paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hawaii All-Star Paintball Games Paintball Field / Hawaii All-Star Paintball Games Paintball Field / Hawaii All-Star Paintball Games Paintball Field / Hawaii All-Star Paintball Games Paintball Field

Hawaii All-Star Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (808) 630-6147
Address: 2475 N. Nimitz Highway
Honolulu, Hawaii 96819
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
whinersgohome Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBH- good field. Stil growing, but fun to play at.
Bellows- Pay to play renegade-ball
Review: Owner=good guy. Friendly and generous

Refs= kids= not paying attention to games. Too many times I cant get a paint check because the refs are distracted by something else. Last time it was a new marker he'd never seen before.

Fields= LOTS AND LOTS or BIG Rocks!!!! Get knee pads or a good sewing kit for your knees.

Prices= Good for the island.

Best thing about the field is its close to the center of the island and they can fill your HPA bottle to 4500.

Worst thing about the field is playing 20/30 vs 20/30 on a 7 man field and the attitude that prevails from some regulars/teams that practice there. If your a tourney player and this isnt your home field, you will NEVER get fair treatment here. Bascially a local players only field. Military tolerated because they dont know any better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Mills-pb Saturday, August 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Hawaii (Kaneohe MCB)
Review: Hawaii All-Star Paintball Games is the premiere field on Oahu. There are three different fields - Air, Hyper-ball and Mound field. The field runs very efficiently, meaning that the games run very smoothly and are consistently on-time. The field fee is very reasonable ($15.00) for a field that runs so efficiently. I would rather pay the extra $5.00 to play at this field than play at the unorganized field at Kaneohe MCB. I've heard other people complain about the staff but I have never experienced any problems. The owner/operator is always on site and is a pretty cool guy. There are plenty of canopies set up with chairs and tables for players to use. Parking is never a problem, they have tons of parking which all of times that I have been there have never filled up. Another big plus is that the all-day air ($10.00) can fill tanks up to 4500psi (other fields in Hawaii can only fill tanks up to 3000psi). My friends and I have tried other fields and we are all convinced that Hawaii All-Star Paintball field is the best place to play paintball.
***READ THE COMMENT BY WHINERSGOHOME ATTACHED TO THIS REVIEW.*** IT IS PRETTY FUNNY HOW SERIOUS THOSE INDIVIDUALS AFFILIATED WITH PAINTBALLHAWAII ARE ABOUT UNBIASED REVIEWS AND PAINTBALL IN GENERAL. EVERYONE SHOULD REMEMBER - PAINTBALL IS A GAME AND SHOULD BE FUN.
Last edited on Friday, July 8th, 2005 at 11:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

natsobrite Saturday, July 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: When i came to the field i was thinking that it was going to be a awsome day of paintball, it started out good w/ the briefing and everything, once the games started i immidiatly realized that i wasnt having fun at all. The refs were not even paying attention to the game they were to busy goofing off w/ each other. In one game i shot this guy, and i yelled "REF REF GET HIM OUT" but the ref was to busy waching the ambulance going on the highway, then the guy i hit wiped it! so i shot him again! and i called for the ref, he replied "I cant see him" then looked away then the player wipeed AGAIN! so then i shot him in the nuts and then he called himself out. That is just one example of all the things that were bad that day...It was the worst paintball day of my life! and there is to many rocks!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintinthebrian Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bellows, renegade
Review: hawaii all star is da place to go if u want to ball in hawaii. not only is the staff awesome, but their prices are fair to. Like one time in the begining of my paintball carrier, i forgot my hopper at home. So i went to brandon(manager/owner of hawaii all star) and asked him fo a hopper. But instead of leting me use a standard vl hoper, he gave me a eggy!!! he'll let u use nething from pod packs to n2 tanks.

PROS:
1. Awesome staff
2. Great prices
3. good location
4. a variety of fields
5. different copetition levels. i.e. rental beginer, and intermididat and scriamge teams
6. fair judges
7. tents that are set up in the morning by the refs, with tables and staging areas under them
8. and a high level of safety

CONS:
1. only thing i can think of is DA ROCKS!!! but that is not to b woried bout cuz b will b opening a new field in the summer of 05

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zeroImpulse Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
uhh, bellows and k-bay.
Review: Ive gone there since I started playing. Everyone there is friendly and if you have a problem with anything, from your gun, to playing on the field, theres people there who will give you advice. Its very safe to play, the worst Ive seen someone get hurt from playing when getting shot in the nuts. The refs are always watching the game, always watching the players, making sure people are wearing their masks and have their barrel plugs. Its a great place to go if you're a tourny player playing in the NPPL, which some teams do or just there for yer first time thats going there just to have fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BunkerRefugee Friday, April 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: OUCH! ROCKS!!!! If it weren't for the ROCKS!!! I'd give a 10!

But I'd have to say that the seperation between noobs and advanced really makes the experience a lot easier. For one...noobs won't get turned off by getting mugged by a 15 year old kid with an intimidator/angel! And they will be going up against people @ their level of play. Also...vets won't get mad at noobs who don't know any better because well...they're new! And for the most part all the people who play in advanced/vets play with respect for each other (for the most part...hey if you're nicname is the naked ninja...I'll cheat just to mug you! hehe)

The coil field is a great set-up however...the concept field needs a little more air in their obstacles. And for those with CA/HP systems....they have an air compressor so you need not worry about the field running out of air!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fuji808 Thursday, November 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Hawaii MCBH
Review: This is the first field I had ever played paintball at, and in my opinion it is a very good field. The staff is friendly, the ref's are good at keeping the game honest. Brandon is probably the main person responsible for having the game of paintball at the level it is in Hawaii right now.

Only 2 drawbacks in my opinion. The first is that there are too many people let on the field at a time. The fields are about the size of a regulation 5-7 man tournament field. However, it is not uncommon for the game to be 20 vs 20 with 3-4 people behind most of the bunkers. This makes for more of a spray and pray game than one where you can really move. The other drawback is that the field has a -lot- of good size rocks on it. Not a fault of the owner or the way it is run, just the terrain is not helpful. If you don't have really good kneepads, you will be in a lot of trouble.

That being said there are many positives. it is not FPO, like Bellows, and the paint they sell at the field is not inflated, like Bellows. The ref's are on top of things, the games run pretty smoothly, there are pretty much no occurances of cheating, and the games start on time and run on time through out the day.

I am giving the field an 8, not a 10, because of the 2 drawbacks mentioned above. overall a very good field which represents Hawaii paintball excellently.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

sigterm Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bellows
Review: Pretty good feild, the staff was good, quick to jump in and look for hits on players. Paint and air fills were available upon request. NOTE: you cannot bring your own scuba HP tank to the feild. ( some legal issue?). But aside from that , feild fee's are: 15/day , and $10/day for AirFills *all day fills*. The players there seemed freindly, and there was a good mix of experienced and non experienced divisions. All in all, a good feild to play at.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fuchi Friday, October 31st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bellows Recreational Field
Review: This is the field where my son & I were first introduced to the game of paintball (by a family friend and fellow paintball player) and fell in love with the sport.

The field has been divided into three different types of fields, a Hyperball field, a Mound / Barricade field, and an Air inflatable bunker field and also the players are divided by skill levels, Rental / Beginner; Walk-on Intermediate; and Advanced / Tourney. This lets you play with others who are on supposedly on the same level. All of the fields have been netted off for viewer and non player safety. Just remember to be careful where you park, because the occasional stray does make it over the net and into the parking lot, especially around the Air field.

There is a lunch-wagon that shows up sometime around noon on Saturdays and Sundays when the field is open,. The lunch-wagon had some good food and it was nice and hot too. The field store does sell bottled water at the field store, and a few times they grilled some hot-dogs and gave them away to the players. Now that was way above and beyond for sure!

They rent out Tippmann Model 98's along with the mask/goggles and even an ammo belt with twin pod pouch pack. Which is a nice feature, at least to me, and one that I found handy when I first started playing and had to rent my equipment.

They seemed to run a very professional field, with knowledgeable Refs and plenty of them per game. They have a lot of parking and some on site canopy tents, tables, benches and chairs, but get there early because the go fast.

The field itself does not sell paint, but does have a vendor who does at reasonable prices too. They also allow the use of non field paint, unless you are renting. In that case you must purchase paint from the on site vendor.

Overall I enjoyed playing there, but it just was not my style of play. I like to play in the woods. While the employees and staff were always cordial they did not seem to be outgoing with newbies. I just did not get that "welcome home" feeling, but they were always very professional and quick to respond to field/safety type questions. Any question concerning marker purchasing was directed to the paintball vendor or another player.

Games were announced over a loudspeaker and the games were spaced out about every 15 to 20 minutes or so apart, just enough time to wipe off your gear, reload your pods, hit the porta potty and grab a drink of water. They even have running water for washing your equipment and even yourself which is a nice feature and one I did not expect.

Refs were easy to identify and as stated earlier there were more than enough on the field to ensure a safe game. They were extremely professional, no BSing between Refs and players during the game and they had all their attention on the current game. Paintball checks were answered immediately, and no forward movement was allowed till the Ref gave the call (between the disputed players). Safety was a number one priority and you could tell by their actions.

All rental and walk-on semi-auto markers were choreographed/set at 285 fps or below and they do not allow full auto or burst firing modes.

I've heard that the field is open for private or reserved rental games during the week (Monday through Friday), but have not had a chance to check that out. The field is normally open on Saturday and Sunday and most holidays (9:00 am to 4:00 pm).

Although I have not played here recently I usually stop by and watch a few games whenever I do not have time to play.

The pros definitely outweigh the cons at this field. Even though I do not like to play tourney style and think the staff could have been a bit more outgoing/friendlier to newbies, this field runs like clockwork, the employees are very professional and the field is set up for some fast and furious games. I'm going to rate this as a ten, which is way above the field where I normally play.









Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

slugman Thursday, September 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
umm.. ALL STAR FOR LIFE!!!
Review: muahahhaa... this field is the best in the state... i always have so much fun when i go... overall.. great staff, great fields, great players, great... EVERYTHING... my favorite is the airfield.. ecspecially the new setup they have w/ the gap field... the hyperball is very superb... i recommend this field to ALL players... or u can go bellows if u wanna buy crap paint *white box special lol* for extremely high prices... and now theres gonna be a lot of changes... can u say all day air? hehe...well i thought this field is really the best in the state... and better than some fields on the mainland... the guys... and girl there are really nice people... i always have a fun time talking to them... well thats about it... go to hawaii all star... they got game
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media