paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Blast Camp Paintball Field / Blast Camp Paintball Field / Blast Camp Paintball Field / Blast Camp Paintball Field

Blast Camp Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (219) 947-7733
Address: 563 West 600 North
Hobart, Indiana 46342
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
AGD KING Monday, June 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz,Paintball Heat,Sherwood Forest, Country Club Indoor, Take Aim Indoor,Fox River Games, Challenge Park, Hells Survivors
Review: This field has it ALL,REAL buildings, a Trench System! Multiple wooden bunkers, and 11 fields of play !!!! They now have a 5 man airball field !! The BEST field in NW IN/Chicagoland area !

Price - Entry is only $10 ($20 for teams)

Paint- $80 per case of PMI premiums, awesome paint ! (BYOP for teams)

Staff - AWESOME refs and gun techs ! if its not an antique, they can fix it!

Food- they sell hot dogs, polish,. chips, pop, candy, your basic food for hungry ballers

Game Play - over 100 different games, all of which keep you on your toes, and you usually play 15-20 games per day

This is the best field around, and their store competes with all prices, and is infact a LOT cheaper than in hte past, if you have a chance to go by there, you will not be dissapointed!

field rating-9/10
Store - 8/10

AWESOME!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Razorpaintbalor Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None,heard about badlandz though which is speedball a different type of style so its up to you on what kind of paintball you like better.
Review: This is a great place for a great price. It's 10 dollars to get in (next to nothing) and 80 for a case(field paint only).Or if you get the membership like I did:
free admission all year(there only closed three months Mid December till beggining of March)
free air whole year,
Case price goes down to 70 bucks
The field has a great variety for everyone.Now i know how most people prefer speedball and this has two speedball fields which are pretty nice and fast placed(like most speedball) .But if you realy only like speedball your better off at badlandz. But as I said the variety:trenches(unbelievable huge trench system),Tons of building such as embassy courtyard and messhall,the berm(huge hill with 4 bunker on top with flagpost in middle), octagon(mix of speedball with a building in the middle mostly used to attack or defend), a prisoner field (like size of a football field with tall grass),and as i said the two speedball courses. By the way most of the grass (except like the speedball courses) is really tall and great to hide in with camo. So i find this field great for me cause i like speedball but I like hiding in the grass,running in building, searching for people instead of just spraying and praying(which basically defines speedball), a lot more than I like speedball. Its good if your new or a have benn playing for 5 years, cause the teams are mostly split evenly with half noobies and half veterans on each team.
Conclusion: If you are a speedball fanatic your probably better off at badlandz,but if your like me who likes hiding in the grass,running through buildings, or a variety come to blastcamp. Just take a friend or two split a case of paint and see if you like it. If you dont like it thats ok its just not your kind of style but I still say just give it a try.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JudasIscariot Monday, September 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest (Yet to go)
Review: To start the parking is awful, its a tiny little lot that doesnt fit much so if you come on a saturday, go early or park somewhere else.

Safety : 8/10 ~ I give the safety a mere 8 because they are announced for all the players to gather for safety instructions in our groups. I was busy having tanks filled so needless to say I wasnt able to go, but no big deal cause I have been here, I noticed other people just walked into our groups afterwards with rentals looking very new. I got yelled at for "taking my mask off" although I swear it wasnt off, it was an inch off (not up or down) my face due to me sticking fingers to itch my eye.

Fields/Scenario/Fun: 8/10 ~ I had quite a bit of fun with some scenarios with the President/Mao thingy, with the Fortish Scenario (sorry I dont know names) (one group charges a house, other defends) was quite fun. Balls to the Walls was very one sided in every game, but it helps to have a electro in this scenario :). In general the refs did a decent job at splitting up people, but defintely showed favortism to certain players. I found the refs letting people they talked to alot (I think a co worker) hiding right behind them. I turned a corner in a room and there was a guy with an auto cocker hiding behind a ref with a shield. Now that I rethink all the fields are very one sided. Refs were pretty horrible.

Shops: 4/10 ~ The pro shop was uhh not much they had some orings and ball covers. The pop was pretty cheap, but I didnt dare eat the food which looked to have been sitting there for some time. By the way they use Team Colors Chicago. Had refs check once or twice.

Last edited on Monday, September 13th, 2004 at 5:54 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

mugen76 Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ccp, badlandz, cpx, fox, blitz, pbs
Review: this is a great place for scenario ball. this place is perfect for a private group looking to create personalized scenario game. being that it's built around an old abandoned military base, you have access to buildings, trenches, a little bit of woods to create some great scenarios. it looked like there was some more land to expand and create more speedball fields but i think this place serves scenario ballers justice. they charge a bit too much for paint but entrance is only $10 if you have your own equipment. i know most places make their profits on field paint but if they drop it about 10 more dollars, they'd get a lot more people.

the only problem i see with this field is how understaffed they are. this past weekend, the open group was way too large. they knew they had 5 or 6 private groups coming in but didn't hire enough refs to split up the open group. was it our fault that the open group was 80 people large? i think it's their responsibility to have enough people to ref the games and show us a good time.

so what happened was, for a game of 40 vs. 40, they only had 2 refs watching our game. and people were cheating like crazy. getting hit and wiping. the refs pretty much sat there and didn't do anything about it. they just totally lost control of the game. needless to say, i called for the manager and asked why they were so understaffed and why the open group had to be 80 people large.. he replied that they're trying to keep costs low.

what?!?!?!?!?! keep costs low?? i believe that it's the fields' responsibility to show everyone a good time - any field for that matter. if they want people to continue coming to their field, they should be doing everything in their power to provide a fun environment for them. this past experience definitely turned me off.

i understand that some people like big games with hundreds of people. but in big games, their is usually a proportionate amount of refs walking around taking control of the game. 80 people with 2 lazy refs was unacceptable.

they will only get a 6 from me b/c i used to enjoy this place but i think they need to rework some of their ref training and be able to have more people on staff for the open groups when they know they're going to have a lot of private parties coming in on that day. if i wanted a big game, i'd pay to goto a big game. not an open group of 80+ people with only 2 refs.
Last edited on Monday, April 19th, 2004 at 7:14 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

floatch Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Country Club Paintball in IL, no comparison. It's an indoor speedball field, this is outdoors with buildings and wooden bunkers.
Review: I like this place quite a lot. My favortie part is the close quarters battles in the random buildings. Running down hallways, turning into rooms full of the opposing team, so much fun. The embassy games are the best, and the refs are open to suggestions on different games. I've played capture the flag, steal the other family's daughters (with a plastic keg), kill Steve Bartman, and elimination. If speedball is your thing, they do that as well, but it can get muddy if it's rained lately.
Be prepared to get dirty, even muddy, and wear hiking boots, as much of the ground is sketchy and full ankle-twisters.
Granted, my experience with other fields is still limited, but I'd imagine that this place ranks right up there as one of the best around. Some of the guys that work there are grouchy, but it's okay. I'd be grouchy too after dealing with some of the kids that show up there.
I give it a 9, because it's GREAT, but not perfect. I'd give it a ten if they had more elaborate bunkers, or maybe a nice sturdy tower to climb. Some sand inside the Octagon would be nice too. I've slipped in the mud there more times than I can remember.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

itsfriggenme Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
adrenalland, badlandz and done painted my entire back yard this winter, (gimmie a HELL YAH)
Review: Damn good senero field, they have but one speed ball field but it is a good one, there all constructed from rail road ties and barrels, Im not sure if hard core speed ballers would like it vice air ball or tubes but it does rock. the senerio fields though kick serious A$%, as you can read from the web site its made from a old army base and it just has a ton of buildings to play thru, the refs are alright but if you put any vetern paint ball kid in charge of being a ref then youll see there head swell, so they tend to get a bit cocky but they are pretty decent and helpful. and the down time between are very short so you do get alot of games in for the day. Now this is by memory but theres 7 or 8 fields of play there so entertaining a private group or walk on youll be sure to have your A$# worn out by the end of the day. Oh make that 9 fields, ones called opposing embasy and holy #$@% is it long, me and about 4 other guys did this huge flank and seemed to run the length of a football field b4 whipping the living hell out of the opposing team. In cap,
The prices are very resonable 80$ for paint and goes down to 100rds for like 7$
The refs are OK but what kid dont you know they doesnt have a attitude
The Games are fast paced elimination is the way to go F$%k CTF (kill em all)
Staging area is good (Picnic tables)
They have food services hot dogs, chips, pop etc not too racy
Its a coin flip on the idiot filling co2 but they do have alot of staff on site

In all im gonna rate this one a 10 , It might not be your gig if your into air ball playing like super man sliding around wasting 2 or 3 cases of paint but for the rec and shooting a ton of strangers and trying like hell to work as a team to accomplish a given goal then id advise you to pick up your grades ask mommy for some money and cart your self there to join in. (sharpen up them angels & cokers boys cuz my spidey is gonna take your A$% out).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

6death9 Tuesday, February 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
badlandz,adrenalland in cedar lake (new) woods
Review: i like this place... it was the first place i ever played.. you can get in alot of games aint really that expensive .. the fields are great (need a little bit of trimming ) but i still like them alot ....but like any place you go to if you get a bad ref your gonna have a bad day last time i went we got this skinny as a twig with an ego like a oak tree ref ...and he was pretty much a waste of skin.... he should be a ref at Burger King.. my point is i pay good money to do this and so does everyone who plays we want cool refs that
keep it safe
keep it fun
keep it going
thank you blast camp you rock ... but pls dont rehire that twig
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
15 Comments - Add Comment

Samrog777 Friday, January 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ccp, cpx, fox, badlandz
Review: This field is absolutely awesome. I went there with a private game the second time I went pantballing and loved it. It's really cool being in the actual buildings, where something like this could happen. (shooting at people, etc.) The scenario-type fields are amazing. Namely octagon. I love that field. Paint is mildly expensive, but if you buy lots, they give you a break on it. The staff is very helpful, they will help you with whatever they can, like gun jams, paint checks, etc. They also listen to field requests if you're not an idiot about it. I give this park a 9.9 out of ten, the .1 being for traffic on the way there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

skitsowithtazer Friday, December 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
mine
Review: i love this place. im even trying to get a job there. if you like to play paintball with tactics and adrenaline, go to blast camp. i never know anybody on my team, but we all work together and everybody has a great time. almost everybody is willing to help anybody. the co2 and hpa refills are cheap, gun rental isnt insane, and admission coupons are easy to get. the paint however, goes for $80 a case (2,000 rds). $45 for 1,000 rds, and $25 for 500 rds. not exactly cheap, but cut them some slack, its like the only way they make some profit on the field. whats even better though, is that if you buy a gun from the store, you get a years free admission, free co2 refills, and discounts on paint prices, granted the prices of the guns are a little jacked up, they set you up real nice. you have to plan for your favorite games though. if its rainy, you will play embassy, but if it has rained hard in the past two weeks, the trenches are out of the question. they have food and drinks there to buy, and even those prices are reasonable. so if youre in the area, and have $100 to spend, go to blast camp and stay there for the whole 8 hour playing day from 8 am till 4 pm. this place is awesome
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pBfanatic46304 Wednesday, November 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Omega, Blast Factory, and Sherriville all dont hold a candle to this one
Review: I think this feild was great for a first time player. They have great management and very helpful people. Also the referees understand people like us and arent jerks which is always a plus. They have a great hyperball course and an allright speedball course. I say go there and try it out for your self.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media