paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field

Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
52Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-800-Flag-007
Address: 2727 Arthur Kill Road
Staten Island, New York 10309
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
levitynyc Monday, March 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Top Gun Paintball. (Essentially the same thing except with more fields, but more of a drive)
Review: Im new to the sport but shouldn't be considered a newbie. I play with more experienced players who broke me out of newbie phase the first day and even complemented me on the way I play (countless hours of socom 2 will help with some basic paintball strategy).

The only other place I've ever played at was Top Gun by great adventure in jersey which is a pain to get do as I live in Brooklyn, NY.

The place is small, but in a sense its small size can make play more enjoyable. no far walks to get air or paint

To start out im disappointed that there is only 3 fields and a speed-ball field and it is by no means a place that you would seek out to play at. There isn't a whole lot of development around SI paintball for one has to wonder why it hasn't been expanded yet.

However for what it is (the only paintball field in NYC) is serves its purpose. The refs are fair and knowledgeable. They seem to love their jobs. They are always willing to talk about the sport!

Safety always comes first! I got yelled at for not having a barrel plug in on my marker when there was no CO2 attached nor a hopper!

They checked paint when asked during a game and even passed out CO2 refills to the newbs that ran out of air mid-game. My ref gave me advice on my marker and possible upgrades....pretty much all of them i went out and bought and am happy with.

This weekend i went with a group of 25 people and we played 10 games by lunch break which is incredible. Speaking of lunch, they sell pizza pies for 10 bucks that are made not too far away in a real pizza store. They don't make their own food which is a blessing but for a good lunch you don't even have to leave. To note there are some other food stores within a few minutes of driving.

It does suffer from the same problems that most paintball fields suffer from.

Paint is expensive as always. Bring your own paint weekend days are a disaster as there are WAAAAAAAY too many people playing (including hundreds of blind shooting, paint wiping, bunker loving, rental equipment newbs!)

Rental equipment looks old and worn out. They don't make you chrono.

Don't even THINK about buying any sort of paintball gear here. I saw my JT proteus II mask on sale here for 119.00 when just a week earlier i bought it online for 59.99.

Wednesday night bring your own paint speedball is a great reason to come out here.

Where else can you find something like this?

In conclusion this is an average paintball field 5-6 at best that gets a huge positive boost from a great referee staff, Wednesday night paintball, and a killer location!!!

Note I am editing this report.

2 things that are gonna make me bring down this review

1. The two women who work there (One may be the owner) are really horrible at customer service. They are both mean and rude. Also the Dragon air smith didnt try to help at all when my fill nipple had air shooting out of it.

2. They only fill nitro up to 3000 PSI....they used to give you a full 4500, but for some reason they dont anymore....
Last edited on Wednesday, June 16th, 2004 at 10:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Medi Sunday, January 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
only been to this one and skimish USA, to compare those two would be comparing a kia to a Ferrary.
Review: This was the first field I ever played on, for first time it was amazing but after visiting skirmish USA I knew that I've been wasting time. Altogether I've played there about 5 times. This place has 4 fields, 3 woodball and 1 speedball which pretty much stays the same all the time.
UPS the refrees there are extremely helpful and very knowlegeble, perfect envirmont for first timers. Every Wednesday and the first Sunday of the month they have bring your own paint day which is great. On wednesday they start at 6 pm though.
DOWNS their paint is $100 for a case, they use team color playoff during the winters (I think) and diablo blaze and some other team color paintballs during the summer.

On bring your paint days they have a sale on paint though, it's $70 bucks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

getsome689 Thursday, October 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Top Gun, High Velocity, FireBallMountain, Rexplex, and Cousins.
Review: Well, I have played there alot and I do enjoy the Wednesday Night Speed ball Games and the BYOP days. However, their prices are too steep for some average person to continuously play there. I don't like the fields too much either. Their Speed ball field is outdated and needs to either be replenished or made into sup-air. There other wood fields are ok but they also need to be fixed up. The refs themselves vary in skill, courtesy, diligence, and knowledge of the game. Some are very knowledgeable about the sport, the markers, and every aspect of the game however, there are some that simply do not care, make poor calls, are rude, aswell as not help the players/customers as a good ref should.

Going there on a BYOP Sunday is fun, you get a parking lot full of all different skill level players and some of the refs play too. They are good and I hope some teams start showing up there so there can be more of a challenge other than having a mass of newbies attempt to blind shoot you. Granted, the field and pro-shop (If you want to call it that) needs much work but it is alot of fun on a nice day with alot of participants.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 18th, 2003 at 11:23 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AznPride Saturday, May 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Velocity Paintball
Review: Pros- the refs are good, they do their job and engforce rules, the proshop is decent, the slection of barrels, hoppers, guns, and squeegies are good, okay tasrget range

Con- the proshop staff overcharges for small jobs, the price for paint and play is kind of high, and the owner kind of pushes you to speend money on things you don't need.like barrel condoms (which I bought from High Velocity)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SavageSkull Tuesday, May 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
On target, Skirmish, Fireball Mtn. Old Bridge (Just Horrible), Fireball Mtn Hanover, Top Gun, Si Paintball, Cousins Coram, Most of NYC area fields…
Review: Si paintball is the only legal paintball center in the 5 boroughs. It sports 3 wood fields and one speedball field. All of which are maintained and modified. The Staff is friendly and actively monitors the game play. The ref's are nuts about safety making sure players keep their masks on and no dry firing or Pressurized gun maintenance in safe zones. They want everyone to have a good and safe time. The ref staff (personally) uses many different types of guns. With this in mind they can assist you with most gun issues. SIPB has some the highest prices for a case of paint $100.00. OUCH!!! They are now introducing BYOP on the 1st Sunday of each month and every Wednesday. It’s a step in the right direction. They treat repeat customers very well. And for this very reason they inadvertently maintain a very good crowd at this center. Overall this is a good place to play and not fight traffic if you live in the NYC area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cnastro Sunday, May 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only field in NYC
Review: Four fields that range from decent to very good. Good, educated, and friendly staff. Decent proshop. I've been there a few times and they don't make you chrono in which is something I dislike. I got hit once and there was no way that guys chrono was under 280. Take advantage of BYOP days cause the paint they have there becomes extremely warped. I don't know if it's the way they store it or what. They have 32 degrees Team Colors and Draxxus paint. A decent field for anyone in NYC who doesn't want to go to drive to Top Gun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ddimka5 Tuesday, May 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Almost all
Review: SI paintball is a good field, for where it is located.
I live 5 mins from it and i go there a lot.
SI Paintball has only 3 field and that sucks
Im trying to get free pass, but they will not give it to me, the only time you get a free pass is when you play 4 times the 5 time is free, but only the field pass not paintballs. other fields give me free pass because if you play on the field for at least 1 year you get in for free but you have to bring 2 people with you.
The only things i do not like about the SI paintball, that is:
1. paintballs are $100 for 2000 balls
2. to expansive(everything)
3. only 3 fields
but everything else it good
ill give you a 9
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

98customcrazy Saturday, April 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: 1.Staten Island paintball only has about five fields, all different, which is a good thing, woods, speedball, wide but open fields.
2.The store has all you need, and can get it if you need it.
3.Filling of tanks is good, its cheap for nitro and co2.
4.Rental equipment not that good.
5.Other than gas, prices are high for equipment such as guns, barrels, tanks.
6.Referee's are very courteous and helpful.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nycpb.com Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
3 in long island, 2 in nj not more than 1hr away
Review: the fields are horrible, it's as if a band of nasty campers were retaliating in the woods and staten island paintball just claimed it their field. the staff is a bunch of newbs and cant referee, they have quick over the phone support that's basically it.

the fields are boring. newbies crowd up the area and don't follow the rules so everyone has to suffer
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guitar123 Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nj
Review: There fields are good nothing special,
Its a good place to have fun and relax for the weekend.
They over charge everything its been like that for a long time they need to get there act together its getting run down.
The only thing I can say that is ok about this is that the speedball is good.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media