paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splatter Park / Splatter Park / Splatter Park / Splatter Park

Splatter Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
68Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-888-8-SPLATT
Address: 5560 C.R. 109
Mt. Gilead, Ohio 43338
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
BSharp Friday, March 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
On Website or use Google maps.
Review: The field selection is decent..There are several woodsball fields, all with different terrain that make them interesting. One has a fort which is always fun. There is a "dune" type field with sand/dirt bunkers and a newly converted/added container field. This was by far my favorite field and could have stayed on it most of the day if they would have let us. It is a level field with 15-20 shipping containers arranged around the area and makes for good upright play. Some of the containers were even open so you could hide in them or ambush. Fun.

I have my own equipment, but saw what they have to offer and it seemed to be in good condition and they have tons of it.

I do have mixed ratings on the staff. Everytime I was there, the staff has been very friendly. My only complaint was the first time we went the kid who took charge of our group was pretty disorganized. He took way too long to decide which field to play on and way too long explaining the rules of the scenario. In one instance he literally took 10 minutes explaining the HIS version of Zombie and confused even some of the experienced players. However, I will say that the last time we played, the refs with us did a much better job of getting the games explained quickly and efficiently. Overall, they made it a much more enjoyable day.

This is the only field that I have played at in Ohio, but have played several in Florida and would rank it very well. I have heard of some addtional improvements that I think will make it even better. My other only complaint is I wish it was closer to home.

*** I wanted to add a note regarding the "Big Game" held on May 4th. Since going to Splatterpark, I have gone to some other parks and attended a few scenario games. In comparison, the Big Game was very disorganized and was simply a day long HUGE open play game. Insertions were ridiculous at times. In one situation, our group was inserted and told to "stay here" for a second while the ref went and did whatever. In the meantime, the other team closed in around us and bunkered in. By the time play started, we were sittting (standing) ducks and totally go lit up. We didnt even get a chance. It was absurd. Unless major changes are made, it is a fine field for rec play, but serious scenario players will want to steer clear.

Last edited on Monday, May 5th, 2008 at 6:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

engtmarines8 Tuesday, January 8th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
not many compare to my expierience here
Review: this is a great field really open very fun to play woodsball at. I liked how only necessary areas are maintained this keeps the game really like you are in the woods. The times i like most are with the big games and when you go to those, you are always busy with something.

the safety here is really good they are real tight about it and will kick you out if you don't follwo the rules. I do not like the rule but they make you shoot around 285 FPS but let you slide up to about 294 so its not super terrible.

As far as prices go it resonible and just like most fields its gonna be around 50 bucks to play for 6 hours so i won't be the one to complain

overall i really enjoy the field and ill continue to go because i really enjoy woods ball and they do a really good job of makin it fun

Went to the big game played container field, that is some awsome s*** right there and i can't even describe it any other way. it was amazingly fun and i advise you to check it out

EDIT>>> ok so the field has kinda been going down hill things have been getting less fun and less exciting. i love the field but i will probably only play in the biggames. and with the money situation for gas it is not worth the trip up. Sorry to sean and all his crew but i can no longer make the trip more than 3 or 4 times a year. i will continue to play the field but i must say it needs to become what it was again.
Last edited on Sunday, August 10th, 2008 at 12:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sewerdog Wednesday, August 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 2nd, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
68 cal(now closed), Brazo's in texas, one other field in S. Carolina, cant remember the name.
Directions
to the Field:
I 71 to exit 151 go west on 95 to county road 109 (small side route) go right about a mile or two look for mailbox on right.
Review: I wrote the below review in 2007, I use to love to go to this field but for the last few years the facility has improved in many way's...(better rest rooms, more shelters, new fields and bunkers). Yet it's less fun every time I go.
I will never go back again. we spent more time in the shelter area that playing!
our group of 4 people was broken up by the field refs, I asked why, the responce was "just because"?
This breaks my heart, I have so many fond memories of playing at this park and held a membership for years, but they are definitly focused on first time players "the renter's" and dont seem to care about repeat customers, or paintball enthusiast. Let me try to analize this so when I say its just not as much fun as it use to be it makes sence....
1) separation of players...ok so since i have my own equipment i cant play with renters anymore...makes sence till you understand I play with a tippmann 98, same as renters, but now the thing that was always nice about the park (always plenty of players) is not guaranted. I've been playing paintball for over 20 years Ive got an assortment of markers, Today, our group used 2 Tippmann 98's, an A-5, and an old Piranha. Yet we were split up?
2) everyone agreed, my son, my friends, and other players at the field, we spent way too much time at the shelters up front....I purchased a case of paint and I still have 3/4 of a case of paint.....not my typical full day of paintball. Everyone in our group had plenty of paint left over....even my friend on leave from Japan....trust me, he wanted to use his paint today.....
3) Lunch, Ok never been a big deal to me, but for the $50+ we really only rate the 1 hot dog? Again if you've never been here before, who knows the difference?
4)Ref's, I hate to go here, but the ref's should always know the status of a game, for example during a game of flag, ( one of 5 games for the entire day) the location of the flag duing play was unknown. The way our group was broken up, the time spent in the set up shelters, and ther general lack of planning(example: everyone go up to re-fill air and paint....Myself and I know of at leat 9 other players were fine, afterward when we went back too the field Iron man....last game of the day....I was so dissapointed. This is a game for the end of the day to use up left over paint and air....we stopped playing, went up front for 45 minutes, and went back too tyhe woods just for that?
It is not my intent to bash this park, still family oriented, still very safety minded, new fields, new bunkers, upgraded facilities.
None of this means much to me if i'm not having fun. The fun level has dwendeled down to....I wish I could get my $50 back....but thats ok, I'll be happy to give it to someone else next time.









Where to begin.....and not get too long winded.
1)Safety is taken very seriousely : (I feel safe and dont worry about family or friends that play with me there).Safety rules are explaned to everyone, and inforced by the staff.
2)Family environment : it is common to see mothers and fathers playing with there children.(I love this, I cant explain the feeling I get when I play paintball shoulder to shoulder with my son.)
3)Food : Everyone gets 2 hot dogs, a bag of chips and a drink.There are no stores or restaurants near by so I think its just something cheap and easy for them to serve for lunch. It reminds me of Clipper's games when I was a kid.( I know the hot dogs arn't that good but something about the atmosphere makes it seem good.)
4)Pricing : Renter's get a stock 98c, mask, all day air(rentals use hpa), Five Hundred paintballs, and lunch for $35.00. Owners get 2000 paintballs 2 air fill's, and lunch for $50.00. They have a yearly pass for $125.00, it pays your field fees and you get discounts on paint and a few other fringes. I figured if I play more than 5 times a year it pays for itself.
5)Paint : Field paint only, there sticklers on this. It seems like you get alot of bounces with the stuff we had today. I know there is alot better paint out there, but there stuff is just as good if not better than what Ive bought my local store. ( I usually buy the cheap stuff)
6)Refs: The refs at splatterpark are geared more to safety than officiating game's, there good at seperating teams between more experience players and people that have never played before, And they come up with different games and scenaios. I look at them like waiters, they'll serve you pretty good, but if somebody is wipeing, they may not catch it.
7)Fields: Well maintained, with variety. If you play woodsball, be ready for a little walk.
8)People: Ok, its not a real catagory but its my review. Paintball is'nt much fun without players....There are always people there, I admit I've only been to a few other fields, but each time it was hard to get 2 good size teams together. Saturdays usually has alot more people than sunday. So much for not getting long winded.....

In conclusion I always have a good time, and I'd be comfortable taking anyone with me.
Last edited on Saturday, April 2nd, 2011 at 3:04 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jason_B Tuesday, July 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Field of Fun way back when...
Directions
to the Field:
About 45 minutes north of Columbus. Directions are on website and are accurate and easy to follow.
Review: I haven't played paintball since about 1999. Just decided one day a few weeks ago that I wanted to get back into it. My brother in law ("BIL" for short), who's played once, came along. I bought all of my equipment (PMR) from Splatterpark's shop off of I-71 and got a coupon booklet with discounted admission, airfills, etc.

BIL had to rent his gear. Aside from an occassional stuck bolt on his rental (98 Custom), he had no problems with the equipment. I wasn't crazy about the price I had to pay at first. I had my own gear and a coupon entitling me to $22 off admission. Somehow it still cost me $50, but I was too excited to get back out on the field again that I didn't say anything. I'll just use it next time, I guess.

The first thing that struck me - even as we rolled up to the field in my car - was how organized and professional the place seemed. BIL and I were standing out in the open talking to each other trying to figure out what we should be doing first when a guy in a bright yellow shirt approached and eagerly answered a few questions. We were both pretty impressed. It took awhile for the registration/rental line to move, but that's not really a bad thing. They had a good turnout at the field.

We were put into a group that consisted of about 60 guys. Splatterpark is VERY safety oriented, which is very important and SHOULD be at the top of EVERYONE'S list, including the players. We got a very detailed safety briefing by one of the refs and then we were off to our first round.

The refs were genuinely helpful and interested in everyone's safety and enjoyment. Despite a nimrod here and there who entered the safety zone without a barrel plugs (how hard is it to remember, anyway?), no issues came up.

If I had one complaint, it would be the size of our group. Splatterpark's fields are very nice (good size, well taken care of), but 30v30 is just too much chaos. It's very difficult to organize a group that size and plan strategy, and the amount of randomness introduced by such a large group can be frustrating for everyone. I wish they had divided us in half. It seemed like they had enough refs, and they certainly had enough fields (there were only two other groups there - both very small private parties).

Other than that, no complaints. The other players were friendly and sportsmanlike, which was also nice. I quit playing back in '99 for a couple reasons including lack of proper safety measures and too many meathead-type players with no life outside of paintball. Glad to see that's changed. Atmosphere was very family oriented but still competitive.

These are the same folks (I think) who ran Field of Fun out in Pataskala, and now that they have the funds to do Paintball the way they want to do it, they've really created something nice that's very welcoming to newcomers. They do make you buy their own paint. Some say it's to prevent people shooting frozen paint (anyone who actually does that should be hanged by their gonads), others say it's to collect more revenue. Personally, I think it's probably both and I have no problem with that.

I'll be going back in a week or two for more!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

blazinpaintball Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bull Creek Paintball (good)
Great Lakes Paintball (good)
Hell Survivor's (good)
Pevs (average)
Combat Zone (average)
Lima Paintball (average)
U-do Paintball(bad)
And about five others which now appear to be out of business
Review: I enjoy playing woodsball and would rate this field as just average. Course and Staff was just average as well. Prices were in line with most of the fields I go to. I didn't care much for what I would call their regular players, a lot of meat head type players with way decked out guns, what ever happened to just playing for fun? Overall I had fun with the new challenges provided. I would give this field a 6.5
Last edited on Monday, June 4th, 2007 at 7:04 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

scottieboy68 Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 30th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
TPA, closer to my house, but not quite as good
Intense Paintball, OOOOOOOOOOOOOOO THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE PAINTBALL!
Review: Best field i have ever played, i just live too far to play there much

safety:7 they do chronos and make you use their paint, but the refs are idiots

fields: 9.5, i havent played many other places or it would be 10 cuz im not positive if its the best or not. probably 20 different scenarios maybe more

price: 7.5, not cheap but worth it to play there

staff: 8.5, were very courteous and did whatever i asked, but they took a while

refs: 3, basically ignored everything going on except making sure people were chronoed

Staging area: 11 totally awesome

overall i give this place a 9
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

lilskul Monday, May 7th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle Woods in Ohio
Fields in NJ, PA and NY
Directions
to the Field:
1hour and 30 minutes south from Cleveland/Lakewood/Berea

I AM EDITING THIS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE COME TO THE DEFENSE OF SPLATTERPARK
Review: First, a short preface.
I have not been happy with any field I have been to in Ohio thus far.

That being said, here is what I have to say about Splatter Park.
First the good.
From what I saw, the park had very solid amenities. Lots of pavilions to sit and get out from under the sun, keep your paint cool and relax. They also had a very beautiful pond right at the staging area. It makes for a great place to have a day out with friends and family, bring your grill and your own food and have a nice bar-b-que for lunch.
The park also had a really big and what appeared to be well stocked club house and staging area. The cement paddock in front of the club house was a nice touch and very out of the ordinary for paintball fields. It made it a whole lot more professional looking. It also made it a bit more comfortable than if you were standing on a gravel and dirt. Finally, the paint, though I donít know much about the brand, seemed to be perfect. It was solid and had the perfect shape. I canít say much about its breakability though as many of my shots were across great distances.
Fields - The fields were the best I have played on in quite a while. I am a huge fan of varying types of terrain, especially hills and creeks, and Splatterpark had it all. The place was pretty damn big too and I don't think I was able to see the entire place. I mention this because I don't know what sort of forts they had. The one I did see was only from the front side of it. I was taken out with a face shot before I could see what it was all about from the defensive side of things. A friend of mine told me that you could actually get up inside of it and defend it like a castle. From the front it looked like it was just one dimensional. Did I mention how much I like hills and creeks. They were all over and the bunkers were quite solid and many were big enough to put more than 4 people behind. Anyway, this was the detail I forgot the first time around so I wanted to address the issue. I would never want to complain about something without giving a 100% honest assessment.

Now the BAD Ė What sort of field plans for a Big Game, hosting around 900 players, and allows their air compressor to crap out while not having a back up? I'm sure compressors are terribly expensive but I heard from others who have played here before that it is not the first time.
Consider this scenario; big game format with no stoppage in play. I am running with a 68ci 4500psi tank giving me appx. 1100 shots per fill. With my pack I can carry 800 rounds on my person and another 150 in the hopper. Because of the compressor going down I was only able to fill my tank to a bit under 2500 psi. This allowed me to shoot less than 500 rounds which meant that I can shoot about half of what I had on me. This also meant that I had to leave the game often and give up my position and leave my teammates.
So we drive 1.5 hours to get there and have our day FUBARíd because I canít play a proper game.
At least we received sincere apologies from the young kids filling the air.

The next problem, and this one I have an even bigger issue with, was the way in which the Refs handled themselves. Most were great by the way, But...
Here is the scenario. Its 3:05. My group was only inserted about 10 minutes beforehand with an objective to defend two fronts. I start making my way around the opposing teams weaker side in order to flank their strong side, as my group is about to cross the road to get in behind them we hear the refs calling GAME OVER!!!!!!!!!
This seemed weird and we had no idea if they meant the objective had been completed or if they meant the entire game. People on both sides looked confused. As we are walking back down the road to the safe zone we come across the main front of the battle we were just in; it was still blazing. As such, people in the group being escorted out, the team I was fighting against, just started jumping into that fight completely making the existing battle unfair. At the same time, a ref is coming down the hill with an entirely new group to reinsert them back into the battle. It was at this point that he says the other refs called the game way too early, about 30 min too early, which in turn cost us our position and our momentum. I was so pissed, we all were.

I jump back in the game, finish off the 200 shots I had left in my tank. Have it refilled and join back in the game.

This time we are being pushed way to the back of the field where there is a fort. Just off to my right side were 4 refs hanging out talking while at the same time there is a 50-80 man rush coming at us, running and screaming down the hill. I had a position to take out a few, one of which had a tank top on. I nailed him three times in the arm and back and he just hid behind the bunker and squeegeed it off his skin and kept playing. The refs didnít even bother watching the game. A total of four refs were grouped together in the same spot chatting.

So, I am angry, I probably won't go back but no matter my complaints, I still had fun.

If it was not so far I would not mind going there as I know big games are always going to be difficult to manage. I played at a world record game in PA and it was mayhem on the field.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 9th, 2007 at 11:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
11 Comments - Add Comment

joosky Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs
Seek and Destroy
cannon (b4 it was closed)
Directions
to the Field:
MAP QUEST OR GOOGLE IT ITS KINDA HIDDEN BUT NOT TO HARD TO FIND
Review: Great Feild and Great refs. The feild is exelent with many woods fields a hyperball field and a 7 man X-ball feild pretty much brand new. Turnys are great open class fun. Big game is always exelent. Refs are easy to befreind great service. If it had a bed in fort Buckeye i would sleep there lol.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShadowMech Wednesday, April 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cannon (before it closed) Land, paintball valley
Directions
to the Field:
Highly reccomend you print off mapquests directiosn as they were dead on and it makes finding the field far easier.
Review: After playing several fields in the columbus area over the last couple of years, I finally decided to give splatterpark a try.

It was nasty cold and windy. It had rained heavily the day before so it was muddy, like it was for other fields in the area. It did make things more difficult, but it certainly wasn't the fields fault. There was ample parking out of the mud, and a water hose to hose thigns off with. There was a small turnout probably due to the weather. However even with the bitter cold in the morning it was some of the most fun I have had playing paintball in a while.

The first thing that impressed me was how safety was stressed. The refs made it very clear about the rules and how there was zero tolerance for taking off or lifting masks. This impressed me as its the single most important thing for this sport and somethign I have found other fields lacking in. Also after playing on the fields I saw why it was important for this as there was the chance for ricochets from other fields, or the field you're on when you least expect it. The refs explained things clearly, and were helpful to the newer players that were there. It was a nice mix of experienced and newer players. The refs did mix the teams up for a nice balance.

The fees were highly reasonable if you have your own equipment. $50 for a case of paint, lunch entry and air fills. If you shoot alot of paint in a day (I shot a case that day myself) you will be hardpressed to beat the price anywhere, even if you go to another field with bargain paint. I didn't check or experience the rental package prices so I can't accurately comment on that. The staff was very helpful in the shop and it had a decent variety of items that you might need when at a field at good prices.

There was a nice variety of fields and terrain that we got to utilize. The refs did give us many scenarios and we did mix things up on the various fields. It was a nice balance and again alot of fun. Far more options than what other local fields provide. I really liked that the speedball field was back away from the cars and had the tube field in front of it. This made ricochets off the speedball field very unlikely to land in the parking lot or in areas where people didnt have masks on. This was something I didn't care for with other local fields and that Splatterpark took steps to avoid.

For the prices, and variety the 45 minute drive was well worth it. I will definitely be coming back again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mr.Q Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: This feild is a great field for anyone. The NEW equipment is sweet, and feilds are very nice (although they are a bit muddy at times thats the weathers fault). I have gone there many times and each time the refs were nice and the games unique. They are very concerned about saftey, but who isn't. Spalter Park is great place to spend a Saturday and I would glady go thir again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media