paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Jungle Island Paintball Field / Jungle Island Paintball Field / Jungle Island Paintball Field / Jungle Island Paintball Field

Jungle Island Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
118Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 951-775-9316
Address: 14881 Temescal Canyon Road
Lake Elsinore, California 92530
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
DriverSeat Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Field of Fire
Full Force
Breakout Paintball
Review: Twenty-Seven members of our church paintball group visited Jungle Island this past Tuesday and had a great time.

Our group's favorite field was the Congo. The extenseive network of huge tire bunkers provided some real fast, close action and exciting game play. The Valley was also cool with the helicopter, buildings and vehicles. All the props made you feel like you were on a real mission. We really liked the large size of this field. Unfortunately, the Castle was surrounded by a moat of water due to the incredibly heavy rains from the past winter. So the game play was a bit limited on this field, but it was still a lot of fun.

Jungle Island's scenario fields put game play into a whole new perspective for our players. There are so many fields to play, that to take full advantage of Jungle Island you will need to come back again and again.

We did have a problem with our ref who wanted to be helpful and was pointing out to various kids where their opponents were hiding. It was cool when the ref offered to use one of our cameras and get into the middle of the action and take pictures for us. Thanks, that was above and beyond the call of duty. I was pleased that the refs were so safety conscious. They always caught it if a player did not have a barrel bag on or didn't have his mask down. Good Job!

We did have several miscommunications with the staff over pricing prior to our arrival at Jungle Island. That made for some tension during registration. The person behind the counter wasn't willing to make things right, but I got a call from the owner a few days later and he apologized for how our registration process was handled. He told me that he would take corrective action, and if someone needed to be fired, he would do so. He was very concerned that we had not been given the first class customer servcie that he expects out of his staff.

If you are planning a private outing, I would suggest that you coordinate that with the manager of Jungle Island to prevent any miscommunications.

Last edited on Sunday, July 10th, 2005 at 8:21 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

welts dont hurt Saturday, May 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombstone, SC Village
Review: First of all let me start out by saying, no matter what fields you play at your experience at that field is always going to depend on the circumstance of the day, such as the weather, the people who show up to play the same day as you, and what refs are working that day.

As for the review….I love jungle island. It has a large variety of fields to play that suit any playing style. I have never had the same experience twice. This is a good thing. If things are the same all the time it can get boring.

PROS: The Refs are for the most part pretty cool. Most of the time they are pretty strict with checking chrono. If you request to the Refs that you would like to play on a certain field they will try hard to get a game in for you depending on the crowd.
If you’re into Rec ball, the city, Tanks, Castle, and other fields are designed around Rec players and are a lot of fun. They have a concrete pipe field and a tube field for hyper/speed ball player. If you’re a true experienced player or speedball only player you may not like jungle as much. I still see plenty of experienced players out there having fun playing with the noobs. Epically on the big days when the teams are 50 on 50.
The night games at jungle are really fun. Dress all in black for better cover. Make sure you use clear lens in your mask or you won’t be able to see anything. One team will always have an advantage due to the lighting at night causing big time glare.
Jungle is worth the drive to beat the crowds. Don’t get me wrong there are still plenty of people that come to jungle to play but it’s not nearly as crowded as sc village. It might be in my head but I think the people that play at jungle seem a lot nicer. There are always cool people there that are always willing to help you out with stuff.
Price is $5.00 cheeper than most other parks…in my opinion as expensive a sport as paintball is people shouldn’t be crying over $5.00 price difference anyway. Jungle is worth more than the $20.00 they charge + $5.00 for all day compressed air.

CONS: Very few. Like most other parks some refs may not be as good as others.
Some people may not have as good of attitude as others.
Refs try very hard to check chrono. Some hot shooters still get by from time to time.
If you’re hit by someone shooting hot or see some one shooting hot let the ref know.
Food is scarce! Bring your own food. No fast food near by. They order pizza and have cold soda that’s it. If you play at jungle after the rain or anytime this month a lot of the really fun fields are still closed, go back and play jungle when they dry out!

CONCLUSION: I still prefer to play jungle to the other local spots.
I still want to try one of their scenario games. Everyone I know that has played one all had a great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

COTN Monday, May 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village (Great Fields, Beware of Crowds, Must try)
Tombstone (Great Fields, A lot of fun, Must try)
Conquest (Half of fields destroyed by Rain, Good Refs)
PB USA Close Encounters (Newb Magnet, Being remodeled, Should open Summer '05)
Field of fire (horrible)
Review: I played at Jungle Island on May 1, 2005 with a private group. My private group was a little bit slow on getting their act together so we only played on 5 fields (10 games). I came here with high expectations and unfortunately, I was dissappointed. There are 2 -3 fields that were not open because of flooding. The Castle, Amazon, and I think another field. The City Field is Great.

Pros:
Facility: Bathrooms with running water in toilets. There are benches and shade at staging are but is taken up rather quickly.
Cost: $20 all day pay with $5 all day Compress Air
Fields: The fields that are not closed are Great.


Cons:
Parking: There isn't ample parking. Arrive before 9 or you'll have a hard time to find parking. A section of parking is closed from flood.
Fields: Some fields are closed from flooding. Castle , Amazon
Location: Jungle-Island is and hour and 15 minute drive
Air Fills: They were only filling up tanks up to 3000 psi that day. C02 fills are $5 dollars
Rentals: Pro-Carbines

I know I am making it seem Jungle Island is in horrible condition from the rains earlier this year but it isn't the bad. You should come here to try it. They do split up the walkons beginner and advanced. Again, I was in a private group so I can't tell you anything how walk on play.

Come out to Jungle-Island. Don't expect too much and you'll have a good experience.

I still prefer Tombstone and SC Village over Jungle-Island.

8/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

BigT19 Tuesday, April 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village
Tombstone
Hollywood Sports
Adrenaline
Review: I have been playing at this filed for some time now and have yet to have a bad experience.

Positive: Good Organization and good refs. They continue to change fields around (Most of the time this is a good thing with the excpetion of the City). Use to offer free compressed air fills, but purchased new equipment so they now charge $5 for all day air. (Still a great price) I have setup private games there at least 7 times over the last few years and each time we have had a wonderful experince. The last time was about 2 weeks ago. I met the new owner and he has some great plans for the park. Last, I have joined in on a couplE of the night games held on Friday and Saturday nights. Night games totally change the way the game is played.

Negative: Poor restroom facilities. They have upgraded from the portapoties to a trailer with running water, but only two restrooms for an entire park is unreasonable. Need to increase the size of the registration/rental/and food location. Lines are long to pay for admission, rent equipment, fill air tanks, and buy food.

I have had the best experience at Jungle Island compared to the other parks I have visited.

PLEASE FIX THE CITY!!!!! =)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

tdawgsd Saturday, March 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Camp Pendelton
Review: Well lets see where should I start. I cant complain about the fields or the parking becuse i went after about a week of rain!! I suggest not attempting this,and if you do, get there before it opens so you can find a good place to park. Now that we got that cleared up lets move onto the REFS like you will read on many other peoples reviews THE REFS ARE HORRIBLE!!!! I seen one guy get ran up on and shot a point blank range could of very easly gave him the option of surrendering ref was standing right there nothing happened. If your lucky and very lucky you might get two refs a game! THIS PLACE NEEDS MORE REFS. That wasnt so bad but how about at the chrono area kids walking around with no barrel plugs shooting at each others feet. After you chrono you walk to your field you dont have to have in you barrel plug!? Kids where shooting at everything they see ground,rocks,obstacles,and the sides of the hill. This place is cool as far as fields (16) but there is no such thing as safety here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Anchor76 Monday, March 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Velocity, Weekend warriors,
Review: Well how to start...... the cool thing about jungle island that the fields are awesome i like the city but over all this place is not organized at all too, theirs to much people when playing in walk ons but i actually liked it its kewl playing in huge groups allot more action. kind of bad experience for me since it was my 1st time but o well i still had FUN!!! O yeah it was very very muddy when i went like 1 week after the rain.

Good things
Bring Your own Paint
Fields are cool!!!
Good rental guns even though i have my own
5$ all day compressed air even though i don't have a HPA tank
Hum.... i didn't see anything wrong with the bathrooms

Bad things
Some refs can be mean and grouchy
Is this a joke Co2 refill is 5 bucks!!!???
paintballs are kind of expensive
Not good service i had to wait in line for my Co2 for like 5 mins
U have to buy a ticket to eat, Drink, or get your Co2 filled
Get early if u want a good parking space luckily their was like 5 spots left.
People shoot like maniac's they don't put their barrel plugs and shoot it the parking lot.

Overall very Great field but the only thing that it needs more organization and then everything is set. Also theirs one ref to monitor like 50 people in 1 group need more refs like 5. i give it 8/10. i want to come back again, but this time ill be ready.
Last edited on Sunday, April 17th, 2005 at 9:41 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

blesk Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mr Paintball: nice fields, good refs, and very well organized games. If you want to get your money's worth out of a day and play pretty much non-stop all day, this is the place. Between games you have pretty much just enough time to refill and you're rushing to the next field.
Weekend Warriors: very cool staff, good refs, fun atmosphere among players
Review: In 5 years of playing paintball between Florida, Georgia and California this has been by far my worst field experience yet.

Where do I start ... first off the customer service was horrible. Each CO2 refill took between 15 and 25 minutes, even if you were the first one in line. You have to wait in two seperate lines anytime you want to get a coke or anything else, one line to buy a "coke ticket" and then another line to get the actual coke.

The walk-on games were very crowded. Imagine 50 people on each team starting on a small field, tripping over each other as they desparately try to find some cover. Usually there were a few false starts before each game caused by general confusion and mis-communication between the refs. A whistle blows, people start running, and are inevitably called back because "that wasn't an intensional whistle blow", or "it ment something else to somebody else". Towards the end of the day the whistle would blow and people would turn to each other and go "Did the game just start??", "I have no idea...", "Has anybody seen the ref so we can ask?". Of course once it is decided that the game did indeed start, you are stuck in a crowd of 50 people trying to run ahead. If you do somehow break through and make it to an unoccupied hiding place ahead of the crowd without being hit by the barrage of paint coming from your 50 opponents, you're golden. But usually get pinned behind a dozen people who refuse to run, and your only real alternative is to find a person who is bigger then you and hide behind them. With this large a crowd, the refs were understandebly unable to control it in any kind of efficient manner. The starting of games was so disorganized that we only ended up playing about half the games that is usual for a full day on any other paintball field. All of this could have been easily solved by splitting the huge group into three smaller groups and using some of the other available fields, thus giving the refs the ability to handle the groups, but this was not done.

I'm not going to even go into the time when I and four other people on my team got taken out be some random person shooting from off the field and the refs not doing anything about it, but I would like to talk a little about the clientelle. I suppose I should have caught on to the large amount of gang tatoos and shady characters present earlier in the day, but by the time we left we had a 500 round bag disappear from our table, half a case and my sunglasses disappear from the back of a truck, and a friend's cellphone disappear from the cab of his truck.

All in all, the fields themselves were nicely set up, but that alone is nowhere near enough to overcome the other miserable aspects of the experience.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

boblong85 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village(Best Paintball Park Accept After It Has Rained)
Tombstone(OK, But They Could Get Some Better Maps)
Hollywood Sports(Fun But Pricey)
Review: This was the 2nd paintball course I ever played at. I had lots of fun here and so did everyone i went with. Jungle has got a great program going (I think) and if there are any employees reading this, keep up the good work. The refs are really nice, but lack care for the players. I mean come on, if you got a group of kids with rentals on one side and a group of advanced adults with these outstanding Autocockers and Angels, don't you think you should switch up the teams a bit. Anyway I should quit complaining, besides my issues with the above, Jungle is a great course.

PROS-Nice Refs
-Great fields
-Good Rentals(Not SC's cheap Tippmans)sorry
-GOOD LUNCH
-And how the fields are taken care of

CONS-REFS NEED TO SWITCH UP TEAMS WHEN ONE IS ABOUT TO GET LIT UP
-They should be ashamed of the bathrooms WOO
-Should have better chrono station

I'll have to give Jungle a 8-sorry but those poor kids.lol
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

beaverbuddy Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village- The only thing this place has going for it is the speedball and the "famous" name.
Tombstone-Okay field, Jungle is better though.
Adrenaline-GREAT night games. Fun, easy, in-your-face action.
Review: I started going to jungle in 2001 when it was fairly new. I remember the good 'ole times when the refs would freak out it more than 150 people were there in a single day. Now they're lucky to get less than 200 on a rainy day, but anyways, REVIEW TIME!

Jungle has recently (within the past year) redone some of it's fields. They added a few new ones and took out one or two. I like the new "Tank" field but the one almighty "Town" field has lost it's fun. They made it way too long so over 1/2 never gets played on. Their "Guns of Normandy" field is cool concept, but when you're actually playing on it, it's totally unfair. I have yet to see the bottom win. The other new field, named vaguely "Bushes" is a challenge in itself. It is a field where there are no perfect bunkers and overlapping other opponents is very common. I found myself facing the backs of 8 opponents one round (Till the dude with the DM4 bunkered me, haha.) It isn't a very popular field with many players, but I still find it very fun. Their trenches field however is probably my least liked field (excluding the recball fields at SC Village.) But there is still a lot of great fields, and most of all great people at Jungle-Island. Rarely do you hear people fighting or yelling or cussing. The staff there is very helpful (except for the air fill guy that was there before, long story.) The refs are good, and many actually give their sides strategies for playing. Jungle is without a doubt my favorite Recball field out here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RBPaintball Thursday, January 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
-SC Village WOOT WOOT
-Tombstone
-Adrenaline !!!
-Hollywood Sports $$$
Review: Jungle Island is the most friendly field I have every played at!

Strengths
-BYOP
-The refs are AWESOME!
-rentals are okay if you're into that (Pro-Carbines)
-People with real experience who can really play in adv group.
-Good Staging Area
-Really nice fields when it is dry (Try CITY and TANKS is awesome)
-great fill station
-good parking if you get there early
-Field Paint prices are about as cheap as you can get for good balls(Draxxus Rec)
-GOOD LUNCH!

Weaknesses
-Bathrooom facilities are a joke!
-gets flooded when it rains
-sometimes some refs dont show up and the groups get a bit on the heavy side (thats okay more people to tag out with my matrix)
-Weak fields on the hillside
-X-Ball is only for those reserved
-Refs dont care if advanced players go into beginners
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media