paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park

Predator Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
71Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 20590 Bandera Rd.
San Antonio / Helotes, Texas 78023
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
PlatinumSniper Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball knights, lone star
Review: This was the first field I had ever gone to after moving to texas and I was impressed.
The others were right, the reffing could use a little work, they dont watch everything.
The only reason this place deserves a 7 is because of the fields (they are remarkable)
and are very large and fun to play at but for 18.00 dollars, I'd rather gather a bunch of friends and play in the forest behind my buddy's house.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

wastedwalrus Monday, October 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lonestar
Review: This is the best paintball park there is in the San Antonio area. They have pretty good prices for paint, field entry , and all day air. The best thing about Predator are the fields. They have about 8 or 9 awesome fields. Including X-Ball. I also really like the employees. They're friendly and very helpful. The refs are usually very good. They'll help you with any gun problems or anything else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BlackBoysUnite Friday, July 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
lonestar
knights
krossfire
Review: i recently played at predator last saturday a RECBALL day and i was playing and i thought there was a 15 foot surender rule and one of the tourny player (playing during recball) bunkered me in the head at point blank range.. it hurt alot.. but just before he shot me i had shot him and he had whiped. so the refs need to work on alot.

other than that the park is ok they have ok fields.. a lil rocky and the hyperball field is getting a lil old but yeah they are a good field..

the snack bar is good but i overheard them telling some of the refs that if they play to shoot some guys up real bad that had recently quit the punishers.. i dont kno what thats about but i thought yall should kno.. but the food at the snackbar is great..

the price is very good at only 18 dollars to play all day and u can bring ur own paint

and they are the only field that gives u free water and thats good. but free water can not make up for bad refing.

sometimes the owner can get a lil mean to ppl but thats all in the job someone has to be strick to keep it safe..

so i gve the field an 8 because they are good but have some stuff to work on
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

monkymike Sunday, July 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lonestar
Review: This field is nice. The games run back to back and there is a good variety of fields. Most of the games are speedball type games. I don't know if there is a "woodsball" field. The price is decent $10 for field fee and $8 all day air. You can bring your own paint if you're not renting equipment. Rental equipment is tippman pro carbines and 98 customs. They also have a decent snack bar and water is provided. There are picnic table to set up and watch the hyperball games.

The problems with this field are few. The main problem is the refs. Like any field there is many levels of players that play. The day we went there were many first time players and a few tourny guys. First of all the tourny guys wiped almost all their hits with the exception of being gogged. They let all the tourny guys play on the same team each game because they would cry if the ref broke them up. Then the ref would give in a let them play. I wouldn't mind this if it would be like 5 tourny guys vs 10 rec ballers, but the refs wants games to be "even". The refs would not be watching these guys they spent most of their time on the rec baller sides watching for their hits. I saw one tourny guy get hit right off the break by 2 rec ballers and the ref that was at midfield on the opposite called him clean. I also saw another one of these guys bunker a 11 year old rec baller with the ref watching. There is a 15' surrender rule. Of course after the games the refs would hang out with all these guys listening to them tell the stories of how the killed the other team. All in all it's a decent field. The problem is with these "kids" they call referees I would give it a 10 if the refs had a better attitude. Not to worry refs we won't be going there again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

shanevas2 Sunday, May 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Alamo paintball, crossfire, paintball knights
Review: I am on a 3 man and 5 man turnie team. this is the only Field we will go to unless there is a turnie at a diff Field. there setup is awesome. the only thing about the Field is the refs. some times they call bad calls. I am giving this field a 9 only because of the refs. if they got ones that cared more then what they care then this field would be one of the best. Also some of the refs are rude. When you have been playing for 6 years you can shoot really fast so they should not be able to stop you playing in the middle of a game just because you are taking every one on the other team out just to check if your gun is on auto.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mac wallace Tuesday, May 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Knights
Review: It has a nice staging area, snack bar, friendly service and store. Complet with an Air-ball field, 2 woods fields, 2 Speed-ball fields, and an awesome X-ball field running on Sunday. Descent prices (and even has a play-place for kids).continuous games all day. I think its the best in this area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

O.T. Monday, April 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None - yet
Review: OK, let me just start by saying the field(s) are well put together, the management is easy to get along with and the park has a family atmosphere to it. There are about 20 or 25 picnic tables that can be used for home base, most in the shade and next to the fields. There are restroom facilities and one port-a-potty in different areas of the park. The fields themselves are kept in good shape with netting all around them and SAFETY is definitely enforced. Those are the good things but as with everything there has to be a "needs improvement" side. The parking is not good or close in some cases where you carry up two or three bags of gear. One of the rules is you are not allowed to bring in any food or drink. Thats OK as long as you can purchase lunch, but that usually runs out before 1:00. Myself, I like to snack on something besides soda and chips. The refs... well anybody that has played any sport can complain about the refs, so goes it with paintball. For the most part they are pretty good. I've seen them help people in the middle of a game with gun jams, chopped paintballs, or arguments that happen on the field (only rarely have I seen the later). Newsflash for most - "REFS ARE PEOPLE TO AND THEY DO MAKE MISTAKES". If it happens by one all the time then you have a legitimate complaint, if not deal with it. Did I mention that they get shot quite a bit? All in all if you want to have a fun weekend try it out, if you don't like it don't stay.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

navrunner1 Saturday, April 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: To be fair I have only played at this field 4 times in the past 3 months.

Pros:
-location
-turn around between games
-Hyperball field
-lots of picnic areas in the shade
-food

Cons:
-refs
-price on paint -rental must use FP - thats ok but when I run out paying $60 min for a case is a little high- I usually buy cheap paint at $30 a case I play for fun not to win the tourny so I can impress the local jr-high girls.

I would like to explain the ref thing- For the most part they are good-- move around the field and cover the field pretty well. The problem I have is they have a problem with HELPING their friends wipe. I saw a ref use his shirt to wipe a goggle hit on his friend and then flat out lie about the person being hit at all. After this player was gogged he was shot 3 times center mass in the chest 3 hits and again the ref said he wasn't hit by us but the player was in the first game of the day- I doubt he was shot in the car on the way to the field.

I do not mind playing younger players who are better than me but if they are embarrassed to be gogged by an old guy with an old tippman too bad get better.

The people I play with (2 San Antonio cops) and I went to the owner to say something at the end of the day- the owners seemed receptive but I haven't been back since to see if things have changed- (its been 3 weeks)

Over all the refs could learn some people skills too- they tend to yell at the newer players and judge them by the equipment not their ability.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Franknbeans Wednesday, February 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lonestar, Paintball Knights, Krossfire
Review: Predator Paintball Park has changed alot!! I am one of the refs and i am in college. When they first started out they did have some younger refs but now we have mostly seniors from high school and college students. The park has become alot more proffessional than some of the other parks. They also just put up the X-BALL FIELD!!! which is awsome! They try very hard to split teams up and keep things fair. Also there are many refs there now that actually care about peoples safety and will try very hard to get you out of the game asap. If your looking for an awsome place to play I highly consider Predator! Perfect score!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbinTAY Sunday, February 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball knights, in my back yard.
Review: This was a very good park, when I whent yesterday. Came with a few friends of mine, didnt see many problems with people being to rich or too good, came with them and they were alwase on my team :). Prices were alitlle higher then i wanted them to be, took my whole 20$ bill and only got change. The lady in the store wasnt too friendly at the end of the day when i wanted to call my dad to pick us up. O well still lied it alot good fields. really liked their new XAir ball field did a mock turney on that.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media