paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Blast Camp Paintball Field / Blast Camp Paintball Field / Blast Camp Paintball Field / Blast Camp Paintball Field

Blast Camp Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (219) 947-7733
Address: 563 West 600 North
Hobart, Indiana 46342
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Berzerk_Rambo Tuesday, October 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ive played on rat city and mostly friends house's. Blast camp is a HUGE compared to many fields.
Review: Blast camp ''located in valporiso indiana'' is the BEST field ive played on. It is a run down army base with many buildins and trenches still up. They have large scenerio game a couple times each year. They have a nice sized speed ball field. The staff there are very helpful and nice. I highly recomend this to anyone who plays paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CoolPiranhaGuy Monday, July 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz (just watched a couple games)
Review: The parking gets pretty bad on days when lots of people are there. The paint costs a lot and it isnt very good. The games like octagon and others are fun. Embassy is ok but you almost never win if you defend and it smells inside. The refs stopped a game because someone shot them. And the teams get pretty onbalanced later in the day.
Last edited on Monday, July 21st, 2003 at 11:10 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mystile7423 Monday, July 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood(has nice airball and a good castle field), Badlandz(Their scenario field is huge with many castles, also has multiple hyperball and airball fields), Omega Sports(kinda small field with only 1 speedball course and a small woods course that is alright), John Boyds House (Great speedball course, homemade by me and some friends and of course the world renowned Jon Boyd)
Review: Great field with multiple courses. They have buildings that were used as a nike base back in the day that are now home to dozens of different games. New course that is just being built is kinda a wall/castle place that looks like it is gonna be cool. The refs there are kool and get in a lotta games for a day (usually 12-13 and they switch the sides after each game), and they split up the building and outdoor games so you aren't doing the same type of thing over and over again. They have a pretty good speedball field that they usually play the first and last games on... they have a lotta dif. and fun versions of speedball. Some people complain bout the embassy games cause you get shot a lot, but its fun and if you play it right than you shouldn't get shot much or at all.
Also, the dog that roams the grounds (zeb) is cool and doesn't eat the hot dogs unless people feed him their food. If you have a 3-man team than you gotta get out there for the tourneys, last time there were only 6 teams to play against and sadly it was done way too fast.
All in all this is a great field for anyone that lives in the Chicagoland/Northwest Indiana area. If you are looking for a great time playing paintball...go there.
Last edited on Wednesday, November 19th, 2003 at 3:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

BeforeShock Tuesday, July 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
A lot I don't want to list all but I have a field at my house and John Boyd is my brother(ScootScr15 mentioned it before).
Review: I love this field its not to big bt it is awesome. The sanario games there are great. It has good games freindly people andnice building to play in. It's was a military base back in the 50's and we play in the buildings there. I love the field and I think if you are in a houndred mile radius you should go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scootscr15 Thursday, May 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Glenwood,*Omega*,Sherwood,John Boyds house,(great field)
Review: Blast Camp, If you are from NW Indiana you know that those words equal fun. The buildings,players, and refs i might ad, are some of the best in not just the state, but in the entire country. Yes, Blast Camp cannot compare in size to Sherwood, or THE Challenge Park, But at blast camp you get a very unique experience. And you get about 10-15 games, (thats games that are played, then switched and played again to equal to one game) I have played there for a few years, and its a great field if you like having fun and dont mind paying a little bit to have some. And the big games are killer, Citadel, balls to the Wall, and Paintbrawl were all hits this year, with 214 showing up for Citadel, if the weather stays nice, make sure you come out and play, Sunday is the day to go,, that is when all the regulars come out, but if you are new, and need some No0b time, go on a Saturday
Last edited on Monday, October 6th, 2003 at 12:22 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Omega_RT_1 Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played only at Sherwood Forest and well, the only thing I like there is the city/castle and how nice the refs are, their speedball field sucks but its better then nothing.
Review: I like blast camp a lot, I have been playing there ever since I started this sport and I know the field inside out. The refs are very nice most of the time and they pick great games. My favorite is either collision in the messhall or collision on the octagon. But the best thing about that field is the big games like: Summer Paintbrawl and the Citadel. I have to admit that embassy isn't the best one they got but usually people dont like it because they are scared of getting hit by a paintball, but I dont like it because it gives you a lack of space to move around in. But if your just starting paintball or your a expert or whatever then blast camp is the place to be.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bolter Sunday, March 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Challenge Park (very professional presentation, one really nice field--Armageddon--but you wait FOREVER to play each game--30 min or so!)
Review: I've played Blast Camp since 1990. Why is it great? Simple: REAL BUILDINGS and varying scenarios. It is part of an old Air Force Nike missle base (yes we had air defense missile sites along Lake Michigan in the old days to shoot down Soviet bombers). It was the "control section" which was seperate from the "launch" section. The place has three long barracks buildings, a garage type building, various other buildings, radar towers, and that does not mention the many well-made bunkers, trench system (sometimes full of water) and other nice elements making this a very cool place to play.

If you are used to traditional capture the flag in the woods, this is a very different experience to some degree. We're talking full-on close quarters battle, shooting from room to room, down hallways, the works. It is VERY cool.

The games change enough during the day to keep things interesting. Some quasi-military scenarios like "Embassy" and "take the hill" are played. Also some more traditional two-flag amongst the buildings. Very little speedball during a typical open group game, but it can be played no problem if you prefer it. Many private groups like the field and the personal service.

Paint and field fees are well-priced, you must use field paint only. They rent Tippmann gear (mostly Pro-Lites as of last year). The refs are dedicated and all are avid players also. You never wait more than a few minutes between games, which is great since I only get to play several days a year now that I have my own little kiddies. On "imbalanced" games, where a scenario favors one side due to geography, they turn the game around (like in the Embassy game) so both teams have a chance to attack/defend in the scenario.

They periodically rebalance the teams as people enter and leave during the day. Teams are typically at least 25 per SIDE on a weekend, usually significantly more. They do a chrono in the morning and after lunch, and chrono people additionally as they come in new or someone says they might be shooting hot. You see a real mix of guys at the field (and girls), some real speedball guys with the bright jerseys and shiny guns, and guys like me from the old days who don't want anything shiny near them.

You really need to check out this field if you have not been here before. It is really something special. And very close to Chicago, takes me about an hour from the northwest suburbs and worth the drive.

Food is nothing to shout about, but I don't go for the food. If you really want lunch, you can go to the McD/BK 5 minutes away. For the "open group" there is no actual "lunch break" though they used to do it. What's nice about that is if you wanna play, you keep on playing, and eat lunch when it works for you and your friends.

The facilities are more primitive than Challenge Park, they have a porta-potti, but there is a roofed-in area for players in staging for rain/cold times. Decent parking except on REALLY busy days, get there early on the big game days.

Their big games are a lot of fun due to the large field and all of the interesting buildings and bunkers, trenches. The buildings have doors removed (for the most part) and all glass is removed from the windows for safety. Probably the closest thing to a civilian MOUT site out there.

Overall, a great mix of terran to play, do go there. I give it a 9 as the facilities could be better, but really a great field. Very unique in the entire nation. (Who else has all of the REAL buildings)?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nzzzme Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest, Badlandz, Blast Camp, The Ungerground, Gotya, Orlando Paintball, Michiania Paintball/Action Paintball, Paintball Barn...other outlaw fields
Review: This field is pretty decent, phone, kinda icky 'restarut' dog was eating the hotdogs, then they served me one it was eating, but other then that it's decent. Speedball fields cool, other fields are different. There is one GREAT field, it's got a hill in the middle, then there is a trenches field, a mounds-like field, and some others that are not so memoriable. There is one Embassy game that I hate to death, and another one called Vietnam, that one is SOOO cool...I'm going there tomarrow, but I've been there six times now, every time t's just got better. Do their tournments, my team can have someone to play, or, like last time, no one. The staff was super nice about it and like gave us our money back super quick. Their awsome people...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media