paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field

Fox 4 Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
143Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 159 Milford Street
Upton, Massachusetts 01568
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Redsoxrule Friday, November 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire
Canobie Paintball
Global Park (closed)
Paintball Heaven
Review: I went to Fox 4 to see how it compared to Friendly Fire. Overall, I had a good time. The staff was very professional, the games were exciting, and the gaps in between games were relatively short. However, I found the fields to be very restrictive because of excessive amounts of brush and lots and lots of mud. This was different from Friendly Fire, where the whole 14 acre field is used at once and it is relatively open. It is worth going to Fox 4 to try it out, but I just prefer Friendly Fire.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BladeSamu Wednesday, October 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've only played at Randolph, and it seemed to be mainly people renting, usually about 20 people total. It was 40 dollars to play there have free air and BYOP.
At fox4 we have huge 50 person games every day in recball and an excellent airball field. In addition, its 25 bucks to BYOP and play, or if you buy a 10 time pass for 100 dollars, its 10 times a pop.
Review: Quite simply, i believe Fox4 is the best field i will ever play at. Cheap prices, great refs, great people. The games are huge and fun, and you can always get the kind of game you want. As a bonus, they have a fully stocked pro shop that has paint prices that are competive with online prices. I've been to fox4 easily 8 times, and i plan on going as often as i can until i move out. If you're getting bored of your home field or are just starting out, Fox4 is definitely the place to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Goma Wednesday, October 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rather not say, don't want to appear dishonest in my assessment.
Review: This is my first time to Fox 4 and my initial impression was very positive. Registration was fast, and pricing to play is great. It is BYOP if you are self-equipped, but prices on paint was very competitive and no reason not to buy there. They have a very nice pro-shop and they were extremely helpful with a problem I had with my marker. The staging area is set up nice, with pleny of room and bathroom facilities, chrono area, and food is right there.

The refs' went over the safety instructions with everyone and I got the sense that they were pretty serious about safety based on their presentation. Based on my observations during play. I noticed multiple kids/teenagers messing with their masked but no one was ever ejected as the refs had indicated. Also, during paintchecks the ref allowed opposing team members to move up their positions when they clearly expressed they would not. Many of the rules they talked pretty tough about seemed to get ignored once play began.

Overall, I felt the refs only got involved if a player asked them to, because someone got angry. I just feel when refs are not involved, there is more cheating by players, and the whole day becomes frustrating.

The first game was an attack and defend type of game at the radar station. Our team was defending first and while we were standing in the radar station discussing the rules with the ref we were attacked and the ref's had to call everyone back because everyone was completely unorganized. Once that was down the ref gave us the go ahead and by the time we turned on our markers and turned around the other team was on us. It seems to me if you are to defend a position you should be given the time to get set up a little.

Trying to take the radar station is worse, the majority of the attack is walking through a swamp and when you get to the site, there is so much brush still in the way it ends up being just a huge waste of paint trying to attack this field. The whole encounter was not enjoyable.

The general capture the flag game was fun with a large field to cover, which means you had to search out the action a little, but overall enjoyable.

The football game was a mess in my opinion. If the object is to charge the football and move it forward then you should be given a minute to get your marker set and turned on before you tell everyone to go. Overall the game was enjoyable but it more a kill or be kill game on a small field. The part that was absurd though was after the game had ended and we headed back towards the staging area. We basically had to walk right through a private party game going on in another field. Seems to me they could have planned that better.

The next game was defend a bunker from a bombing, and again it felt that as soon as we were given the go ahead the opposing team was firing on us, with little time to set up. Overall the game was better than the first one.

Couple of other notes. The time in between games seemed excessive. I am use to a much better pace during the day. It seemed we spent more time in between games than actually playing which I don't like.

I also agree with a previous comment about trying to distiguish what the field you are playing in is, and where you objectives may be. It is nice to have so much land to work with, but it does not mean better play when you have little idea where everything is.

Also, they do have a decent food stand, but it takes too long to get a hotdog. It feels like they cook them one at a time, next time I will bring my own lunch.

I will give Fox 4 another try, maybe their big scenerio game in November. Overall, I just had more enjoyable experiences at the other fields I play at. The refs are very nice and friendly, they take an effort to get to know some of the people in the staging area. I do not believe they get involved as much as they should during the games though.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattyp151 Sunday, September 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
PnL - better, more open and more organized....ghost town is better
Review: Well, again on my quest to play all the good/popular fields in Mass, we stumbled into Fox 4 early sunday morning. We chose this field because of the pricing and the fact we've never played there. We got there and were very pleased to see a good amount of people there. The people at the orientation and registeration were ok, and they helped me get my gun below 280. However, I was shooting 282-277-280-275-284 on a five shot sequence and they wouldn't let me in. That was slightly disapppointing, but I'll get over it.

Now for the fields...the fields were rather unorganized, and it seemed every game had a field run into 2 or maybe 3 other fields. With 30 on 30 I understand how such a big field is a necessity, but the clearity of the fields were lacking. The Tombstone field, which is like an urban/town type field, we well built, the buildings looked good, but there were too many trees in the middle to shoot through and hit the other side. That problem seemed to go on in each game. Also, the teams started evenly at about 30 on 30 the first three games, which my team won all 3, and I missed the first two with chrono problems. However, a few people sat out the next two games and people coming in all got blue armbands, making it about 18 on 36-40. We essentially got steam rolled those two games, seeing as of the 18 on our team, about 9 were kids hanging in the back not shooting anyone. However, they did even the teams out after we got romped twice, and we proceeded to take the next three.

The refs were very fair, I didn't see them call any splattered paint as hits, like when you hit a bunker and paint goes thorugh a crack on to a mask. And they also had no problems checking paint and running out into the crap to check. Kudos to them for that, they take a beaten. They fixed the teams when they realized we couldn't stand up to 2 times as many people as we had to make it even again. They were very personable and would come up and talk to you about games and stuff. Also, the owner resolved an issue with no conflict in about 2 minutes, getting both sides of the story, and had each player shake hands. Good job by him to run a tight ship.

BYOP and free refills always score points in my book. Plus, paint was pretty cheap there anyway. 58 for evil and marballizers. everything else got cheaper down to about 40 for stingrays. They fixed my gun for me. Refs were cool, fair, and games had variety. Other than the very wooded fields, possibly too wooded, it wa a great day. I'd give it a 9ish for the refs, paint, and games variety, but the unorganized fields made it get lame at times. So I'm giving it a 7.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tc41s Saturday, September 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
boston paintball
Review: ya ive been playin xball here for the whole summer, and for the most part its been good besides the fact that the air ball feild is about the size of my driveway (not very big). If you know a ref there you will never be called out and it sucks. id give it an 8 if theyre werent cheaters there but there are so i give it a 4 only cuz the kids and most refs are cool there
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

idk120 Friday, September 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Um P&L bridgewater (doesn't even come close)
Review: This is a great feild. It is great due to its great reffing, strict safety policies and byop

Strenghts
*byop
*freindly staff
*nice airball feilds
*proshop and food stand are right next to the stagging area
*staff is willing to help you fix problems with your marker
*strict chrono station and regular spot check

Weaknesses
*none that i can think of except rough terain on the woodsball feilds, but that makes it fun

Well the day i went it was prorably 97 degrees out and i was wearing my hybrid pants and a longsleeve. Me and my freind decided to tough it out and play some woodsball games. I got frustarated during the woodsball games because of all the branches breaking my paint so we decided to play and airball game. We were instantly hooked. the feild is set up as xball and the games are so fast and fun. The refs were good and made good calls. All in all I would deffintly recommend fox4 as one feild that eveyone should try out in the New england area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CrazyRAMBO Tuesday, August 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Heaven
Review: This is one of the best fields i have been to. It has a very big rec ball field. The speed ball field is also cool. The refs are cool and nice. They also are very good on the rules of safety which is a big plus. The pro shop is cool. When your gun breaks you can go and get it fixed most of the time for free. Also you can bring your own paint who can beat that. IT is not that expensive to get in either.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

M Dogg Friday, August 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire, PNL Bridgewater, Westend, Providence Indoor
Review: Fox4 in my opinion is the best field that I have played at for a couple of reasons. First the level of professionalism on the part of the staff. Safety is a primary concern and they strictly enforce goggle and barrel plug rules. In order to make a safe and enjoyable experience for all. I seen a Ref let a concerned Father come out in the field to watch the games (with a mask of course) in order to get a better understanding of the sport. Second is the price BYOP and special discounted days throughout the year you can't go wrong. Basically any Sat/Sun you can count on having a good time regardless if you newbei squid or an experienced tournament player. There always seems to be a good mix of players at all ability levels to keep anyone interested. Fox4 sets the standard that all the other fields I played at are judged.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

justjoshin590 Tuesday, August 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played at friendly fire, its just not up to par with fox4, and not very visitor friendly
Review: When you first get to fox4, it has a good sized parking lot, so that isn't a problem. They have a well stocked proshop with people that will fix your gun for free, i wouldn't suggest buying anything expensive there though, you can most likely get it cheaper online. Before you play they have you fill out a registration form, which is pretty much strait forward. Minors need a parent there to play. All of there rental guns are 98c's with 48ci 3000psi hpa tanks, and they also give you 500 paintballs, a mask, pods, and a harness. The only complaint i had with the rental guns, is that when i cronoed it, it was shooting at 220 fps, if i just had my kit of allen wrenches i could of adjusted it though. If your bringing your own gun, you need to get in cronoed below 280 fps three shots in a row. In the staging area they have many tables to sit at and keep your gear on. Some of them even have roofs over them. They have a large speed-ball court with inflatable bunkers, and a very nice woods-ball area. Its got many bunkers, both open and heavy brush, and even bits of swamp! they have a LOT of refs there, and as long as you respect them, then you'll have a good time. They also do private party's, and let you decide what you want to do (im already scheduling my birthday there). They have many annual events, and a lot of scenario games. On a sunny Saturday, i have seen 80+ people playing woods-ball alone, they also have speed-ball tournaments with cash prizes. Just going to play woods-ball on a sunny day it has seamed like i mini scenario game, my favorite game type that they do however is ctf radar, you have to try it to see.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hobbes01721 Saturday, August 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire - I really enjoyed this experience, but I think that both fields have their strengths
Review: To every field, there's good and bad. Since nobody likes bad news, I'll do the good first.

GOOD:
-Some of the refs are experienced. I can't say professional, because they were fooling around during orientation. Don't get me wrong, I hate it when people take their job too seriously, but I believe this is one time where joking should not happen.

-Pro Shop. It's good to have a place on the field where you can buy almost anything. Their prices may not be the best, but you can't beat convienence.

-Speedball Field. Huge. Simply put. I think you could fit a 20 man game on that field. They must have 5 sets of bunkers on that thing.

-Woodsball Field. Huge. This can also be a negative, see below. I only used the woodsball field around 2 games, so I can't talk much about it, but I'll post what I know.

BAD:

-Refs. If the refs don't like you, they'll let you know. The employees in the fill station frequently seem disgusted with their jobs, and not pleasant at all. I know when I go to Friendly Fire, there's always a happy face in their air hut. Also, I had a couple encounters with some of the refs. I was playing speedball, and I called for a paintcheck. At this point, it didn't really matter, because it was a 3 on 1, and 2 of the 3 were members of the Fox 4 Factory, and the third person was a friend of mine who is really good. I was done anyway, but I wanted to go down fighting. The ref, I think it was Wookie, checked my head and as he was running back, he pushed my goggles down so that I couldn't see out of them. Not only is this dangerous, but I couldn't see. I asked him if he could fix it for me, but he just ignored me. That pretty much ruined my day. I was there a different day for a private party, which was going OK, until my brother needed to chrony his brand new gun. I took it in there, shot a couple shots over the chrony, and it shot hot. I guess it sounded like I was complaining that I needed to cut his spring out of the box, so the ref said, "You need to cut your spring. Get over it." I just turned and looked at him, and he tried to make it sound like he was just kidding, but it didn't work. They need to be more professional.

Pro Shop - I'm sorry, but if you buy a jersey on impulse because everyone else has one, you're not doing a good job at shopping smart. Buy online, it's cheaper and if you time it right, you'll get everything in on time. Sure, it's more convienient, but I'd rather order online and have something take 3 days to get here to save $30. Also, the techs in there charge for repairs that my local pro shop doesn't. My Impulse was broken out of the box, so they fiddled with it for a little bit and charged me $5. Now, that may not seem like a huge deal, but at Friendly Fire (sorry for the comparison), they'll work on it for free when they have a minute, even if they have to put off lunch for another 10 minutes.

Speedball - Ok. This is good and bad. It's good because it's huge, like I mentioned before. It's bad because it used to be a parking lot, so they just tore it up and put sand down. That is an interesting experience. My friend said that he's gone through 7 pairs of DYE C4s with his warantee.

Woodsball - Again, this is good and bad. There's a lot of brush, which makes it hard to move, and it's so big that it can get confusing sometimes. Also, it's 60% mud and wetlands, which is not pleasant to step in during a firefight.

All in all, I reccomend trying this field out, giving it a fair chance. I did, and it's a good field, I just like the other field in Upton better. I think everyone should play at both, and go to whichever one they enjoy more.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media