paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park

Predator Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
71Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 20590 Bandera Rd.
San Antonio / Helotes, Texas 78023
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
rudeballer Monday, April 24th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire, Paintball Knights
Review: This field has a lot of potential. I have played at all three fields in San Antonio and this field has a nice layout. It's a little more expensive than the other fields in town. The paint is more expensive than other fields also. That being said here are my complaints. Understand that I am writing this as a Dad that takes his kids for recreational purposes at least every other weekend paintballing.

I have been at this field in the last 6 months 4 times. 3 out of the 4 times it was horrible. There are too many tourney players in with the rec players. The refs are not informative at all about the different games. They are talking to their buddies more than actually dividing the teams and getting them to the right place. Most other fields have a 20-30 foot rule. That was never mentioned when we went last. I know that it is implemented here, but I saw at least 2 times bunkering going on. One of my buddies actual got hit 4 or 5 times from about 6 feet away. The refs never said anything or noticed the guy running up to him. He was the last one standing, so it wasn't like they didn't know what was going on.

I got to the field about 10:00am. I finally left about 1:00pm and played a total of 4 games. One battle creek, one Carwash, one woods balls and one Hyperball was all we got in 3 hours. At Krossfire I've put in at least 8 or 9 games in 3 hours and we usually stay 5 or 6 hours. It wasn't that there were not games going on, itís just that there were requiring 5 on 5 games only. I think for a regular Saturday Rec game they shouldn't require 5 on 5 games only. If that is all the field can handle then they should eliminate a couple of small fields and make a couple more big ones for Rec games. Not everyone playing paintball is practicing for nationals.

I like the location because of where I live and don't mind paying a few more bucks compared to the other 2 fields in town, but I would rather drive further and have a good time and get more games in for the money. I will probably never go back to this field again.
Last edited on Monday, April 24th, 2006 at 12:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
20 Comments - Add Comment

paintballa99 Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 20th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knight which is cheaper but starts later.
Review: They have some really good fields and some pretty good refs. They seem very proffesonial but there prices are just a bit to much for me. The refs are friendly (untill your caught with your mask off or barrel sleve off when your not suppost to).Overall I would give them an 8 for their prices
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

A:B:C Sunday, February 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: February 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball knights, which is cheaper but not nearly as profesional
Review: Predator Paintball Park is the best in the San Antonio when in comes to small tournament style fields. Thiers good compition thier so when you go your not playing 500 people whos its thier first time. Some of the refs are good, but the younger ones like travis (throughs paintballs at other refs) and ryan ( who cheers, dances, and jumps for joy on the sideline haha) and are more funny. Thier still fare though and no one gets hurt. I live 2 miles away so the only bad thing is thier high prices. They also have halo2 tournaments thier that are run by cody, who can beat you in halo2 even tho he can barely see at all. They have the coolest staff and definatly the best players in the area and I highly recomend you goin there.

overall im gonna give them a 9, because of thier high prices.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

shockerkid17 Saturday, January 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 25th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire. Knights, lonestar(now out of buisness)
Review: This is the best field ever! I have been playing there since my 10th birthday party 4 years ago and the staff is great. I have had a real great time playing out there and have gotten to know everyone. Carrol and Patty at the front office are very nice but they do tend to get upset if someone is breaking the rules because of their liability waivers. Cody and his brother run the snack bars (they have two now one serves burgers and meals the other one servers snack and drinks) they are great and are very personable. When the park had first open I admit they were a little slack but they have pulled together to make the best park in Texas. They currently have airball, xball, hyperball, carwash, 2 woods fields, triangle field and they have xbox tournys every sat and sun night. Thanks for everything you guys have done for me Predator we all love ou guys. Everyone go to this field!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mephistopheles0 Sunday, December 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 30th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lonestar, Krossfire, and the Realm.
Review: I have only been to this field once, so this entire review is based solely on a single visit. We had a private party with 12 people and our ref barely spoke english. On several occasions while we were waiting for her to count down to the start of a game she would leave the field completely to either go to the bathroom, or smoke. The two ladies at the front counter weren't exactly nice either. I understand that they can't be everyones friend, especially when trying to maintain a safe a lawsuit-free enviroment, but she could at least try not to talk down to people. But not talking down in the sense that she was explaining every little detail like we had never played before, she spoke to us with a very firm tone as if we had done something wrong. Anyway, to make a long story short, their customer service is far from even existing, the people who run this field don't understand how to be civil.

The fields are okay. If you're a fan of woodsball don't even bother, they have "woods" fields, but they are small and are really just hyperball fields with some trees. Number of fields is decent, I believe it was in the range of 10 or so with the airball fields inflated.

Location isn't exactly prime, but you can't expect to have a paintball field in the middle of a big city either.

Overall, I'll give it a 5. Just being open and available is a pro, but cons seem more prominent with this field. Lack of customer service and fair refs,not to mention the high prices stand out most. I would suggest just going to Paintball knights or crossfire if you can get there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

SBpic Tuesday, November 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 5th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Knights
Review: I have been playing at Predator for a while now. I know some of the people that go there, rec ball, tourney ball alike. I have to say I have only ever been to Paintball Knights, but I keep myself at Predator, for one its hella close to where my friends and I live, and the field is great.

The staff at the front desk are very helpful, I know some reviews here give them bad critques, but not everyone is perfect. When its raining they tell you up front that they may call everyone off the field, and that the money isn't refundable, and seeing as how I was told up front I was cool with that. One time I went and my gun craped out before I stepped on the field and they gave me a refund, they are nice and understanding that I know for sure.

The fields are fun to play, however I am not a big fan of huge rec ball games, so I try to camp the Carwash and airball fields. The refs there are cool, I have yet to meet a young one (Im 25) that had attitude or was immature. As a matter of fact I have asked refs if we can stay on a field, and they kick back with us and let us run games if they can. If you ask nicely good things happen, but people must realize that the refs have bosses too, and the bosses have to call as many games on as many fields as possible. I know I sound like an apologist, but understanding goes a long way.

The fields themselves are maintained, however the hyperball field is on rocks, and I ripped my pants on it, ever since I have stayed off that field. Air ball fields are on grass, and well kept up. There is also 2 woods ball courses if thats your bag.

They play constant games, sometimes 2 at once, sometimes everyone on one field. Someone mentioned that they should run constant air ball games, and I think they really should do that. It would be a great asset to the more experienced players and those looking to get better at tourney play to keep up the airball fields, just constantly keep a ref at them let the players just have a go and trully practice.

I enjoy playing teams that are better (esp on the air ball field) its the only way you get better. I have not seen stacked teams, the refs will look at the gear and then break up the teams, but it is true a lot of the tourney players DO know eachother and want to team up, but the teams end up pretty even.

Overall the experience has always been good, open good hours, and now that its cooler outside expect bigger crowds. I play with some experienced guys and some guys that own entry level gear, and we have always been able to mesh well. Hope this review helps.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 8th, 2005 at 1:01 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Benjy1719 Sunday, November 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 4th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lonestar
Krossfire
Review: The fields are great, the staff is helpful, and the hamburgers are delicious, but this field lacks the capacity to accomdate all the players that show up. What they need to do is run continuous airball games on the side, that way smaller teams can take turns playing in the tournament style games instead of playing games like woods (which is just an immense waste of paint.) I read an ealier review that said they pit the tournament ballers against the rec ballers. They let the players pic their own teams, so the teams of tournament ballers there like to group up. I don't think this is unfair at all; the last time I went we won every airball / carwash game we played, and they were all against tournament teams. I really don't like some of the games though, and I think they should have a couple refs continuously running small team games, that way we don't end up with 22 vs 22 on hyperball again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

2k4Impulse Wednesday, September 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knights
Review: The first thing ide like to say is- WOW!!!! this place is nothing like what other players tell me its like. i decided to go play one weekend with a few friends and this place is great. the staff is energetic, fun, and helpfull. my gun was having some issues in the chrono and we were able to fix it in no time. the refs are very cool people they are fun to hang around with and they dont put you down becuase you have inexpensive guns you are part of the park just like every one else. the games were fun and they made sure to have them running back to back to get every one involved who wanted to play as well and at the end of the day they even did top gun matches with 1 on 1's and stuff.

This place is great I would rate it 10 out of 10. the food the bathrooms and the customer service is amazing. Definatly a great place to play and bring the family.

As for the refs keep up the good work, you guys make the park what it really is.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Texas_Tank Sunday, September 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lonestar
Paintball Knights
Krossfire
Review: The gameplay was good. A real roomy atmosphere. All outdoors. The customer service sucked tho. They took my hopper from a rental cuz i had multicolored paintballs... The lady at the front desk was not helpful. She needs to find a job she likes, rather than making people not like their fields because of her. This field is closest to my house, so i used it a lot, until i went to paintball knight. It's an hour drive to knights, but i'd rather go there. Predator is good for small groups of people. If your not serious about paintball, playing for fun, or just a beginner, then you should go here.
Last edited on Friday, September 23rd, 2005 at 9:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

super_dude_45 Monday, August 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
knights
krossfire
lone star
realm
Review: The only good thing about it was the fields. The staff didnt even know how to turn down the velocity on an angel, and every game they put the tournament players against the reck players. Of coarse you know who won, and its 2 bucks more for admission than Knights.I only go there because its closer than any other park.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media