paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
172Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1.800.SKIRMISH (754.7647)
Address: 211 North Meckesville Rd
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania 18210
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18
        Next Page
fullpozzy Sunday, June 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's@AG and Hogback in Virginia and a couple in San Antonio, Texas
Review: Recently played a tournament there. They had 4 fields. 3 air sup. and 1 hyperpipes. The refing staff was the worst I have ever experienced. If you weren't a local team you go a raw deal. The refs just didn't care, they judged every time in favor of the local team not matter what. They bent the rules for the local teams and threw the book at the non-locals. The refs were allowing side line helping, wipes on obvious hits and they were making bad calls all day long.

Half the teams didn't show, so the tried to adjust accordingly but it went from bad to worse. The bunks on the air sup fields weren't secured properly, so they would fall over. My recommendation is find someplace else to play not worth you time or money.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

stron3 Saturday, May 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in PA.
Review: Pros: The fields are awesome. They are well maintained and set up for the most part. Firebase Dewey, the Hood, the Pentagon, the Castle, Circle City are some of the best. Most of the refs are pretty cool and all of the staff are pretty friendly. This is the only place I've been able to get true 4500 psi fills. The overall atmosphere is great.

Cons: Paint cost. $105 a case for the worst dimpled and oval shaped paint you will ever use. It's consistently bad, whether they use Draxxus Midnight, 32 degrees, or PMI. It's obviously been sitting for a long time. You will not get a lot of games in unless you come with your own group and you're highly motivated and orgainized. The nitro fill stations are unattended and dangerous. People who have no idea what they are doing fill their own tanks. I've personally stopped people who were starting to hook their 3000 psi tank up to the 4500 psi fill station!!! A couple of the fields are overgrown with thatch and SUCK to play on.

Summary: There's some issues that need to be addressed, ranging from the serious (fill stations) to the annoying (price and quality of paint, overgrown fields), but overall Skrimish is a lot of fun. I always wind up going back for better or for worse.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

sniperman Friday, May 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in PA
Review: I am pretty much a noob to this sport. I went once in fourth grade to Survival NY, and i have been 3 times to skirmish after that. I enjoy Skirmish a lot. I went most recently to their Burma Road Scenario Game. This was a lot of fun. Continuous play all day. It was japs vs americns. Japs lost. Anyway, The last two times before this were o.k. Since i am a noob i enjoy just playing the sport for what it is and i am sure many others feel the same. I usually go with some friends so whatever we are doing i really dont mind, its just cool to hang out. Well we got about four games in before lunch, and a few more after. I enjoy skirmish for its selection of fields but as many others have said waiting is a problem. On Saturdays there are at least 1000 give or take a few hundred. Also paint prices are the worst. $100 dollars a case is pretty stiff. Next time i go i will probably go to a field closer to me. 3 hour drive for less than that of playing time isnt worth it. Scenario games are worth it though although the REF's at the scenario games dont really Ref very well. I see guys wiping all the time. So if you want to have a great time and are a noob this is a great place. The refs are pretty cool and will enforce the rules. I hear there are some pretty cool scenario games comming up and there are a lot of prizes at the games so I would suggest Skirmish for Scenario but for regular play it isnt worth it. To expesnive and not enough playing time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

parkkuen Sunday, May 4th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I usually play in skirmish.. but now I must find something else.. cuz now it's just ridiculous...
Review: This place used to be great. But my last 3 trips within past 3 months have been hell. They walk us from one end of the field to other. Full Day worth of game is about 6 to 8, if you are lucky and this includes some 15 minute games. Just to get a game going we walk from one end of the field to the other. Sometimes we play one game in one field and we have to pick up and move. You would think they would want us to play more games, so we use more paints.. what are they thinking? and who's their marketing guru?

We wasted so much time just waiting and walking all over the place. Perhaps they are getting more people and more fields are being occupied, but if that's the case Skirmish needs to reassess their business and run it differently. It's really a shame, because Skirmish is sitting on a gold mine and Skirmish is losing the same paintball players that Skirmish has introduced to paintball.

Just this past Saturday May 3rd, this place was pretty empty compared to a typical Saturday, I think it was due to big scenario game a day after. Anyway, we played two games and Ref (Wheaties was the nick name) wanted to pull everyone back for lunch. 2 GAMES!!!! that's barely enough time to waste any CO2 and Paint. And when I voiced my concerns, he said we will have early lunch and squeeze in 4 games after lunch. Bull Sh*t. Our CO2 will certainly not last 4 games after lunch and that means we will have to make another stop to refill our tanks. Surely, after two 15 minute games at Fort Skirmish and most people are out of CO2.

They also try to coerce us to play structure fields. It's like as if the managements are telling the refs that you have to play structure fields. I think it's their way of trying to have us waste our paintballs to make up for the less games being played. I mean they don't care how many games we play, as long we waste our paintballs right? I don't mind playing structure fields, but not when we have to walk to the other "available" structure fields, just because we need to.

Go here if you are new to the Game. But if you are looking to play games instead of walking and waiting, you should try smaller place. 9 2 years ago, 7 last year and 3 NOW... what a shame...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

darkreconx Sunday, May 4th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ambush Paintball- Lancaster PA. Ambush is MUCH cheaper. They have fewer fields compared to Skirmish's 700+acres. Ambush was my first "true" field...
Review: Skirmish is EXPENSIVE. $100 for a case of 32* Team Colors.
They have over 700 acres of fields, and you can tell that they maintain their fields very well. I would NEVER play recball here, its much to expensive, however Their scenarios are very fun. Other than big games, scenarios, and tournaments, I would not play here. It is much cheaper to go to a smaller field.

The staff at Skirmish is well-trained. Some don't know much about the sport. When I first started playing paintball, my spyder froze, and the one airsmith made fun of my gun, comparing it to his 98cocker. This kinda ticked me off, however i'm not counting that incident, and a few others in my review. Some of the reffs are really cocky also.
(I've got a 2001 stock body cocker, ALL FREE-FLOW internals, freeflow front block with a shocktech 3-way, ect)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

kenenfuego Thursday, April 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This is the place where it all started for me. I was working for a company about 8 years ago that put together this paintball trip to Skirmish. I had never done it before, so me and a friend figured we'd give it a try. We were hooked from that day on. And I believe that was the last time I used a pump.

Anyway, I have been back to Skirmish maybe 2 or 3 times since that first time. The place is HUGE, so if you like a nice selection of fields, then you will love this place. You WILL do a lot of walking when you play there, so be prepared for that. Most of the fields are a few minutes or more away from the staging area. Every time I went, we would play at least 2 games, sometimes 3 before going back to the staging area. I think on a good day, you can get in about 6-8 games. Anymore than that, you are lucky.

It is also a lot more organized than a lot of fields I've played at as far as bringing big groups of people, which I have done twice. The groups that I have gotten together, most of the people in the group had never played before. Skirmish is very much geared towards the new players. They give you a lot of instructions/safety rules on the bus ride to the fields, and all the times I have been there, the refs have been pretty good, especially with the newbies.

The one main thing I do not like about Skirmish is the price of paint. $100 for a case of paint is ridiculous and that is the main reason I probably won't be going back anytime soon. They also charge you $30 just to play, which includes rental equipment. With the amount of people that play here every weekend, they should be able to sell paint for less than $50 a case, since you know they have to buy it by the truckload, and it isn't the best quality paint either. If you could bring your own paint, then I would definitely play at Skirmish again. The last 2 times I did play there was when they have the 1/2 off days, you get half off a case of paint and 1/2 off camo rentals, but those specials are in the winter, when it usually sucks to play, especially up there where Skirmish is located, in northern PA.

So, if you have never played paintball and you just want to try it out, then Skirmish would be a good place to get started, as long as you can get a bunch of people and possibly split the cost of paint. The fields are pretty sweet, and there is a huge selection of different kinds, and sizes of fields. Be prepared to do some walking though! Don't forget, the paint is very expensive, and not the best quality either.

I give this field a 5 - Average. It would get a higher rating, but the costs bring it down a few notches.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SquirrelRef Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i've played at Splatter Jackfrost and at Triage Paintball. Splatter is better than Skirmish by at least ten fold. I would comment on Triage but i work there so i will just tell you to play there and you make a comparison.
Review: OK, this isit. it all come down to the basics. skirmish uses dog crap at fieldpaint. i think they like to incubate it for about four months before they sell it to you for incredibly too much. the refs are cool, the fields are good but no the best. if you want the best fields, go to splatter jackfrost. splatter also uses decent paint. The only reason to visit skirmish is to go to the scenarios. you can't beat the shear size of the scenario games. soooooo many poeple sho up. even in the middle of winter, bulge rocked. oh yeah, if and when you go to the next scenario, dont be american cuase you will lose. us germans rock the scenarios. the paint they use is crappy and very small, bring a small bore barrel like a boomstick or get smart and buy a freak so you can be cool like me the squirrelmaster. i bought the freak and now i can use skirmish's crappy paint. i'll give it a 3 cuase their scenarios save em from a big fat 0.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

squanto Saturday, April 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in PA
Review: Went to Skirmish today with 6 other people from my school, left at 5:30am to get there at 9:30. Got changed and ready to go by 10, but then had to wait for an hour to get our paint because the guys selling paint wouldn't except a money order that one of the managers had cleared already. So 11 rolls around, we now have paint. We get on the bus, about 15 min ride to the fields, nice staging area, food, water, little pro shop and what not, nice setup there, I will give them that. The CO2 guys now have scales as well and their air fill station does 3000 and 4500 psi fills nicely, so both of those things are good.
We didn't wind up playing until 12, and after one game every one in the group we were put into wanted lunch, so we had to hoof it back to the staging area. Granted walking is good for one's soul, it is about half a mile to the field we went to, so for one game we walked a mile with gear and extra paint cause we expected to play for a few hours, not 30 minutes.
After an hour lunch, went to play some speed ball. Rules were that any shots below the elbow and below the knee as well as gun shots ment you were not out... Not sure who came up with that one.
We wound up getting 2 more games in for the entire afternoon. There was A LOT of waiting around doing nothing while the refs were off in the woods "setting up" the field, and the whole fiasco of not wanting to take $900 of a money order kind of turned me off to Skirmish. We walked a good 4-5 miles to play 4 games, and although I had fun playing, the waiting and walking and lack of playing made me upset.
I think if you have only played a few times or just want to see what all the hype is about, Skirmish is a cool place, but for the money and time I don't think Skirmish will be getting any more money from me.
The refs were friendly, but not that helpful. People were removing goggles on the field, I actually had to yell at a kid 3 times to put his goggles on before I would shoot at him, and after he was out he took them right off again, in the middle of a game! They stress how important goggle wearing is while the refs have everyone together, but the refs don't do anything about people who don't obey the rules.
Chrono setup is a joke, you set yourself up, and no one even checks to see that you are not hot.
Their rental stuff seems reasonable, tippy 98s with 20oz CO2 (didn't use, but seemed to work ok).
The prices are slightly steep, over $100 per case of draxxus midnight and field fee is somewhere around $27 unless you have a big group. There was about 1000 people there, or atleast it seemed like it, and it was crowded. They ran out of fresh drinking water around 4pm, so I was slightly thirsty, and I was not about to pay out the rear for bottled water.
One guy, Larry, was a big help. He helped us figure out what the heck we were supposed to do, and I thank him for it. But our two refs that we had really didn't do a great job, but for as little as they get paid, I kind of see why.
Overall, Skirmish was fun to go to for the fact that I can say I have been there, but I won't be going back again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cool-alex144 Thursday, April 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I went here for the big game in 2002.
I like the reffing, and there were lots of ppl there at the time.
unfortunitly it is in the middel of no where.

at the time there were lots of companys there selling stuff. and i got some great deals while i was there.
it's big, with lots of parking,it's world known.

i would go there only once and a while because it is expensiveto go there. but worth it in the end.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dcdude Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Good: Massive! Can never get bored. Fort Skirmish would have to be my favorite field out of them all. Very nice people, refs, players, etc...

Bad: As a few have said paint is expensive. Another "bad" is when it's crowded...it's CROWDED!

Conclusion: The only "real" field I have ever been to and I love it...I will always return. I will always have a passion for my rec ball but Skirmish might change that.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media