paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / All Star Paintball Field / All Star Paintball Field / All Star Paintball Field / All Star Paintball Field

All Star Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
33Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 7324160028
Address: 12 American Way
Spotswood, New Jersey 08884
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
BlackCell Sunday, February 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Top Gun Paintball, Paintball Authority, Fireball Mountain, Staten Island Paintball, Cousins Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
12 American Way, Spotswood, NJ 08884-1262
http://www.bing.com/maps/?v=2&where1=12%20American%20Way
%2C%20Spotswood%2C%20NJ%2008884-1262&encType=1
Review: All Star has always been my Wednesday Night hotspot. If you are an avid player, weekend warrior, random player, it is definitely the place for you to go. I have been going there since they opened in October of 2007, so I was kind of shocked to read the comment made by kittyCATintheHA. Steve (Big Muscle Guy) runs a professional operation. If there was a problem did you try to talk to him? If someone wasn't doing their job he would've resolved it immediately.

The other shocking piece of your story was when you mentioned the "Teams" wouldn't let you play. That also sounds fishy to me. I know every team that plays at AllStar FACK, TopGun Factory, Black Cell, ASK, Milf Hunters, People from Silly Boys and a whole list of other teams......I have never seen them reject people from playing with them.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kittyCATintheHA Saturday, January 30th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 30th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
google maps
Review: So i have been on a search for a good or even decent indoor field in my area. I had heard a lot of great things about All Star and was excited to try it out.

First of all when i got there it was 15 degrees and the place didn't have the heat on so there was no benefit for it being indoors which was the whole point for me going there.... I arrived at 10 when they supposedly open, games didn't start until 11 or 11:30. However, these things were not a big deal i didn't mind, all i wanted to do was paintball.
I came with a couple of friends expecting for it to be walk-ons since... well their site says they're open and its not any special day and any other field that means walk-ons are the norm. However the people that go there do not understand what walk-ons mean.... I literally waited over an hour to play 1 game. The people that were there refused to play with us because they were a "team" and after explaining to them how little that meant to us they still refused. The people that weren't a part of this "team" refused to play with us as well because for some unknown reason they were either afraid to or something.... I explained to the refs what was going on and they said there was nothing they could do and from what i understood was that i had my $60 taken from me to watch other people play. One of the refs however understood and actually got us into games. However from the time 10am to 4pm i played a total of FIVE GAMES. NOT WORTH THE HOUR AND A HALF DRIVE AT ALL. The people we were paired with were fairly new also so i was barely able to play real paintball.... I literally used less than a 500 balls. Some of the people there were having the same issue as us, and they left after two hours because they too saw the ridiculousness of All Star.

The field was OK, nothing to go crazy for, just average. The flooring was easy to slide on, but the lighting... it was the type of lighting that are in those vampire movies where everything has a yellow tint to it, its hazy, and a little bit dark. The bunkers were OK but almost half the bunkers were what i would call kid sized. The snake was one of those half height snakes, their doritos were half the size of normal doritos and the video on the website that shows a video of the field is extremely misleading, it looks nothing like the videos.

I will never return to this field and I would never recommend it to anyone. They have no idea how to handle crowds. If your into having your money taken away to just watch other people play for ten minutes and sit down for an hour with you then this is the place for you. But for everyone else... do not bother.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

zazor18 Sunday, December 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 12th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
A whole bunch of fields in NJ, PA, NY, Cali, and Chicago.
Directions
to the Field:
It's a little ways off from the NJ Turnpike. An internet map will get you there but you have to drive a little further past the address that's posted. Just look for signs once you are in the general area. Even with a gps you will have to look for the signs to get to the place.
Review: Fields:
There is only one field in the place which is of decent size. They kept the field fairly clean. My main complaint was that they didn't fill up some bunkers that obviously were useless for a game. The lighting is on the dim side but not horrible.

Rentals:
The masks they used seem to vary but looked ok. The markers used are your typical Tippman custom 98's. I believe vests are extra if you want to rent that. I forget what sort of pod loaders they give you but I believe they were the 100 round pods in a two pack hauler.

Price: If you have your own gear it's $20 to get on the field and $58 for a 2000 round case of RPS Stinger.

Safety: They are pretty good with the mask and barrel bag checks when you get on the field.

Refs:
The refs were not on the field while the games went on. They hang on the side lines so unless you are on that side playing there won't be any calls on players and no paint checks. But the refsI dealt with were friendly for the most part and the people I played with that day were good at calling themselves out so in the end it made for many nice games.

Wait Time:
Turn around wasn't too bad. It's not a huge place. Something like 8-10 picnic tables big if that gives you any sense of size. So wait times were about 15min at most.

Pro Shop:
The shop is well stock with various markers and an assortment of gear. I didn't get a chance to check out their prices.

Food:
They will order pizza or sandwiches for you. But there are a lot of places you can go to if you head over to RT18.
They have some vending machines for drinks and snacks.

Misc:
The staging area was very clean. There wasn't much of anything on the floor for you to slip on and they are quite diligent with sweeping up loose balls lying around on the floor.
They have a bunch of video games and I believe an xbox if you decide not to go on the field.
They have compressed air @ 3000 psi and CO2 refills.
There is a men's and women's bathrooms.
Last edited on Sunday, December 13th, 2009 at 5:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

x-ploitation Friday, August 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Authority
Directions
to the Field:
Um website/ GPS/ other review
Review: Ive been going here for a year so i know to go on Thursdays cuz thats when it is the least crowded. Unfortunately I expected some other people to be there but it was just me and two of my friends :(. The guys that work there are awesome they played with us, gave us a few tips and even did a life saving operation on my friends gun. The place is incredibly strict with safety (in a good way). The other times that Ive been there when there were actually alot of people they are usually nice (but you occasional get some not fun to be with people that almost ruin ur day but wait they have awesome employees that stop them from making your day suck :) Their shop is mainly speedball based which means don't go there for some rare tippmann attachment. For entry paint and even gear, there prices are very low

Amazing place
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Light Reverence Friday, January 16th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I play in PA, and NY... but I have played in a few indoor facilities
Directions
to the Field:
GPS - but ONCE you get to the address, notice a sign on the left, the bottom right will have a decent sized portion of it dedicated to ALL STAR PAINTBALL, pull down the road, at the Y bare to the right and keep going. You'll get to all the warehouses, its the last one on the left as I recall.

Note: your gps will likely say you have arrived before you have done any of the previously mentioned.
Review: QUICK REVIEW: Go here.

I drove 2.5 hours to get here, and it was very worth it. Cheap paint (Red Legion Case for 54 incl tax.), great field set up, nice size, Legit video games, and good proshop, Great staff. Oh ya, real bathrooms. (his and hers)
-----
FULL REVIEW:

---Getting there---
So, my body was in town, and we needed to find a paintball place. It was freezing and there was snow on the ground, so outdoor was not an option. But Lancaster, PA is short on indoor paintball fields. LGA south was not answering their phone, and LGA North's phone was interminably busy? I looked extensively to find an indoor field that was legit and would be open. I called All Star and they were sure they would be open and stay open in time for me to get down there.... how many times have you put in the effort and had fields that knew you were coming or close just... close and not bother calling?

Well, at All Star not only did they stay open for me and buddy, but they called me back when they missed my call..... that was cool. And, once we got there, they said they would suit up and play with us to make our near 3 hour ride, each way, worth it. Its harder and harder to find professional people who respect both their own business and their customers, so I was very appreciative.

---Pro Shop/Prices --
Entrance and Air= $25 I think.
Paint= $54 incl tax for a case of red legion, which shot very very well, and was only their mid tier paint.
ProShop= I bought Dye Pants for $60, great deal. And they were able to teach me some useful fixes on my gun, and also diagnosed a problem on my stubby.

--Staging area-- = benches that you are not afraid will crumble beneath you, video games like Time Crisis 2, and others, which could be cool for your friends who or taking a break, etc. *random thought* they have a vending machine that has an american flag cover... pretty cool*

---Playing there/Field Set Up---
The field set up = great, demands smart moves, and good bunker skills, and snap shooting. Full snake, big lay down X at the 50, dorito side, and some temples that gave angles off the X.

Field= was turf, def wear rubber cleats (no metals allowed) as you should at all fields. The field was great for sliding.

The turf = nice and sleek turf. no snags, no tripping, great for sliding. And trust me, I suck at head first sliding, so it was nice to have a good field to help me out there. I will say that good cleats are a must. No metal cleats allowed, just a reminder.

Note: they cleaned the field, and filled the bunkers, and they only had two patrons.... props to professionalism.

---Gametime---
The staff played so we had no "refs" but if one of the guys/owner got out, they would ref if needed. I.E. my buddy bunkered one of there guys in the snake, and didnt want to fire on him from about... 3 feet away, and the owner was on top of it, and called for the player to walk out. (He was a cool kid, he would have walked anyway).
The staff was good, and fun to play with, and offered some useful critiques and praise.

ps- it was about 8 degrees outside, and it was very comfortable in the field house. No cold chill indoor paintball here.

---Air station---
One 3000psi air station
Three 4500psi air stations.

note: I dont believe they have C02 fills

---Chrono---
they chrono at 270, and for big games/tournys, each player must pass chrono before entering field, and has to repass upon exiting.

---Safety---
they were cool about it and did the calm, but assertive.. "yo man.... barrel plug/mask" when appopriate, but dont mistake kindness for weakness.... I left my mask up after a one on one.... and they Let me know... I deserved it lol.

---Staff---
all around cool guys who like paintball and do their job well, and play well. Again, remember there were only two customers here because of the weather.

The owner, offered to go on the internet and find the cheapest hotel around for me and by buddy, in case the roads were too bad for us to drive all the way back. And, he did find us a good deal, but we were able to make it home just fine.

---Bathrooms--- male and female, nice sized, and clean.

Random Advice:
I would totally expect this place to be busy, because it deserves to be. Bring towels because I am sure with a lot of foot traffic that the benches will get paint on them from people coming and going-- also, if you have a change of shoes that you bring with you and dont want to get dirty, dont walk in with them, as on a busy day I would def expect the floor in the staging area to have paint on em.

---Bottom Line---
I am very much appreciative of the professionalism and generosity of All Star paintball. They let me and my friend get one last game in before we go to our respective schools, and they taught me a lot on the game.

I give it a 9/10 because there is always room for improvement, and fittingly, these guys are looking forward.

Don't listen to any flamers, if there are any. Great place to play. Period.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

throwback28 Monday, December 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 28th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Staten Island (the staff is friendly there too, but not like here)
Directions
to the Field:
New Jersey Turnpike to exit 9, then take 18 South to Hope Street(follow the sign that says Spotswood) then make a left on Summermill road and another left at American Way then follow the signs
Review: I went with my friends to play indoors for the first time and it was a positive experience. When you walk in you are likely to see a game in action. That's because the field is right on top of you, so close that when some of the shots hit the protective netting and burst you actually get sprinkled with paint from time to time. At All Star they are big on safety but for the most part not alot of safety reminders necessary because the more experienced players actually helped enforce the mask and barrel plug rules. Every 45 minutes to an hour 1 of the guys stopped the games and cleaned the field(REAL COOL!). The staff was hands down excellent, there was a private party there of hearing impaired people but you couldn't tell the difference because of how considerate the staff was....They're like that with EVERYONE! There was a 3 man team there and after playing with and against them they let me join in some of the drills they went through in between games. The only reason I won't give a 10 is because the staging area is a little slippery and there's no lockers, otherwise this place is great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

doyouhaveanego8 Thursday, September 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
atlas, zj, pba, on target, one shot, NYC Paintball.
Directions
to the Field:
In Spotswood as you are on summerhill rd. all star is on American way right after or right before the wachovia bank. (depending on which way you are coming)
Review: Field: All Star is by far the best indoor field i have ever been to. i have been there for the better and worst of times of the field. the carpet used to be all torn up and shaggy with some patches of cement showing. however the refs were very quick to warn us about the open spots of the carpet. the staging area is a little small but it was obvious that they scarificed a little bit to give you a bigger playing field. Now the field is completely BRAND NEW. showing that these guys care and listen to their customers and fixed their problems. the field is also kept insanely clean considering how popular it is. i had to stay a little late because my ride was late and i watched how hard they work to try and provide a good clean playing surface for us the player. Oh by the way they have VIDEO GAMES!! what other fields have that?

Proshop: The pro shop was very stocked with almost everything you can need to play from high end to low end stuff. they have it. they also have very knowlageable gun techs who know alot about fixing and setting up guns to have them run at their peak performance. In the proshop is also the field Manager Steve who is by far one of the coolest guys around in the paintball scene. We came in one night and were short and guy and he didnt even hesitate to offer to play with us.

Refs: the refs were very cool. always mad sure we had our barrelbags on and made sure that if someone was on the field with their mask up everyone had one on aswell. i belive the refs names were Matty something and vinny. they were very knowagable about the game and even helped us with some of the basic skills needed to be able to compete with anybody on the field. they were also very funny and kept making the paintball experience fun. they were quick to throw out a joke no matter if you were new or an experience player they had everyone in the staging area laughing and made everyone feel that they were part of the paintball "lifestyle".

Overall this field for what it is was absolutely amazing. by far the best indoor i have ever been to. and anyone from beginners to expirenced players have something to gain from this field. i look foward to seeing everyone along the winter.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

awesomeballer Thursday, September 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 31st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Atlas, ZJ, Arena Paintball and NY Paintball
Review: This place was awesome! The staff was great and stayed on top of everything. They made sure everyone got enough games on and didn't stack teams when there were some fairly new players on with tournament players. The tech there was great and knew almost everything about every gun, especially dye. The owner was a great guy and made sure things ran smoothly and didn't stay quiet. Pricing was great, $25 entry and $50 for paint.


I LOVE ALL STAR!!
you will see me there again very soon!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spurserh Saturday, August 16th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I live in Massachusetts and this is the only field on which I've played in New Jersey. I like to play at Monster Paintball in Woburn, MA.
Directions
to the Field:
Look for the tiny sign over the door that says "All Star Paintball". It's as if they don't want anyone else coming, which makes good sense considering their behavior.
Review: My experience is that this place is filthy, there are no competent refs, and they are disrespectful to the players; they even went as far as changing their "suggested" paint depending on who was buying (for the same price).

I would not recommend this field to anyone who isn't a "professional" paintball player, and even then it's a crappy facility. I have been playing recreationally for 5+ years, so I'm not terrible, but the people running this field gave absolutely no respect to any of the players other than their friends. For most of the day the refs were almost completely absent, and often I had to talk to the person in charge to locate a ref to play a game.

I don't understand the great reviews this place has gotten facility wise. The floor is torn up carpet, which they claimed is being replaced soon. This makes it impossible to slide effectively. You can slide a few feet, but you're bound to hit a bunched up piece of carpet and stop. On multiple occasions I got strands of thread from the carpet or dead box tied around my foot and had to stop play to get it off. Several times I saw players' feet slide out of under them in the game and in the staging area because there were exposed patches of cement that were extremely slick.

The best reason never to go there is the snide attitude of the owners and their "professional" friends, who appear to lack any semblance of sportsmanship. On multiple occasions I saw players with no masks on on the field and people without barrel bags in the staging area, and no one said anything (other than me).


Last edited on Saturday, August 16th, 2008 at 10:07 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment

Zacapawned Tuesday, June 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: This field is great it is just hard to find it. The Refs are nice but they also are strict to make sure no one gets hurt. there is only one problem. no one seems to be there when i go. If there were more players there this place would be perfect. Also there prices are very resonalbe. also they are having a summer speacial.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media