paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Xtreme Paintball Field / Xtreme Paintball Field / Xtreme Paintball Field / Xtreme Paintball Field

Xtreme Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
31Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (512) 796-9760
Address: 7415 Burleson Manor Rd
Manor, Texas 78653
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
devatron24 Friday, February 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: so, i haven't done the painball gig in a long time. i have done indoor and outdoor fields, but Xtreme definitely had the most variety. Our ref (i forgot his name, i suck) was reall great with us and accomodating (played battle of the metal bands, my band was dead earth politics). i loved the back fields - let me tell you: it was muddy and cold and rainy. it was bad ass. fields varied in terrain, foliage and cover. that made each round that much more interesting. the one suggestion i would make, is several grounds should be looked at to balance out advantage. there were a few fields where one side had obvious terrain advantages over the other. beyond that, my band and management are planning on gathering up funds to go again!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

A-Junkie Friday, February 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Almost all
Directions
to the Field:
take MLK exit...head east 14 miles...Take left on burleson-manor....thats it
Review: facilities- The place is very appealing. They have 10 or 12 picnic tables set up with paper towel holders on them. Their parking lot is huge. Bathrooms are accessible. They have running water which I needed because my shoes got muddy. Their building has multiple windows on it with staff in every window ready to help you. What I liked best is the big net they have stretched in front of the first field (speedball). The owners told me that they plan to put bleatchers in so people can watch their friends/kids play.

Prices- Fair or cheaper then some. I have my own equip. so all I paid was 5 bucks for a field fee. I got a case for 60 which wasn't bad.

Refs- They are also the owners. They are very articulate when giving the rules. They really like teams to be fair (which is what I liked best b/c some places put all the torney guys against the noobs..). Also they offer games but if you want to play something else they will play it.

Food- Snickers, chips, gatorade, etc.

Pro- location- I live on campus so its like 15 min away.

con - no HPA...but the owner told me that it will be there the weekend after the super bowl.

Overall- I give this field a 9.5 out of 10 b/c of their location, fields and pricing. Once they get compressd I'll be their all the time.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

El Cabrito Monday, January 29th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Most of them.
Review: Pros

1. Friendly. Staff is very excited to have you there and very accommodating.
2. cleanliness. The picnic/shop area was immaculate. I can't even describe the netting job on the fields it was very very well done. And the parking lot was clean large and right next to the fields.
3. Pricing. You have to pay to play I guess. It was comparable to the other shops around here.

Cons

1. Fields. I do not like to play speed ball very much but if you are going to make a speed ball field make a good mirrored field with out little bunkers with netting and boats and things. All the fields were a little too big. Even it big groups were out the fields are a bit to spread out. It keeps you from moving in a fire fight. More bunkers or just closer bunkers would make the game less of a move to contact the have a stand still fire fight.

2. Creativity. We only played capture the flag. The games are all set up like a flag game. In the end it all comes down to elimination anyway so create some different objectives and goals. It makes the day more diverse. after game 4 I felt i was still playing game 1.

3. Out of the way. Something you have to deal with in paintball but the fields are kinda off the beaten path. Not a major downfall just harder on the business side which may eventually affect the playing side.

Opinion.

I'm tired of reading reviews about how great a field is then going to it and it being average. This place isn't bad but its not what everyone else has pumped it up to be. a few things really irked me like the owner was reffing with a mask with the lower half removed. You have to lead by example and full face mask is part of that. The field is new and is a good place for noobies to go to but I feel if you start here soon you will be wanting something more out of paintball and looking for a better place. Also no HPA but they assured me it will be there in a couple of weeks. No major problem but kind of an inconvenience. All in all im looking for a little more than was offered out there now but im always rooting for a place to make it and I really hope that they find their niche in the paintball world and not fade away like many shops do. Good luck guys
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

ajsmith1701 Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
To many to write. All over the country. This by far is the best field in the area. You can tell that a lot of planning and time went into the field. I really enjoyed it.
Review: I have been playing paintball for over 17 years. I have played all over. I have played all types scenario being my favorite. This field by far is the best field I have played on in Central Texas. Prices are very good. It is the only field that I have been at that they give you a comfort pod carrier with 4 140 tubes with rental. Safety was great. Field is for any type of paintballer. Scenario, woods, speedball. All of it is geared for the most enjoyment you can get. Family friendly. Field will be getting compressed air system soon and a snack bar. As soon as the word gets out you will have to make reservations to play. I'm putting the word out so look for 26 hour scenario at this field soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MidTexHorn Thursday, December 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played 2 other fields in the area, one on the northeast side of Austin and one on the northwest side of Austin in the past 5 or so years, but I don't recall their names.
Directions
to the Field:
Use the directions provided on the website or use Google maps which is what I did. I had no problem finding the place.
Review: For your reference, I'm a rec player and only play with groups of friends for birthday parties or other such events every few years. I'm in my late 30s and recently played Xtreme Paintball with my adult sons and my brother and his teenage kids for a birthday party.

This is a very new establishment and has only been open for 3 months or so. It is a very well run place. The owners take great pride in their customer service and it really shows. They are two young guys, at least one of whom is ex-Army (both had buzz cuts and looked like former military). Everything about the place is first rate and professional. I spoke with one of the owners and he said that this was a long time dream for he and his buddy who had worked for years as teenagers at one of the other local PB fields. They are trying to incorporate the good things they learned on the job at the other field, do away with the bad, and incorporate some of the professionalism and ideas that were learned in the Army.

We played multiple games on three fields during our 4 hours or so at Xtreme Paintball. The terrain and obstacles were varied and fun. The speedball course was great. One of the owners told us they are only about 60% done with their fields, so I would expect constant changes and improvements over the next few months, but I wouldn't delay trying it out in the meantime. There are plenty of cool fields to make it worth your while. The equipment was all new and in great shape - before playing this place I'd never used rental equipment that didn't malfunction at least once, but I had absolutely no problems with my gear. The prices were fair and in line with or cheaper than the competition. The break area was clean and provided water coolers with ice water and lots of picnic tables with paper towels set out for clean up. A few basic snacks (gatoraide, candy bars, chips) were available at good prices. Safety was constantly preached by these guys and the overall effect is to make this a place that is great for a first timer or someone who is more experienced.

BOTTOM LINE: This is a very nice, clean, first rate facility that is only going to get better as the owners continue to work on the fields. I highly recommend it to all rec players and I would think anyone else would enjoy it as well. Best place I've played in the Austin area. Where else can you play paintball under the watchful eye of an experienced Army vet? You won't be sorry you played Xtreme Paintball.
Last edited on Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007 at 2:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mantacore Wednesday, December 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Texas Paintball, Outlaw Paintball, Petty Paintball
Review: I have just used this field once i have been to several of the fields around the area, this is a great place to go, the only down fall is if you are not from arround here you will probibly get lost trying to find it, unless you are good with directions. but the prices are good, they are better then texas, and they do not Nickle and Dime you like petty's. the only bad thing is you have to pay for each fill for your CO2 they do not have Air yet. just a precaution there is some glass and metal out on a couple of the feilds so be careful where you slide. they are working to clean it up. this field is clost to my hous it has fair prices and the owners are really nice and helpful. they are also the REF's and they are good and fair they will do what they can to help you.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 20th, 2006 at 8:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Relic1 Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: When you pull into the parking lot of Xtream Paintball, (XP for short), the first things you’ll encounter are the Command Shack, Speedball course, and the break area.

The Command Shack... This is where you’ll get your gear, if you need it, i.e. facemask w/ goggles, paint, 4 tube harness and marker.
XP carries the Tippman 98 Custom w/ 20 oz. CO2 canister.
The pricing for rental is very fair and reasonable.

The break area is rather large and consists of several picnic tables with some trees to provide cover from the sun. Also located in the break area is/was a large water cooler with ice water, provided at no charge. A nice little extra considering most places will charge $1 + for a bottle of water.

There are five fields / courses to choose from at XP:
(I only played on four of the five fields/courses so I cant comment on all five)

1) The Speedball: This course contains several types of barriers / obstacles evenly spaced across the course, like 55 gal. drums and large tractor tires stacked 3 or 4 high. In addition there are several wooden barricades and a couple of wooden “fort” like structures covered with cammo netting.

3) Bamboo & Sandbags: Bamboo huts at one end and Sandbags at the other. It gives you the impression of being in the jungles of Iowa Jima or in a Vietnam POW camp.

4) Sandbags/Wood: Sand bags at one end and some wooden bunkers located at the other.

5) Wood/Tin or Tin Village: Some wooden bunkers at one end and corrugated tin huts/ bunkers at the other. It reminded me of something out of the movie “Southern Comfort”.

Generally speaking, XP is located on about 15 acres, allowing about 3 acres per field / course. With the exception of the Speedball Course, (by design), the entire property provides plenty of “natural” cover and concealment as well as open “fields of fire”. The terrain is slightly hilly. The fields are dotted with brush and woods as well as with ditches and gullies. All of which I believe makes for a more enjoyable experience.

Other notables worth mentioning regarding XP:
Safety is their number one priority. Regardless of your supposed skill level, you (and your group) will receive a safety brief before ever taking the field and all safety rules are strictly enforced!

They will accommodate you should your group choose to play separately from others that are there, but the strongly encourage community play.

To Mark and Wade the Owners/Operators/Referees… my hats off to the both of you, truly a first class setup. My son and I had an awesome time and plan on returning again soon. I enjoyed it so much I’ve spent many lunch breaks on line shopping for gear and other equipment.
Last edited on Thursday, December 14th, 2006 at 6:13 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mnabes Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in the area
Review: I had a great time playing at Xtreme Paintball in Austin. I didn't even know any of the people that I was playing with, but still had a blast. The field is huge, I've only played one other time, in San Antonio, and had fun there also. However, the one in SA was much smaller than this field, which is divided up into several fields. Each one has a totally different setup, providing different strategies usefull for each game. The teams were setup evenly, the rules were fair and flexible, and the referies have a lot of experience. Another thing that made it fun was there was a different goal almost every game. Once again, the field is huge and you can tell that there was a lot of time and effort spent in setting it up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FinWiz1969 Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have visited other fields, but none of them interested me. This field have 15 acres, which equates to 5 playing fields. This is the most fun I have had
Directions
to the Field:
The directions are pretty simple. The owner's include a map on their website.
7415 BURLESON-MANOR ROAD
MANOR, TX 78653
www.xtremepb.net
Review: Safety: All employees stress safety. There is a sign before you enter that states goggles Must be warn before entering. Every ref concentrates on the safety of the players. Heck, there were kids playing!!!

Fields: The front field is a speed course. The size is porpotionate to the type of games played. The obstacles, and the decorations are entertaining themselves.

The next field is the "Marine" course (my favorite). The course is long, which is great for 30 plus players. The bamboo bunkers add to the decor. We played "President's Men" on this one (wanna know how to play, then come to the course).

There are another three, but these were my favorites.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

hannasholdem Wednesday, December 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball of TX
Review: WOW! I am so glad I found this field. I used to play in Manor when paintball of TX was open many moons ago, and was all to eager to dust of my gear and get going again. The field is impressive when you drive up on site you are greeted by the American flag and advertisement banners, the 20ft nets tower across the width of the field. From the second you are on site you can tell the owners invested a lot of time and money to make it a pleasant experience. There is a tremendous amount of detail in every aspect of the field. There are 5 themed playing fields all designed with combat in mind. The fields are safe and look professionally built. I have played on all 5 more times then I can count and can tell you both teams have advantages. One of the things I like best is how versatile the fields are you can play multiple games on the same field. The staff is very knowledgeable and have years of experience they cater to the players and offer packs to carry your paint for free. When you return to the picnic area there are paper towels waiting for to clean you goggles and get going again. You really get your moneys worth. The prices are fair and field paint only(which is pretty standard) surprisingly prices are a bit lowers then other fields considering it is only 14 miles from UT. They have the usual snack bar type food at the usual prices. My son has gotten his first paintball and the guys at the field have helped him learn to care for, use and clean his gun, all things above and beyond what we pay for. The field is constantly being improved. I have played at other fields once or twice but would never call myself a regular customer. The experience stood out in my mind from our first visit I don't see myself returning to the other fields so guys when you come out to play make sure you bring your A game because I found the best kept secret in manor before you did and know all the ins and outs............. BRING IT!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media