paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Charleston Paintball Field / Paintball Charleston Paintball Field / Paintball Charleston Paintball Field / Paintball Charleston Paintball Field

Paintball Charleston Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
52Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (843) 552-1115
Address: 7100 Cross County Road
North Charleston, South Carolina 29418
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Sharpshooter22 Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not sure, I just played there while on Vacation
Review: Paintball Charleston is a great field if you enjoy playing in the woodsball spectrum. Serivce was excellent from start to finish, and attendence at the field was great. The refs do the best they can, though much of the woodsballing is done on the honor system.

Speedball was almost noexistant here. They do have 2 decent speedball fields, but the day I was there they were barred from recreational use for team practices. Being an avid speedballer (but without my team) I was kind of upset that I couldn't play, or that they didn't leave one field to practice and the other to rec players.

Scenario field: Their scenario field is pretty nice. It has a large 2 story castle in the center, a small village, a road complete with an 18 wheeler, and a woods all in one field. That made for an excellent, fast paced, and out and out fun game with house to house firefighting and lots of ambushes and sniper action. They even through in realistic events like airstrikes in certain areas of the field, at the player's request.

Staff: The staff consisted of a few adult refferees (Probably also the field's owners) that seemed to genuinely love the sport of paintball. They were anal about safety, which is a very good thing, and even spent some time hanging out and talking with groups of players. The rest of the staff were younger kids that didn't do quite such a good job, some seemed like they wanted to play more than ref, but all in all the service was very good.

On site food: Yes! Burger stand on site, great for grabbing some lunch mid day.

Prices: This field was fairly expensive, but still managable. Entry was $20 a person, but paint ran $50 for a case of ZAP paintballs, which I felt was a bit over the top. They also did not provide all day air, so every time I needed to get my 68/45 refilled, I was outed $4. Their on-site repair equipment was fairly expensive ($5 for an elbow) and their store staff was fair unknolegable about how to repair a broken gun.

My rating: I give this field an 8/10, mostly because of its lack of speedballing, and somewhat steep prices. However, what it lacked in speedballing it made up for in scenarioballing, and at least matched toe to toe with most other woodsball fields I've been to. If I head down that way again I will certainly stop by and play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

omanboy429 Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball quest in birmingham, al a LOT better
Review: me and my family came up here on a vacation, and the advid paintballers we are we went and checked out the feild here i will make a list the goo d and the bad


GOOD:
very nice store, workers in the store are nice
store is air condtion.

BAD:
they allow bunkering
have some pointless games.
they curse in front of young kids
feilds are not big enough
refs are very cockey
did not serve drinks untill 11:00
the refs rarerly did paint checks
the saftey breifing had a lot to be desired.
it was not from a sheet
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

Stawmchasah Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The field in Hollywood (I'm not sure if they exist anymore). The Hollywood field did not even compare to Charleston.
Review: My son and I came to Charleston last year during Thanksgiving vacation. We live in CT and was visiting relatives in Mt. Pleasant. I found this paintball field on the Internet. We were pleasantly surprised!! We liked the way it was run. Very strict and the emphasis on safety was awesome. The staff was nice and the games (what can I say)!!, were out of this world. Totally structured. We play at Matt's Outback Paintball in Coventry, CT and I must say, Matt's is the best in CT, but nothing like Paintball of Charleston. We will we back again during our Thanksgiving vacation. Keep up the great work..and thanks for a great time!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

element 2 Friday, April 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: pbc is VERY STRICT on safety and cheating. prices are very good compared to other pro shops. paint is about $50-65 and $1/1000psi. the total area of the field is 60 acers. reefs are helpful in assisting a player with there gear. next to the store there is a RV that makes really good fries.and play is competitive on Sunday.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Squeegee Friday, April 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: It is my experience that PBC has the cheapest field I have ever seen (i.e. paint $50-65/case). But, most important to me, PBC allows BYOP!!! Very important when your worried about keeping cost down.
They also offer a membership which really helps when you play as much as some of us do. The owners are old school and are not lost on the weekend warrior. They my have lost their grip on reality but they know what it takes for people to enjoy themselves. Bellator_Fortus(previous post), is correct when he says “Newbie friendly.” This is a family place and there is a real attempt to make you feel comfortable. This is evident by the growing number of ladies on the field. The staff is absolutely knowledgeable with all major brands and yes their service prices are unbeatable.
The fields are constantly being modified. From the several forts, speed ball fields, two story castle, graveyard and now a VILLAGE you will find what you’re looking for. Sunday has both rec ball and speedball; they usually run two scenarios every year with a draw of two-three hundred, this makes it an easier environment from those one thousand person scenarios. The pro shop has been moved to the field in a nice new building, and a snack bar with fires and sandwiches has also been added.
Some fields will be bigger and some will have more stuff, but with the prices the friendly atmosphere and plenty of room to park you can’t beat it. So, if you get a chance fellow Paintballers take a ride down to Charleston and experience the best little paintball place in America.
Last edited on Friday, April 9th, 2004 at 10:00 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

P8ntballperson Monday, February 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: PBC is the best field ever! once u go there u have to go again! the refs are nice and strict, my friend got caught in the non-playing area without his barrel cover on his gun, and he had 2 sit out three games which is a good example of the refs strictness. PBC has about 5 large playing fields and always has a tourney or something going on. the prices are great, when i got my Impy fixed, it was 1$! and to get a 3000 psi tank filled its just 3.00$ and they have great paint, but that is probably the most overpriced thing there. but lal around, PBC is the best field ever. GO THERE!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Navy_Nuke5 Monday, December 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None locally, a few all over.
Review: I have played at PBC for only about 2-3 months every weekend I could while I was in the area. This place has pretty much everything. The selection of gear they have is great when it comes to the pants, jerseys, etc as well as the markers, barrels, parts kits, gauges, etc. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The Techs there really do know what they are doing and what they're talking about. VERY STRICT ON SAFETY AND CHEATING! which I support. They're speed ball fields are a lot of fun and so is they're castle!! I highly recommend this field to anyone, advanced to novice skill levels, doesn't matter. This is the best field I have ever played at so far, give it a try and im sure you will agree.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mymomsaysimcool Thursday, December 4th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball X, Strikezone, Triggertyme,
Review: Paintball Charleston is by far the best all around field in SC. They offer both woods and speedball fields. PBC is mostly a recball field but offer some great speedball practices on the weekends and sometime during the week. They have a great paint selection and good prices. The store has nice workers that know what they are doing and have an excellent range of guns. The refs are nice but very strict on safety which i like. The fields are vaired and they have lots of forts and a big castle. There new Sup Air field with the big 50 is really cool too. I highly recommend this field to anyone in the lowcountry and anyone you want to travel to have a good time. There last senario was a blast and I look forward to their next tournament.
Last edited on Thursday, December 4th, 2003 at 11:09 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JWtipmn Sunday, November 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rush paintball, Augusta Ga.
Wildfire paintball, Madison Ga.
Ultimate Outdoors, North Augusta SC.
Review: I've only played one scenario game there, but it was so good I had to write a review. The refs were outstanding and the layout was great. The field is great, lots of different terrain and a 3500 square ft. castle with 2 stories. They had separate camp sites and insertion points for both teams about a 1/4 mile apart. These people really know how to run a scenario game. I drove 3 hrs to play and it was worth every minute. If you are looking for a scenario game to play in, check them out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

magsonthemind Monday, November 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No others compare
Review: Fields: Awesome, awesome and more awesome. You will not find such a variety of great terrain anywhere else. 6 total fields, 3 woods and 3 speed-ball/air-ball. Excellent trails, woods, ravines, tractors, trailers, forts, castles, you name it they have it!!! Staging area has tables, chairs, running water, bathrooms, food vendor on site!!!

Staff: Very very knowledgeable and always willing to help. Both owners(Tim and Tim), are excellent, they can and will get whatever paintball item you need! Always courteous, they are a shining example of what paintball needs to continue to grow!

Store: Very nice to have the store right on the field property. This is not a shack by any means, a fully functioning store with everything you could want! Great selection of guns(all guns, not what the owners are partial to like other stores), paint, masks, accessories, great great tech support! Open and a welcoming atmosphere! They have a compressor on site so you can get the 4500 fills which is great!

Overall: This is what a great paintball experience is made of. I am in the military and have traveled around the states and played many fields. I am proud to say all the above factors make this the BEST field I have ever played. They are already a large field and growing, if you are anywhere near the Charleston area(I am in VA and will travel 6 hours to play this field!) play here!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media