paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splatter Park / Splatter Park / Splatter Park / Splatter Park

Splatter Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
68Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-888-8-SPLATT
Address: 5560 C.R. 109
Mt. Gilead, Ohio 43338
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Pathfinder8992 Monday, May 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The first time I played splatterpark was their spring big game the battle at splatterpark. I have to be honest at first I was a little disappointed with having to buy field paint. I have two cases of their paint I have bought from their store to play at other games, but I can't use it at their field. They say it is a rule to eliminate the risk of frozen paintballs in my opinion is ridiculous, I have been playing paintball for over sixteen years and I have never known or heard anyone bringing frozen paintballs to any professionaly run paintball field (would they bring it in a cooler?) if it is really there for a rule why do they charge more for the paint at the field than at their own store. Well I found out, it is because they give away thousands of dollars worth of prizes at their big games. Which I thought was really cool. I was amazed as they raffled out literally dozens of markers. Even though I didn't win anything (I caught a hat - but gave it to a kid standing beside me, it really changed my opinion. If I have to pay an extra couple of bucks for paint so some new player gets a marker count me in.

The field was awesome, it had been wet and it was a little muddy, but hey I don't play the sport to stay clean. I want to go back and play some smaller games their. I think it would rock.

That brings me to the biggest problem I had with the field, not enough refs. There were a lot out there but not anywhere enough to cover the size of the game. They had a medic rule and I think at the beginning of the day everyone followed it, by the end nobody was. I think with that many people if you get shot you should walk off. I don't know how long I spent shooting guys, and they would never call themselves out. Unless you tattooed them in the goggles they wouldn't even find a medic, they would wait a couple seconds and get right back into the mix.

We got shot walking into the field by a player who was firing in the neutral zone. The kid took off running, and the ref at the insertion said there was nothing he could do, the kid was running away.

I want to play at a normal day to get a full appreciation, but i'm never going back to one of their big games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

I C dead people Friday, May 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at many other local fields and some not so local so i will keep the list short -ASI- Hell Survivors MI.- Atomix MI. - Pinnacle woods etc etc.
Review: I have been to many different fields in the years that I have been playing and this is my opinion of this field. To anyone who has visited Splatterpark you know that their first priority is safety. I have been to other fields where the field owner stuck around long enough to take your money then were gone. Some of you might prefer this treatment, but I could see a very disappointed and confused look in the eyes of a 14 year old first timer sitting there with his pair of scratched up rental goggles (with a cracked lens) and his rental 98 (no ball detent the breech). Luckily I had an extra mask and a back up gun that I let him use for the day. I have seen this type of thing many times and it saddens me really. Here are some things you might want to consider when visiting a paintball park for your next outing.

Rental Equipment-
Rental guns are like rental cars every time they are returned they should be inspected for damage/ normal wear and tear. this means o-rings, ball detents, making sure the hopper is snug in the feed neck so that your hopper doesn't fly off when you dive into your bunker. RENTAL MASKS at splatterpark I know that at the end of every day when the customers are trading war stories and heading home the refs are hard at work behind the scenes, cleaning guns and (something that i find important) Sanitizing masks. Take a second to think about how many people use a rental mask per year..... now think about how many fields never sanitize their rental masks..... disgusting don't you think? This is not the case at SP.

Field Paint-
Make no mistake about it, Field owners are in the sport to make money. Thats how it works. SP is a field paint only facility. What this means for players like you and me, is that we cant get discount paint and bring it out to the field. We have to buy their paint at their prices. That doesn't necessarily mean its a bad thing. Think about this for example. By enforcing a field paint only rule the Field owners are able to make sure that everyone is using paint that will not hurt you or your friends. I have heard many stories about frozen paintballs and what not and that doesn't scare me, however I dont want to be in the middle of a Game and have to apply first aid to a young kid who does not have the pain tolerance that you or I may have. Also if a player were to use oil based paintballs and you get hit , it may mean that your pretty blue (insert name brand here) harness may be permanently stained green or yellow or do I even dare say it PINK.

This is running on and on so I will digress to my point. I personally do not care if you hate the field. I am not trying to persuade you to like the field. But Splatterpark Is one of only three fields that I have been to where I truly feel safe playing paintball. And by that I dont just mean enforcing chronoing, mask guidelines, and anti cheating measures. Splatterpark has a kick ass field crew that work during the week cleaning the over 35 acres of wooded and concept fields. Its never fun to make a game winning run with the flag only to trip over a root and land on broken glass sticking out of the ground. I have played at SP for many years and never once have I ran into a field hazard that was not taken care of when brought to a refs attention.

Ratings-
Staff- 10 - Hard working young people who are knowledgeable and courteous to customers
Fields-7 Some fields stay the same some fields get changed. There is a very good selection of fields to play on. (side note: Rumors have been popping up of more property to be acquired. these are to my knowledge just rumors but I would love to see it happen
Prices- 9- Pricing is fair on paint but some smaller items there is a large mark up on. Maybe not the best place to buy a new mask so make sure you remember yours
paint quality-10- Fresh round paint..... its what shoots straight!

So over all I give it a 9 and to the person who called it a mud hole... I would suggest going in the summer or late spring. Seeing as how it is spring, and spring means rain, and rain plus dirt= mud I wouldn't be too harsh, I have seen much worse!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

SPRACK69 Saturday, April 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cannon
68 cal
Review: Very nice facility.....refs know a lot about PB( just like anyother field)........fill air up all the way......on site gun tech.........many courses.......... nice airball and pipes.......KICK ASS BIG GAMES..there is one may 15 that i am going to and i cant wait

cons- to pricey and u cant like move ur mask.......


i give it an 8
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Acepaintballr08 Wednesday, April 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cannon Paintball
Review: There is way too many little kids and noobies running around this place. It's WAY to over priced, you hvae to buy their paint even on an open play day, and if you get caught they mkae you dump your hoppers or leave. Refs are afraid to get shot and are never really nice. This place is always a mud hole. : O
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Tippwomann Sunday, April 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB Villiage, Goodtimes, Steve's PB, all bad compared to this
Review: I go to the big games and it is more fun than ever. Sniping noobs, assualting poorly defended bases, and I dont even worry about getting snuck up on. So many people rent the guns it makes 75% of the people have no to little exp. in paintball. I have my sniper A-5 and i just own with it. It makes me feel like I am an owner. The price is as much as you would pay for wal mart paint but is high quality.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Renegade blue59 Wednesday, April 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: well to start off, this place really really really is the greatest paintball field in Ohio and i absolutely love going to their big games twice a year. the refs there are skilled and obviously know what they are doing, from what i know. there was one guy at one of the counters (air fills/cashier) that was kind of slowing things down for the lines, he was a mumbler off-task kind of guy, but that wasn't going to stop the fun. the fields there are mind blowing fun...defending the fort, during a big game was purely like raging death coming for you at full speed. something i suggest is to make that fort more than just a wall and they could build another one for even more awesome games. well listing the good and bad shouldn't be hard, so here:

GOOD:

everything about this place is nearly perfection;


EXCELLENT events such as big games are amazing,
perfect location in wide open farmland,
the parking lots are nice and big,
very big, fun and nice fields,
& good service.

that's just to name a few.


BAD:

what is there bad about this??!!

could use a better fort, but that's not much of a bad one,

nothing bad about this here!



OVERALL: 10 and way way up!!!, i highly and strongly recommend this place for its big games TO ANYONE, beginners, pros, anyone who wants a great experience of over 1500 players, coming to this one great field!


go to it, you will never want to leave!

p.s.: although i have never played here a regular day (just big games for here since i live all the way in Cleveland), still you have to go to it, its awesome and totally worth it!
Last edited on Wednesday, April 13th, 2005 at 10:27 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder_tlx06 Thursday, March 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fran Barr and .68 Caliber -- Niether one's fields were even cose or as fun!
Review: Hey, i just started going to Splatter Park this season, and i have to tell you, this place is awesome! i have played other places like Fran Barr and .68 Caliber, and i have to say that this place beats them all, The fields are awesome, and there's so many that you don't ever get bored playing on them! The refs usually will change the game that's played on a field (even though they've got 10 fields) so that if you did play on it the last time you was there, you don't play the same game on the same field two trips in a row!

You cant beat the price either! For $50 i get a case of paint, 2 air fills, free lunch and a great time! that's cheaper than what costs go to the store and get a case and fill my tanks enough to go out and play in a friends field.

Not to mention about how helpful the refs were! i had a problem with my gun, and the refs was really helpful. They were very professional and willing to help me with any problems and questions that i had. All of the refs that i have had has all been awesome and very watchful on the field, they know exactly what's going on on the field, that's the thing that i didn't like about some other places that i have been was the fact that they didn't have any refs or they were just some lazy refs that was not helpful at all! The refs here were not just the typical 17 year old ref that just stands around with his hands in his pockets and only pays any attention to the tourney players, im mainly a woods player, and i felt just as welcome there as the tourney player!

There is not much else about this field that i can say other than the fact that it's just absolutely the BEST field there is!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

SplatRef05 Wednesday, March 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I am currently a Referee at Splatterpark. Many people think that Splatterpark is expensive because we make you use our paint. We do this for many reasons-- some people like to freeze paint, which could shatter your lens, plus some paint is hard to see when broken. So we make you use our paint. Our paint is cheaper than at a regular paint-shop. The only way you could possibly get the paint cheaper is buy the Wal-Mart paint (very poor quality). Splatterpark is definately worth your time. I play there constantly and I never get bored. Thanks for your reviews and keep them coming. The referee's always need more insight on how to keep you guys happy!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

jjdeluxe247 Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Splatter Park is the best park in ohio, the best in the midwest and one of the top in the country. It was even slected to be in Greg Hastings' Tournment Paintball video game for X-Box, comming out soon. The ref there are good, helpful and care about what they're doing. The managers and owners are paintball fanatics and love it. I can go on and on about how much they know and how one of the owners used to work for WGP (autococker), but you get the point. They have a wide variety of fields from speedball to fields to mounds and woodsball to hills w/ bunkers and one level even has a little wood castle with 2 stories. The only bad thing is there price, but go to their website and check um out at www.splatterpark.com. c ya later
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

warledge Saturday, August 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme Paintball in Xenia, which is far less expensive and has just as nice fields.
Review: Well maintained fields / staging area and refs are very helpful. You will have a good time at Splatter Park however be prepared to pay for it. Their field fee and paint is VERY exspensive and they will not allow you to bring your own paint, which is a major drawback to me. They will also make you buy a barrel cover if you don't have one already and they do not allow barrel plugs. They do provide a small lunch and the price is included into the field fee however they don't tell you when it is being served and then when you ask about it you are told that they stopped serving lunch. They also seem to take a long time in between games. You can count on spending $50.00-$65.00 easy on one day at Splatter Park. The best thing that they could due to improve the park is allow you to B.Y.O.P. or decrease the amount of the field fee and paint costs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media