paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park

Predator Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
71Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 20590 Bandera Rd.
San Antonio / Helotes, Texas 78023
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
nero3k Tuesday, December 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lone Star, Krossfire, PB Knights
Review: Predator is one of those almost there, but not just yet, great fields. Good fields if you are into speedball type play. There are 4 speedball type fields. My fave's are the Hyperball and the Airball fields. Least fave is the field named Triangle. Just not a good layout IMHO. The woods field is certainly lacking. The woods field is a small field with a lot of scrub brush to get into the way, but since this is south Texas that is what you are going to get, so I can't hold it against them. There is a good mix of nOObs and experienced players.

My only real complaint is about some the refs. Some of the refs that have been out there are too young and lack maturity. There was a German guy who was reffing during the summer, he knew how to ref a game. He had fun, but stayed in control of the game and had respect of the players. Lately I have seen cases of some of the refs letting their little tourney buddies get away with things like wiping and bonus balling. One ref in particular, curly blond young guy has a huge chip on his shoulder. Somebody should really work with him on his people skills. There is a fine line between being assertive and being an a**hole. He has not figured it out yet. Some of the refs also have the "Oh you have a spyder, those suck. You should have gotten a (Angel/Impulse/Timmy/other expensive gun" attitude. It's not cool to hack on a kids gun that he just got, because it's not a tourney level gun. Again this is not a blanket statement for all of the refs, just a select few.

Overall this is one of the 2 best fields in SA. Expect for the critiques above, I really like this field. I like the folks that run it and facilities are nice-need a real toilet;-)- with a snack bar that actually has descent food. Plus PYOB and $15 field fee + all day air cannot be beat.
Last edited on Tuesday, December 30th, 2003 at 10:27 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannsown Monday, December 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only one I go to, its the only one close to me that hasn't closed.
Review: Ok, I'll try and explain to you the average experience of going to Predator:

So your driving down a highway and you see a fairly large sign that says Predator Paintball, unfortunately this sign is placed directly ahead of where you turn, so be prepared to stop. So you turn in and you go up a slope and park either in a gravel parking lot or in a free form dirt one. Normally, I park in the dirt lot because its as close as you can get to the shaded, water-fanned area (one of those things that sprays a light mist of water) where I usually put my stuff down. The entree fee is 10 bucks, all day air/CO2 is 5. These may be a little off, idk I just take a 20 and bring $10 for food. Oh btw the food is not a rip off at all. It is actually normally priced! Its amazing! And they make their own bbq at around lunch hour. So anyway you take out your gun and put in your barrel plug/sock (they're pretty strict about this) and go chrono. You must chrono under 300 I think. This is for the protection of other players, who are sometimes elementary school kids on a party. The players are very diverse here. They can be anything from Tim Duncan and Malik Rose (and other pro players) to marines on leave to small children. Ok so you here an air horn and they make announcement on a loud speaker that says to meet in a designated area. You go there and you get put on a team. One thing nice about the teams is that you can specifically ask to be on a person that you know's team. However, there are limits. The refs usually don't do pros vs newbs etc. However I'm sure they have more than once. The refs (and staff for that matter) in general are nice and not too strict. The refs are not professional but they do get the job done most of the time. The park is family owned, and the owners are very nice people. The park has a ProShop and occassionally, they have a pro mech. If they don't, they usually are able to fix your gun or if not, then you can just ask around. Normally there is atleast one pro there. This park has great woods games and courses and speedball courses. This park has become so successful that they are going to open a new park dedicated to speedball (of course). I give this park an 8 because the refs can be unprofessional (but hey tough it out and don't whine) and I think they need more shaded rest areas and easier access to water. Sometimes they only have 1 pitcher thingy and it happens to be next to a speedball field far away. All in all, this park is excellent.
Last edited on Monday, December 1st, 2003 at 9:50 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

lonestarrules Monday, August 4th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pipe creek
Review: This area was an ok field, but when i would get hit the refs never call me out so i just keep getting pounded, i am surprised that they did not have a pillow laying on the ground, but their are lots of people and 2 stagging areas thats cool but all the teams play rec ball with u so watch it, the should get a hose to fill compresed air instead of going in and out of the building,they should choose other fields for rec to play in besides of hyperball all the time. They have a huge and awsome snake on sup air perrty cool. Also they have good food. Me and my friends went early to watch team practice and all of a sudden a kid ran out of air and yelled s*** real loud the owner did'nt care.To some it all up it is a perrty good field nice staff but I am never going again cause there is only one field for me LONESTAR!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

NkSde Thursday, July 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Kross Fire- It's got nothin on pred
Review: Ok well lets start with the rentals....personally i've nvr used em...but i know they have Pro-lites, some customs...i think, and a coupla A-5's...

The staff: The staff is great....I've yet to meet a "mean" ref...everyone knows what they are doing and your almost garaunteed to find help IF something goes wrong with your marker...The staff is very fair...they try to distribute good players and newbs evenly...

Fields: I love every field they have...with the exception of 4 acre and battle creeck woods...(not a woods fan), they airball field is great and changes often to provide new chalendges and the night play on sundays is GREAT loads of fun...

All in all this field has something for everyone from the newb-pro players...if you like paintball you;ll like this place very fair, great gamepaly good prices
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

commy22ratm Thursday, July 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire . And it sucks compared to this field.
Review: Pros:
-Nice Staff, very experienced.
-Good prices
-nice rental markers, compared to other places, markers include pro carbines and a few custom 98's.
-they keep there rentals clean
-alot of games

Cons:
-none so far

Some one talked about how the refs werent paying attention to the player distance before. Youve got to remeber these guys are tourny players. They are use to tourny rules plus there humans humans make mistakes. You cant go play paintball and not expect to get shot. and no matter how close you were shot its going to sting a little. Deal with it. Anyway, this is an awesome place to play they have about 7 fields. hyperball, speedball, airball, a lego field(knickname), and two woods fields. Theyve got team practice and public play which is nice. They hold a few tournys each year with prizes and stuff. AND THEY HAVE FREE STICKERS!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sharp Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire can't compare with Predator. Predator has a friendly staff and mostly decent refs.
Review: I noticed that all the bigshot tounry players were either refs or friends with the refs and they're team would always be stacked with the best players. Then they would put the first timers or less experienced players on the other team and they would get slaughtered. This happened almost every game. One game someone spoke up so they gave a tourney guy to the other side and all he did was whine that the team was "Sh*t", but when he was on the other side everything was fine.


The fields are nice, great prices, friendly staff, and great snakc bar.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyderer Tuesday, June 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I love this park, its awesome.anyway this park has cool fields including a 4 acre field (very fun) and they have many different games on the four acre field. and this park has a snack bar with an almost totaly blind man so dont be like "Are you stupid or something?". this field is really fun and you will have a good time

YES!! Now Predator has remodeled the park and they have new fields,indoor bathrooms,more reffs and better everything..
The Xball field is awesome!

18 dollars for field fee with All Day Air HPA or c02
Last edited on Monday, June 14th, 2004 at 9:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Night_Shadow16 Friday, May 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire, PB pursuit
Review: PROS
-Good Prices
-Friendly staff
-Organized between games and combined fields
CONS
-Sometimes your car can hit by a paintball
-Dont pay attention when reflling your co2 or nitro tank.

Overall this field is great for rental first timers and tournament or advanced players. If you have your own paint and you dont need co2 or nitro refills only expect to spend 10 dollars for ALL day of paintball fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kodey Saturday, May 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I have not been to any other field so I will try not to compare.At this field when I went we never had to yell mask at the reffing staff, but the thing about the refs is that they half of them are cool the other half get angry to easy and do things that should probably get them fired.heres an example my brother was playing and accidently shot him ,hey its part of the game,the ref got real mad and flicked him off.The other thing one of the guys who answered this review is that they do stack the teams but would'nt you want to play with more people than not play at all.Also I think the fields are good they could be better but when there are a lot of people they put two fields together and its not fair example ,one field all the bunkers are sideways for regular play but the other field it is the perfect line up.Same with black and the triangle field,air ball and battle creek,and just the woods.Overall I think the field could be much better so I give it a six because it is not bad.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frodo Monday, March 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lonestar Paintball, Pipecreek Paintball(closed)
Review: This field has/had potential. I'm going to kinda cut to the chase and list the pros and cons of predator paintball that I noticed.

PROS:
- Really nice wood courses.
- Lots of trees. Trees are good for the summer.
- Decent paint prices. Not the best, but better than most places in Texas.
- Nice owners. Family owned.
CONS:
- Unsafe reffing staff: It's sad when customers have to yell "mask!" to a ref, playing 20-some-odd people on a field that shouldn't have any more than 10 people. Among other rules that they neglected (not paying attention to the game, stacking the teams, joking about how some customers are not "tourney players," and making fun of their equipment.)
- Pro Shop staff aren't taking into consideration that they're jamming 3000 pounds per square inch of air into something smaller than a 2 liter bottle of coke. Empty tanks should not be filled in less than one second.

All in all, it's not a bad field. But there are better. If you're one of the many people who only get to play every now and again, I'm sure you want to make the one day you get to play paintball a lot of fun. Just do your research. Ask around, go to stores who are working in conjunction with fields in San Antonio (I believe there is one store for at least one field) and see what those people are like, and ask them what they're field has to offer..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media