paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field

Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
52Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-800-Flag-007
Address: 2727 Arthur Kill Road
Staten Island, New York 10309
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
seriouslysilly Monday, November 1st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 19th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fireball mountain
High Velocity
Liberty Paintball
Review: Review: I've played in a few fields:
• Skirmish USA - PA
• Liberty Paintball - NY
• High Velocity - NY
• Fireball Mountain - NJ

When I went, it was my first time as a walk-on as I was not successful in getting enough people to commit for a private field/ref. So you could imagine that I was a bit nervous. My younger brother and cousin went with me that day.


Evironment 7/10
You have to turn on this narrow dirt road that is easy to miss. Make sure you go slow and observed all the signs. Even with a GPS you may miss it the first time.
We arrive and the parking lot is a decent size. I'm sure you won't have a difficult time finding a spot even if you are couple of hours into the day.

Entrance is through a small shack where the pro-store is. This is where you may get into a traffic jam as people who are filling out the waivers and lining up to pay are. It will be extremely tough to navigate around if you have already paid or carrying your gear.
Inventory is a bit small so don't expect to find items for your not so typical marker.

Staging area are basically picnic tables/benches with plastic lock boxes as well as smaller metal lockers (you'll need your own lock). Many of the lockers were beat up with significantly dented doors. I can't complain as I was able to find a locker easily.

Chrono area is to the left which is next to the small shed for food.

Staff 7/10
Everyone was basically friendly, especially who I assume to be the owner. It wasn't too hard to chit chat with him so that was a plus.
The refs were pretty young and knew the basics. They made sure everyone followed the rules: goggles, barrel socks, etc.

My gripe was the lack of making sure everyone played fairly. It was very easy to wipe and cheat. I saw quite a few wipers that day which was a complete turn-off. This was especially true for the larger fields as the 2 refs assigned basically stood together on one side of the field. This left the other side of the field unsupervised. In one game 5-6 people on my team were yelling that there was a wiper and it took a good 1min for the ref to come. By then, 2 people were so fed up they charged and just lit the guy up.

In another game, one of the refs decided to begin his workout by doing push-ups from a branch in the middle of the game! I guess he was working on his bulging his muscles for fist pumping for that night at the club


Prices 7/10
The quoted prices were a bit misleading.
My brother and I had our own gear so we paid accordingly. The 500paintballs advertised were not available to us - just the rentals. If you are a rental - you are required to pay for the "premium" paint.
Also we had to pay all-day air which was about $10. Rentals have a limited amount and will have to pay for all-day air if it was needed.
The paintballs were not too high priced- reasonable given field paint.



Safety 7 | 10
Chrono was not emphasized or enforced while I was there. I could have easily played with my gear without even touching the chrono. Even worse, I could have easily played at 300fps or more (which I think some were).
Basic enforcements for goggles and barrel sock were the only things heard throughout the day.



Fields 7/10
None of the fields were "amazing". Many were quite small and one-sided. Depending on the side, one would basically be stuck attacking/defending. So some of the times, the first few minutes of the games forced people to just sit back behind the bunker and wait for the other team to approach. With a big group, you could even be forced to share a bunker with 2-5 other people until they were shot out and it thinned out.



Overall 6/10
Definitely not one of the better fields I have played at, but will still go there because of location. It is only 30 mins from me and is one of the closer ones. I doubt I would ever go as a walk-on again but will seriously consider going with a private group. One positive is that you only need 10 people to reserve a party compared to 20 on other fields. I may be going again this month and will update the review if there are any significant changes to the field
Last edited on Monday, November 1st, 2010 at 12:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GASpaintball Saturday, February 13th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: November 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fireball mountain. fireball could not even compare to cousins
Review: i LOVE!!!! this field, the staff rocks, the fields are great, the paint is good to.

cousins paintball is one of the best paint balling fields i have every played at. like i stayed above the staff is great. they take time to help you with your guns, keep the games very safe and fun. they have some many fields to chose from, i think theres around 8-9. the courses are taken care of and they don't let them fall apart. and in the summer they have $5.00 fridays everything is $5.00!!! this great but.. when its not a $5.00 friday then its not so great with pricing. there prices are fare and lower then some fields, but i would like to see it a little cheaper. the main thing that is expense is the paint.

over all go to this field, just now paintball is expense and bring around $50.00 and don't plan on having any left over money :(. thats why i am giving the field and 9-10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SlamSlayer Wednesday, December 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
NYC Paintball, though I have not played there.
Directions
to the Field:
Its on arthur kill road, across from path mark, down the dirt/rock road with the big gate and big sign/arrow that reads PAINTBALL. For more detailed directions, obviously use google maps or such.
Review: Its the first field I've ever played on, as well as the only as im barely a year into the sport. However my experience has always been positive.

Evironment 8/10
The staging area is just a bunch if piknic tables set up (some of them) under tent tops surrounded by modified cargo containers for a "pro shop" (with a decent stock on everything but markers with standard prices), air station and rental station. The chrono station is next to the food and air station coupled with (of course) a small shooting range filled with some fun targets. So everything is nice and tight together. No need to walk far to buy supplies, get equipment or air up. They also just opened up a slightly expensive grill for some basic food items. As well as ordering out pizza upon request and soda/powerade machines. Porta potties for bathrooms and an outdoor sink/hose for cleaning. Theres are some beat to hell lockers. Most of them are on the "broken" side, reducing the actual amount of useful ones. bring your own lock and just throw what you need inside one. On the colder days they start a nice bon fire in a barrel in the center of the waiting area.

Staff 8/10
Everyones more or less friendly, the young refs are actually cool, rather than cocky douchebags you would imagine that "type" to be. A few times I've had a small problem here and there with my marker, remote or tank and they helped me out no problem. Never brought up any fees (which I know they do have/charge). The refs do a good job of trying to please everyone while still making balanced teams rather than stacking the "Pros" vs "Joes".

Prices 7/10
I do not have any othe field experience but from what I've heard they are up there compared to most. Something like 20 to get in, and 80 for a box of 2000. Plus anything else you might want to rent, pads, pods, tanks. I have yet to actually pay regular price though as they have a deal with some company that hands out coupons which (for me and the amount of paint I shoot) usually drops the price down to $37 for the day (thats all day admission, air and 1000 rounds, though the coupon comes with 500). Coupons cost 30 for a pack of 10. Than theres the specials like $5 fridays during the summer which brings my play price to something like 20, 25 bucks.

Safety 7 1/2 | 10
The first time or two I went I remember them clearly giving the safety talk, after that (gone about 6 or 7 times now) I never heard it again. Some of the staff does recognize me so maybe they know we know it already (though I dont mind, I know the rules and give the speech myself to new people I bring, so quicker time to get set up)? I've never seen the speech given to other players, but granted I've never been around when new players were getting set up. The refs are always cool and helpful (though most of them are young kids, but not all), they do a good job of calling outs and enforcing masks down. Though they do sometimes get fed up with the little kids and idiots who fire off shots while waiting for the whistle and generally dont listen, resulting in a "F*** it". I've also never been asked to chrono (but I do it myself everytime) or ever seen anyone else be asked to (but I do see some people do it). But they do ALWAYS make sure to enforce barrel condoms in the waiting area.

Fields 7/10
None of them are that big or amazing. Theres something like 8 or 9 of them in all different sizes, but usually 4 or 5 of them actually get played. They usually seem to rearrange them every now and than though (the less popular ones anyway) to keep it somewhat fresh. Some are "unbalanced" with crappy cover one one side, while others play great. Sometimes they even combine fields for a game or two to mix it up some more. The lone speed ball field is usually a mess, almost always in need of a fresh inflate, especially after some rain. Even after its been inflated most of the bunkers are still a little limp. Most of the time its just straight up elimination, I've only played CTF once. The terrain does vary, I mean its an all wooded area but some areas have different elevations, some have a small stream running though it (more like a creek of mud actually), etc. So you get some nice variation between areas, sorta.

Overall 8/10
Its the only field that I know, so I cant really compare it to much, but if it was crappy I dont think I would have really got into paintball the way I did. The New York City area kind of sucks for paintball, but this field is good enough for the only field we have (I know theres an indoor one, but I like the out door feel better, or at least I imagine I would lol). The staff does their job, the regulars are cool and the place is maintained as best as you can maintain a plot of land in middle of the woods. The hours could use some work (I think its something like 9-6) . Weekend play only, even in the summer it only extends to fridays. Would like some more days for those who can not get those end of the week days off easily (though my normal days off are monday and friday). But they are open anytime school is closed, as well as anyday for a reservation of at least 10 people a week and a half (at least) in advance.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 23rd, 2009 at 9:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ME Wednesday, December 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: November 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at 3 other fields in the general NYC/LI area, 2 in Jersey and 1 upstate in Poughkeepsie
They all have their merits and drawbacks
Review: The field was nice overall

The fields themselves could use some better design for sure!

The Airball field was deflated on the day i went and i was pretty sure they would have done better with some more staff working ( especially Refs)

The staff that was there was reasonably professional and helpful.

The other 'walkons' and i had some great games (even though there was plenty of wiping losers)

Paint was 65 bucks a case YUK... but it could be worse!

Overall i really did have a BLAST... great time met some GREAT people!!!

I will definately be going back again!

NOW TO THE BASICS
Safety - Refs were very good about yelling at people regarding their masks and barrel covers!
Fields - Really could have been set up better, but still fun ( didnt get to oplay on the airball field)
Hours of operation, only weekends unless you have a group
Prices - A day out easily costs 100 bucks or more ( admittance+case of paint+ food)
Rules - Very well run in this manner, safe, well enforced rules
Services - Not sure exactly what this means to be honest
Proshop - Offered a 'proshop' that didnt have a whole lot of stuff but some basics.. wanted 45 bucks to install a few evil internals while i played (id rather do it myself)
Staff - had very friendly nice staff inside the 'store'
Refs - young kids but were very good about safety, and not horrible with paint checks
Players - for the most part everyone was great ( a few wipers- but i just overshoot them till they quit)
Facilities - port o potty on premisses and a 'sink' of sorts to clean up... kinda like roughing it but not bad
Food - had an awesome hot dog and gatorade! prices arent TOO bad
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

coldboot Tuesday, April 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
When you get close on the map, look carefully for the crappy vertical "Paintball" signs with arrows, it's pretty easy to miss. But check Google Satellite images and see where the field part is, you turn off on to a long dirt road where the blip shows up on the map.
Review: This place was good, but not fantastic. My only comparison would be Fox4 Paintball near Boston, though. It's pretty cheap to rent, but the paint prices are expensive. When I went our group was able to get these prices:

The fields were pretty basic, and there wasn't a whole lot of stuff to hide behind. I would prefer a denser forest. Their speedball arena was alright, but some of the obstacles weren't plugged into the ground that well.

Prices: (This was with a group)
$35 Basic Rental (Tippman 98 Custom and similar) including all-day air
$87 Case of 2000 Paintballs (DXE Field)

The refs aren't that strict about the mask rule, and lift their own masks up in the field when they're away from the gameplay. But they're still quite reasonable.

When my gun was malfunctioning on its first day out, the refs were pretty helpful and the manager even lent me his soldering iron to solder on my battery contacts to my new Protege. Be careful with those NiMH 9V batteries, they're fatter than the alkalines...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xpaullettax Wednesday, February 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
skirmish
Directions
to the Field:
visit the website
Review: Overall, the place is okay. Its pritty generous when it comes to renting eqiupment. You can come in off the street and beable to play. They give you a gun ( either a tippman 98 or an ion) which is in an okay condition, mask, air, locker, and even pod packs. Paint is a little pricey thou at around $80 for a case of 2000 paintballs. The fields aren't spectacular, not by a long shot. theres six fields I think. I Can't keep track cause they keep changing the woodsball fields. I think there's 4 woodsball fields, Bedrock (my favorite) which is in the woods but theres rocks for cover, and their lame attempt at a speedball field which is a mess of fence and barrels on a sandy ground. They also have a shooting range. Their pro shop isn't great, some basics like remote chords, barrel plugs and socks, barrels and masks, and if ur lucky sometimes they have a crappy spyder. The food is good, they order pizza but u could order from priity much anywhere thats near there. Safty is big, which i like cause theres aleays some little idiot that think they know everything and take off their mask in the middle of the game or doesnt put his safty on and popps off a couple rounds by accident in the staging area. And theres never any big games there so if you wanna paintball u gotta have friends that paintball too or hope that people are there the day u go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DAC Tuesday, November 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish
Directions
to the Field:
google it, off 440, look for the oil tanks
Review: Safety = 10
Fields = 4
Hours= 6 [Weekends Only, otherwise by appt 9-430]
Rules = 3 [tourney rules for walk on newbies, mixed kids with adults, mixed adults kids and their home team, made for some lopesided matches, but no room because they have only 4 fields.
ProShop = 4 Proshop is sub-par, some barrels, some loaders, some clothes, maybe a marker,
Food = 10/0 It's NYC, you can order good food and have it delivered, they had a BBQ, but no1 was working it.
Refs = 5 [kids]
Staff = 7
Prices = 8/5 w/ ur own eqiupment, all day air and a case of PB $80, that jumps to $150 for the same deal if ur renting

Its five minutes from my house. If i dont want to trek 2+ hours or play indoor, it's cheap and fine.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zazor18 Monday, October 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
A whole mess of fields in NY, NJ, PA, Chicago, CA and so on.
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest it....it's near a Prison if that helps...
Review: I'm a rec baller so this review will probably appeal towards newbies and your happy go lucky guy who's got some time to kill.

Field:
Lots of little fun fields to play on. They've got sling shots for grenade lobbing on at least one field. Decent woodsball play regardless of the size of each of the fields.
There is a speedball field with no tree canopy cover while all the others do. They use wooden stationary bunkers for the speedball field.
Not so fun if it's rained there but if your the outdoorsmen type enjoy the mud.
It's better than when it was under Dawn's (I think that was her name) management when it was SI Paintball. Since Cousin's took over things have improved.

Price:
Entry $30 and a case is $80. They have a range of paint from the Draxxus line I believe. Forgot what the high end price was but from what I remember the paint is decent.

Refs:
Not bad. Pretty good on the paint checks and goggle checks. Will come up with different games other than just 'kill everyone on the other side".

Safety:
They're good on that. There's a self chrono in the firing range. Ref will check at some point.

Food:
they have food there. Burgers and what have you. Just some folk just having a BBQ at the field and selling you some of their grub. You can still order pizza I'm told.

In General:
Manager of the field is a nice guy. You can upgrade your typical Tippman 98 rental to an Ion ($10+ I believe) if you need to rent. Air is included with your entry fee and they have nitro/compressed air and CO2. So if you like a cozy woodsball game this is good. Speedballers not so great but it is interesting to at least try speedball using fixed wood bunkers rather than the X ball gear. They only have Porto Potties by the way.

UPDATE:
Just went again and they've replaced the wooden bunkers for inflatable ones for the speedball field. No food other than ordering pizza. They use to have a bbq where you could get hamburgers *shrug*.
Last edited on Monday, August 17th, 2009 at 12:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HitMan. Sunday, July 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
COUSINS / USANA / HIVI / TOP GUN / SKIRMISH / E-JAM / EMR / POCO-LOCO / STRAGETY PLUS / and many others around the states and around the world including Canada, Europe.
Review: Alright. My thoughts on Cousins Paintball in Staten Island. I'm from Staten Island and played there only twice before Cousin's took the field over. WOW only 2 times and I'm from Staten Island. WOW what does that tell you? Mmmm. I've been playing paintball since 1988 and all around the world so I've gotten my taste of a few fields I would say.

I can tell you this. I and my team love the field. Love the staff, and love the field manger John. Why? Because since day one of when they have taken over the old field they have all been great to us and great to the people of Staten Island and all others that come there from many locations. Their number 1 goal is taking care of the customers and by doing so by safety, quality of play, great prices and listening to what the players and customers want.

I can tell you this much. From playing only twice in a life time with the old owners, we have gone to playing twice a week with the new owners of Cousins Paintball. I and my team our proud to call Cousin's Our Home Field and look forward to the many new changes and up grades to come. All I ask is for you to come on down for a fun day of paintball. If your there just ask for The Undertakers and we'll show you around and make sure you leave with a very happy WOW I'll Be Back Feeling.

No we don't work for Cousin's, but are happy to support them as they have supported 1000's of players and teams and walk-ons and will continue to do so. Keep up the good work John and staff team of Staten Island.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

SIpbgod94 Saturday, May 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only one other in the boroughs NYC paintball but its pretty much rental only because of the laws in NYC.
Directions
to the Field:
If Your local to Staten Island then just take arthur kill all the way down until you see the oil tanks there will be a small sign as well.
Review: Ok well to start off SAFETY,SAFETY,SAFETY. I forgot my barrel plug at home so they made me buy one. The referee who was also very nice made us keep barrel condoms on at all times and masks on at all times. He was very fun and encouraging he was only 15 but was responsible and knew the ropes. The rental guns some of my friends had were pro-carbines some of which got jammed repetitivly and some didnt even have air when they were supposed to be filled at the beggining of the day. It was 40$ with our group reservation that included rentals and 500 balls for 2 hours or air pass if you have your own gear. The workers were real jerks but the reff's were all teenagers and they were all nice.
It is sort of a newb course but they have a decent speedball course 3 big woodsball fields and 2 smaller woodsball fields. The referee we had told us they were working on more. It is quite alot packed into a small space. One down is that there is a prison basically bordering the facility. In one course the prison gate is basically 5 feet from the out of bounds line. So if your looking for a cheap day, somewhere close to play if you live in the boroughs and you dont mind the smaller more noobish fields come to cousins Im going to go back as soon as I can!



UPDATE: ok just because I dont think I was clear enough here it is in a nutshell. . .the fields are small and their are only a few yes this much is true howevere this makes for a good supervised game paintchecks come easy and its hard to cheat.
It is run in a pretty cheap facility the rental and tank fill huts are basically cargo ship crates.
All this being said its a good beginner and local field and if your into speedball or you just dont like the quality of their woodsball courses its just common sense come here to play speedball!! its a good course walk ons and rental prices are all around cheap.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 11th, 2008 at 9:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media