paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
172Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1.800.SKIRMISH (754.7647)
Address: 211 North Meckesville Rd
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania 18210
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18
        Next Page
McTwist Thursday, July 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jack Frost, Poco Loco
Review: It`s a great place to play. They have tons of fields. They have structure, woods, structure & woods, and tournament fields as well. Really sucks if it rains. Expensive paint! Wow! $99 for a case of 2000 paintballs?! INASANE! Free Co2, can`t beat that! You don`t wanna forget your barrel plug or people will yell at you! Ahhhhhhh! Great fields, a lot of fun. You should try it at least once.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

5ftaway Thursday, July 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jack Frost - EXPENSIVE paint when I went, but that was a few years ago.
Review: I've played at Skirmish for both of their D-Day scenario games (2002 - 2003). Let me start by saying that they were a blast! Rushing the beach, fighting on the main battle line or while setting up an ambush deep in enemy territory, every minute was great. The scenario was well thought out, and you could easily choose your level of involvement. I highly recommend taking missions, as they usually attract the more serious players and put you in very interesting situations.

The judges were on the whole pretty good. I had a few times where players who were clearly hit would not go out, and since there were 1700 people the refs were too spread out to do much about it. That said, there were also times when refs would run into the middle of a blazing firefight to yank players that got tagged.

The main problem I found was the CO2 setup. Asinine is probably the best way to describe it. To get to the fill station you have to take a bus of walk five minutes on a dirt road. Once there they fill your tank quickly, and you walk or drive out.

Every single bus ride I took, at least one person's burst disc blew. This is where it seems almost sadistic - the repair shop is about as far away from the CO2 as possible. I had a tank blow a disc at the fill station. They told me to go to the repair shop, where the guy charged a dollar to replace the cap. I then took the bus back to the station, where they blew the disc again. I went back to the repair shop, where the guy replaced the disc again. He didn't charge me for the second time, mercifully. I went back to the fill station, got my CO2 filled, and took the bus back to the main area. Someone else's tank blew on the way back. Standing around the main area before the game, you would hear a tank go off on average once every five minutes, with one string of three that went off in less than a minute. [b]TEACH THOSE PEOPLE HOW TO FILL CO2!![/b] That is the main thing that needs improvement for next year. I know I will definitely be getting mine filled before I go, so as to reduce the chance of another wasted forty-five minutes of CO2 repair.

The paint was $100 a case if you bought less than twelve cases. The simple solution was to wait around the paint line until you had collected enough random people to buy more than twelve cases, which reduced the price to $75 a case.

On the whole, I give Skirmish an 8/10 for their D-Day scenarios. The CO2 problem needs to be addressed, and maybe hiring a more refs for the big games would be advisable, but other than that Skirmish did an excellent job delivering a fun scenario.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thakidistight Wednesday, July 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in PA, play primarily in MD
Review: I went to Skirmish for the 2003 D-Day scenario game, and it was an experience not soon to be forgotten (for both good and not so good reasons). Although I can't comment on a normal weekend at Skirmish i can tell about my experience at this scenario game. Skirmish was just about everything i expected it to be. Is the paint expensive? God yes, but you get a meager price break for 5 cases or more, not great but ok I guess. I forgot my mask....I know stupid me, entirely my fault, they had the same mask I have for sale there (Proteus II) at a ridiculous markup (about 50%). The paint prices are insane!!! Over $100 for a case of Midnights or Proballs(somewhere in the neighborhood of a 50% markup....), which seem to have been sitting for about 6 months, every single ball had a flat spot somewhere and seemed to be about to burst their seams. A lot of safety issues were also noted, first was burst discs seemed to be blowing about every 5 min. LEARN TO FILL CO2!! Also was the fact that barely anybody chronoed their guns. Now I know it may sound like I am whining, but when i get hit in the leg from 50ft away through military issue camouflage pants and it breaks skin, someone is shooting hot...I also seemed to be yelling at someone every 5 seconds to put their mask down or back on (is this my job...?) Not enough and inexperienced referees seemed to be prevalent. I know they can't be everywhere when there are roughly 1600 players, but if you needed one, I guess they could be found easily enough. Not all refs were inexperienced, and some even gave tips and pointers to players throughout the game. In general though you usually had to get multiple mask shots on someone to get them to leave the field. With the money Skirmish made that weekend alone, I think they could spend it on ref training and more refs. Waiting to go back in the game would take anywhere between 5-20 min but they couldn't have people running back on the field at any old time so there had to be some method to the madness. I had problems with my cocker and the gun techs were very helpful and friendly. One even gave me new hoses for my pneumatics and was a nice guy, no condescending remarks about my plight, which is rare.
Well enough about the not so good....The game was beautifully setup and when the Americans stormed the beaches we actually came out of wooden mock ups of landing craft, door drop and all. There was a booth where you could get pretty nice stuff for real cheap (2002 jerseys $10, 2002 Dye pants $20,Gloves $10, Pt Extreme pistol $40, I even met a guy who bought a Model 98 for $60....?!?! ) So some of that stuff helped with the parting of $100 a case for paint. The missions were well thought out and not too monotonous. The fields at Skirmish were second to none, and made all the walking around the massive place bearable.
All in all the experience was enjoyable for my first large scale scenario game. Chuck Stoner is the man. But next year lets work on safety. That would be the only thing keeping me from coming back, and making sure others stay away until these issues are fully addressed. Come on Skirmish I know you all read this site, it's been an issue in almost every review I have read. DO NOT IGNORE THIS ISSUE OR IT WILL COME BACK TO BITE YOU!!! I will give this experience a middle of the road rating...could be a 10 if not for prices and safety issues.
Last edited on Monday, July 21st, 2003 at 1:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

doily384 Tuesday, June 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Skirmish was pretty good. Strengths were the great organization...friend got together 20 people so we were able to get our own field. Refs are great, the whole day ran smoothly as we got in 12 games from 10:30 to 4:30. I really liked how they had different stations in which to get different stuff...ie - middle station you get camo and harness, get gear organized, then get on bus and move to fields where there are co2 / n2 fill area and gun rentals. This is a GREAT idea so that you dont become overcome with too much gear, therefore chance of losing field gear is greatly decreased. The weaknesses however are the prices which are somewhat expensive. The big wallet buster is the paint...100 bucks for 2000 paintballs. But the more people you have, the less the cases cost...ie - for us it was 75 per case because we had 20 people.

Field variety was good, we played many field including Gauntlet, The Hood, D-day and others. Alamo was insane, when you play that field and your on defense, prepare to be POUNDED. You can not move once in the building. D-Day was perhaps my favorite because of the perfect layout for offense and defense positions. IMO best field at Skirmish that I played.

Overall a good experience and great day...Even though it was possibly the worst conditions considering its rained for like everday the past month...great organization, good saftey and a great place to play. IMO it falls short of some of the hype about Skirmish but it does have a great variety of fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball7350 Thursday, June 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball adventures
Review: The prices are way to expensive 100 dolars for 2000 paitnballs. At my home field paintball adventures and the best field 80 dollars will buy me 2000 paintballs and free air the whole day. It is kinda a ripe off. But i will say one thing tho theu have very nice speedball fields and scenario games. They got me hooked on paintball. There equipment is all right they could keep it in better condition. The tournaments are very nice but as I said before there prices are to expensive. Even if you try to talk to them about lowering the prices there just turn there backs. There Pro shop is very nice. But where is the autocker, spyder, and timmy parts???
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jparisi Thursday, June 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at EMR in PA and at Weekend Warriors in Florida. EMR has a better structure town play, and a larger castle for their Castle Conquest. Although Skirmish has Castle 2 on the way. Weekend Warriors didn't impress me but I heard they are making or made changes since my visit.
Review: Pros:
Group benefits: You come on a business company trip, or with your rugby team, and you will get benefits. Group leaders can walk away with a gun, goggles, free paintballs, and a group photo, all depending on the size of their group. That is a great way to introduce someone to paintball.

Customer Service: I have had bad days at Skirmish and have had my concerns addressed.

I’ve called in a reservation three or more times after my group numbers have changed three or more times after the initial reservation. I’ve gotten a laugh and a joking “You again?”

Storage bins are filled up and you have things to store? Ask someone. They will help you find a safe place to store your gear. Happened to me.

Their tech and support people at the field are incredible. I have had a tech person admit when they weren’t sure about something and ask for assistance to get the job done. Other than that, they move as fast as possible to help everyone. I never had to see their tech guys and walked away aggravated.

Also, the owner isn’t somewhere in an office Monday to Friday and off the weekends. Paul Fogal is out where the action is, working the weekends.

Separated from your group? Ask for a runner or specific directions. Someone will get you where you need to go. I had gun trouble once and I stopped a ref, asked for them to radio my group, find out if they started, and where they are headed next. He did it, and walked me where I needed to be.

If you don’t agree with anything I have written by the end of this review, remember this above all. You can always ask someone.

Rentals: Tippmanns. What a perfect choice of gun for a person new to the game to use. If you run into gun trouble, they will get you a new one pronto and off you go. (At least that is what I remember when I used to use them)

Fields: If you cannot find a field you like at Skirmish, I doubt you played them all. There are plenty of woods for those who enjoy a woods game, and some structures for those of us who enjoy a good assault game. My favorite field is Circle City.

The fields are also the cleanest they can be. I have never seen trash and debris. Good job to the Skirmish staff for picking up, and good job to the players who throw their garbage where it belongs.

Scenario Games: They get huge turn outs, offer role-playing, and there is something for everyone. Can it get chaotic? Of course it can. You wouldn’t want a scenario game where every plan of attack went perfectly according to plan, would you?

How do you know if you’d like a scenario game if you never played before? Go to Skirmish’s web site. Under Scenario Games, there is a list of rules and general information. By the way, the site is a pro as well. You should be able to find what you are looking for

Reminders:
Unlike most reviews where you just list the cons, I offer, for lack of a better word, reminders. So allow me to introduce to you reminders to the biggest negative aspects we are already familiar with.

Prices: Skirmish charges $27.00 plus tax per person for a private group, and $30.00 plus tax per person for less than a private group. Then it is $105.00 after taxes for a case of paint. If you are comparing cases of paint with other fields, also check if other fields charge for air, how much admission is, and if that includes equipment.

Skirmish doesn’t charge for air (Except for scenario games. If they ever stopped charging for air for scenario games, I’d be thrilled) Walking in and spending $135.00 + may sound crazy, however…

1) Buy in bulk, and the price will come down per case.
2) Save your paint at the end of the day. If you know you are coming back, I sure you can bring unused paint back that was purchased at Skirmish.
3) Save those play fours. Every fifth trip is free.
4) Don’t forget to collect 100 free paintballs for bringing your own gun.
5) Take turns group leading and you play for free as well as receive group leader benefits.
6) Practice your aim. The less shots it takes to hit someone, the less paint you need to buy. ;)

Walking: Granted nobody wants to walk every 30 minutes to play for twenty minutes. But how can anyone praise the variety of the fields and the amount of fields offered while criticizing the need to walk to get there. However….

1) You do have the option to only play fields that are five minutes away, and avoid walking all together.
2) Tell the ref if you walk for 30 minutes, you would like to play 3 games or more on adjacent fields in the area you arrive at. Remember the players, not the ref, should be deciding what fields to play on.

There will probably not be a monorail installed for easier transport to get around. Besides, even if one was set up, expect a price increase to pay for it all, and expect to wait on line to travel. Which brings us to…..(See below)

Waiting: We all grew up having to wait on line. Paintball is no different. Whether you are waiting to register, get CO2 or Nitro, food, or to play on a field, you have to wait. However….

1) I’ve never seen a line for equipment failure from people using rental gear. This line is for those of us who have our own gear.
2) Everyone has to eat. Bring your own food and you avoid lines, save money, and eat quicker.
3) If you have a private group stay organized and work together. Leaders register, someone collect money to buy paint all at once, and if you are renting a jumpsuit, don’t just stand there. Go rent it.
4) Above all, don’t be late for your check in time. If check in is at 0945, don’t get together at 1030 and expect swift compensation for the 45 minutes lost.

Safety: Nobody can expect perfection, as horrible as that sounds. If you have a group of 30 on several acres of playing fields that break into several ongoing battles, refs cannot guarantee they can see everyone who decides to take goggles off. Players know not to, signs say not to, during the bus ride they say it three times, and that is the cardinal rule anyone playing should know. If you don’t know the goggles on rule and this is the first time you are experiencing paintball at all, after a visit to Skirmish you will know it.

It is impossible to not know it if you pay attention for 15 minutes. If you can’t stay alert for 15 minutes, I definitely don’t want you on my team anyway.

I myself had to yell at a player because he suddenly took his goggles off. This was a close quarters game, and the refs saw everything, rushed our area and he stopped the game as fast as humanly possible.

Referees can only do so much. Which leads to…..:

The Referees:

We all know judges are cast in different lights. There is no point of laying a blanket statement that all refs are bad or good at one particular place. Each individual is different. I know by names who judged well and who did not. When we call in a reservation, we request a ref by name that we were pleased with.

In Conclusion:

I will be back at Skirmish for more games: private, walk on, and scenario. If you never been there, and the drive isn’t out of your way, go play. You won’t be able to refute or back me up if you never been there.

I was originally going to post a rating of 9, because nobody is perfect. Then I realized a 10 doesn’t equal perfection, just ones opinion. So here it is.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gmc1022 Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none around
Review: I had a blast at this field. i think the trick is to have a big group istead of just a few, they treat u better and you get more refs. plus you dont get mached up with people you dont know/.

Pros: Great variety of fields and game types
Well stocked pro shop
good refs and help.
nicely maintained rentals (semi auto 98 and 98c)
Great package deals (come with lots of people, get free stuff like paint, masks, guns, discounts)
Cool events. they have father sons tournamentst. 3v3, 5v5, battles and paddles, ad predator day mong others. if u shoot him u get a free pass back. (i did)

Cons: Price! Paint is very expense. we went with a large group and split the paint, spending over $900 total in paint (plus admision which isnt that bad for packages)

also i was reading the other reviews and it said they made you take of the tanks on the bus. the bus ride was very long and cramped but it is the law to remove your co2 tanks.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 17th, 2003 at 7:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jmangreg Saturday, June 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter
Top Gun Paintball
Cousins Paintball
Review: Me and my bros came out to skirmish a few weeks ago and we had a pretty good time. Paintballs were a little expensive but you know, it was all worth it.

Pros:
The fields were great. They were a little muddy but skirmish cant control the weather.
The judges and staff were really cool. Some of the nicest guys too. Even the younger judges around 16-17 were extremely responsible and made sure everyone was playing safe.

Cons:
The paint. It was 100 bux for a case a PMI paintballs but it was well worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KFVSK Friday, June 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
EMR
Paintball Depot
Review: I'd like to start by saying anyone who gave Skirmish a rating of less than seven is crazy! I'm now going to address a few issues with some other reviews. I'm not going to brag about other fields. Let's just talk about Skirmish.

Aside from the obvious complaint that everyone seems to be writing about, that is, the cost of paint, Skirmish has no other shortcomings. Most of you forget to mention that if you play with a large enough group, and buy over twelve cases, the cost comes down to around $75/case.

As for safety issues, the rules are always made clear on the bus ride to the field. ALWAYS! Anyone stupid enough to take there mask off during a game, probably should not be playing in the first place. Same goes for those with 3000psi tanks at the 4500psi fill station. Everything at Skirmish is clearly marked, from "Goggles On" areas to proper fill stations.

Now for the field layout...Skirmish is over 700 acres! Do you really expect not to have to walk to get from one field to another? That was an easy one!

As for the judging...I agree with most of you. This can make or break the day. I've had my fair share of both good and bad judges at Skirmish. If you get a bad judge on any given day, deal with it! When the day is done, let upper management know you were not satisfied and I'm sure they'll take care of you some way or the other. Don't blame the whole judging staff on one or two bad seeds!

Skirmish is a very large organization. Because of it's size, things can seem a little out of control sometimes. Don't let this discourage you from playing here. They really do have things down to a science. My scenario team is proud to call Skirmish our home-field and will continue to do so regardless of the many bad reviews I have read.

Keep up the good work Skirmish!

Last edited on Friday, June 13th, 2003 at 1:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AzNpAintBallaz Saturday, June 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fireball mountain - some good scenario games, no where compares to the size of skirmish and their senerio games
paintball depot - just plain bad
nj paintball club - dont remember how it was....no where as craZy as skirmish thou
on target paintball - hyperball is cool, feilds...wooded area, sand feilds (which are really bad for open bolt guns)
Review: Pros-
Sometimes you get a GOOD refs. Good ref's help A LOT. They get the game going and bring you to good feilds, and quickly move the group. MAKE SURE YOU ASK FOR A GOOD REF WHEN YOU ARE GOING.
Lots of feilds. Hyper-ball is AWSOME. (im a speedball player). Scenerio games are very cool. The castle, Fort Skirmish, the hood. Buildings are cool for scenerios. Skirmish probably has the most structures anywhere on the east coast.
Tech support. Tech is great for people that dont know how to manage their own guns. When my friends guns werent working, they fixed my friends spyders and m98s on the spot at the staging area.
Nice Customer service. They gave my whole group free passes because of the rain. YEY =D
Exchanged paintballs. They exchanged even my open bags of paint. As long as they had 500rnds in them. My balls had a lot of dimples on them, so i echanged them. but the balls were still dimpled. its a pro, because at least they tried to make the customer happy. look below for the CONS!!

CONS-
OMG THAT BUS RIDE TO THE FEILD. Its so cramped, so long, and you have to take your tank off the guns. My friends that have adjustable tanks have a problem taking their tanks off.
Staging area far from the feilds. They should put random fill stations for air around the feild. When i went they only had 3000psi fills. It was such a pain since i love to spray paint. I had to walk SOO far bak to get fills, and that made me watch my shots more.
PAINT IS EXPENSIVE DIMPLED AND NOT ROUND. My 1800 dolalr gun setup wasted at skirmish because they have bad paint!!! might as well use a 200 dollar gun since the dimpled balls are hooking anyways.
They sometimes dont have 4500 fills. usually when there a tournement going on, or practice games going on.
BAD REFS. beware. if you have a bad ref, your day is mostly shot. hes slow and gets leaves some people of your group behind.

Conclusion. I will be going back to skirmish again. I love the scenerio games there. The only thing i dont like about skirmish is the expensive crappy paint. Makes me so frustrated. Ill give the feild a 7 because of the expensive bad paint b/c you cant play without paint.
Last edited on Saturday, June 7th, 2003 at 11:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media