paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splatter Park / Splatter Park / Splatter Park / Splatter Park

Splatter Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
68Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-888-8-SPLATT
Address: 5560 C.R. 109
Mt. Gilead, Ohio 43338
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
queenks Thursday, April 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
private fields
Review: I liked Splatterpark very much. I like their strick mask policy. Refs were fair and friendly. It was real muddy and I bruised my knee on the speedball field when I slipped in the mud. I had a MRI and no serious damage to my knee. I cant wait to go back!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slinky17 Saturday, March 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 26th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fran Bar
Review: This park is great. They have a really good variety of coures. They have a bunch of woodsball courses, speedball, Civil War, and dunes. My personal favorite is the dunes which are basically large dirt mounds covered with (live) grass in a bunch of different shapes and sizes. I also like the one in the woods with the big 2 story castle. A lot of people (especially one of my friends) say the it is too expensive. But you really need to think about it. $50 for a case of paint, 2 food items, field fee, and 2 tank refills. That's actually pretty good. Most cases of paint are from $40 - 60. So right there that is a really good deal. And the paint isn't really that bad. Your gun just must suck if it keeps chopping or you left it on one the picknick tables in the sun. The only two problems with Splatter Park is that it is an hour and a half from my house (ya big deal) and the one older lady who sometimes works the cash register tries to rip you off. That is the main reason my friend thinks it's a rip off to go there. He just doesn't understand that just because he realized too late that the lady stole our money doesn't mean the park is too expensive. You just have to know exactly what you want and exactly how much you are going to owe when you go up to pay. The rest of the staff there though is really friendly and helpful. They really stress safety too. They'll kick you out for the day if they catch you not wearing your goggles in the goggle zones. The food is pretty basic just hotdogs and bags of chips but they also have pop machines with pop cans for 50 cents and gatorade for $1. It's also not that hard to sneak in your own paint. You just hide some paint that is the same color of the field paint in your pods and they'll never know. ;>) My friend and I have done it before. They don't check your paint they just look to see if it's a different color when you shoot it. The best thing they could do to improve is just fire the older lady who tries to rip everybody off.

Edit: The staff here is just really hit or miss. I had a guy who only filled my tank halfway then tried to say that it was because that's all he could fill it. The next time I got my tank filled a different guy filled it all the way. Then I was having problems with my ASA due to the cold, so I asked a couple of the refs to take a look at it. The one guy said, "It's probably the tank. I just use CO2 guns. I don't know much about PSI guns." Seriously? The idiot had no clue what he was talking about. The other guys response was, "We don't sell macro hoses here." It was the freaking o-rings in the ASA. They had shrunk b/c of the cold & weren't making a complete seal anymore.

Some of the staff are also just plain rude. My mom had given my brother & me coupons for "FREE ADMISSION" for Christmas. Turns out that they are only good for rental & only give you 100 paintballs (packed in freaking sandwich bags). The front of the coupons also make it seem as if they can be used as $37 worth of credit towards one of the packages. Instead of explaining this, the guy at admissions yelled at me & said the card only does what it says it does. This was after I had simply asked him why the coupons couldn't be used for credit since they say "$37 max value/player" on them. I am pretty sure that whoever sold the coupons to my mom tricked her into thinking they were some great deal for us which really makes me angry.

Open play here is also not really suitable for more experienced players. The refs made 2 giant groups of everyone who wasn't in a private group & took each group to different fields. Most of the people were very young (who have a tendency to shoot their own teammates... a lot) and/or had never played before. It was basically mob against mob, which is not exactly how I like to play. I like some teamwork. But they didn't split us up into any smaller groups. There were a bunch of fields open, but they insisted on having us play on fields meant for at most 15v15.

It wasn't an awful day of play & prices aren't too awful, but all of the above left a pretty sour taste in my mouth. As simple & unregulated as Fran Bar is, I've never left there feeling frustrated.

Improvements:
-Lose the air tickets & do all day air fills
-Allow BYOP
-Educate the refs
-Make sure everyone filling the tanks is actually certified to do so
-Lose the freaking bad attitude
-Split up the groups in a more logical manner
-Don't try to swindle people out of their money

They're paint is awful as well. The stuff we were shooting today had tons of dimples & some of them were really deep. I was hooking left & right all the time.

As a final thought, I think it's funny that they use the reasoning that people in the past have shot frozen paintballs or marbles out of their guns & that's why you have to buy their paint. I've heard both & varying versions of their little story about refs getting injured or people losing eyes from frozen paintballs shattering goggles. Seriously, who freezes their paintballs? & believe me I tried to see if marbles would shoot of of my 98 Custom when I was in jr. high & they're too small. They just roll out the end of the barrel.

/rant
Last edited on Saturday, March 26th, 2011 at 3:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PMI_Homie101 Wednesday, March 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 13th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter zone (indoors though)
Review: When i went to Splatter Park I had an excellent time, my favorite course was hamburger hole which is like an airball and woodsball course put together (awsome)!

The staff was very polite, revs were fair, shop was nothing special but it had what i needed, feild paint was very good, good food lol

I would reccomend going here if you are in the area and want to paintball.

The guns that they provide if you dont have your own (Tippmann 98 custom, and a Pirhana (Semi - Auto)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tjcff156 Tuesday, October 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball village, 3d sports, paintball city, good times
Review: The air-ball field is nice. Though it gets boring after awhile. Pipes was what I went to play on but some reservation groups were on it all day not cool. The woods courses are ok if u like woods ball. over all it was a wasted one hour drive. field paint sucked. Too many flat spots and dimples. Not good to put through a higher value marker.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Untamed Soul Tuesday, August 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Valley, Splatterpark being the largest I have seen in Ohio.
Review: Hills, bunkers, airfields, trees, you name it, this park has all the obstacles you want in a paintball field and much more. They have several fields to play on all with their own feel and look. I consider myself to be an agressive player, and I was so sore from climbing over the hills and mounds they have on their fields.

You can rent their equipment or bring your own, but you have to play with their paint. They are also very strict on keeping your mask on at all times during play (as they should be). Lifting your mask will cost you a day off the field, I have seen many players escorted off for lifting their mask to scratch their eye or to simply wipe paint away. I like the level of safety Splatterpark enforces and the referees that work the fields are very respectful.

The first time I went was with friends and we did our own private outing and all there, but the second time I went was with my girlfriend. We were put into a group of maybe 24 with 12 man teams, the level of play was awesome. You can add my review along with the majority rating this field, your time spent at Splatterpark will be well worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mass.casualties Tuesday, July 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
couple of different friends private land
Review: (Edited 7/25/05) CHEAP --- Package deal $50 Bucks --- gets you 2000 Wrek Elite Balls, 2 air tank fills, 2 hog dogs, and all day play. --- I edited this post because I have read a lot of review for other parks around Ohio and People have put in there review that Splatter park is expensive. Compared to many other parks Splatter Park is cheap. (Edited)

I've been to this park 4 times in the past 2 months.

So far I have enjoyed the feild for the most part. The owner has always been present and is constantly going around and asking how things are.

PROS:
--Good Feilds
--Lots of difference types of games
--Good Airball and Speedball Feilds (I like woodsball but a couple of speedball games to fill the time and get warmed up is nice.)
--Great Woodsball feilds with lots of god places to hide man-made and natural.
--Very good about safety. Some of the refs have the power trip moments and need to get over themselves. (there is a difference between being safe and being a jerk.)

CONS:
--Honestly there are 2 refs who have trouble with game rules and organization. Example... If the MAJORITY of the people playing don't understand what the objective is or don't want to play what you are setting up. Try something else.
--Sometimes the whole group is brought back because a few people run out of paint. It's 35 acres. The good feilds are at least a 5-8 minute walk away, plus time to organize and explain the game. Most of the time it's 2 games and then walking back. Huge waste of time. (This problems is because people don't listen and bring enough supplies. So everyone pays the price for a few)
--need feild cronos, people are definately turning there guns up after going through the chrono. I have recieved some ridiculous bruises.

I have been reading reveiew of lot of other sites and lot of people complain about it being expensive. I agree that the rental prices are out of control (30 bucks for 500 and nearly 100 bucks for 2000 balls. One day renting and you could buy a tippmann) but the cost for players that own there own equipment I think that prices are quite responable.
--> $50.00 gets you -
1-case wrek elite (2000 balls)
2-Air tank fills
2-food items (2 hotdogs or 1 dog and 1 bag of chips)
Plus that covers the feild fee.

a case of wrek elites from my local shop is 40 bucks. tank fills are 2.50 each and 2 dogs from DQ are 2 bucks. So basically your playing about 3 dollars to play on the feild. Not bad if you look at it that way. For me I play alot on private land so I just take my left over balls with me.

>>>>>>Rental balls are very expensive. $30 bucks for 500---$95 for 2000 Perhaps the people that feel the pricing is high are renters. You could get buy a cheap marker and kit for the cost of one day renting<<<<<<<<
Last edited on Monday, July 25th, 2005 at 9:36 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CapnMorganXX Saturday, July 2nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
68 caliber, Battlezone, Mohawk, Cannon, Xtremez, fields in North Carolina, Florida, and PA. But mainly local ohio area.
Review: Extremely extremely expensive for what you get. A group of us had a horrible experience at splatterpark our first time out at the field. A lady working the cash area tried to cheat us on multiple occassions: first, attempted to cheat us out of $10 in change which we were due, and after we spoke up THREE TIMES we finally recieved the proper change. Secondly, she blatently tried to give us wrek elite paint which she had attempted to sell us, but we had bought the next grade of paint. She walked over to the wrek elite box, bagged it up, and we just barely saw what kind of paint she was giving, we called her bluff, and she INSTANTLY knew we knew what she was doing, and went to get us the correct paint that we had purchased. That was only the first of many issues of the field (and we hadnt even started actual play yet). Other issues include the COST. Way way overpriced for everything. They even check your hopper multiple times for field paint. Refs are completely useless, and only serve the purpose of screwing things up. Woods fields have very very few clear shooting lanes. Mound and speedball fields are nice, but poorly kept. I really really stress that everything is overpriced. They were very concerned about the unimportant things such as field paint only, while ignoring important safety issues such as velocity. They also do not give you the actual box with the field paint. They pile the paint on top of each other and dent the balls. The employees for the most part were very shady. One even attempted to listen in on my phone conversation as I told friends about the field. The same woman who had attempted to cheat us on both money and paint stared us down the entire time we were at our car throughout the day. I reccommend that you avoid this field like the plague. There are much better deals in the area, with much nicer and more competent staff.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
12 Comments - Add Comment

DarkCat Tuesday, June 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lima Paintball Plus
Review: This is buy far the best field I have been to.
It was a little hard to find but most fields are. when i got there i was directed where to park . nice feature because this place gets busy. first thing i thought was paintball field in the middle of no where so no credit cards, well i was wrong, they accepted most major cards. if you got your own stuff for $50 you get case of paint (2000), 2 air fill tickets and free lunch now how can you go wrong. Refs were vary stricked on mask policy witch in my opinion is a good thing, pretty fair during play to.
Now for the playing fields i have never seen so many choices.
i will be going back to this field even though it is an hour and a half drive for me but well worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chopperman1184 Thursday, May 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Many,
3d sports, Crazy Daves, P&R, Pinnacle Woods, Shirmish, more..............................The only other field that even compared to this on is Skirmish USA.
Review: This field was very good. The fields were very nice and had alot of bunkers and playing room. The woods fields are AWESOME. Prices are great, $50.00 for a case of paint, all day air, field fee, and lunch! That is unheard of in this are. It was SO NICE to play on a woodsfield with other people who dont live on a speedball field. If you like intense woodsball you will love this field. The fields are small enough to make for a short yet fun game of paintball. I give this place a 9 only because there is no such thing as a perfect field or everyone would play there, Also, the airball fields Kick ASS too!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BC30ZTT Thursday, May 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NONE
Review: When i first played this field it was great. but that now is part of the problem. it is the same as when i first started playing there. all of the forts are the same and they have always been. last weekend i went for the spring big game. it was a big joke. if you pre registered i feel sorry for you. the line was four times longer than the regular lines. the game itself was very unorganized at best. when we were being told the rules they said that they would have refs with hand held cronos to check peole in the field. that never happened. i saw alot of people walk right by the crono staion and right into the woods. we encountered a group of people that were shooting really hot but there was nothing that we could do. it really hurt when shot buy these people. they really need to find a way to keep people honest . nobody knew what the objectives were so everybody just ran around in little groups fighting with the other teams. when they inserted you it was apperant that it was not thought out at all. if you were on the orange team you know what i am talking about. the blue teams insertion piont was at the begining of the field. so the blue team started with no people behind them. on the other hand if you were on the orange side it was a much different story. they walked you down the main trail right past the blue team so they just watched us and as soon as we were inserted they were all around and it was a blood bath. we got destroyed. this was not fair or fun at all. the feild is usually pretty good but i am not a big fan of the big game. very expensive and a huge mess of little kids and people shooting hot(really hurts)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media