paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field

Fox 4 Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
143Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 159 Milford Street
Upton, Massachusetts 01568
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
joef0rd Monday, May 31st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
randolph - not nearly as good
pb heaven - not nearly as good
Review: Ok, this is by far the best field i have ever been to.
they have 20+ acres of land, a 10 man xball tourney field, and a great store.
their prices are unbelievably low.
BYOP!!!
also, the have the mindset of: BECOME THE BEST FIELD IN THE US! because of this, they are constantly lowering prices and making the fields better. everything keeps improving.
the refs are extremely well trained, and do a great job.
i would highly suggest this field to anyone anywhere.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phade Sunday, May 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Randolph Paintball, Boston Paintball
Review: The night before, check website. Very well done good photos and directions and info.

Arrive at 8:00 am sharp Saturday Morning. Premises look well maintained and ready to handle good sized crowd. Painless registraion. 25$ for self equiped. (good price) Self equiped are allowed to bring thier own paint. There is also a store on site that has good prices for paint. As opposed to some of the local fields that charge 90-100$ percase for recreational paint. This is a major plus! There was a wide selection of paint to be had.

There were multiple fill stations for both CO2 and HPA (3k or 4.5k). This is a major bonus. Nothing is more irritaitiong than having to wait in line for air while your friends are going out on another 'mission'.

Chrono station had plenty of room, very quick. Fox4 has very strict rules about over speed markers (exellent enforcement) There were a few random spot checks through out the day to ensure player safety. This is incredible, getting hit by a marker that is shoting hot is not the best experience.

The safety meeting was brief but well put. These folks are serious about safety. This shows that they are not only concerned about thier own field, but paintball as a whole. It was truly a breath of fresh air to have plenty of refferees watching out to make sure that everyone played safe and had a good time. (thanks Geezer!)

Rec ball (woodsball) there were a variety of diffrent fields in which a plethora of scenarios could be played out. Due to the lack of netting between the entire field could be used for large, target rich games. Great fun.

There was also a very well maintained Speedball field in which those with a taste for tourney style ball could play.

Overall: Safe field, family enviroment. Great set up for whatever style you play. The staging area could use some cover for the players though. I will definately be going again. Thanks to everyone there.

Matthew 'Phade' Matheny
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Omnifarious Wednesday, May 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
friendly fire paintball
camp paintball
randolph paintball
Review: Fox4 Paintball is the best field i have played on to date. the ref staff is the most proffessional, well trained, and curtious staff (they even have interns training to be refs designated by green). The rec ball games are interesting and insure lots of fire fight action throughout the day, wether it be a half day or full. The scenario games they put on are well thought out with action packed missions and target rich environments due to the popularity of this field. The price is easily affordable as they are one of the lowest prices around.
they have excellent prices on quality paint (something like 58.00 for a case of marballizer
which i use exclusively). Safety is continuously monitored by the conscientious ref staff; wether it be from the mandatory goggles on to the spot chrono checks on the field. ALWAYS
WEAR YOUR GOGGLES. If you have never played here i urge you to give them a try they are truly a spectacular field. You won't be dissapointed, and when you go to check them out i know you will agree.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Piranha32 Tuesday, May 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
friendly fire
Review: Fox 4 is the best place i have ever played at. It has great scenrio games and the 2 speedball courses are fun. also the woods are the I have ever been to. Thne top priority is saftey. I have seen many adults and some kids play there but its for al ages starting from 10 if you can't decide between friendly fire and fox 4 you should go to fox 4.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DrewRiggio Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure Games Paintball in Weare, NH (has it's good and bad points, but OK.)
Review: This is the second article in a series I am writing as a slowly tour the local paintball fields in the MA and NH areas. The first article was on Adventure Games Paintball. This one, as is obvious from the section it’s located in, is about Fox 4 Paintball in Upton, MA.

I’d heard good things about Fox 4 from a few friends and read some good reviews about it, so I decided to take a visit there with some friends from work on Saturday, May 15th, 2004. The field is located in Upton, MA. It is in a fairly convenient location for north-eastern MA residents, and took about an hour from the NH border to reach the field. The field opens its gates at 8AM, has its safety briefing at 9:30 AM, and has its first game at 10AM. My friends and I made the mistake of not showing up early. This is a problem because it’s a much busier field than we’d expected. It took some doing to find a free picnic table in the staging area and we had to park fairly far from the gate.

Lesson 1 – arrive early to get decent parking and table space.

We are all self-equipped. It cost us $25 to get in (less $10 for my pals for wearing a Hawaiian “loud shirt” because they had a promotion going on that day since they were wearing such garments, while I stuck with more traditional camo). Check in was simple and smooth. We purchased paint at the shop. Self equipped players may use whatever paint they choose at Fox 4. I saw that the people using rental guns were typically not having problems with breaks, so whatever field paint they use must be of at least moderate quality. I picked up a case of Marballizers and the three of us went into the field. The store staff was friendly and the service was quick.

As I said, finding a table was tough as we arrived just as they were starting the morning “safety speeches.” We listened and worked to get set up but missed the first game due to having only a few minutes to arrange ourselves. Free air all day comes as part of your field fee, so we get free HPA all day. Their filling stations are separated into 2 groups – CO2 and HPS. Both are set up with multiple side-by side fill stations. HPA users had fills for 3000 and 4500 PSI tanks available.

The staging area was very crowded. It might have just been that the promotion made them busy, but they were packed in pretty tightly. They could use a bit more room there. Also, the tables have no tents or other sun-blocking covering. You’re out in the open under the beating sun all day, which was not wonderful on an 85-88 degree day with 65% humidity. A big-top would have been a very welcome addition. The chrono range was set up assembly line style – in one door, chrono, get a zip tie around your gas line if you pass, and out the second door. It was speedy and efficient for the most part, but could be a little more spacious. The chrono range could use a few more test targets as well.

The refereeing staff was friendly and included a mostly adult staff, with a gray haired head ref called “The Geezer.” The guy is smart, nice, and seems like he’s been in the sport since Day 1 – he knows his stuff. They are all about safety and family fun there. Swearing too much can get you sent to the staging area, for example, and not only are you allowed to ask for surrenders, you are obligated to do so if within 20 feet of the target. They are very strict about mask discipline and barrel plug/bag use and get very serious about shooting over-speed paintballs.

The fields are mostly on fairly level ground with some dips and rises. We did play one that was a sort of Hill Assault with a radar station at the top. Most fields have fairly dense tree cover and plenty of wooden structures and bunkers to use for hiding places or fire bases. I did not see any large structures, however; no large buildings or 2-story castles or the like were seen. They have an inflatable X-ball style field and a tube speedball field. The games played on them were impressive but were all about taking out the other team, not flag grabbing.

A strange thing about their woodsball area: Unlike the field I wrote my first review about, Adventure Games Paintball in Weare, NH, they do NOT have netting on the interior borders of the fields or the paths to reach them. This means that while you are in transit to and from a field, you are in the effective range of markers being used on other fields with no intervening netting protecting the foot paths. This makes it easier to hold large, multi-field games, but it also makes it risky just to be walking to and from the field.


Summary: The field has a standard entry fee of $25 for self-equipped customers, with a higher rate for renters. The store prices for paint are decent. The field is clean and neat, but can be crowded. Players should try to arrive early. Play areas are decent but mostly wooden shack/bunker type, with no large buildings and no netting separating fields from paths. Staff is top notch and mature. There is no shade to be had anywhere in the staging area, detrimental on hot days. Overall a good play experience. Quick cycle time between games but no lunch break. I’d like to have seen some larger structures for assault mission games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nrtheastah Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I recently had the good fortune of visiting this field yesterday in anticipation of playing there soon and I have to register my comments here. While the fields are excellent, and laid out to maximize variety and game diversity, my strongest impression was from the level of professionalism displayed by their staff.

I went there with my son to observe the games and they couldn’t do enough for me to make sure all my questions were answered, and that I had a full understanding of their operation. I saw first-hand that they emphasize safety and sportsmanship while still remaining firm on the rules, which can be a difficult task at times.

I was shown onto the field by one of their staff and his attitude towards the players, enforcement of the rules, and the game itself was simply outstanding. It’s hard to put into words how really pleased I was with the field and how the entire place is run. I have been in the customer service industry for 18 years and I have to say that for diversity of the games, level of professionalism by the staff, and prices, there isn’t a better place to play in the region.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pyro7189 Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Boston Paintball (Great Feild)
Friendly Fire (Great Feild)
First Shot (Don't ask, just never, ever go there)
Review: Fox 4 is a great feild with a huge playing feild full of any type of wooden or natural bunker you can think of, well, fit terrain, and a nice atmospere

The good:
-plenty of well trained, experienced refs that do their job well- any and all mask violations are caught, velocity is periodically checked, and refs are helpful to the new and experienced players.
-Prices are low-$25 for entrance and air
-Bring your own paint, but feild paint is available at $60 a case (retail price)
-All day air includes co2 and compressed air-3000 psi and 4500 psi
-Porto potties are close to the staging area
-Lunch is available on premesis-Hotdogs, burgers, chips, soda, etc
-Feilds include one gigantic, subdevided woodsball feild, one small, but expandable, airball feild, and one small speedball feild with giant wooden spools for bunkers.
-all feilds are netted off so sgames can be viewed from staging
-rentals available at good prices (98 customs, jt masks, and 2 pod pouch)
-there are always a large number of people at the feild so games are very large scale and usually last over 20 minutes.
-Discount days usually occur once or twice a month

The bad:
-Though the staging area is very large, so are the crowds- get there early or you'll find all the picnic tables taken.
-The stream flowing through the center of the feild has a very muddy bed, and there aren't very many bridges of natural crossings, so wear waterproof boots.
-They won't let you toss soda cans in the fire :)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballangel1 Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
freindly fire
Review: this is a nice feild the prices are cheap and the rec feild is great. if you compare fox4 to friendly fire fox4 is 1000000000000000 times bettter, the prices are a little high but it is better than going to paintball places that you have to buy there paint and pay like 80$ for a case, the guys in the store are very helpful and well fix you gun for free. overall fox 4 is a nice place
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IKillSuckers4 Wednesday, May 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Fox 4 is by far one of the best place to go in MA. the prices are so reasonable the staff is extremely nice. another nice feature about fox 4 is the amount of land they have , because of the great amount of land they have it makes the rec games so much better.the speed ball course at fox 4 is really nice they change it every once and a while but over all the amount of bunkers they have and the size of the course is just enough.the guys in the shop are so nice they will usually fix your gun for free and if you have any questions they will be happy to anwser them. one of the best features of fox 4 is all the different special games they run where you can get in cheap like they have santa day where you have to wear a santa hat or Hawaiian shirt day. in conclusion fox 4 is one of the best all around places to go paintballing and if your looking for a good place to go to fox 4 is definitely the place
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kissane720 Wednesday, May 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
just about all feilds in southern new england
Review: man out of all the feild ive been to this is by far the best........... has a perfect speedball course and a hyperball course and if ur not into that and like woodsball they got sothin like 5 acres of land it amazing check it out best place ive been to
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media