rec-ball field arrangement, One walkway leads to all the fields entrance, no walking half a mile to try to get to another field on the opposite end of the park. Whoever designed this parks layout was a frickin genius. The people that were there playing walk-ons were all very nice, I don't think I saw anyone with a bad attitude the entire night.

The refs and the way the reffed was awesome. They checked every single person for chrono tags, field paint, wristband. One the field they were very strong with the rules and during play they were on the ball checking for breaks. This was only a rec game and I felt like I was playing in a tournament, that's how good the refs were checking for breaks.

I really enjoyed my time at Hollywood sports and will definitely be back again. I didn't get to try the speed-ball fields this time around but I plan too the next trip.

If you haven't been to Hollywood sports park yet you gotta try it out.
Last edited on Monday, August 1st, 2005 at 10:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint.in.ur.fac Tuesday, June 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Pros:
The people are easy to get along with and are willing to help you with anything. (ie one of my friends gun was leaking and a random person took his kit out and fixed his gun in 30 minutes)
Turf feild is amazing.
Recball fields are awesome
Refs are on every paint check. (on the recball field)
Entrance isn't too expensive.

Cons:
Food sucks.
Speedball refs are lazy like none other.
Field paint only and field paint sucks.
Long walk for air from turf field.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media