paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / GatSplat Paintball Field / GatSplat Paintball Field / GatSplat Paintball Field / GatSplat Paintball Field

GatSplat Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
30Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 972-956-5500
Address: 582 N TX-121-BR (N)
Lewisville, Texas 75057
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Squid_9106 Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Haven't played since 5 years ago and this is the only field i've played at since I started back up.
Directions
to the Field:
All I can say is if you're heading from plano, go to 35, and exit 121.. it's that simple
Review: This place is a great place to go when the weather is too cold or it's raining.. or even in the summer when it's blazzing hot outside. The only complaint I have about GatSplat is the fact that they only have one field running constantly (Xball field). Every once in awhile they will bring a group out to their Wild West field (also indoors) but the set up on that field is a little too small for my liking, but I'd rather play on a small field than wait for X to open up so for a smaller field it's definitely nice but not worth it if there's more than 8 playing on each team.

As for Xball, I love this field no matter what setup they put it in. The lighting is perfect (the West field is a little darker than it should be) and the turf is wonderful. They shovel off paint every few games so you're not sliding and running over piles of paint. They do what they are paid to do and they do a good job at it. Sometimes getting a paint check can be a little more of a hassle though if you're in the middle of the field, so the best thing to do is get a team mate to check for you or just get up and call yourself out, but if you're on the side the refs keep up with it. The refs make it enjoyable and make it seem less like competition and more like a fun and safe game.

The staff in general are very great at what they do. They help in anyway that they can and run the business the best I've seen. I hope to see them expand one day and maybe add on a field or too, but I will continue to come back time and time again. I'm always there with my girlfriend who also plays (pretty much the only girl out there) so you should be able to spot us if you go on a Saturday (I wear a green proto jersey and she wears a blue dye jersey). Hope to see you guys out there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

weinerdog35 Sunday, January 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: This field is run pretty good. It was very busy for a sunday. The staff is very helpful to newbies to the sport like me. An employee even let me borrow their personal pulse hopper to try it out. I am a beginner and tried to go out with the intermediate players and got smoked. The waiting area is big, but with so many people in there it was hard to find a table. The paint was $55 a box and it was a good quality paint. Breaks just fine at 260 fps. The refs checked everyones gun upon entering the field. Overall it was a fun day. The self fill station was nice because you dont have to wait for the workers to do it.

260 fps was fine with me because its indoors and a small field. It still leaves a mark when you get hit.

Cons: The turf was full of paint and smelly water. When you slid you would get very wet. The fields are kinda small. Not enough bunkers in the wild west field. Way to many players on the field at once. Long wait to play the X-ball field. My mask kept fogging up.
Last edited on Sunday, January 21st, 2007 at 8:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

jmac08 Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Farmers Branch, Xdrenalin Zone, DFW
Directions
to the Field:
i-35, exit buisness 121. on the right.
Review: This field is the only indoor to really speak of in north texas. I would first go to Xdrenalin Zone because that place is great, but this review is about GatSplat! When I first found out I had to shoot 260 i was some what sad. After I got my gun to shoot that low I played my first game on the amazing turf. I started off in the back and shot some to their back. 260 fps got the paintballs there and busted on occasion. One down side if you slide alot is that the turf is filled with paint and paint shells. You can slide far and it is soft to land on but if your gun touches that turf in the wrong spots, have fun cleaning it.

Over all this field is for speedball players when the weather is bad. Too many people can not be fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

fropow3r Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
XDdrenaline fortpaintball forney farmers branch (I no what im talkin about)
Review: First of all i rate this field a low 7. Im not saying this b/c i sucked at the fields.. because i got 11 people out in 1 round there once. ONly 2 fields. FPO. expensive. refs really are annyoing. also im not saying that because i got in trouble. had no warnings there I follow rules but, evry game was a 5 minute talk about it aftr watching video. The refs dont paintcheck b/c they scared and rules stressed way to much!!!!! It interfres with game. NOW THIS SENTENCE IS THE MOST IMPORTANT= velocity setting must be below 260!!!! The ups are its indoor and slide turf and have 3 groups=Begginer,intermediate,advanced.



Conclusion:if you like to move a lot,snipe,woodsball,grenading dont come here. Speedball is good but maybe double the length and width would be better. but this is for advanced speedballers particularly. come here if weathers bad, not on good sunny days.


P.S begineers when its cold theres a long wait time. so u cant keep playing.
Last edited on Sunday, January 14th, 2007 at 8:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

06cruiser Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xadrenalinzone
Directions
to the Field:
http://www.gatsplat.com/directions.asp
Review: Safety: Safety is the #1 priority here. The staff makes sure everyone is wearing their masks in areas they are supposed to be doing so, and makes sure barrel condoms are on all the time except of course when you are playing.

Fields: Xball and "Wild West" fields, didn't play on the Wild west field but the Xball was extremely fun, and sliding to bunkers was easy. Great indoor field with bright lighting and white netting.

Hours: The proshop is open Monday, and Fri-Sun at varying times, and the Fields are open Wednesdays and Fri-Sun at various times. Check the website for specific hours.

Prices and Rentals: For $10 you can get a BT-4 plus mask, air, and a hopper of paint, for $20 you can rent an Ion with the same. The rental masks are cheap of course, they fog up easily, but that's why they are rentals.
The field is FPO (Field Paint Only) which means you can only use the paint provided by them. Doesnt bother me, its about $56 for 2000 shots or less for 500 or 1000 shots. Field fee for all day play and air is $20 regularly and 15$ on wednesdays and some fridays and holidays.

Rules: Basic rules, no blind firing, no unsportsmanlike conduct, obey safety rules, etc.

Concessions: They have drink machines and a munchies machine, also if you want to bring your own food you can, and many people had pizza delivered there throughout the day (outside food and drink is allowed, just no alcohol or drugs!)

Accommodations: Parents lounge with wireless internet and HD TV and window to watch your kids play

Staging area: Big front room of about 30 long picnic tables where you can set your stuff. Air refill station for self-servicing air refills, very simple and safe.

Pro Shop: The Pro shop has great items, high end markers, accessories, loaders, jerseys, pants, bags, everything, for great prices. I bought my PMR here. Also if you are looking for something in a certain price range the staff can answer alot of questions and help you make the best decision.

Staff: Very knowledgeable and friendly. will do whatever it takes to keep you happy and keep you playing this wonderful sport. A very awesome group of individuals.

Refs: The staff did a great job reffing, they took safety very seriously and the games were divided up pretty evenly, split up into categories of Beginner, Intermediate, and Advanced.

Players: There were ALOT of people playing today, ranging from beginners to advanced players. Its a great environment to meet people who love the sport as much as you do.

Overall: Awesome place to play, I would recommend it to ANY paintballer, serious or recreational. I give it a 10 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

jtpro28 Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DFW-----------not near as good as this place
Xdrenaline---good, but the airball fields can get pretty rocky and no grass
Directions
to the Field:
Cant help you here
Review: safety-

Well the refs make sure you have your goggles on around the field. Even when you are right outside the net. When you come back into the room where you load up and refill your tanks they always look to see if you have your barrel condom on.
fields-

2 pretty good fields. They are both indoors and the astroturf makes it GREAT!!! They clean them alot! Like every nigth i think. And the bunkers are always filled up. The X-ball field is amazing. You can superman dive and slide so far. I love it.
prices-

Umm you have to buy there paint. Its 55 a case and 20 to get in.
rules-elimanation
proshop-

they have some handy stuff there. They have some nice high end guns for sale. Quests, NXT shockers, dm6..etc
players-

all type of players come here and they divide the teams nicly


10/10
I AM COMING BACK FOR SURE
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

yinyin Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DFW adventure park
Xdrenalin Zone
Farmers Branch
Review: My Experince at GatSplat was incredible. The Refs were great and the managers were extremly freindly.
There were two feilds: Xball and Wild West. I only played Wild West 2 times before they closed it down because they had some kind of private thing going on in there. I prefered Xball over west because west was only half the size Xball was and everybody stayed in the back they whole game. On Xball they redo the bunkers every day when they clean so that its always a new experience. we ussaly had around 3-7 players per team so the games weren't overly crowded. It is all indoor so once you finish a game you can move right on to your next game after you reload or clean off your mask. Another good thing about GatSplat is that you may shoot someone from any leghth, the only rule is no bunkering. They make you chrono your gun down to 260 fps since its indoors. It is very cheap to get in, on holidays you pay 15 bucks to play 6 hours and on regualar weekends you pay 20 bucks to play as long as you want to. Rentals are $10 for a begginer rental package(B4 marker, mask, air,hopper) and $18 for advanced package (ion marker, mask, electric hopper, air, hopper of paint). I probably fit around 35 games in to 6 hours! I'm serious! I will definately come back to this feild again.


P.S. Thsi is an FPO feild (field paint only) even if you bring your own equipment.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Whackedwhiteboy Tuesday, November 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xdrenalin Zone (outdoor) needs work...
Directions
to the Field:
From Richardson take 635 west, exit onto 35 E N.B., take exit towards business 121 go right and stay in the right lane, you will be there shortly.
Review: Indoor: Well I gotta give to the managers there: they ran very fair balanced games and took very good care of the entire facility. The fields were very clean and well kept. They have two fields for now 1.) Xball 2.)West world. Only played the xball but the western field looked fun as well. Safety was stressed very heavily, as it should be. People were putting the barrel socks on when and where they were supposed to and nobody removed their masks while on the field or the in goggles only area. Prices are very fair $15 for all day air and entry and $45 for a decent case of paint.(field paint only!) You may hear a lot of people whining and crying because it is 260fps but its indoor! In that small of an area you cannot be shooting 280-300 paint still breaks at 260... Restrooms were very well kept, clean, and as "odor free" as possible. The staff was very friendly and curious as to you having a good day or a bad one. Players there were ok, friendly, and split fairly. They also have a proshop but I was not that concerned as to how much stuff they had or what they had as I was more focused on playing. Congratulations and good luck to all those at GatSplat!
Last edited on Saturday, February 3rd, 2007 at 6:36 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballr101 Wednesday, September 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the area i just moved here from
Directions
to the Field:
take 121 south til you see the turn for 121 business and its like 10 minutes down that road on the left
Review: Fields: The xball field in the front is amazing. perfect lighting and perfect turf make it flawless. It is well cleaned every day of operation mid day and after closing. The field in the back (wild west) is a really neat scenario field. It has genuine whiskey barrels from kentucky i think. It also has custom made themed bunkers such as a well and gallows. It also has these big home bunkers shaped like a general store and i jailhouse.

Hours: this place has very very convenient hours Fridays: 3-10pm saturdays 12-10pm and im not sure about sundays its not open quite til 10 but it is on a sunday.

Prices: The prices were average. Even with two fields you would think theyre a bit high but you have to remember they have the nicest fields AIR CONDITIONING!! great refs drink machines bathrooms so to me i think the prices are fair. And also they sell passes by the month for frequent players which are a heck of a deal,since they pay them selves of in about 3 visits(for the month pass)

Staff: everyone at gatsplat was overly nice and willing to do anything for your comfort. Honestly I have never seen a staff so willing to do whatever to make the customer happy. Not to mention they have reallly great refs.

The facility: Each of the fields had White netting which i thought was a great Idea it really brightens things up also the lighting was unbelievable. Unlike those dark dirty indoor fields you see in some vids this was bright way clean and was well kept.
They had a great big staging area with about 35 tables for everyone to put there stuff at. A parents room with chairs and wireless internet not to mention the HD TV. And viewing windows so your parents can watch you play.

The place also had A big vending machine with soda gatorades and energy drinks,and a well stocked munchies machine :D

i give this field a 10 all the way
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xPIMPx1ONxPBx Friday, September 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xdrenaline
DFW Adventure park
Directions
to the Field:
Yea I'm so bad with directoions there's no way I could help anyone find anything.
Review: Fields:
The main X-ball field is great, it's indoors has nice turf and a good set of normal air bunkers. They rearrange the bunkers on the X-ball field after each day since they have to move them all to clean the field anyway, but that keeps things a little more interesting. This is obviously the preferred field over the "Wild West" field which includes a saloon a jail and hanging dummy. It's fun to play around on and play like 1-1 but you can barely play a real game on it because it's just too small.

Staff:
Overall they're the most helpful staff at any fields I know of, the owners goal is to make this field an atmosphere that makes you want to come back. Right now the field is pretty new and sometimes the staff is overloaded with stuff to do but they will help you with pretty much anything you need.
The Refs are really good because there are about 8-10 on the field at all times during the "advanced" players games. They see you being hit most every time so you shouldn't have trouble with people wiping your shots or anything.

Prices:
FPO facilities, so you have to buy their paint, which isn't too bad at $44 for Rampage and $55 for X-ball bronze. Getting in, which includes all day air is about $20. Not too bad and if it's a holiday weekend I think the prices come down like $5 on everything.
They also have a setup that you can buy a sortof membership that your free to go as many times as you want and you only have to buy your paint, for like a year at a time I think.

Facilities:
Being a brand new field the facilities are nice, there are 20 picnic tables and nice restrooms, and the air refill is selfserve and in an easily accessible area, but the only concessions are vending machines.

Proshop:
They don't really have a proshop but you can buy pretty much anything that's essential for playing(9V,AA batteries,hopper shells,etc) but the selection is very limited at this point. They say they plan on adding to to what they have for sale there but right now they still have their shop at Scuba-toys somewhere else.

Hours:
Saturday is like 10-10 and Sunday is noon to 7:00. I don't know what they do on weekdays.

Rules:
Since the field is indoors the FPS limit is set at 260 and pretty heavily in-forced but they won't jump on you for being a little over if they even notice. Most of the rules are just like at any other field.

Other: (bonus)
The Wild West Field is set up so that the Ref has a thing in his mask so that when he talks you hear it over a loudspeaker system, and while you play there's music in playing so that's pretty cool. They have a room for parents with a big screen T.V. in it and the building is set up for high speed Internet connections, so if have to have a parent drive you they won't be bored all day if they want to stay and watch a little.

Overall:
Great field, hopefully it expands, only flaw is that it's not big enough for some of the large crowds it'as likely to see. Plus there is only one field that's worth playing on if your an advanced player (the Wild West field just doesn't work with real players, although it is fun for 1-1, 2-1 type games)

I'd give it an 8 1/2 but i can't
Last edited on Friday, September 15th, 2006 at 10:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media