paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cousins Paintball of Coram Long Island Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball of Coram Long Island Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball of Coram Long Island Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball of Coram Long Island Paintball Field

Cousins Paintball of Coram Long Island Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
50Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: N/A
Location: Coram, New York 11727
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
backseatmonkey Tuesday, April 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
e-jam (outdoors)
Directions
to the Field:
dunno mapquest it
Review: ok so this isn't a review. more like seeking honesty out of a bunch of fools. look i have about 15 of my friends going to this BIG GAME. all i want to know is if its worth it. all i'm reading is how 90% of the refs could care less about anything and how expensive the paint is. could someone who is some what honest help me out. some one who has been there before for this BIG GAME. please help the monkey!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Silodi Tuesday, February 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: I've played here twice and it is the closest field to my home. (I don't have all that much time to play paintball).

The Refs:
My first time at Cousins they were awesome. They followed every rule by the book and they were very player friendly. The second time my private group had really lazy refs. My friend who we were versing was wearing a red sweater and my teammate and I lit him up really bad so that his whole chest was covered in blue paint. I scream "paint check," and the ref walks over nice and slow and claims my friend still in. My teammate and I look at each other and shoot him again while the ref is standing by him and the ref never calls him out.
Sometimes 10/10. Other times 2/10. The refs here are a mixed bunch.

The Safety:
Very safe. Refs make sure all masks are on during play and barrel plugs/condoms are on at all times when off the field. Need to chrono.
8/10.

The Fields:
Very unique. Many themed fields. My favorites would probably be the tower field and the house field.
10/10.

The Prices:
Way too expensive! Paint at $100 for 2000 really needs to be quality, which this paint is not. Need lower prices.
2/10.

Overall:
Very good facility. If the prices of paint were lowered and the quality level of refs here was increased then this would be the best field in the area hands down.
8/10.


EDIT: BIG GAME WAS AWESOME!
Last edited on Saturday, December 15th, 2007 at 6:28 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Tony Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: November 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NJ Paintball Club
Top Gun Paintball
High Velocity (Indoor)
NYC Paintball (Indoor)
Directions
to the Field:
L.I.E to EXIT 64, make a left, all the way down to Granny Rd., make a right, sign is on the left...
Review: The only thing that blows about Coram, is the fact that they take forever in between games. The disorganisation experienced in between games was not the norm, but it seems to be, as more people come in with groups and refs are called to oversee these private groups.

The managament is always respectful, professional & goes beyond the norm to make sure you have a positive experience.

They've lowered the prices, and now you pay the going rate of (if you buy at the shop) $45 for a box of 2000 rounds, bring your receipt to the field you and a friend pay $22. If you bring your own equipment you pay $22, although all day air is still seperate at $10 and $4 for each fill. The el cheapo paper camo overalls they now sell for $5, but still rip to shreds as you move.

The food truck is catering to a captive audience, so he charges top dollar for everything, be prepared to pay $3 for a slice of pizza. On a side not if you book a group ahead of time, you can get boxes of pizza ordered for delivery at the field.

50/50 chance on getting refs who dont give a fuk, 50/50 chance on getting thug gangsta retard types on any given day, as well as hyped up, camo clad, gun crazed yahoos.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

D34DLYpb Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousin's Indoor (blah I hate X-Ball), Various fields in a bunch of different states.
Review: Safety is never an issue. The refs are strict about plugs and goggles. Bonus balls get you a warning then thrown out.

The feilds are always clean, they have a wide variety, and are set up well.

They are open 9-4. 7 hours is good enough for me. It starts getting dark near 4 during this time of the year anyways.

A lot of people are making issues over the prices... $21 to play if you have your own equipment, free air fills all day. Down the block they have a store, get your paint there and bring a receipt, $50.

Rules are just like everywhere else and the ref's do a good job enforcing them to the best of their ability. Sometimes it gets hard for 3 refs to judge 50 people.

The staff is great and do whatever thy can to assist you. They have no problem fixing any technical difficulties at the gun shop, and are very friendly.

Facilities = Porta potties. Not the best for women, but they work for us men.

The food truck is great. Wide variety of hot foods, cold sandwiches, hot and cold beverages, and snacks as well.

Management is very friendly and deals with all issues brought up in a professional matter.

I would be very happy to give Cousin's a 10 out of 10, but it takes a little to long to get semi-open organized, and the prices are high if you are renting and don't know to go to their store for paint, plus they're in Coram (the armpit of Long Island).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

krausa Friday, October 13th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played everywhere for 15 years. Ring Homestead is my favorite. (no, I don't work for them)
Review: Been playing paintball for 15 years. I've seen a lot of fields in a lot of places. I was not too happy with Cousins in Long Island

Pros:
1) A really nice owner committed to customer satisfaction. He went out of his way for us, getting us a game on short notice.
2) We had a quality ref, Chris, who worked hard for us all day. Not on a power kick or anything, like other refs (don't go to NJ Paintball Club for that reason)
3) Fields are very good, lots of variety.

Cons:
1)price - Way too high. $86 for a case, field paint only - and $49 admission gets you only 500 balls. There are better prices around (Ring Homestead, ABC - which sucks for other reasons)

2) nickel and diming - $5 to rent 2 pods?! (It comes with the package at Ring Homestead). Air is extra if renting. Hate getting pinched right and left like that.

3) Ridiculous 20 foot surrender rule due to "insurance regulations". So I'm in a firefight with someone about 25 feet away. He runs out of air. Manages to sneak to a closer spot, about 15 feet away, and yells "surrender" . Uh- I don't think so. But I had to convince the ref in that case why it was ridiculous. Another case: I'm covering a teammate who is in front of me behind a huge tire. An opponent is on the other end of the tire, so I'm waiting till he comes around to attack my man, so I can nail him. That's exactly what happens. As he comes around, I shoot him at the same time as he calls "surrender" to my teammate (who guessed right, and had his gun pointed that way anyway). Ref calls my man out. Why? He is waiting there for him, and I peg him as he comes around!
Once, the rule worked to my advantage, as I called surrender to someone who thought I was bunkering, but knew I was coming, and was waiting. Ref called him out. Doesn't make sense. Should be, if you sneak up behind a person, don't shoot em. But 20 foot surrender?! Just dumb - it leads to so many judgment calls. Make the bunkering rule optional or something, or get the same insurance that other places use, where they don't have that rule. I have to say- this idiotic rule ruined the day for me.

4) They close at 4 pm. Why, on a beautiful fall day, before the clock change, would they not stay open till 5? Means more paint that they sell anyway - should make up for the cost of refs. I know that they are not the only place that closes at 4, but I do know others that stay open later.

5) No concession stand or even a vending machine. I don't get that at all.

Overall, that, and brutal LIE traffic, makes this an undesirable choice for me.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

alamocoastie Thursday, July 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pyro, New Jersey
Review: Well, this was my first time out to this field and at first I was pretty impressed with it. By the end of the day however, my feelings were quite different.

For starters, registration started at 830, we didn't get to our first game until 1015. This is ridiculous. There were enough people lined up for half an hour before they started the game. Chronoing was another issue. They had people chrono their markers, but did not mark anyone to indicate they had been through the process. I can look past these issues.

The refs on the otherhand were just awful. At first, they wouldn't shutup on the radio to give the head ref a chance to give the rules. When they did, they didn't enforce them or positioned themselves in such a way that they couldn't enforce kill shots or surrender rules. One primary example was myself and two others were behind a structure, a guy charged our nest, pops up, shoots my friend in the goggles at point blank range, yells surrender and gets splatted by me with a three round burst to the chest from five feet. The ref walked over almost a minute later and said we were all out. We discussed everything amongst ourselves and realized what happened and corrected it amongst ourselves.

A couple of games later, while we were standing in a group waiting for the refs to explain the safety, the head ref approached a friend from behind with a marker pointed at his head. He then moved toward the front of the group and began to point the marker at others and make jokes. My friend called him on his behavior and the ref took offense!! He notified the manager and ensured that we would miss the next round. After explaining our position to the manager, he let us go and allowed us to continue and pulled all the refs in after the round they were playing. We left after that. I still have 3/4 of a case of balls remaining.

in conclusion:

field: 8
manager: 9
support: 8
refs: 0
overall: 4

With better refs and some onsite repair support, this place would be awesome!

There were also other incidents that took place that day that makes me question that place quite a bit.

another tip for saving money: buy your paint at their store before you go to the field. Just show your receipt when you get there. It'll save you about 10-15 bux.
Last edited on Thursday, July 27th, 2006 at 8:38 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

snipaespo Friday, June 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hivi
Review: I've been to this field a lot and they have been very help full over the years. I've broken my gun there in the middle of a game and they let me borrow one for no cost. The refs are okay but i kinda expect that from collage kids. They keep to the rules and don't mess around when they tell you to put ur mask on or to plug your barrel. They also have the best family fields where they are not too hard and hilly and some of they're other fields are perfect for their scenarios . Now for the 06 season they are doing a new scenario game every saturday from 9 - 4 and it is so much fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jakegiddi Thursday, March 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
COUSINS INDOOR
HIGH VELOCITY INDOOR
PAINTBALL ARENA
E-JAM (NJ)
Review: PROS: Large fields

CONS: Too expensive, too much time between games

TIP: go to paintballhotline.com for discount passes. $5 or less for admission and rentals if you don't have equipment...or you don't want to pay to fill a tank, just ask to rent the tank (first fill comes free) get a group of 20 or more (classmates, sports teammates, whatever) 20 or more people you get a priv. group all day. You get your own refs and generally play with people who don't cheat if you are in a closed group....play the games that you want to play...ctf, last man standing, president, ect...

I have done this 3 times with success and each time i had a blast...I shared paint with a friend to bring down cost and limited my shots...

IF COUSINS WOULD BE MORE OPEN TO LOWERING PAINT PRICES, OR HAVING SPECIAL DAYS LIKE BYOP ONCE A MONTH, I FEEL THEY WOULD GET A LOT MORE PEOPLE TO VIST BUT WHO ARE TURNED OFF BY HIGH PRICES...WAKE UP!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb713 Monday, February 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Directions
to the Field:
located off of granny rd in coram, LIE exit 64 North
Review: Cousins paintball in my opinion is the #1 outdoor field on long island. to begin the staff was all great. the manager there was friendly and helpful along with the refs. the refs were good, they were always checking people and making sure no one was cheating. We had a fun time and they had so many fields for us to play on, i think theres like 26 in total. its mostly woods but they do have some themed fields, a hyperball field and an xball field (not set up in winter). they're open from 8:30 to 4 so you get to see alot of the different fields. The price is a bit expensive but looking around at other locations they all charge the same, its just an expensive sport overall. But in my opinion at cousins at least you get your money's worth.

as far as food goes they have a coffee truck there with a variety of food, when the weather is nicer they cook food, like burgers and hot dogs, etc. the rules there are pretty much standard, keep your goggles on etc., on busy days they try split up the open field into groups like beginners( mostly younger kids and families), intermediate and advanced. me and my friends have a great time each time we play, never had any problems, i had to wait on line for fills every once in a while but nothing major.

over all i always have a blast. i'd reccommend this location to anyone, old young, beginners or advanced. i dont know why some people here seem to hate it, it wouldnt surprise me if its cousins competition leaving bad comments, some people can be desperate for business.

Honestly i dont think there is any competition here, Cousins Coram is the BEST outdoor on long island with out a doubt, i think thats why they have been around for so long.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Dye_i3 Tuesday, February 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: OVERALL--- Great Feilds,EXTREAMLY Bad Prices, Bad Refs


I have went to the cousins BIG Game here for 3 years. Each year i spend at least 500 dollars for each time i attend the game. there prices SUCK. i dont know anyone that wants to pay 100 dollars for a case of 2000 balls. Cousins thinks they have a monopoly. But they do have very good feilds. Most of them are very big and clean. You wont find boxes,bottels,cans.....ect. the refs there are extreamly bad. they sorta just sit there and maybe get distracted and look at some trees or kick some dirt around. but it also depends on who is reffing there are some ok ones. if you dont care about how much you spend and you like to wipe a lot this is the palce for you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media