paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
172Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1.800.SKIRMISH (754.7647)
Address: 211 North Meckesville Rd
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania 18210
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
nymetsfan61987 Wednesday, November 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Directions
to the Field:
Up north in redneck country!
Review: Overall this field was awsome. I had never played paintball before i came to Skirmish and when i went there i had an awsome time. It is a pretty expensive place to play but all in all....its well worth it. Its definetly something that im gonna do again once i get more experience. Alot of walking which can be good but at the same time sucks. The proshop had a lot of good stuff in it but it was expensive. I would definetly suggest this place to anyone who wants to have a days worth of fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JohnBlazeNY Sunday, October 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
I know them by heart..
Review: Proshop: The guys are handy and they carry a bunch of stuff.
Entry Price: Reasonable
Paint Price: Worth it when you come in large groups. Wish it could be cheaper but I guess something has to pay for the landscaping.
Food: $3 for a burger is ok I guess but I wish they sold fries.
Safety: I don't have an issue with their safety, we all look out for the newbs.
Ref: I had one veteran and one newb..it was interesting. At first you saw that he was very new then he picked it up. He was always paint checking everyone.
Players: Cool bunch.

Been coming here for some time now. They added a few things which is always nice to see. Flatline worked great at every field.
I'm always early so I never have an issue with getting a locker. I'm going to ask if I can bring my own smoke bombs next time.

Over all this place is great and I will continue to go for years 2 come!


9 out of 10 just because there's always room for improvment.
Last edited on Monday, October 27th, 2008 at 12:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

headhunter595 Wednesday, October 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: September 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ejam
ZJ
ABC
PB depot
Review: SKIRMISH IS A MUST!

skirmish is the ultimate day of play
the new Tippman City is probably one of the best urban building to building paintball fields in the country
the castle i good too
the rules are noob friendly (elbows down and knees down dont count)
great woods
great short fields
i recommend the fields Tippmann City, Brookside, and Hood (talk to your ref)
good for experienced tournament players and recreational players

Pros:
-Fields
-Organization
-experienced refs
-nice staff
-THE PRO SHOP
-the quality of rental gear (though i don't rent)
-gives you the fullest paintball experience

Cons:
-lots of first timers (i find that its sometimes too easy)
-PRICE OF PAINT ($100) if u bring ur own stuff ur lookin at about a $150 day
-personally i think the castle is a waste of paint! (way overrated)

This IS the best field in the US!
if you havnt been there you have to
got to play the city and any other urban fields
LOVE SKIRMISH!!
Last edited on Tuesday, January 13th, 2009 at 5:27 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xmarkerman Friday, October 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I went to Skirmish USA once with group of about 45 people. Steep prices for paint even for groups. We had to walk a considerable distance from parking lot to fields while caring paint, markers and everything we needed for the day. Place is huge so don’t expect to see it all in one day. We played famous Tippmann Castle but I could not fully enjoy it because I tripped on rocks which are everywhere and messed up my leg. Thanks to field’s EMT, got first aid and was able to battle the rest of the day. Safety is not truly enforced IMO (wear goggles the whole day lol ……not funny).
Can’t fully recommend this place due to paint prices and some lack of safety.
Q: To go there at least once for experience?
A: Yes
Last edited on Friday, October 24th, 2008 at 11:26 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

villageidiot019 Monday, September 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Directions
to the Field:
Not sure, just look at their website.
Review: It is a very good paintball field, the courses are all great, no complains about any of it except a few of them like Hood in the Woods, smells like someone took a good number 2 there. The field judges are great and the tech crew knows what they are doing and they fix your gun for free unless you need a part or if it is very extensive.

My complaints about it is the 99 bucks a case, but they do sell little bags of 100 or whatever for cheaper. Plus entry is 75 bucks and it does include 500 rounds a limited amount food (like 2 burgers or 2 hotdogs, chips and a drink) along with free air and camo and rentals but that is a lot I think. 30 bucks for extra nothing but includes rentals still. It is always crowded especially on events, and they rush you and pro shop I think is more expensive then anywhere else. A lot of working and somewhat unorganized. For example you will play one course then walk to the other side practically to play another course.

I always have a great time when I go. I usally go with a bus load or 2 go our own ways and meet up at Tippmann Castle which is the place to shoot everyone up and get shot at as well.

I give it an 8 because the courses are the best, I have never been to a place with courses like they have. the judges are cool and easy going and try to get you to play as many places and as many games as you can. But it is expensive, and a dumb load of walking sometimes.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

w3ki11suckers Monday, September 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: August 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins, strategy plus, fbm
Review: Ive been playing at this field for a while now. Overall the GREATEST field ive played at. A huge place over 50 fields. Refs are really cool and professional. Gun techs up there are great. they fix everything. A+ field. A+ scenarios.

acouple games you have to go to are Invasion of Normandy which ive been going to for the past 3 years. Also the castle night there really fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zaskar108 Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
EMR/Strategy/Fox 4/West Point/ and all the other big ones
Directions
to the Field:
GPS/map quest
Review: $100 bucks a case of paint???????? The place has no overhead practically and had 4,000 people who show up at an event. Ok do the math, someone is getting rich. Out of all the scenarios I have played cases of paint are usually between the prices of $40 to $70 bucks max. I agree with that fact the field is awesome, and there are a lot cool places to go, and work strategic scenarios during a huge event. However I think they have absolute nerve for charging so much for paint, lets face it, we aren’t shooting gold out of our guns.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

Skirmish Lover Friday, March 28th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish paintball is like no other. I played on all the fields and been inpresed by the second one. the staff was amazing. I love you Skirmish and thanks for making my sons 12th birthday a non forget able one too.
Review: Safety: everyone was outstanding.

Rules: good had very fun actually had fun with them

Prices: fine with me, i got amex ready.

Other: staff was amazing, i fely as if i was in a 1st class ticket to paintball heaven. Whoever loves paintball, they have to go here. It is defenatly a 10 star place
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

colonel.rico Monday, January 14th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
LVP - Speedball field, whole different league.
Directions
to the Field:
Visit their website or call their hotline at 1800skirmish
Review: Safety - Referees are always on the look-out for safety issues on and off the field, even at lunch! Just because a referee is taking his break, doesn't mean that safety takes a break either. It's apparent too if you spend one day there; when you get to the picnic area referees are always keeping a watchful eye on their players and others.

Fields - Easily some of the best fields on the East Coast. Tippmann Castle? The Hood in the Woods? Heck, even most of the wooded fields like Coyote Run and Brookside are amazing! With almost 900 acres of fields, you never get bored.

Hours of Operation - Opens up at the crack of dawn, or at least close to it. They are open when we are still recovering from the night before! Closes as late as possible, changes from season to season it seems. They work with whatever daylight they can get out the day.

Prices - Cases ranging from 100-77 a case depending on quantity purchased. Entry ranging from 29.95-free on some days. Bring your own gun days are free entry, half price paint days are regular admission, but 50 a case. Regardless of the day, the prices are well worth the access to these amazing fields.

Rules - When paired up with a walkon group the rules are enforced, but lenient and bendable to the groups decisions. When in a private group, the referees work with whatever the entire ensemble would like to do. The only rule, obviously, that can not be changed is the goggles rule.

Services - Unbeatable tech table services. The techs are certified arismyths, and most of them are certified technicians of certain brand name company guns. They fix everything mechanical for free, parts are the only cost if they are needed in the repair. Parts pricing is very cheap as well usually being factory direct prices.

Proshop - Staff is very attentive, prices are reasonable. Just stop in and check it out sometime, you'll see what I mean!

Staff - Management staff is very kind and courteous. Always out to please the customer and keep us happy.

Refs - Never cease to amaze me. They are always the skilled professionals I've grown to know and love from the company. Very reasonable and understanding individuals. Safety always comes first on their fields.

Players - Always a fun crowd, from the old timers, to the kids. Skirmish draws attention from people of all ages and all kinds. It's a very diverse community and very fun and interactive, especially during the scenario play. You can see a lot of the same smiling faces returning to every scenario each year.

Food - Look to spend about 7 bucks for a nice hot meal. Hamburgers, hot dogs, grilled chicken sandwiches, gatoraid, monster, coke products... You name it, always fresh and reasonable. They also allow outside food and coolers for those planning a barbecue or something, but of course like any logical field no alcohol is permitted.

Rating - Over all, I would definately rate Skirmish a 10/10. The staff are amazing, the fields are the best around, the atmosphere is exceptionally optimistic at all times.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

theben Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I don't know
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest gives better directions than the ones they send. The field is actually in Albrightsville not Jim Thorpe, thats their mailing address.
Review: Safety-They make it pretty clear your safety is dependant on you and you alone. They will not tell anyone to put on masks or plug/condomn their barrel.This is fine if it just their eyes going to be shot out but when they dont have their barrels covered in the dead box then other people get screwed over. I also saw many people have their masks off on the field in the middle of a game and the refs looke right at them and didnt care.

Fields-Everyone knows that the only reason to come to skirmish is their fields, and yes they are the coolest I have ever seen. I had the oportunity to play the castle and the pentagon. The pentagon is not very defensible because it has big doors on 6 sides with cover right up to the wall...which makes defending it a death sentence. The castle however, while having great cover for the attackers ,gives the defenders a chance so its pretty even and the successful defense really depends on how coehesive the group defending the castle is. Their wood fields are average.

Prices-In my opinion the only time this place is worth going to cost wise is on their half price days. They normaly charge $30 to get on the field and $100 per case. On their half price days they charge $15 to get on the field and $53 per case. Just as a side note on how they are over charging for their paint, I heard one of the refs say that Skirmish pays $15 dollars per case and then they have the balls to charge $100 dollars per case. I know that some of you are yelling at the screen "well it comes with all day play and all day air pass" well how many hours are you going to play? You will probably 5 hrs on a bad weather day maybe 7 on a good weather day. How many times are you going to charge youre tanks? With C02 maybe 2 times if youre trigger happy, if you have n2 you wont ever have to re-charge. So you can see that they arent doing you any favors by charging $ 30 to get on the field.

Proshop- Its is pretty good and from some of the things I saw they charge pretty fair prices.

Staff- The proshop staff were mediocre but not bad. The refs however were pathetic. Several people in my group constantly wiped but they didnt even have to with these refs. One time i was shooting around a corner and I got hit in the shoulder but I couldnt see if it broke or not, so after looking for 45 secs wether it had broke , I finally asked that had been just standing out of bounds watching me if i had been hit he mumbled that I had so raised my gun and stood up and promptly got shot in the head because of his mumbled response. This place has the worst inattentive refs I have ever seen.

Facilities-They have bathrooms that could use a cleaning or it might be easier just to burn the place down just to kill the biological waiste that has built up. They have a little stand for buying hotdogs, burgers etc...I would suggest bringing you own water because they dont have any drinking fountains, which for what they are charging they should have someone to wipe your butt.

Tips- I went in December and it was cold has hell. Which made the balls so brittle that my ACS failed the 3rd ball I shot. They were actually breaking in the hopper.
Bring lots of youre own c02 if you go in the cold because their c02 tank is outside wich of course froze up my tank, the lines, and broke the O-ring not to mention burned my hands.Dont bring your own E gun unless its over $400 dollars, otherwise just use their rentals.
Some people complain about the bad quality paint, its not really all that bad but in the cold they need a thicker skinned ball so it doesnt break in the hopper like it did on mine.
BRING YOUR OWN ANTI-FOG MASK, or rent one because their masks are impossible to see through. Even if you only play every once in a while a mask is more important than your gun, because if you cant see than you cant shoot, dont be cheap when it comes to buying a mask.

I will give this field a 6 out of 10 because it has cool fields and for no other reason.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media