paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field

Fox 4 Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
143Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 159 Milford Street
Upton, Massachusetts 01568
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Mechasquid Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire, Randolph , Boston Paintball, Canobie Lake Paintball and some place in Bar Harbor Maine.
Review: I dragged some new players to Fox Four today because i'd hear from people where I usually play that it was the best field around. They were right. The staff at this field is top notch. I swear the refs have radar or something. Everytime I called for a paintcheck the ref was BAM, right there. They pay a TON of attention to the game, pulling people when they get hit and showing no mercy to wipers.

You've read, probably, all the other accounts of the place so I won't bore you with "They have x fields and here's what they look like blah blah blah." I will say that their woods feilds are VERY clean. I may have just been euphoric about how well they run the place but I didn't find any thorns and I was crawlin' around all over the place.

They also cycle the games really quickly, so you're not waiting 1/2 an hour between games. There's like, just time to refill your pods, check you air and grab some water then bam back out.

So if you haven't tried it, give it a look. They have a couple of tournament fields too, I didn't play on them but they looked immaculate.

Definately 10 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

slow rush Friday, April 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
boston paintball-ok more $$ only speedball
paintballheaven-just plain sucks
osgpaintball-great but kinda far from my house
skirmish-huge, only go down for D-Day
randolph-not as good as fox4
Review: This is by far the best field in the state. It has a great ref staff, i am on a first name basis with a good number of them now since i am there almost every weekend. EXTREMELY STRICT ON SAFETY AND CHEATING. They also run great scenario games and they still always manage to keep their prices in check, paint is just a few dollars more a case than paintball wizard and you can always BYOP which is very nice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

lilrodyp8ntball Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
providence + sphere paintball
Review: pros
-very safe: safety is the #1 priority at this place

-great field: very big with a lot of well placed, natural and man made bunkers

-very professional: the people running the shop and the refs were very professional. they know everything there is to know about paintball

CONS
-none

bottom line-This place is awesome. i went w/ my bro and sum friends who never played and they had a great first experience and are going to buy some guns and play more often

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DJ ReAxion Monday, April 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire
Review: Fox 4 is a great field. Over 30 acres of woods, including speedball courses. The prices are great, and they even have special fun days, like if you wear a hawaiian shirt you get in for 10 bucks!

The Field: 30 acres of beautifully setup land.
Radar: A fun base that includes great shelters, cliffs to snipe from, and is themed with sattelite dishes as cover. Great fun defending this base because it is partially surrounded by a stream that has only one bridge, which makes enemys an easy target. Great elevated rocks with tree cover which is great for sniping!
Tombstone: A snipers paradise! Littered with elevated rocks, this place is perfect to nail down your enemies without them ever knowing where it come from. Includes a stream to with a bridge. Fun place to attack from
Some part called pilot: A smaller field that has tons of buildings with windows for awesome cover. Fast paced game that is alot of fun.
Pagoda: A huge part of fox4 that is damn hard to attack. It is easy to wrap around, but approaching is hard to get the flag. Theres a huge house in the middle that has windows that the defenders can easily shoot you our of. Takes some real tactics to excel here.
Main Street!: By far the best part of the entire field. Main street has little trees at its center. There is a clear street seperating the teams. Walls, trees, stacked logs, and sniper dirt piles are used for cover for each side of the team. Paintballers are only seperated by a 15 foot street, and no matter how well your covered you are guaranteed to be shot like 8 times. Main Street is a fast paced game that is usually played at the end of the day. The objective is to be the first team to get the 3 flags in the middle as fast as possible. This is near impossible to do without being shot. I went for a flag and was shot at least 5 times in the back while running back to our base. Why is this game always played at the end of the day? Because whatever paint you have left, is gone. I easily went through over 1000 shots within 2 five minute games. By far the best part of the day.
Speedball 1: Filled with airball cover, including a snake used to get to the other team, this is an excellent, grass field, and fast paced shooting game that is not only fun to play, but fun to watch. This is where the men are seperated from the boys. You rarely see a gun costing under 600 dollars here :)
Speedball 2: Similar to the first, but has a slight more woods environment and has rocks and large wooden spools as cover.

Safety: Fox4 is incredibly safe, possibly a little strict. Simply itching your eye by putting your finger under you mask while on the field will get you kicked out of the field for a half hour. Lifting your mask all the way up is automatic suspension from the field. Unless you are a good negotiator, i was caught with my mask up while defogging it, but I managed to beg my way into a one hour penalty. Its completely understandable the safety though, they could be extremely liable to any face injuries.

Rentals: For 45 bucks you get a stock 98 custom, barrel plug, 500 paintballs, a facemask (ask for a good conditioned one, scratched up facemask + fogging goggles = chicken with its head cut off), a harness with 3, 100 round pods, and free c02 the whole day. Self equipped is 25 dollars to get in a regular day with free c02. A regular full day is 10 o clock until 3:30.

Overall: Fox4 is a great place, a nice environment, and an awesome experience. First timers who rent will be sure to be buying a paintball gun in the near future. I played there one day, and had a tippmann a5 less than 5 days later! Fox4 = one of the best times youll ever have in your life!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

DYEkid888 Monday, April 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
boton paintball-wayyyy overpriced
friendly fire-no proshop...fields aren't great
not many others. i guess u could call fox4 my home field
Review: SAFETY- always the first priority at fox4. No one who goes to fox4 will leave injured. mask violations are never tolerated, doesn't matter if you are a new to the sport rental or a 55 year old. the reffing staff is absolutley great. lift your mask on the field...expect to a talking to and possibly sitting out a game but hey-i'd rather sit out for a game than go home with one eye. they do it completley for your sake.
STORE-best prices around.not just on equipment but paint too.they have a hug eselection of paint from pmi big ball-44 bucks to evil-56 bucks.
REFS-on top of everything. call for a paintcheck-you get a paintcheck. even if it means them going through a line of fire to get to you.if they think you are shooting hot they will spot check you, but it doesnt happen often.
OVERALL-This is definatley the best field i have ever been to. i have a gold pass so entry, air and what not is free. but 25 for all day play and all day air is good. you won't find a better filed with better prices, more friendly reffing staff, or better lunch(get the beef stew)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

charlesotis Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Fox 4 is a great field for any level of player. They have a knowledgable staff and full service pro shop. The field is kept up and is always changing. They also have 2 speedball fields. Fox 4 has Big Games and is now starting to have Tournaments. The ref staff is great and I have never had a bad experience their.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

eastwood2 Tuesday, March 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire, Upton (not nearly as good)
West End, Leicester (good, but much smaller)
R&R Paintball, Oxford/Charlton (store in Oxford; not sure if still going games in Charlton, or not)
Review: Convenient--off Route 140 in Upton, Mass.; lots of picnic tables for storing your stuff and for resting up for the next assault.

Good prices--$25/day for self-equipped, includes all day CO2 and HPA

Safety--these guys are nuts about safety and I like it! They don't kid around on safety and are always watching for violations. They also constantly remind experienced players to take it easy on newbies, which is great for you newbies out there. You know who you are. Everything is clearly marked and netting protects various areas from overshots. Chrono area full enclosed by netting.

Food--they have it if you want it. Lunch, snacks, soda, chips, etc. Reasonably priced.

Bathrooms -- several porta Johns that are well kept/clean

Pro Shop -- Very good pro shop with reasonable prices on everything. Try the anti-fog spray. Don't expect free repairs, but they will give advice.

Speed Ball Course -- new in late '03 is large and well-equipped. Located right off the staging area.

Excellent, huge wood ball field with many bunkers and natural protection. Swamp, creeks, rock walls, and more make for varied and exciting games. The right camo and techniques and you're invisible.

Friendly staff -- each team has at least one ref with a digital camera...ask for them to take your picture and you'll appear on the Fox4 web site within a day or two.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

EqualsP Thursday, March 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire (never been)
Camp Paintball (marginly better for different reasons)
Randolph (worse)
Hanson (much worse)
Review: the refs for the most part know thier stuff.. some of the younger ones are more interested in watching the game as a player instead of as a ref, or flirting with anything that interestes them. The older more mature refs do an amazing job.

the field's primary focus is Rec play. they have an interesting field layout that includes rock outcroppings, swamps, a western villiage and a small urban villiage. they do have a couple of speedball fields, they aren't on par with a field that takes speedball more seriously, but they are trying and the effort shows.

when I have been there, the Rec games are usually large groups, all the "non private" groups play together, this leads to some huge and interesting games. but sometimes 50+ vs 50+ on a fairly small field can get boring, and it turns into a paint fest. but they are used to handling such large crowds and pick games that suit teams that size. usually turning into full field games of capture the flag, football, attack defend, chicken in the trough.

safety is #1 (as it should be at any field) and have very strict rules to prevent people from lifting thier masks or doing anything that could put them or others in danger, the mature refs don't hold back and make sure the offenders know what they did was wrong, and why.

The rec feilds are primarily swamp and dense forest, forcing the experienced players to out maneuver the opposition and to think creatively instead of just run head first to the first bunker and spraying paint. Due to the landscaping, paint doesn't shoot all that far.

my one major gripe about this field is the over abundance of "pungy sticks" - those little 2"-4" high stumps that like to gouge shins and knees and are responsible for many a twisted ankle.. they are all over the place. from the in middle of the main walking trails, to key bunkers.

another rare thing that this field has is an onsite proshop with very competitive prices and also BYOP, running water, electricity and porta potties (and a REAL bathroom for women)
Last edited on Thursday, March 25th, 2004 at 12:25 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

03TiburonGT Wednesday, March 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire
Review: I played in the Fall Brawl Big Game 2003 three here and loved it. Great staff, awesome field and i definitely recommend going to one of their seasonal Big Games. I am not sure how big the field is in acres but i didn't cover it in a whole day. Overall, this is THE place to go in Massachusetts.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cali141 Saturday, March 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, except for the woods in my friends back yard
Review: Fox4 Paintball is an awesome place! All the people there, players and officials, are very nice, and willing to help out. The refs are very strict about safety, which is good, and they know what they're doing. They don't do paint checks often enough however. A few people who I shot wiped, which pissed me off. The fields are awesome! The majority of them consist of woodsball fields, although there sometimes aren't very many trees. They do have a speedball field, but I never played on it. My favorite field is "Town", where one team must get to the other teams flag and knock it over. It takes place in a(you guessed it) town-like setup of bunkers, including very small houses.
Fox4 also has special discount days for special occasions, such as St. Patricks Day. You can get in for $10 self-equipped if you wear green for that particular holiday. The shop is well stocked with mostly everything in paintball. They even have an antique set of guns (not for sale), including one of the first PMI guns. The paint prices are pretty good, and they have a very wide selection of paint.
This field deserves a 9 out of 10 because everything about it is awesome. Just one thing wrong: The refs should be a little more observant when it comes to people wiping after being hit.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media