paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / High Velocity Paintball Indoor Field / High Velocity Paintball Indoor Field / High Velocity Paintball Indoor Field / High Velocity Paintball Indoor Field

High Velocity Paintball Indoor Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 235 South Fehr Way
Bay Shore, New York 11706
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Walt_Bizzle Thursday, July 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Vendetta - has a much smaller, much dirtier field.
Directions
to the Field:
Use a GPS or Mapquest. When your getting close, there is a big red sign on the side of the building.
Review: The owners of this field CARE. The refs brought out towels after every 2-3 matches and wiped off ever bunker. After every 7-10 games, they would make sure every bunker was properly inflated. They separated teams themselves, unless EVERYONE agreed otherwise. Lets do it the right way.

Safety- The way it should be. They end every match saying "Game over, put your barrel plugs in and keep your masks down!" And they enforce this too! They gave a fully informed safety speech.

Field- Well maintained. Little to no tears in the turf. Very clean, and good for sliding. You should bring a change of clothes anyway.

Hours of Operation- Check their website, but I went on Wednesday, so it was 6-10.

Prices- Not too bad. $25 for admission, $65 for a case of DXS field.

Rules- What do you expect? This is pretty much the same everywhere. Here, at least they are enforced. Also, don't sit on the tables!

Services- Now this is where they beat every field I've ever been too. James, I believe he is either the manager or owner, is the best. Hands down. He seemed to go out of his way to make sure my girlfriend and I had the best visit. He checked the field every so often to ensure it was in top quality. I will go back simply because of him.

Proshop- Not bad, had a few guns on the wall, as well as barrels, gear, jerseys, pants. I didn't buy anything, so I don't know about prices, but from what I understand, they're on par.

Staff/Refs- Again, JAMES. Hes the man. But the rest of the staff was great too. They are always on the field, either keeping it clean, or running a fair game. They did paint checks all the time, and made sure hi-tech and lo-tech were separated. They were also cool guys. They would actually hold a conversation with you, unlike other refs who think they're gods.

Players- Good bunch of guys. Not much to say about them. No bonus ballers.

Facilities- Clean, indoor, not bad. Had mats down.

Food- They had a vending machine for snacks, but ordered pizza for you if you wanted.

My rating is a 10. Go they're, I'm sure most will agree. I know I'll be back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ir0nExpress Monday, June 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
-Paintball Arena = Cheap and dirty. BYOP white fill only.
Directions
to the Field:
Its easy to find, its in an industrial park.
Review: I've been to at least 12 fields in my 4 years of playing. This field, Ontarget Paintball In Pemberton and Paintball Authority in Englishtown are my top three fields in terms of service and well done fields. All other fields have some severe flaw which misses the mark on being top notch.

Parking: Just a row of parking out front. More than enough

Admission: $25 to get in. $65 a case. Exactly those rates. People consider it a tad pricy. Read on.

Service: Very well done. Even on a quiet day (sunday), they kept more than enough staff around to keep the field running. Their boss is strict and keeps everything in order and check and the employees have respect for the man. Friendly and knowledgeable staff,never felt like I was talking to someone that didn't belong in a paintball business setting.

Gearing up: They give you a table, two chairs, a trunk to store stuff and a towel. Don't sit on the tables when you're there.

Atmosphere: I notice that at a good field, there is always a relaxed atmosphere but organized atmosphere that's missing from other fields, which can range from staff who could care less about anything except getting paid to lack of knowledge, lack of service, or plain old rudeness. I rarely have refs that actually talk to their customers for the hell of it. The relaxed setting allowed everyone to talk to each other and not stick in their little social groups.

Field: My god, cleanest turf ever. You could play golf or I could eat off the damn thing. Again, the boss (the man's name escapes me, but you can tell who it is the second you walk in) keeps it immaculate. Very well lit. I played with fogged glasses, but it was so well lit I forgot that I couldn't really see. Also I believe it's air conditioned, you rarely see that everyday :) Bunkers are also clean and fully inflated.

Proshop: I had a cheap asa I bought send a small part flying, giving itself a new role of paperweight. So I went to buy an ASA. Everything here is fairly priced competitively to the internet (after you add in shipping, I think the store is even cheaper for certain items).

So I bought an SP asa with on/off. They installed it and even gave me a straight fitting for free because my 90 degree macro created an odd angle. One thing I appreciate is when a business doesn't count every single penny they earn.

I've had some proshops charge THREE DOLLARS for a 3way oring on an autococker (it's about the size of an ant and they're not a rarity online). Showing me that you won't cheap out on everything makes me a more willing customer. I saw a code 242 battery set on sale and promptly bought that also. $35 for an asa and rechargable 9volt set.

Not bad at all.

Conclusion: You pay for what you get. This place is worth every dollar and than some. By running a well run business, they have earned my long term stay.

10/10 - I can't think of anything wrong with the field at all. A rarity in it's own right.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

prisoner Tuesday, June 16th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 12th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins indoor (sucks, way to pricey, refs suck, not helpful staff)
high velocity outdoor (also awesome, although a little pricey, scenarios are awesome there)
Review: -This field is AMAZING, i have never had better service and felt more comfortable at a paintball place.
-Ive left my tank there for a repair, and hadn't been able to come and pick it up for an entire year, the day i came back James (the owner) knew exactly who i was, brought me into his office, and took it out from a shelf, and explained exactly what was wrong with it. This is a year later!!!!!!
-The field has been redone and is clean and always a good setup.
-the refs are fair and do checks if u ask and call people out.
-bunkering is allowed in high tech (more advanced players) and not in low tech (usually rentals or novices)
- the staff is great, when i first started going there i came with 6 others but we came about 3 hours early, the staff let us stay while they set up and even turned on a movie for us.
- Overall this place is amazing and I don't go to any other if I can avoid it. 10/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vertigo_07 Tuesday, March 24th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 27th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Arena
NYC Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
235 South Fehr way

If you're coming from NYC, take the Long Island Rail Road to Deer Park, then walk towards cleveland ave. Turn left on South fehr and you're there

If you're driving from LI or elsewheres, Googlemap it.
Review: For anyone looking for an instant review, I'm going to say this right off the bat.

Hi-Vi is THE BEST. Period. Like another reviewer said, I regard it as my "home field". Whenever I'm home from college, I'm there.

The staff there is top notch- the refs are awesome, and keep the game fun. The Owner- James- is the most helpful guy on the planet. The first time me and a friend went there over a year ago, he got us set up and playing and made sure everything was going well. We've been playing there ever since.

Safety is a big thing for them there- there are signs everywhere indicating exactly where you can have your goggles off, and where your gun is allowed to roam uncovered. The safety speech they give is on-point and comprehensive. I've never seen a newcomer (myself included) left the least bit in the dark about their rules.

They order in pizza (or chinese food) from a nearby place at very reasonable prices, so if you've been playing for a few hours and need a bite, it won't take too much out of your wallet.

Their proshop is a sight to behold. They stock almost every type of gun, from Tippmanns to EGO9's. The vast majority of major gun upgrades, padding, and most popular jerseys are available there too, as well as every high (and low) end loader and hopper imaginable. Free passes are given for large purchases. Buy a pricey loader, and they give you a free pass. Buy a pricey gun, and they'll give you several. In addition, Buying a gun there also nets you free repairs, maintenance, and parts replacements from Hi-Velocity for the lifetime of the gun. The techs there know their stuff really well, and if they can't fix it, James probably can.

Prices for paint and admission are ok- it's 25 to get in, and 65 for a case of 2000. Their field paint is DXS/Procaps field brand paint. It's good stuff, and worth the money. Full rental is 10 dollars. Nitrogen fills are free. C02 is 3$ a fill.

Lastly, the field. The field is awesome. They clean it every few games, so it's never quite too slimy to play on. It's extremely well it, and they change the configuration of the bunkers about every week. When there are enough players for each, they run Hi-tech (advanced players with high end guns) and lo-tech (beginners with novice to mid range guns) games to separate the recreational guys from the more advanced players.

DON'T SIT ON THE TABLES. You've been warned.

As a final note, the crowd that frequents the place is great too.


IN CONCLUSION:

If ever you're in long island, and looking to play paintball on one of the best fields available, head on over to Hi-Vi. believe me, it'll be worth your time and money.
Last edited on Sunday, November 28th, 2010 at 9:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Heppnerj Wednesday, June 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins(if you love wasting money), arean
Directions
to the Field:
Lie to exit 53. Sagitkos to exit S3 bear left off the ramp and its in the industrial park on the left...road is the 4th left i think?
Review: Ive been playing Hivi for more than 5 years now and after my last visit i was amazed. When i left for college it was my favorite place but had dim lighting and a soaked turf. After my last visit all i can say is wow. New turf, new bunkers, and new lighting. The field looks incredible.

So now you get the best staffed place on the island with an INCREDIBLE field. Im not going anywhere else now. I tried other fields but ive always considered Hivi my "home" field.

Get to know James. Hes the man and will help with anything you need. This is a great place for all skill levels because of the high tech and low tech games. There is so much i could write praising this place but you will have to go play for yourself. I can guarentee it will be your favorite place to play when you leave.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerTHIS18 Saturday, February 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
high velocity II the outdoor field
Review: They got a nice shop there thats real cheap and there a real nice field there now and you can acess it only if your willing to buy their field paint for sixty bucks a case and twenty five dollars for admission
Well besides that its a real nice field with a good atmosphere and i gotta give props to the employee james who is my man
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stikyniky383 Thursday, July 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Indoor
Paintball Arena
Directions
to the Field:
Uhm not really sure but the address is 235 s. Fehr Way if u use map quest or a navigator
Review: Out of all of the fields i've played at this is the best. The people who work their are fun, nice, and just plain out love paintball and their jobs. The field is kinda small and the bunkers are kinda old, but they are completly remodeling in the end of the summer. They are completly expanding the field and they are getting all brand new NPPL bunkers. The paintballs are pretty cheap and the price for everything you need is great. If you go there often you will make some great friends. The rules are completly normal, enforced and no one is treated unfairly. If you break a rule then you are warned first, then you have to sit out if you do it again. Like most places they order pizza so you can buy if you want some food. The field is only closed one day a week and it is always bring your own paint. The turf is a little slippery but is being replaced when they remodel. They also have another field in Coram the outdoor High Velocity ll. I highly recommend this field to anyone who wants to have a good time paintballing and making new friends.
Last edited on Thursday, July 19th, 2007 at 11:21 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bonusballs4all Monday, April 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Arena
Cousins
Review: This place is by far the best field/store in the area. James the owner is the coolest guy ever and is extremely helpful with any questions you have. I usually go Wednesdays and Saturdays when I'm home from college and you can byop those days which is sick. The field is kept in good condition, but can be a little slippery if not wearing the right footwear. They chance the field around like every week so its always a new challenge and strategy every time I go to play which is great. On busy days they will run a hi-tec and a lo-tec game to separate the beginners from the advanced players. Wednesday nights usually are the nights when teams will come and play so if your in for a challenge thats the night for you. The refs do a good job making sure no one is in any danger. The only small problem I have is that there is no bunkering but it sorta makes sense because a lot of younger kids with electronic markers are playing nowadays, and you gotta watch out for when you run up to surrender someone you don't get shot. They have very reasonable prices and the staff is always ready to help out with any problems. this is the only place for me when I'm home.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PballPlaya187 Wednesday, April 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Arena, Liberty Paintball Survival New York, Paintball Long Island, Hogans Alley
Review: This place is great. James knows how to run the show. He is cool, helpful and a very real guy. not fake like some a**holes who just want to take your money.

Every time i've been there they have had two games a low-tech and a high-tech so its good no matter what level you are.

Prices are great... on par with or below everywhere else.

The refs are good too. they dont always get in there and do a ton of checs, but they are stand up guys and do a reasonably good job. as good as any other place I've gone.

This is one of my favorite places to play. hands down.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nirvash Wednesday, March 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins indoor and outdoor - Hivi blows both out of the water
Review: Okay, here goes-
I play usually evey saturday and i love it there. Admission is $25, if you pay $35 you get as many nitro fills as you need, C02 fills are $4 a piece. On saturdays you can bring your own paint, idk about other days because saturdays are the only day I go. Good sized field. The lighting has been fixed, or at least it was last time I went. They got AC for the summer and hot days. Theres also a proshop incase you ever want to buy a gun. A killer staff, with awesome support. And it even host parties if you ever want to have one there. You can rent guns ( 98c's) as well as other gear. And twice a day, they get pizza delivered ( good pizza too).

Now the bad-
The bunkers are good but deflate easily and they sometimes have to frequently refill them. The field layout changes everyday, so, if you like the set up one day, it may not be like that the next. It can get pretty messy, but its indoor speedball so what do you expect? The ref's can be lazy at sometimes, but they should'nt have to tell you when your out. You can get a handfull of jerks every now and then (cheating, bounusballin, normal jerk stuff). And always, always, theres a group of like rich 10-12 year olds who all have matrix's and whatever.

Despite that, its great, 10/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media