paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / GatSplat Paintball Field / GatSplat Paintball Field / GatSplat Paintball Field / GatSplat Paintball Field

GatSplat Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
30Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 972-956-5500
Address: 582 N TX-121-BR (N)
Lewisville, Texas 75057
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
jdhampton Tuesday, July 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, I am a Noob
Directions
to the Field:
Business 121 Lewisville, Just East of I 35E
Review: I arrived and spoke with Larry the Owner. He was very helpful. He set me up with an Ion rental and told me some of the things I would need to get started in paint ball. He also went over some of the basic rules and regs. (Did not have to watch tape)

The facility was nice. Very nice setup/rest area. The fields were nice and they made sure they separated the noobs from the advanced so you wouldn't get lit up. The Speedball field in the front is huge. The back field is not as big, but has some nice features....see below. The refs were cool and called the match fairly. They also evened out the teams the best they could.

The back field was awesome. It was dark with Fog and laser lights, kinda like a club. They gave us barrel flashlights in red and blue to differentiate the teams. I wound up playing with the advanced in the back, but it was awesome.

I rate this field a 10 because of ease of use and great customer service.

Edit: Update....I have been back to this field several times. Each experience has been pretty consistent. I have gotten to know a lot of the employees there and have gotten much better. The pro shop has been great. They carry all types of guns, clothing and equipment.
Last edited on Wednesday, August 29th, 2007 at 10:09 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazyboy22 Thursday, June 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
xdrenalin zone.
Directions
to the Field:
just take business 121.
Review: so, gatsplat was having a summer league, and I decided, "What the heck, I'll give it a shot. " I've wanted to play at this field quite awhile, and I was glad I got to play at it tonight. So anyways, onto it.

Staging Area/Inside Area

Gatsplat had a very clean staging area. Yeah, there were a few paintballs on the ground, but that really didn't do much. There were a lot of picnic tables, and the proshop was pretty good. It had everything that a paintballer could use. Masks, pants, jerseys, loaders, tanks, harnesses, pretty much everything. There was a snack machine, and a drink vending machine as well, so a player could eat or drink at their will. Overall, very well setup. 10 out of 10.

Pricing

Ok, the summer league costs 100 bucks for eight weeks, including entry, and air. Paint was separate. Paint ran 55 bucks a case for x-ball bronze. Not bad, considering it was an indoor field, though maybe 50 bucks could be a bit better. No worries. On average though, a normal visit would probably cost the typical recballer 70 bucks, but I'm not entirely sure. Pricing gets a 9.5 out of 10.

Employees

They helped everybody set up properly, it all ran smoothly. Very courteous, and timing was excellent. Their refs made sure that nobody was shooting hot, and fair calls were made. Games ran very smoothly, with only a break to re-inflate bunkers and clean them off. The employees at the proshop there helped anybody who needed it, and did well. This category gets a 10 out of 10

Fields

The whole night was on the X-ball field. Very clean field, and the bunkers were set up well. They use artificial turf, and you could probably slide a mile on it. I liked the field a lot. Netting was set up all around the field so players could watch games and plan for the next one. A chrono was also set up at the field to prevent hot shooting. Excellent. They have another field, but I haven't seen it yet, so yeah. Fields get 10 out of 10.

Overall, I had a pleasant experience, and I can't wait to go again next week.
Last edited on Thursday, June 21st, 2007 at 9:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

meantexanguy Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xdrenaline zone- mean refs
DFW- fields not as nice
Directions
to the Field:
121 buisness
Review: This is an indoor feild and probably one of the best fields ive ever played in. The refs are the coolest nicest refs you could meet and will hang with and help with any broken equipment you may have. A little pricey but still not as pricey as some places. The owner has a very good sense of humor and just playing there makes you want to work for him. There are only two fields that are both air ball but are kept in pristine condition
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SHBASS Thursday, June 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Madd Dogz - Cheaper, a little more personal, not as nice fields
Xdrenalin - More variety, not indoors though
FOTR- REALLY good variety, I don't think it's as expensive...
Review: This is the first indoor field I have ever played at, and lemme tell you it won't be the last time I come. First let's get the bad out of the way so we can concentrate on the good.

There's only 2 fields first off, which are both speedball, which kind of sucks if you're a woods-type person. The refs don't stay inside the net and they don't run to check people which is annoying when you think you've shot someone about 5 times on their white Reloader shell and you never really know if they were hit. It's not the cheapest, but there are a lot more that are more expensive. Main airball field feels a little bit cramped.

Now to the good! Even though the refs are not inside the net, there are enough of them around the outside to keep good eyes on the game. They also have a nice speaker system that allows you for sure to know if you're hit or not. The fields are EXTREMELY clean and well-kept. There's not sludgy old paint all over the bunkers or at the base of them. The turf is very easy to slide on and doesn't require pads IMO. The field paint is X-ball bronze, which is good stuff. Not the most brittle or the thickest fill, but for rec and small tourneys, it breaks well and there are no problems. A small thing I noticed is that there are no vertical support beams. I notice in vids of people playing indoors where they have those, they often block lanes and get in the way, but you don't have to worry about them here (at least not on the front field which is the only one I played). In the staging area, there are plenty of tables and room to put your crap. There are drink machines and *drum roll* a snack machine which is handy. Their pro shop has TONS of stuff. They have NXT shockers, 07 Egos, DM7s, used markers, beginner gear and everything in-between. They also have a good little service table, with knowlegeable people that know how to fix stuff. Ever have anything really expensive stolen? Not here. One of the things I like most about this place is the fact they have an INSANE amount of security cameras. No angle is left out. They have a front door alarm so that their stuff doesn't get jacked too. Their fill station is conveniently located in the middle of the staging area. I don't like that there's only one or two 4500 outlets, but if you only need about 3000 per game, they have a few of those. Parents don't like to ball, but have to stay out there with you? No worries! They have a parent's lounge with satellite TV and wifi in case they need to get work done or just want to watch football or whatever. The white netting on the field is nice because it brightens up the field instead of making it darker which is nice for indoors.

All in all, this is a very well-thought out and well executed idea for a field. I had the best day of paintball I think I ever had in my life at this field. I will definately be back!

P.S. I'm the guy always calling up there about the superman Ego. If I get my shocker sold, it's mine. Thanks for letting me use it the other day!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbtx07 Thursday, June 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xdrenaline zone, collin county
Directions
to the Field:
right on business 121
Review: This field is a good field and pro shop all of the guys that work there are really cool and willing to talk to you and hang out while willing to help you with any thing that you need. the fields are pretty good its hard to explain them except that they are air ball cause they switch them up wich is good cause its always a little different when you go back in there its pretty clean for being an indoor field also the staging area is big enough for everyone so its not overly crowded and also the waiting is kind of nice cause you get rest and clean your stuff and then about five or ten minutes later your ready to go right back and play some more. I'm usualy not a fpo fan but i agree with it here cause it would make the cleaning alot harder.
The only thing i think is a little annoying is that they have only one type of paint which is 55 bucks a box when they might be able to find a white fill but is a lttle cheaper so that way you only have to pay a little less which would make going there a little easier cause it could cost a little less money on my part but other than that its great and I highly recommend going there and playing its alot of fun and they have a little t.v. room for the people who dont play like parents and i also think they have wifi capabilities which is cool to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kore Tuesday, April 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xdrenaline, Fun on the Run
Review: Good field, Fair refs, and excellent staff. Downside is you have to use their paint. (The city forced them to use water soluble paint) Two course. The X-Ball field was great fun. Recently they changed the theme of their back field to a Disco theme with smoke and lasers. I dint enjoy the backfield, it was too dark and too small. Other than that it was an all around good field. Its more geared to Rec players than Tournament practice and from what I heard from the owner, That is what they are about.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

purtorican2121 Saturday, March 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Farmers Branch, Gatsplat is a bit better
Review: Excellent!!! The place is clean, pretty big, and has people that know what there talking about. The refs are very strict on the rules, but it doesn't take away from the fun. They make you watch a safety video before you play, it's pretty funny. Then you get all your paintball equipment together (field paint only) and wait for them to call your experience level. Beginner, Intermediate, or Advanced. In advanced you are allowed to bunker your opponent ( shooting up close at your opponent). They have two fields x-ball and wild west. X-ball is fun, except one of the white X bunkers is easily knocked down. The wild west is good except you cant pass the half mark line, and every time I played in there we always played capture the flag. Also if there are alot of beginners, the wild west field will be packed! The artificial turf makes it easy to slide. The Proshop is beautiful, and the guys working there know what there talking about. They'll help you fix your gun, rental or owned, if your having problems with it. You fill your own N2, if you are using that. If your hungry you can order pizza from domino's. They also have a live web cam that you can watch from there website. It's a bit pricey, but one reason for that is that you have to buy there paint, but it's worth it and i will definitely go again.
Last edited on Saturday, March 10th, 2007 at 9:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

timthedrummer Thursday, March 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DFW
Paintball Paradise
Review: First off, the pricing was pretty expensive. I think I ended up paying a little over $80 for a case of X-Ball bronze (way overpriced) field fee, and all day air. This is the most expensive field I've ever played at. Second, their X-Ball field was AMAZING!!! It was the only field I played on all day, and it was great. The turf was excellent, and there were a good variety of bunkers. But the refs suck. I accidentally shot one when he ran in front of my lane of fire to go check a guy, and the ref screamed like a little girl and called me out. I was FURIOUS! I haven't ever been called out for accidentally shooting a ref before. Other than the price and the crappy refs, its a pretty good field. Everything is indoors so it doesn't matter what the weather's like outside. Its a constant 70 degrees in the staging area and a little cooler on the field. It was the perfect temperature. I give this field a 7 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

jester_s1 Sunday, February 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xdrenalin- Nice speedball, Nice woodsball, many more fields and better pricing but outdoors.
Fun on the Run- Very inexpensive, decent speedball on Friday nights during the summer but annoying waits and moves between games otherwise.
Review: I decided to give GatSplat a try on a Saturday night since my wife went out to the movies with some of her friends. The prices were decent- I got a case of good paint, air tank rental, all day air and the entry fee for about $90. Cheaper paint would be nice but overall for what you get it's not a bad deal. I played on both the Xball field and the Wild West field. I liked them both, although the West field wasn't set up to allow or encourage much movement. The refs were friendly although there weren't many of them. Maybe one was skipping work that night. Games moved pretty smoothly until around 7 when all the refs aparrently decided to go on break and sat down in the middle of the Xball field for about 10 minutes. A friendly reminder to the counter guys from me got the games going again.
My only gripe besides the lull in the games was the lax enforcement of the safety rules. Other reviewers seem to have had a better experience here than me, so maybe it was a one night screwup. Problems I saw included LOTS of dry firing in the customer area with barrel socks off (done both by kids playing and by the staff) even though a prominent sign prohibited it, I saw two different players take off their masks after being told not to, then got no punnishment for it (the rules don't mean anything if they aren't enforced), nearly no enforcement of the barrel sock rule until after a ref got shot before the game started (they enforced that rule real well though), and very lax enforcement of the chrono limit (I played three games before anybody even checked my gun). Like I said, maybe it was an off night but if my experience is typical it's just a matter of time before GatSplat gets sued by an angry parent. The guns constantly going off in the customer area is the biggest problem, because it only takes one dead head to leave a ball in his gun to hurt somebody.

Pros: - Indoor is great. Bad weather doesn't stop the games.
- The facility was neat and the turf was easy to play on. A top quality field.
- Efficient use of the fields with very little waiting.
- Nice division by skill. Beginnners don't have to play with experts but can.
- Good pro shop. Anything you need they have.

Cons: - Poor safety enforcement, at least on my visit.
- Not enough refs.
- Field Paint Only. Prices were ok, but I usually buy cheaper stuff for rec ball.
- Only two field choices.

Overall, GatSplat is only a little more expensive than most other premium fields, but when you figure in free air and $3 tank rentals, cheaper than some. What you get is indoor paintball done well at the expense of big open fields and losing the option for woodsball. If they can tighten up on safety, especially in the customer area, they will have a great place for us to go in bad weather. In good weather, I would opt for Xdrenalin at roughly the same price for bigger fields and more variety though. For fun factor and convenience, I give it a 9. For value, I give it a 10. For safety, I give it a 3 because they at least had rules in place even if they didn't enforce them well. So overall it's a 6, but if they will train their refs to keep the trigger nuts in check, I'd go 9 easy.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

furypaintball Sunday, February 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DFWAP- alot more feilds, refs are not as nice, long waits.
Review: I arrived at the building and i was greeted at the door by the owner. He was really nice, and wanted to do whatever he could for us to have a good time. The 2 feilds ( X-ball & western ) are good but the west was too small. They split the groups up based on experience which was good because there wernt very exp. players with the smaller kids. the prices are reasonable with xball bronze at 55 a case and entry at $20. Overall it was a great time and i will def. be back again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media