paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splatter Park / Splatter Park / Splatter Park / Splatter Park

Splatter Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
68Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-888-8-SPLATT
Address: 5560 C.R. 109
Mt. Gilead, Ohio 43338
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Crede777 Wednesday, August 18th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Splatterpark is one of the best maintained paintball places in Ohio. The courses are well kept, the staging area has enough space for everyone, and the refs there know what they are talking about.

That said, the prices at Splatterpark are expensive. $55 for 2000 PMI Premium balls is a very hefty amount of money. The Day pass is $17, so that's $72 right there. Splatterpark is field paint only, which only adds to the cost (A good day of paintball will use about 1000 or more paintballs).

The Referees there were very smart, and were nice (to me). I have heard and seen instances when refs had bad attitudes, but it was usually the player's fault. If i came back with gun problems 2 or 3 times the same day, to the same guy, he'd merely roll his eyes and then fix my gun.

There is a wide variety of players at Splatterpark. They mostly are cool guys who just love to play paintball and have a good time. The players are split about 50/50 with people who own their own markers, and people who rent. While this sometimes leads to fun eliminations and good attitudes, some of the newer players are flat out stupid.

Finally, the hours of Splatterpark are very rigid. Splatterpark opens at 10 and closes at. And it is only open to open players on the weekends. Now, I know that most paintball places are only open on weekends, but this is an inconvieniance none the less. Splatterpark is out in the middle of nowhere, so it is very hard to get to, and it would be nice to be open later (around 6).

Overall, you get what you pay for. In exchange for $70 you get a very well upkept facility. While there are only 1 or 2 speedball fields, and the majority of the courses are woodsball, Splatterpark won't let you down. That is if you have the money to support it.
Last edited on Wednesday, August 18th, 2004 at 9:11 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

brad16 Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Splatterpark is a great place, i have been there twice, the people at the counter seem friendly, and the refs are good, they're right there in the middle of the game (actually i accidentally shot one walking in front of me), and they are really helpful to beginners.. if you have a question on anything, just ask, and they're more than happy to help you, im still a newbie though, but i am gonna recommend splatterpark to all of my friends and family..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

victordan Sunday, June 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: splatter park is not the best. it is field paint only, it only has like 2 fields out of their like 16 that arent woodsball, the refs dont really get into the game, the people at the front counter are mean to every one( they almost made me cry) JK, but seriously. the prices are really high, i think the cheapest paint they have there is like $55 a case, the walk out to the fields is like super far and when your out there they expect you to play like 6 games with what you have on you. even though there are many bad things about this place it is still one of the nicest parks around and is probably worth going to but dont expect to go every weekend because you would go bankrupt in a blink of an eye.

o and by the way the park is out in the middle of no where, i mean who really know where mount gillead is anyway?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

spartansdevils Thursday, June 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
backyard and fields
Review: Hey, splatter park is amazing only if has rained b/c it can be extremely muddy. There are many different type of parks fort, pipes, forest and many more. People were nice and helpful and safety if great.

Some downs
no tourneys
cost average amount for a park

Positives
Great many course's
Great people
Refs great
Has food!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jake Borsvold Thursday, May 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle Woods, Paintball Village
Review: I recently went to splatterpark for a scenario game of over 830 people. Despite all the people, everything ran smoothly and I don't think that there was a person there that didn't enjoy themselves.

Staff and refs were very friendly. The guys filling CO2 were very quick and nice. The refs were very nice and let me know what was going on(this was my first scenario game). I had a very good time and am planning to go back very soon.

The prices were very good. I payed $17 to get in and play all day long. Paint was $50 rec, $55 premium, and $60-70 tournament. CO2 and compressed air was free. Concession stand prices were pretty cheap too.

The fields were by far the best part. It had been raining a lot the day before, and the woods fields were kind of muddy. Other than that, the fields were amazing. I've played Skirmish, and the fields are definately comparable. There was alos a speedball field up too, which isn't really my thing so I didn't get a chance to play on it.

I would definately recommend Splatterpark. Good prices, people, and fields. Even though it's way out in the boonies, it'd definately be worth your time to drive out there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PNTBOL FREAK Friday, March 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bull Creek Paintball (Love It!), Paintball Village (HATE IT!)
Review: Well I am going to start off by saying that this IS Ohio's greatest paintball park ever in exisistance today. This is the very first park I' ve ever gone to and I' ve only gone here twice but only because I live so far away in Cleveland, so I only go to the special events like big games. The big games that I' ve gone to were the spring 2003 & fall 2003 games, I am looking forward to the upcoming spring 2004 big game "with scenerio play" on MAY 16TH, 2004, you can find out more info about it at their website: http//:www.splatterpark.com/ (hope to see you there!). Okay, back to the review,

STAFF: The guys working behind the counter are a little slow at keeping things moving, like for example: 1. getting my CO2 tank fixed., & 2. filling my tank.

REFS: These guys are pretty nice, they seem fair, they definitly keep things moving.

PRICES: Is it me, or am I the only one whos about to shoot myself?

OVERALL: THIS PLACE RULES THE WORLD OF PAINTBALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(For Now!) MMUUUHHHA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!
-----SINcerly, PNTBOL FREAK
Last edited on Friday, March 19th, 2004 at 2:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

black1 Thursday, November 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ground zero, field of fun, and splatterdome........see alot of people i have been seeing over the last few years....always great fun.....nothing bad to say....pure paintball.
Review: splatterpark is simply the place to be.
with an excellant variety of fields for everyone and they are well kept which makes it always interesting because something is always changing in the wooded fields and makes play always different.
they always have a great selection of paint for members, always have air and co2, and that head ref guy seems to be able to help people with any kind of gun problem.
there are always lots of people to play with....but they need more tables and shelters, because the place is always getting a bigger crowd it seems.
the refs are kool and always have some trick up their sleeve to change normal games up somehow.
the refs do a good job of keeping the tournament players out of the recreational games, which is nice because no one likes the loud mouths that just over shoot their guns at newbies, overshoot their mouths during and between games.
the mounds field and the fort is my favorite fields at splatterpark. i heard they were gonna do some sort of city / warzone field soon...can't wait!
with the service i get and the big games i have no desire to play anywhere else!
SPLATTERPARK ROCKS!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ShockSniper Thursday, November 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ASI, I have my own field at my house, and the University I go to just got a 7 man air ball field for the team.
Review: I think for the most part this is a great field. Prices are kind of pricey, but you get to play any kind of field you want. From woods, fort, mounds, air ball, and hyper ball. I think this is the best field in the OH. The refs are great, and they know what they are doing. They fill air, and CO2. I loved the hyper ball field, and the air ball. Those are the only two fields I've played at splatter park since I go on Sundays. The only thing that I don't like are the paint prices, they are a little high. All together I think this is a great field!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chi-town_Bandit Monday, June 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This marks the second year I've taken a group of players from the Origins gaming convention up to play paintball at Splatterpark. We typically snag a group rate where players drop ~30$ for 500 paintballs, and get free admission, rentals, ball haulers, masks and air fills. From what I've seen, rentals are typical Tippmann models, with 20 oz. tanks. 7$ for 100 balls, 12$ for 200 balls, 22$ for 300 balls, and 29$ for 500 balls is the going price right now for extra paint. Once we used up the paint, though, our ref had no problem with us using our own stock. Food is cheap, 1$ for hot dogs or nachos. If you want something else, better pack a lunch. NO MORE FREE LUNCHES. The people that reviewed Splatter Park went when they were giving away hot dogs, and now they charge for food. Still very cheap.

Staff has consistently been very courteous and helpful. Safety is emphasized. The refs we've had in the last two years have been mixed; last year we got two hard chargers who helped me corral my group to the different fields quickly and easily. This year I got a stoner who we could have set on fire and not gotten a reaction. In that case, I had to take over the role of herder, including telling the ref what I wanted to play and where I wanted to play it. Other than that, the refs were fair and let us apply the rules we wanted to use, so long as it was within safe limits.

The fields are great. A couple, like Fort Buckeye, Splatterhill and Hamburger Hole, tend to be one-sided, and you quickly get tired of them. However, the mounds and pipe fields are excellent for multiple round play. The Dark Forest wooded fields are good, but small - larger teams are going to find themselves finding defensive positions about three seconds after starting a game. A good mix between vegetation and open areas. I agree with the last review about loose bunkers - I toppled one over on Fort Buckeye and promptly got wasted.

This is by far the best park in the area. I live in Chicago and only have a few parks to compare it to, including Challenge Park here in Joliet and Urban Assault in Pittsburgh. I gave Splatterpark an 8; if a 10 rated park exists, I don't know about it; and there were a couple things (such as consistent, high quality refs and free eats) that would have made this a 9 or 9.5.
Last edited on Monday, June 30th, 2003 at 12:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

heffalump Sunday, May 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
greenridge, pinnacle woods, paintball city
Review: very nice setup. it has large woods and hyperball fields. castles are fun to invade and defend. i wish northeast ohio has a field like this.

good: large fields with extensive bunkers and ridges; paint is inexpensive.
bad: fasten down all the bunkers, i slid into one and it fell over.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media