paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field

Fox 4 Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
143Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 159 Milford Street
Upton, Massachusetts 01568
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
ohrob Monday, August 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I hosted a bachelor party at this place in August of 2003. I am not an experienced paintballer, but the vast majority of the party attendees are very experienced. Many of them told me that in comparison to all the other fields in Massachusetts and southern New Hampshire that they've played at, Fox 4 was the best paintball place they've been to because:

- It has the biggest and best-maintained field
- It had best rental equipment
- It had the most professional staff

While I'm not an experienced paintballer, I can tell you as the organizer of our private party of 20 guys, Fox 4 was nothing but professional and courteous at all times.

- Safety was always their number one priority.
- We got to play against each other only--not get mixed in with the public--since we had 20 people in our group. It was a lot of fun to know who was on your side and to know who you were shooting at.
- They were very clear about all of the rules, and they enforced them. We saw one guy get kicked off the public field for swearing at a ref.
- They allowed us to choose which games we wanted to play.
- They let us choose how long of a break we wanted to take between games.
- After our allotted time was up (10 to 3:30 is a full day), they let us play "Hunt the Bachelor and His Best Man (that's me)". Even as one of the targets in this game, I had a lot of fun.

My only criticism is of the kids filling the tanks and handing out the rental equipment. Compared to the friendly staff that we checked in with and the friendly refs, these kids seemed kind of surly. The owner and head ref told us to exchange our rental masks as often as we wanted to if we couldn't get them clean. I tried to exchange mine twice over the course of six hours of non-stop, hot and humid paintballing, and was turned down once and asked 20 questions the second time before the kid finally gave me a mask. But this is a very minor annoyance to put up with for a place that really knows how to to do it right. And I'm not just speaking for myself. I'm speaking for a group of 20 experienced paintballers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

spooky4747 Saturday, August 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
friendly fire (smaller and more difficult to find), not run to well
Review: The first thing I noticed is how friendly everyone is. Refs in the parking lot help you park.
People in the store are nice, and greeted me as if I was a friend. The registration area is covered, and they have hot chicks working for them!

Safety is the issue here. They stress it every chance they get. All markers are checked at the enclosed chrony area, and then tagged. Safety briefings are run at 9:30ish, and cover everything you can think of. The refs make it very clear that there is no tolerance of hot guns, overshooting, or bad language. They made two teams from the crowd that was there, and they started the first game at 10AM. Rentals are given a longer briefing because many of them are new first timers.

The field is humongous, I think they said it was over 30 acres! There are two WW2 tracked tank things, forts, bunkers, bridges, and endless stuff.

We played lots of games, and I think there were over 90 people today!

I hafta tell ya, this place rocks! Check it out, they let you even BYOP!! woo-hooo!!
FOX 4 thanks for being there!!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brandomaster90 Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I started playing paintball about 3 months ago anf fox4 intriduced me to it. They did a very good job! Going to fox4 is the most fun thing that has ever happened to me in my life. They are so nice and helpful. One time my gun wouldnt work right so they let me use one of theirs. They are so nice. And the field is spectacular.They have bunkers, forts, and everything else. They even have tanks! I went to the big game and boy was I amazed. Yes I was. It was just like a real live war. They had medics, which was really cool. When your hit you have to yell MEDIC!!! Then the medic brushes the paint off of you. Their was a swamp with really tall grass and we were fighting the enemy platoon and we didnt know where they were. It was the same for them. It made me feel like I was fighting in Vietnam. Because you never know where the enemy could be. It was really fun.

Fox4 is awesome if your looking for a war based game like me. I have heard bad things about friendly fire paintball which is the paintball field very close to fox4. But dont be fooled by its good website. I have heard that fox4 is 100% better than friendly fire. Trust me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kevin99 Sunday, July 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
friendly fire ,xfire paintball
Review: i love fox 4. the people there are so nice with the exception of that annoying kid that does nitro fill ups i think his name is scotty or something. he gave me a hard time. i love the field it is very big, almost 30 acres. its 2wice the size or the terrible friendly fire. this plce is the best field in the area. FOX 4 4 life. DONT GO TO FRIENDLY FIRE.



HEY FOX just lower ur prices in the store and ull be the best
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Minion450 Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all of them
Review: Overall this field is great. The big kicker is its bring your own paint if you have your own equipment. Even if you had to buy thier paint its still cheaper than almost all the fields i have been to. I highly recomend you try them out.

Pros.
$10 all day air. I know alot of fields do this but some still don't
BYOP. Totaly cool. No more spending $80 for $50 case of paint, but like i said thier prices are comparably good.
Refs actualy pay attention to you and the game, and they have been very friendly.
they have plenty of special days to help cut cost back and even printable coupons.

Cons.
the only problem is the path that leads to the fields cuts threw the fields, so there can only be one game played at a time. If they redesigned the path to cut along the outside of the fields they could play acouple games at a time. But this place is small so they don't really have the load to worry about that yet.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BEwasmyfrstgun Friday, June 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly fire ( SUCKS!)
Review: This is the field that brought me to the sport in March of this year. It is a wonderful field and i have become a regular there. If i had the cash id go every week. The staff is very professional and experienced. They are also incredibly friendly and WILL take the time to answer any and all questions u might have. The only problem i have is that they dont have any true forts. They do have many small sheds and bunkers but no real forts. This is not a problem because i am an energetic and risk taking player who will readily sprint out into the middle of the field blazing away without any cover. The price is great and they have special days where the price can be cut in half if you follow the theme of the day. All in all the field is the best i have ever played at. And i am completely devoted to it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rathbaster Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Camp Paintball (Kingston-My favorite 10/10), Ultimate Paintball (Whitman-Indoor,no comparison), Apache (Gone-Indoor but great in its time), Un-named field in Hanson (poor 5/10), Showtime (Freetown 9/10), P&L Bridgewater (8/10)
Review: Fox4 is a big field and is owned by the operators so it won't vanish (Like the old outdoor Ultimate Paintball) and is not on wetlands like Survival Southeast was.

Safety:
The first impression is that the refs take their work seriously. The briefing required everyone to come over and new briefings were held for each group. They clearly covered all the important things (masks, chrono issues, blind firing, bunkering, surrendering, gun hits, shooting the refs, and foul language) so I had no questions. That's a plus for completeness. They also require electros to have their rof on Semi. The only weird part was that they kept putting the chrono away in between games. (The chrono area is very well constructed and safe as well.)

Reffing:
The refing was fair and unbiased. Regulars were not favored over first timers or new comers. The older refs were clearly in charge and the youngest refs (kids) were defferential to the senior refs, they brought technical issues they did not have the authority to answer to the older refs. (I must say, the "short" refs were very proffessional in their behavior and very knowledgeable.)

I've seen the refs here usualy be very responsive to player interest. In one case, when all of the players seemed to want to revert to old fashioned flanking woodsball rather than paint hurling, they opened the boundaries to whole field in response and made the day even better.

The only complaints over the whole time I've used Fox4 are that their newer refs are sometimes sloppy (not paying enough attention and spreading out to keep an eye on things) and when a kid was "observing" (training?) he hung two barrel condoms around his neck and complained when people shot him. People aren't looking for two yellow spots on a guy in a paintball Jersey. He should have known better and had no cause to complain himself.

Fields:
Playing here is woodsball with cool games. They use a variety of objects (fake bombs, footballs and rubber chickens) for several variant games. Each game was long enough (15-30 minutes) for a lot of action. Down time between games was longer than I was used to, but the size of the fields and number of players were huge compared to other outdoor fields I've been to.

The fields themselves are well policed with bunkers in many locations. No neglect here, all bunkers are well maintained. Good terrain, ridges and brush for moving concealed. Could use a real fort, like a castle with ramparts. (I believe every paintball field should have one like Camp Paintball in Kingston.) Enough room in every game with 25 people per side that there were two games going on. The paint hurlers had the middle, us sneakers and snipers had the edges.

For those who like ballon fields, they've set up some tourney grade 'sup air fields. I like speedball once in a while but for me its not real paintball, just practice at communications and snap shooting.

Clientel:
The clientel was good and well behaved. The regulars are very cool and friendly. I came to trust them and admire their sportsmanship.

Prices:
Prices were reasonable for both field fee and paint. Air prices were also very good (they charged us 1/2 of the 9 oz fee for our 4 oz tanks). They allow BYOP with your own gear which is a plus, but they sell a wide variety of paint in the proshop. (I always prefer to support the field by buying their paint. The fact that they let me bring my own is usually enough for me to be attracted to their field.)

Food:
Food was available, a group of pleasent senior citizens came by and set up concessions. Prices were reasonable for a paintball field.

Downside:
Better shelter needed in the staging area.

Bonus:
They're open on Wednesdays in the summer! Great opprotunity when off from work to go and play midweek!

While not close enough to my house for weekly games, it is certainly a first rate field and well worth the trip.

Events:
Played in the July 19 Big Game. It was awesome. Well organized, point based scenario. Everything was clearly explained, rules covered etc. I saw few problems on the field and good sportmanship all around.

Pump Friendly:
As a pump player most of the time, I found that Fox4 was very friendly to pump players. The owners and staff (as well as the regulars) appreciate pumpers and I've always felt welcome on the field.

Note:
I edit my field reviews to keep them current to my current observations.
Last edited on Monday, September 29th, 2003 at 9:45 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PirahnaDS Thursday, June 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Heaven, MA
Review: After just entering the sport full time, thanks to my son, it took us a few fields before we found our Home. Fox4 that is. After just 2 visits, we bought ourselves some yearly passes, we already knew this field kicked some serious A.
Not for the speedballer (you know, those who enjoy playing on those fields with those inflatable lucky charms, boring with a capital B) it's definitely for the rec ball player (those who enjoy thrill and serious strategy.) Who can't figure out your opponent is behind the blue diamond? But when you don't know there is someone behind all those trees and pines or just where are those shots coming from? Enough speedball bashin, we're here to rec ball praise the field of Fox4.
Fox4 has tons of acerage and is even going to be opening more. Over 20 acres I believe. The field has heavy wooded areas, nice themed areas, swamps, rock formations, hills, all sorts of various bunkers (man made and natural,) rock walls, the list goes on and on. You name it they got it. And they play many varities of games utilizing just certain areas of the field as well as all of it. The staff is professional, safety conscious, and all around great. They are definitely there to make for safe and fair play.
My only complaint would be the early ending time, and the way the day ends. They end every day with a game called Main Street. This is the only time those "lucky charm" players would like it the most as it's closely most like speedball. So speedballers might want to show up at around 2:30 for their action. With limited players this game is not too bad, but with huge masses, it's not all that fun.
If any of the staff of owners are reading, how about offering a different option in another area of the field for those who don't like the Main Street game.
If you are serious about rec ball and you haven't tried Fox4, they you are definitely missing out. If you are serious about rec ball try Fox4, cause you'll DEFINITELY be back for more. And more and more.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vengeance0789 Thursday, June 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Boston High Speed Indoor Paintball, not as good for price or staff
Review: FOX4 is where I took up the sport. I went one afternoon for my friend's party and we all had a blast, 3 of us continued on with the sport and bought our first guns after we went a few more times, renting. The rental package, TIPPMAN 98 and 3000psi 47ci tank is great plus you get a 3 pod pack and mask. After the mistake of buying a JT EXCELLERATOR the staff helped me get back on my feet with a free rental so I could sitll enjoy my playing time. I rebought a Spyder Compact, and well that wasn't a good thing either turns out. Still the staff helped me throughout this awful time, yes awful. I then bought a Cocker and ripped up the course. I just want to let everyone know that FOX4 is the best field around for Masachusetts folk. Go there, you won't be disappointed.

NOTE: BIG GAME WAS AWESOME, NEXT 1 will be even better!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Piranha Master Wednesday, June 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None (This One is One Of A Kind!)
Review: This the best woods ball i have ever played and the staff and Field's are awesome! This Field is huge! It takes about 5mins to walk to the furthest starting point. It is really fun games that they play, they use a variety of games instead of the same ones over and over! The staff is really cool too, there is always alot of refs on the Field so fair games can be played. So over all this Field kicks A$$! -$$Piranha Master$$
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media