paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splatter Park / Splatter Park / Splatter Park / Splatter Park

Splatter Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
68Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-888-8-SPLATT
Address: 5560 C.R. 109
Mt. Gilead, Ohio 43338
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
tumor Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fan Bar- thrown together cheaply, but fun to play at
Review: Ive played at this place in 2 tournaments, both open class. we got our paint, got ready to play and then it started. During the games, everyone was getting hit, but nothing was breaking. in one game i probably got shot 10 times when a guy bunkered me, but the ref's called me clean. that brings me to the ref's. reffing here is basically voluntary. they'll pulled a 1 for 1 when someone played on with splatter on his hand. then, they were using shotty equipment. the tourney was capped at 15bps with ramping. my friend checked before the game and he was at 12. when the ref tested him after the game with the on filed tester, it was at 16. the other one still said 12! and he still got suspended for half the games.

in a nut shell: bad paint, bad refs, bad equipment

the courses here were nice. the airball field was put together well, but the refs wouldnt let it be enjoyable.

but, at the end, we did get 8 air tanks filled up for free. i dont think they were supposed to do that. : )
Last edited on Monday, March 19th, 2007 at 12:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PromasterRocker Friday, March 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: March 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, only field I play at
Review: This is very good field. This is where i began paintballing, and continue to. SAfety is the top priority for them, with players being kicked out for taking masks off during play. They have every type of field, speedball, woods, fort, and many others. The prices are pretty high, with $45 for a case. All the refs are very nice, and try and help you if you have any problems. Every time I have gone, I have had a great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

gitrdone201 Saturday, January 27th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
world
pinnacle
tpa
splat
Review: this is by far the worst field i have ever played at. There is barely any nets the refs, paint prices, service, rules all suck. the only decent thing is the fields and they arnt all that great they have a variety but not good quality. in my opinion dont waste your time because if you do you will be disappointed in the refs and quality of the field. overall this place SUCKS!!!! it is even worse than five alarm which is really saying something.
ide give this place a 0 but i gotta give it a 1 because i cant give it a 0
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Shell54 Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have never played in Ohio before this.
Review: I have been playing paintball for over 10 years and I have never been to such a horrible place. The field itself was good, lots of different types of fields. But that was all that was good. The paint is by far the cheapest (not in price but quality) paint that I have ever shot. I was happy to get one to fly straight. And then there are the refs. The refs were the rudest son of a b--chs that I have ever came across sense I started playing paintball, outside of one who they called Worm he was cool. From the start of the day, at the cronos, the refs made it a bad day. I will NEVER go back to this field, even if someone paid me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

tcqb18 Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Valley, Outback Paintball, Cannon
Directions
to the Field:
Way up 71N
Review: SplatterPark was nice. They have plenty of room for everyone and plenty of fields. There was a group of 8 of us. It's nice that they have so much variety on their fields, but we didn't get to play many of them. We were there on a Saturday and there really weren't that many people there, maybe 25-30 total. They are definitely great on the safety aspect and very helpful to get your equipment right if you have any problems, whether you're renting or you have your own. It just sucked that we had a decent enough sized group to play each other, but they kept lumping us in with some guys who play every weekend. I play a lot, but some of the people that I brought had never played before. We came as a group and wanted to play as a group, but they're not having any fun getting picked off by the "pros" 2 minutes into the game. Then, they had us stuck on the same "speed ball" (it was really just tubes) for the MAJORITY of our day. We kept asking to go play some woodsball and finally with an hour to go in the day, we got to get back there. We played 2 games and then went into the mounds to finish off the day and play survivor or ironman or whatever they called it. The selection of fields was great, but I wish we would've had the opportunity to test them out. It was tough to get the refs to let us play game after game without them just "chilling" and it was tough to convince them not to always put the rookies in with the regulars and let them get nailed all the time. Way too freaking expensive and really retarded rules regarding not sharing paint. If you're gonna be that expensive you better have the cutting edge field in the region, if not the country. That's not the case.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mercenary_325 Monday, August 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Silent Sniper
The Land Paintball
Review: This was the first paintball field that I ever played at and I loved it. I found a field closer to where I live and have been going there for the past few months and decided I would go to SP since I haven't been there in a while.

I went this past weekend, and was very disappointed, I don't know if it was just a bad day to go or if the caliber of the field has gone down.

There was so much dead time between games and going from field to field to field, people having to go and get air and paint and waiting for an extra two or three people coming late. There were very few scenario games most everything was elimination and that gets boring with woodsball when there are 10-15 players on each team, not much skill or tactical planning req'd, just try to survive. Often times games would end because of time and not a decisive victory.

The paint was terrible. It was old, dimpled and hard. 80% of the time it would not break which is not fun for the person getting hit by it or for the one making the hits. I would much rather pay for their paint and then bring my own.

All in all I most likely not return to SP it is not worth the drive. Yes it is cheap to play but I would rather pay more, get decent paint and not have to drive 45 min.
Last edited on Monday, August 7th, 2006 at 11:12 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chessbones Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
a local field in Athens, Oh. OU!... one field, was still fun... SP... 12+ awesome fields
Review: I took a private group here the last time I played. We all had a blast, but I still left very dissappointed... used to play there alot, but SP has changed alot since 04 when I last went, I will find a new field after my last trip there.

The paint policies and prices are terrible now (and in my opinion a poor business decision). Rental paint is insane now, 500-$29, 2000-$96!!! and you only get 500 with the package (3-4 games at most). Gun owners can now only buy the same wrek paint... ummm, i mean crappy! wrek paint. Bounces all day long, breaks are rare! My whole group commented on it. I was very dissappointed in the amount of money my friends had to pay for paint.

I thought our ref, while a nice kid, was clearly not very experienced. He seemed to need some training, he was very hard to find for paint checks (and you need alot of them since the paint will even bounce off your mask). He did an ok job suggesting locations and games, but needed to be alot more involved in the games.

But the part that pissed me off the most was the way the owner of the field treated a friend of my in our group. The owner saw him lift his mask in the deadbox during our very first game (his first game ever!), a mistake ive seen from new and experienced players 100 times. He immediately told us he was not allowed on the field for the rest of the day, hes done! Then told us to keep playing... none of us moved. "He can come back tomorrow" he said, "If the rules are too much for him". If the REFF was more experienced that would not have happened! I think when he reliezed our whole group would demand our money back if our friend wasn't allowed to play again, Mr Power Trip wised up. He lectured my friend, (a 30yr old parent and professional) condescending to him like he was some punk kid breaking the rules for fun, for about 10 mins while my whole group stood staring at him, then let him play again. He was way out of line to treat my friend the way he did over a easy mistake that was the reffs fault for not reinforcing the mask rule to an entire group of brand new players, they all thought the deadbox was like the mask off areas.

Its a shame SP has such an awesome set of fields, it used to be cool, but after this last trip, its clear the place has changed, and not for the better. My suggestion... change your paint policies and prices... or continue to lose patrons. The whole group wants to play again, but they all agree... someplace else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

shootinblu_22 Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Valley in Newark
Directions
to the Field:
Not real easy 2 get 2.
Review: The best! When fully operational hundreds can play @ once. 16 fields 4 all types of players and guns. Disadvantage is the walk from fields 2 get air and or paint which are fairily cheap. Got 2 use their paint though. Great deals with food/ drinks. Located in central ohio and close to many places. Opening day sounded fun with over 1,000 people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HookerDR Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Land Paintball, Cannon Paintball, Fran Bar, Paintball Xcape
Review: I've divided this review into two main section regarding Splatterpark: typical park play and Big Game play. I think both are relevant to players looking for accurate feedback on Splatterpark as a whole.

[B]Typical Park Play[/B]

Safety:
6/10 - The staff at Splatterpark is adamant about wearing eye protection. Barrel covers and masks are required in all the proper areas. And, they are excellent with enforcing the policy (you can be removed without a warning if you break cover/goggle rules). Unfortunately, the staff is rarely found at the chrono area. The staff seems so concentrated on easily enforceable rules like goggles/covers, that they ignore markers shooting hot and/or on full auto settings. I have never seen a ref field chrono a player (even when players have complained).

Fields:
10/10 - In my experience, Splatterpark has the largest fields with the best variety in Central Ohio. If you enjoy speedball, there are 2 fields. For woodsball, there's a great mix of a mounds field, king of the hill field, fortress attack/defend field, and search and destroy woods fields. The fields are also maintained very well (bunkers/woods/netting).

Prices:
7/10 - I consider this score to be average. 7/10=70% or a C. That's how I view their prices. The park is field paint only which is to be expected at a park this size. Rental/paint/entry prices are consistent with most fields in Ohio.

Field Paint:
5/10 - The park now seems to only carry Wrek paint and PMI. PMI is of decent quality, but most players use Wrek (because of the price). PMI is quality and probably as fresh as any other field (it doesn't sell as fast, but they tend to carry fresher paint than most fields). Wrek, however, is a complete crap shoot. You're almost guaranteed to get fresh paint (as they sell a TON of it). However, count on a broken ball bag per case (2000) and entire bags (500 count) of dimples (and a variable bore size). Of course, some cases are good. I'd say it's 50/50. With the limited selection and hard sell of their Wrek paint, I grade the field paint as 5/10 (which are your approximate chances of getting quality paint).

Staff/Refs:
6/10 - As stated above, the refs are excellent with enforcing limited rules. However, they do not enforce marker auto settings or chrono speeds. They also aren't concerned with team balance. I've played on teams that have won every single game throughout the day. And, I've played on the other end too. For speedball, expect them to allow teams to practice on people trying to practice or trying speedball for the first time (it's not pretty). It's also a 50/50 shot that you have a ref with a creative mind. If you're into woodsball (I personally enjoy woodsball and speedball equally), you might not get a variety of game types. Sometimes you get lucky. Sean is a great guy, but nowadays he's usually running the place instead of in the field.

Other:
9/10 - With entry, you get a couple hot dogs during lunch hours. The guys at the proshop won't usually charge you for repairs (and advise is always free). You can get CO2 or HP (up to 4500). They have roofed picnic/staging areas and portable toilets. Splatterpark is excellent in the non-critical areas of a paintball park.

Overall:
7.5/10 - Splatterpark has a lot more to offer than many other parks, but they tend to limit their scope (limiting paint, game types, rules they actively enforce). But as I said, they have quite a bit to offer (field size and variety, generally nice staff, other amenities). It should be limited to a place you go to on occasion.

[B]Big Game Play[/B]

Safety:
4/10 - During the big game, they are consistent with their goggles/cover rules (as listed above). They even make an effort to chrono markers when entering the field. However, there are still no field checks. And, you can often spend 30 minutes without seeing a referee. With hundreds of players at the Big Games, there are countless people shooting very hot, shooting teammates for fun, etc. There is also virtually no communication between the refs. One ref on each side knows the objectives and hot spots. The others are simply walking around making sure masks are on. Since their is no real age requirement, expect to see kids doing virtually every dangerous thing you've ever seen in paintball during the day.

Fields:
6/10 - It's hard to give Splatterpark a poor rating on their fields. But honestly, their park is not build to accomodate the numbers of people that play during the Big Game or the scenarios they use. One team will enter through even open ground. The other team enters through wooded hills. The even ground team can fire immediately down upon the team that enters on the lower hilled side. The park is long and narrow. And with the placement of a hospital near the back of the park, you can expect to kill someone and see them back in action within 2 minutes.

Prices:
9/10 - Field fees are basically waived during the Big Game. 2000 paintballs and entry for $50. That's an excellent price.

Field Paint:
4/10
Unfortunately, you mainly get what you pay for here. Bite the bullet and buy PMI. Despite having skids upon skids of fresh Wrek paint, the quality is worse than normal during the Big Games (dimples, bore accuracy, breaks). I only lowered the rating by 1 from normal play because they still have PMI as an alternative.

Staff/Refs:
1/10
In my humble opinion, refs are what makes or breaks large scenario games. They need to know the rules, objectives, hot spots, and how events are unfolding. They also need to be active in calling people out. In other words, they need to be IN THE MIX.
Unfortunately, that won't happen during the Big Game. I've been to several Big Games, and the ref quality hasn't changed. Despite carrying walkie-talkies, the refs do not know what is going on. "What is our current objective?" Response: I'm not sure. "Can you find out?" Response: Another ref might know. One referee on each team is privy to timetables and scenario objectives. Also, the refs are not too concerned with the actual players. Our one ref who knew the objective continued to pull people away from our flank (where we had solid bunkers) to reinforce our attacking center (which was in a bunker-locked battle). The tactic makes sense as long as someone is left to defend the flank. After arguing the point with the ref, he agreed to pull more people coming from the entry point to our flank (as we would be vacating it). Within 5 minutes, our flank had turned into a charging herd (full on sprint) of the opposing players. Unfortunately because of how their ref structure is set up, the knowledgeable ref is left to organize hundreds by himself (as the other refs stand around reminding people about wearing their goggles). As a side note, count on hitting your opponent 5-10 times before a referee will step up to call them out.

Other:
2/10
Parking is adequate to the numbers (thanks to a new addition). However, each Big Game seems to bring out cheaper and cheaper prizes. They claim in the $10,000+ range. But, count on $1000s worth of lanyards, stickers, hats, etc. That makers they used to give out during their raffle where $1000+ each. Now, they are mid range at best. Same deal as before with food: two hotdogs, bag of chips, and a soda. The biggest difference here are the LINES! Expect to spend at least 90 minutes of your day (MINIMUM) in lines to fill up your tank. HP lines were faster, but still slow. We had to leave behind a few in our group using CO2 recently simply because their line was 45 minutes long. This most recent Big Game, they wanted to have more active refs. So, they pulled from their support staff into the field. It was a disaster. Lines were horribly long. And, the extra refs were nowhere near the quality needed for an event of this size.

Overall:
2/10
Imagine seeing over half of your force sitting out in the sun. Why? A referee was instructing them to wait for the next objective. Not one field away, 50 brave ballers were holding off the entire other force. Simply put, the referees are what destroys the Big Game. With no communication, no activity in calling people out, no activity in policing chrono violations in the field, the Big Game is as dangerous as it is frustrating. Splatterpark needs to do an entire overhaul of their scenario process and staffing before I would consider another Big Game.

Splatterpark has two different versions: Big Game and non-Big Game. It's in the rotation as a once-in-a-while park normally. However, the Big Game (as described above) is simply frustrating and very dangerous.

I hope this review helps. I've made it in the attempt that some changes are made to a park with a much higher potential. Keep in mind, I didn't not affect the field rating due to the Big Game. I simply added the information about the Big Game as a caveat for visiting players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Radio Flyer Monday, April 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fran Bar, Hueston Woods-- They DONT compare!
Review: Basically the first time I went was my first time playing. Personally awesome! Made me want to keep at paintball and I have been at it for 4 years now steadily progressing at the sport.

Prices- The prices I feel are great if you have your own equipment. $50.00 for 2000 Wrek balls which is your standard low price paintball. Admission- $17.00 if you do not get the package. 2 hot dogs for lunch- $3.00 at school. 2 free fills with a 20 oz tank or Nitro gets you through your paint for the day most likely.

Renting- Don't know, didn't pay when I rented and I have never had to rent personally.

Field- I loved it. I love to play wood and speed ball. I am a very agressive player and the teams are done very evenly. They have a good variety of them for woodballers and you stay enthused all day with them. Speedball- Basically have 2 fields which I don't know much how you would like seeing as how it has been a while since I have been there and I like them just fine because I have never been to a park that even has just speedball fields.

Wrek Paint- I use it when me and my friends play for a few hours just screwing around. When we play bigger games that we bet money on I play with Evil. As for the Wrek every time I have played with it my gun shoots the balls dead on straight unless I'm shooting across a field with wind conditions. I have and A-5 with an E-Grip and a 14" Stealth barrel. Cost me 70$. I woul not say it is a super high end marker but it has $400+ invested which is an average price for your average player so I have no complaints with the paint.

Field Rules and Staff- The Refs are very good. They are very helpful if you have gun problems in the game. I have seen them helping other players. They are very strict in having players keep thier masks on. (Which they should be) You don't want to get hurt and they dont want to see it happen to you either. Getting shot in the face hurts very bad, trust me.

All in all I would say great field and great prices for players with thier own games.

Next Return- 5-7-06 BIG GAME! CAN'T WAIT!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media