paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park

Predator Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
71Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 20590 Bandera Rd.
San Antonio / Helotes, Texas 78023
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
tippyA-5r/t Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
ive only played here
Directions
to the Field:
dunno
Review: Safety:it is extrmly safe here I tipped up my mask to adjust and I had to sit out. Refs were always on patrol. Refs were very nice and helpful price: fair if u got ur own gear but a little expensive if u rent. Fields:very nice and big idont no about the speedball field though I like to play woodsball. Food:very decently priced $1 for drinks. Rental equipment:tippmann pro/carbines n 98 customs facility: its outside but lots of shade and maintence. Players:very nice and great for first timers cuz everytime ive been there there's lots of kids. Proshop:there Is none but the people who own the park own a proshop near bandera and guilbeau hours:sat and sun 10-5.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattdargan Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Directions
to the Field:
Best directions I can give is to get the address off of the website and use mapquest. I had a friend of mine guide me there and he was a little iffy on the location.
Review: I played there yesterday and overall I would rate the experience at a 7 or 8 out of 10. There were five of us that went, myself, my buddy and his wife all had our own equipmet and have played paintball for many years. We walked away from the field with a smile on our face and talked about coming back to this field again.

Safety (Solid 10/10) This is the most important factor of the game and it was well enforced at the field. All the refs constantly checked barrell socks and face masks and enforced the rules like any professional field should. Even the little things like filling up air was done to a standard anyone should expect.

Price (7/10) The prices were reasonable. The paint was $60 and in good quality, no harsh flat spots or warped balls. Field fee is $20 and covered air. We did not get any food there so that is not incorperated into the rating. The two rentals we used were $24 but when you got there she gave us a discount which brought the price to $20.

Equipment (6/10) There is room for improvement in this area. First let me state that this the low rating should not worry you. You still get a semi-auto marker and a mask. My reccomendation would be to bring your own anti-fog if you play on a colder day. The mask lenses were a little scratched and the guns had some minor technical problems. To remedy this the staff quickly changed out faulty equipment for functional gear.

Players (Not Rated) This was my first time on the field. I do not know if the players that day were regulars or not. Most of them knew some refs by name and seemed to know some of the staff. They were high school kids and got a little rowdy. Nothing too major and nothing that caused a serious problem. There were two private parties there and they had their own refs. There did not seem to be a strong team or league presence. It was terrible weather that day, so that may have been a factor.

Refs (8/10) The refs were pretty good for being teenagers. I am extremly wary of teenagers being refs. I find that most lack maturity. The field refs surprised me though. They were professional (although they complained alot about the cold, but its texas, not exactly a cold weather state) and safe. We had a problem one match about some people overshooting a player, after we stepped in and they kept at it we told a ref. The problem was taken care of and that was it.

Field (7/10) This is not like DFW Adventure or Paintball Jungle style places. This is a smaller field but is set up pretty well. We played on all of their fields and enjoyed ourselves. There was a small CTF field and a couple of hyperball fields. The games were made short by lack of players and small boundries. I enjoyed it this first time, but I expect diminshed returns on the field if I keep playing there. I hope they change the field setup from time to time.

Overall, this is not the type of field where speed ball and pro ballers should come to get some tourney practice in. This is the type of field where rec ballers or players who just want to burn a day playing some harmless paintball. To maximize your fun I strongle reccomend bringing at least 5 people with you.

If there are any questions about this review please feel free to email me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lostnbattle Sunday, January 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Knights
Directions
to the Field:
Take the 1604 Loop West towards Sea World and Fiesta Texas. Exit Bandera and go North on Bandera about 10 Miles, it will be on your Right.
Review: I am new to the San Antonio area and was surprised to find such a contrast between fields. First off, I am not a "Tourney" player and would consider myself to be a pretty good "Rec" player. I have been playing for about 5 years and have taken my son to many fields across America as we have moved several times in the past 5 years.
I guess you need to ask yourself what kind of paintball experience you are looking for before you go to any of the fields here in San Antonio. My son and I can play in both the competitive and rec type environments but if you are going out just to have a little fun and are taking kids out with little or no experience and are looking for a "family type" environment, I would HIGHLY recommend Predator Paintball. While I was there, I noticed there were several birthday party groups. These groups of young kids were having a great time and were being introduced to a great sport. Each party was assigned their own ref. The ref then worked with the kids showing them how to safely use the equipment. I spoke to the owner (forgot his name) and found out that they recently purchased Predator back in October of 2007. Unlike Paintball Knights, I found the owner(s) to be very nice and accommodating. The refs were nice, respectful, and were VERY patient with the younger players which is very important if you plan on taking younger, less experienced players and you want to introduce them the this great game. I will talk safety in a minute, but first the fields. The fields at Predator are a little smaller than Paintball Knights and the field paint is a little more experienced, but again you need to ask yourself what type of paintballing you are looking for. These fields are great for beginners of all ages and appeared to also work well for the more experienced players. As for safety, they crono a little low for me, but again, as a parent and especially if you are introducing younger, newer players to this exciting game I can understand and appreciate this. The new owners of Predator Paintball also understands that while safety is VERY important, less experienced players and children will make mistakes and every once in a while these types of players will forget to put their barrel socks on. To help enforce safety refs are placed at every exit and are NICELY reminding these less experienced players to put on the barrel socks as they leave the playing field. If players forget the barrel sock or remove it in the staging area, they are quickly given a warning and reminded in a friendly and respectful way of the safety rules. That is not the case at Paintball Knights. The owner of Paintball Knights is much more strict and regardless of who you are or how much experience you have you will be kicked out and asked to leave the property and will NOT be refunded your money. I will talk more about Paintball Knights later, but the bottom line, if you are looking for a good first time experience in a relaxed friendly atmosphere, I would HIGHLY recommend Predator Paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bertoz06 Thursday, October 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Realm in San Marcos, Paintball Knights, Krossfire, Kamakazee (N.E. Austin)
Directions
to the Field:
Somewhere out there.
Review: I was not impressed with Predator Paintball. Expensive rates, expensive merchandice, picky staff/refs. I would rather go up to San Marcos to play.

I think for someone to have their own gear and have to spend $80 to play is crazy. $60 at most.

The staff there catored to the team members more than to the newbies (it was a Saturday, not team Sunday).

Not impressed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

scarface3421 Friday, March 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
KNIGHTS- lots of tourny players, good for gettin better, matches up to pred
KROSSFIRE- not really as good, i like thei 4500 air fills and such, but its WAY to far from my house
Directions
to the Field:
uuhh 30 mins from my house?
Review: SAFETY- pretty good, good amount of refs
FIELDS- PLUS PLUS PLUS, great variety, HOWEVER only a LIL airball
PRICES- a LIL higher than other fields, but w/e and it only sucks if u hav a rental gat
RULES-veryy nicee
PROSHOP-not so much, only a lil stuff but w/e
REFS-SICKKK REFS, ther all pretty sweeeeeet
FOOD- NICE NICEEE lots of food, good prices
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wmiles11@yahoo. Thursday, March 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, I only go to this field.
Directions
to the Field:
Near Helotes (im not good with directions)
Review: This Field is awesome.

Refs and Staff: The refs and staff take saftey very seriously, but don't yell at you and get angry (unlike some places, I've heard). There are about 10-20 refs est. every day that I've gone. Private Parties get one ref. Public games usually have about 10 refs refering the game. When your hit, they make sure to yell "He's hit! Let him out!" so that you don't get overshot on accident. The staff is very nice. They make sure to give new people a saftey lecture and they enforce the rules very well. They tell people to get chrono'ed but do not check so someone who is new and forgets could be shooting over 280 fps. Also, they have allen wrenches/keys to adjust the velocity at the chrono station. The chrono station is located at the entrance to the Hyperball/Triangles fields and is always manned by a ref.

Facility: The main builing is wooden and it is were you sign in, get paint and rental equipment, get your air tanks filled, and its were the snack bar is. The air fill station can fill both CO2 tanks and HPA (not sure up to what psi though). They can only fill one CO2 and/or HPA tank at a time. The snack bar has chips, sodas, Gatorades, hot dogs, corn dogs, pizza, and lots of other food. They also provide free water by the staging areas. The staging areas are a bunch a picnic tables under some trees across the road from the main building. The trees provide shade and protetion from the hot Texas sun. They also have a port-a-poty which was clean last time I was there. However, I still recommned going to the restroom before you go. There is also a shaded "party pavillion" (a bunch of tables under a roof next to the woods field.) which I'm guessing is for parties only, but I'm not sure.

Fields: Predator has 6 fields- Hyperball, Triangles, Car Wash, Battle Creek, Woods/CTF, and Air ball. Hyperball and Triangles are speedball fields that are right next to each other (separated by a walking path). The fields have some rocks so sliding can hurt. The only diference between the fields is the layout and bunkers- Triangles seems closer together and the bunkers are shaped like triangles creating many angles.
Car Wash is a small speedball field behind Hyperball. The refs usually play multiple small games of 3 on 3 to 6 on 6. Car Wash is on the same field as Battle Creek on the bottom (closest to enterence/net). So when you play on Battle Creek, most of the times you play on all of or part of Car Wash depending on what the refs want. Battle Creek is a woods field with lots of wooden bunkers and cans. The trees are spread out so that there is not alot of thick brush or groups of trees.
The woods/ capture the flag (ctf) field is a large woods field with two bases and lots of cover provided be groups of trees and thick brush. One base is the Tires base. Its bunkers are made of large tires and smaller ones piled on top of each other. The other base is the Fort, which is a walled square fort. The walls are good protection and there are additional bunkers and cans around it. In CTF, one side must try to capture the other bases' flag. There is alot of thick brush and large groups of trees that block paintballs (natural bunkers) which make good cover and obstacles.
Behind the Woods field is the Air Ball field. It works like Car Wash were refs do multiple medium sized games like 5 v 5 and 7 v 7. When everyone has played, they sometimes do a big game with everyone playing. The bunkers seemed to be spread out to allow more people to play. Also, some of the bunkers are partially or mostly deflated, so the refs must re-inflate them before the games begin.

Players: The players are Predator vary, however most of them are nice and helpful. Some even give you advice. Someone once told me to get wrap-around grips so that paint/water does not get in and damage the circiut board, which was REALLY good advice. None of the players are stuck up or put down new people.

Prices and Hours: You can check the website for hours and prices. The field fee is a little high compared to others. Paint prices are high, but parties get $10 off a case of 2000 rds. I recommend the PAW rental package since it comes with 500 rds. saving you some $$$. You can also buy paint grenades, but don't. Spec Ops Big Boy grenades are larger and more reliable for the same price ($5).

I highly reccomend Preator Paintball Park.
Last edited on Friday, August 1st, 2008 at 12:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

coolhunter3 Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 23rd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knights
The Realm
Review: ok here it goes i have been to predator 3 times,2 times i actually played,one time i went it started raining and storming so i never paid to go play,i have played paintball for over 6 years,and this is the worst field i have been to,but the point is,that every time i have been the owner,the crazy biotch(the older middle-aged women at the sign-up counter) up in the front is always a biotch she always yells at you like you some kind of animal,i felt like punching her in the face,no joke, she is really mean to everybody,the field are pretty cool,except they play games like 75 vs. 75,its rediculous,hmm have they every thought about splitting up the people on different fields,the only cool part about predator is the man that works the consession stand,but deffinately i have found The Realm in San Marcus is the best field ever,im being serious,go find out where it is and go there,well worth the drive trust me!
Last edited on Sunday, July 23rd, 2006 at 5:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

cyanstorm Sunday, July 9th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Fields: In my opinion some of the best i have ever played on. Airball is awesome when they have it inflated and the hyperball and carwash fields are no slouch.

Safety: Plenty of refs, easily distinguishable from the players as they are wearing bright yellow shirts that say ref on them.They make sure players keep barrel socks on masks on etc.

Pricing: Entry is a little steep at now 20 dollars but it does cover all day air and the snacks are extremely decently priced as well.

Staff: Ladies at the front are usually pretty nice, sometimes one of the ladies is a tad bit mean, depends what day you go i suppose.

Refs: They make sure safety is most important thing there, sometimes with the team selection they dont always make it fair (ex. tournament players heavily stacked on one team, rec ballers on the other)

Overall a great field to play at and i will continue to go there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment

iconoclast Sunday, July 9th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire: Great proshop/employees, better (older, friendier) refs; fields: more variety, but about the same quality.
Directions
to the Field:
1604 to Bandera (TX 16) North, it's on your right, be sure to look for the yellow signs, I missed it the first time, but there's a turnaround not too far up.
Review: First field I've played at in over 5 years, and it was a great day of paintball!

First thing, the owner was very nice. She greeted me immediately, asked me about my pb background, talked about school, pb safety, and pretty much acted as though I were a usual. Field fees are more expensive than other fields in San Antonio (based on the prices their respective websites quote), but it truly isn't that bad. They gave me the usual safety orientation, and then I was set to play.

There was rarely a line for air fills, and never one at the snack bar. The food was priced fairly. They had the standard concession stand selection: hot dogs, hot pockets, chips, ice cream, etc.

Fields were all very well-designed and built. I didn't get a chance to play the airball fields, but I enjoyed every other field. They were well-designed, and the games which combined two fields (carwash/battle creek and tires/woods) were pretty cool.

Refs were...refs. They did their job exactly as they should have, enforcing the barrel sock and goggle rules at all times, which made me feel much safer. Players were pretty good about making other people put their barrel socks back on before leaving the field too.

I liked that they had maybe 5-6 refs per game, it helped to prevent wiping and any other sort of cheating. Some other fields I have played at in the past ran 1 ref per game, which allows people the opportunity to wipe, which isn't cool at all.

The teams were usually split up pretty fairly, with an equal number of "tourney" players and walk-ons on both sides. There were some incidents which involved cursing by these "tourney" players, but the refs took care of them pretty quickly.

Make sure you keep your mask on, a friend of mine tipped his up a little to adjust it, and was made to sit out for 30 minutes....

The players' areas were nice, they had the covered area with picnic tables, and some other tables and benches around the fields and parking area with plenty of shade. I liked that we could park right next to these areas, it gave me easier access to my gear, which I feel safer locking in the car. Better safe than sorry I guess.

I got there about 10 am Saturday, and didn't leave until after the last game. Needless to say, I had a great time, and will definitely return at least twice a month, until I have to go back to school.
Last edited on Thursday, August 10th, 2006 at 4:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
11 Comments - Add Comment

megaman2 Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire down south, not as many players
Directions
to the Field:
go straight up bandera, on the right.
Review: Predator's got some nice fields. Nice refs too (If you stay on their good side). Just make sure that you have your barrel sock on when you're off the field, and your mask on while your on the field. (duh...) I rated the field a 9 only because it's not the best-looking place to play in the country (don't drive 200 miles to get there), but it's the nicest one near San Antonio.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media