paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Charleston Paintball Field / Paintball Charleston Paintball Field / Paintball Charleston Paintball Field / Paintball Charleston Paintball Field

Paintball Charleston Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
52Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (843) 552-1115
Address: 7100 Cross County Road
North Charleston, South Carolina 29418
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Noy Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Many
Directions
to the Field:
Take I 26 to ashley phosphate exit. Turn right at exit and make a left on the light with the bowling alley on left. PBC will be on left after post office.
Review: I am part of a team that has chosen PBC as our home field for our training and improvement. The first time I played there I noticed that the fields might sometimes be too crowded. I also noticed that that there is not a 4500 PSI filler. I also wished they checked ever marker for crono since you might have a few that like to hurt others. But that might be the only negative things that I can say about this place. PBC has way more fields to play than any other paintball fields I have ever been too. FOr the amount of poeple that come the place is very clean and neat. The fields are very well designed. There is a field for every type of player. If you like urban combat, they have the village. If you like history war scenarios, you have Omaha (Excellent field), If you like capture the flag, you will like the fort. If you like plain woods, you will love field 3. If you like an open area to waist paint, you will love the mounts. If you like to massacre teams, then you will like the castle. and thats is just a few of the fields. I mean they really put this place together well. The refs are very knowledgable and willing to assist. THey are also very aware of the details of every game. Saftey is a priority in this place and you can tell. THere are many kids that come (Newbys) but they listen very well and with a little comand they can do much. THis place also protect the wildlife. Each time I have played, there is at least 3 refs on the field sometimes even more. I have seen up to 6 refs at a time on a game. The shop is very well equiped even though they can bring a litle better paint. The staff is very knowledgable and can fix just about anything. I wish they carried more Ariakon parts. The price is very reasonable and all day air is great. They have the nicest lady that sells good hotdogs and burgers. Food is good.

If you are looking for a place to shoot paint and have fun, then this place is for you. You will enjoy yourself plus meet other people that have paint as a hobbie.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

SouthSideSlider Wednesday, March 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: ok Paintbal Charlston rules i went there for my first time playing paintball. i was in a private group. We wehere short one member so the ref with the Phantom jumped in to even out the teams. i will admit even BB wars on Mopeds wasn't as fun a PBC. i was disapointed when my Triton 2's Striker plug broke and they didn't have one but i found out that finding on on the internet wasn't easy eather so i understand. but even when my freinds Stepdad (jeff) Broke his ankel after running to a tree in the woods feild closest to the parking lot (not PBC's falt Jeff wasn't paying attention when he slid trying to avoid fire and caught his foot between two trees and his body kept moving but not his foot.) I had to used a rental but the Tippman 98's that you get are still good guns only choped 15 balls. not bad for a gun that looks 16 years old. THey have a great varityof feilds though i only got to play Marvel, Omaha, dunes, the castle, and the woods feild where jeff broke his ankel.the ref we had was awsome. they are strict on safty as eveyone else has pointed out. in the Hour long final game if you run out of ammo ask the pperson next to you i found alot of people where willing to share paint to win. if your new and stuck in cover by enemy fire ask the person your with cause your garrentyed not to be alone. so many people. for advise and they willl be more than willing to give it., hell i started a casual conversation with fellow players while the enemy fired right at us missing by 1 foot or so. after p[laying more and more i hve become very hooked on Village its a feild that lends itself to many different lines of attack.
Last edited on Saturday, October 13th, 2007 at 3:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Himself68 Sunday, February 12th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Paintball Charleston is a medioaker field. The refs are very strict which is good, but they need to get a system of order in which to play. I was there for 7 hours and played about 10 games. Problem was that each game there was 70 people to a team. That is not an exaggeration. They need more management to organize smaller parties of people to play. They need more speedball courses as well. You can only play so much rec ball in one day. VERY FRIENDLY staff. My angel was having problems with the valve in my drop and the staff fixed it in 5 minutes free of charge!! EXCELLENT PEOPLE and I will get my team to go back and play some speedball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Sergeant DIC Friday, February 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Played at fields all over the southern States.
Review: Paintball of Charleston is a great place to paintball, from my experience there the refs and store personnel are very friendly, and helpful. I have played at many different fields in many states, however this place does not have the greatest fields I have played at and many of the rec fields seem at times to cramped for the numerous people playing. However, it does offer lots of diversity and challenges and a good variety. I have had a great time and would definitely recommend playing at Paintball of Charleston. I have had problems with my old autococker and the store personnel willingly helped me out for nothing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BnBSniperII Sunday, November 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none around
Review: This is where i played my first Paintball game and this is the best field i have been to ever so far. The refs are second to none, at least 3 - 4 per game no matter how big the field, although stiff on the rules (as it should be) they are all fair and fun. The prices are reasonable, the staff is nice and helpful, and the players always have their arms open to newbies (as they were to me not to long ago). I give it a 10 out of 10 because i have no idea how to improve.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jimbo5813 Saturday, November 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 12th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ive played at Psycho paintball and compared to PBC(paintball Charleston) there is none.
At Psycho they have a good speed ball team but PBC is right up there with them but in every other aspect PBC is ALOT better.
Review: Ok... well i play and ref. at PBC so i appreciate eveyones comments about how good we are thank you thank you.
umm the reffing cant get any better, the field is about 60 acres with about8-10 field plus 2 speedball fields.
the prices are good, the people are nice,and theres always a speedball game and a rec ball game going on.

if you have nothing to do and want a good time i encourage you to come on out and say hi to me of course
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Geoff Call Tuesday, October 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No other field/store in the area can compare to Paintball Charleston.
Review: The referees at Paintball Charleston are probably the sharpest, most diligent, and protective referees you can find anywhere. They are all APL (American Paintball League) certified which consists of a rigorous test of their knowledge and abilities. I wouldn't trust any other referees protecting the customers/players no matter what.

Secondly, The field is ever changing. There are nearly 60 acres of land which consists of at least 6 woods fields with forts, a large main castle arena with a 30+ structure village area, 2 brand new speedball fields, and 2 large ponds deep in the woods. Plus there is plenty of parking/staging area for the larger events and crowds. One of the owners spends his time at the field making changes and upgrading the fields to keep everything interesting as well as maintaining the grounds and keeping everything working properly.

The regular players are what keep the field alive. They consist of a motley crew of newcomers and veterans alike and the crowd is always growing and changing. Paintball Charleston without a doubt has the most honest and most variety of players you could ask for.

The Paintball Charleston Store is one of the best stocked in the southeast. With parts for the newcomers, veterans, and pro players, they usually have what you need and if they don't, they will have no problem obtaining those items. The store always has a variety of paintballs, clothing (rec and casual), tanks and equipment in stock with prices you won't be able to compare to anyone else in town. The variety of markers is incredible as well. There are markers from regular Tippmann 98 Customs to custom CCI Phantoms to high end electronic markers like DM5s, Egos, Shockers and a couple X-Mags. The store staff is excellent and very knowledgeable in how to fix markers and have great tips to help the players learn their equipment.

The staff as a whole is very friendly courteous and helpful. The owners are out almost every weekend either working on the field, helping players, or playing paintball with the rest of the rec ball.

The field is strict on safety which is necessary to protect the players and the staff as a whole. A marker can be dangerous if proper safety precautions are not in place. I think every field should make safety as much of a requirement as Paintball Charleston does.

Overall I think the field is great. I've never had a bad time playing because the head referees keep the games interesting and the teams fair. The owners and staff are dedicated and friendly and the players are well behaved. Paintball Charleston is an incredible field and I wish everyone in the southeast could come and play here at least once in their life.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kratt1 Saturday, October 8th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I live out of state and this is by far the best one i hav played at
Review: Paintball charleston is the greatest field EVER!!! Its got 6 seperate fields and a huge connecting one that they play on occasionaly. I played here the first time i ever played and i got hooked. I want to go back and play again in the spring. After playing here i went out and spent 500+ in one day on paintball. This IS for noobs and pros alike. Heed my warning though, the refs SUCK!!! there was some chick that kept gettin hit but she kept wiping and never got caught
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

aimpulsive Sunday, August 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have not played any others in Charleston....played in Lake View and Georgetown and they do not compare with PBC in size, variety of fields, ref quality, and safety emphasis. But that is to be expected, as Charleston apparently has a larger paintballing market than those other two areas.
Review: Paintball Charleston is run by two very cool but very different partners. Both started the field because they love paintball, and it is not unusual to see them out there playing alongside their customers. I think that is why the quality of their games and staff is so high -- they do their own quality checks to be sure everyone is having fun.

Like the other reviews said about PBC, safety is first priority to them! They are VERY strict on their safety rules, but that is important to prevent accidents and to ensure that the field is able to stay open. One bad accident and the field closes.

They have a very large parking area (four of them), about 40-50 large picnic tables (many under shelters), and a large walk in chronograph that is totally enclosed and able to chrono several guns simultaneously (and that is usually manned by a ref to maintain safety and assist with adjustments). Their bathroom facilities are of the portable type, so if you need some serious time alone, you are better off running to the nearby McDonalds....but for most purposes, they are fine.

The refs are fair, and will do paint checks when called upon. I have noticed that they can be cockey at times (as noted by another reviewer), but I have no problems pointing out mouthy refs to the owners, and they have no problem correcting the situation. I have never had a problem happen more than once, as they are very concerned with customer satisfaction.

Everyone is required to sign a waiver with each visit, which is a pain but apparently required for insurance reasons. Everyone is also required to attend a safety briefing with each visit...a nuisance but again a requirement. They are one of the few fields certified to train and certify refs, which they will only do once a ref has some experience under their belt.

Their gun techs are knowledgeable and friendly, and their repair rates are dirt cheap (normally $10 for labor plus parts).

They have over 65 acres, which include a great two story castle (with watery moat), a dirt mound field, an "Omaha Beach" field, two very large woodsball fields, a Fort Marvel field, a third smaller woodsball field, a fourth HUGE woodsball field (that is rarely used due to its size), a "junkyard" field, two NEW speedball fields (typically open just on Sat or by appointment), a very intense "Urban Village" field, and a cadre of other misc. fields.

Charleston is very hot during the summer, so winter is our peak paintballing time. Saturdays may see 200 people playing, while Sunday may get 100. Due to their diverse field types, you may play very different "feeling" games on Saturday vs. Sunday because of the difference in team sizes. That is good, as it adds a new variable to the games.

They have a large well stocked store with dozens of markers to choose from. They are slightly higher priced than online sales, but they offer a lifetime warranty on their markers and provide great customer service.

The admission price is $10, but you can get an annual pass for $100 that includes unlimited visits. Rentals are $10, and air runs about $4 a fill (depends on tank size and pressure). You can buy paint at the field or bring your own. They also have a burger joint on premises, with good food and good prices.

The owners truly care about the newbie and the experience player. If there is ever a problem, they are there to fix it for you.

There are many father-son and father-daughter teams that play regularly at PBC (we are one of them)....this is a great family activity and PBC tries hard to make it fun for everyone.

If you violate a safety rule, you will be asked to sit out a game and think about your mistake.

If you cheat, you will be banned from the field. No questions asked.

They give paintball a GREAT name....I only wish there were more fields, and people, like Tim and Tim (the two owners).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

edthehead83 Friday, June 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I don't know cuz...they probably aren't as good as PBC.
Review: Paintball Charleston is the shiz-nit. They are strict about the rules: barrel plugs, masks, etc... but thats only for our safety and everyone else's. I have seen one incident that a person (who's name I will not mention) accidentally had his/her barrel plug off in the staging area and misfired. Luckily the victim was O.K. but the refs get po'd when things like that happens. Prices kick, the employees and refs are nice, they know wat they're going if you get your gun fixed, and they're fields are different in every special way; if you like sppedball, rec-ball, or woodsball. They have an excellent shop with many items for your experience. Good for all ranges of experience. All around a really good field. :)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media