paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skyline Paintball Field / Skyline Paintball Field / Skyline Paintball Field / Skyline Paintball Field

Skyline Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
90Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 540-465-9537
Address: 363 Radio Station Road
Strasburg, Virginia 22657
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Sheridan126 Sunday, June 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's, Hogback, VAG, each have pros and cons
Review: I too find myself disagreeing with the last couple of posts. There is no question that Skyline has very good playing fields. The owners have obviously put in a lot of work it is the second best field in terms of scenery (the best is Challenge Park Extreme outside of Chicago) that I have personally played on. The problem however lies not with the field they created but they way the owners and staff administer it.

I have been playing paintball at Skyline for about four years now and was generally happy with the experience. Most of my visits were organized events and I played with the people I came with. For the last two years I have been going up to Skyline by myself or with a few of my friends and my experiences have been less positive. I wasnít even going to post anything but when I saw how the owners and others had responded to some of the complaints that people have made against their park I felt compelled to register my own feelings.

I understand that they are trying to protect their business and I understand that but there is a diplomatic and respectful way to do it calling someone names or being overly hostile is uncalled for.

I have witnessed favoritism towards regulars at Skyline over walk-on players, in terms of who is selected for what team and rule enforcement, in terms of rebuking players for bad conduct. I complained once when I was there but received no acknowledgment from the referees or owners.

Skyline is a place for experienced players that own their own guns and are looking to play with other experienced players on some challenging arenas. I would strongly WARN inexperienced players (who need to rent guns/have not played a long time) or parentís from bringing their kids up there. Also being from DC it is really not worth the drive up to Strasburg, there are some good parks near the city where enough people show up that you donít have problems with favoritism and you have greater choice over the games that you want to play. Most of them are also much more family friendly.

Hopefully, the staff at Skyline will address some of these issues, because the park has a lot of potential.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

JimInVA Sunday, June 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: In March of 2002, I became hooked on scenario paintball. Skyline did their first scenario that same year. If I remember correctly, they had just shy of 100 people in attendance. I recently attended my 5th such scenario at Skyline where there were over 225 players in attendance. Of the many fields that I travel to, Skyline has has become my absolute favorite. There are a number of factors to which I can attibute the justifcation for driving 4-1/2 hours to attend a game at Skyline.

As a scenario player, the field of play is certainly an influence. With each return to Skyline, I've seen additions and improvements - an indication to me that the owners truly care about field upon which we play. The trails are well laid out and free of debris. And they have provided an amazing variety of structures (towns, a castle, the rocket field, bridges, etc.).

At many of the scenario games, the field owner provides the bulk of the referee staff. I have been particularly impressed with the refereeing provided Skyline at these games. It immediately becomes obvious that they understand the game. As a scenario player, there's nothing worse than refs who stand around staring at your hidden location. The Skyline refs seem to understand this peev and all but disappear. Yet they remain completely attentive and extremely aware of the action around them. When the situation arises that requires a referee's call, they reappear, aware of what has just happened and with minimal disruption assert their knowledge of the game with a correct call. The Skyline referees have set the standard against which I rate those at other fields.

Beyond the field, yet still important to those of us who travel long distances, are the amenities provided. The Pro Shop is well stocked with most anything one might need to get back into the game. Their knowledge of markers and their ability to perform that much needed repair or tweak has been much appreciated on more than one occasion.

Many of us bring our tents and camp from Friday thru Sunday afternoon. Skyline not only provides us plenty of room but has also allowed us the "luxury" of hot showers. And should the weather turn oppresively sweltering, the option of taking a quick dip in the cool waters of the adjacent beach is priceless.

Topping the list of draws that Skyline has to offer would be the field owners themselves. I have never felt more welcomed to a field by its owners than I have here. I've attended games at fields where I made to feel as if I was an unwelcomed guest - not at Skyline! I can liken it to the feeling that one has when they're "home again".

If you've not experienced all that Skyline offers, I encourage you to do so. And if you really want one of those "I can't believe paintball could be this much fun" experiences, check their calendar for the next scenario game. And if you do, come look me up. I'll be camping with my team, The Virginia Irregulars, and the other 20+ friends that won't let me leave home for a game at Skyline without bringing them along.

Jim


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballa6972 Saturday, June 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I, have to disagree with the few posts below about Skyline Paintball.

Skyline Paintball, out of all the fields, is the best compared to all the fields in Virginia. Not only do the owners know everything there talking about, the refs are very attentive. They show concern about their players and make sure each and every rule is enforced.

Every field at Skyline are made for the enjoyment of a great paintball game, and every field reinforces that statement. Skyline has a variety of fields and each and every one of them are fun.

Back to what the few posts below state, it does NOT take hours to get back on a field. At the most, it takes 15 minutes to get back on a field, just because Skyline likes to ensure that the players have enough paint, air and what not to make their time enjoyable.

The scenario games at Skyline are always an enjoyment and very creative at that. Last weekend was a Rocky Horror scenario, and it was very fun. Players on teams were spread out evenly, and i assure you non of the more common players at Skyline are favored. All players are treated equally and none are liked more than others.

I don't know if the posts below were a joke or what, but Skyline Paintball isn't anything like they described. Skyline is a very fun, safe and enjoyable place to play paintball.

Refs, owners, and even the owners child, Sammy, ( i believe, who is a great player and fun kid and he goes by the rules just like everyone else.) are very fun and good people. They make sure your day went well and there were no problems. Skyline, by far, is the most organized and fun filled paintball field in Virginia, considering i haven't been out of VA to play paintball.

SKYLINE IS THE BEST. SUE, CHRIS, SAMMY and ALEXA, THANKS FOR EVERYTHING AND FOR HAVING SKYLINE PAINTBALL... ITS THE BEST OUT THERE. YOU GUYS ARE THE BEST OWNERS AND CHILDREN OF THE OWNERS!
Last edited on Saturday, June 26th, 2004 at 4:55 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballpete2 Monday, June 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the area
Review: Personally, I'm surprised by the virtually positive unanimity of the reviews for this field. True, one cannot deny that Skyline has a number of creatively designed fields - The town and the castle are of particular note, and I can imagine that a lot of hard work was required in creating these unique designs.

I must furthermore concede that that of the four times I've played at this field, the first two were very enjoyable experiences - Once was with a private group and once was as a walk-on.

Lamentably, my praise for Skyline must end here. It seems rather evident that most of the posters are pretty die-hard aficionados of the sport, and perhaps that is who this field is geared for. If you're a rookie or irregular player looking for a great father-son day or an activity for you and your buddies to kill your Saturday with, I'd look elsewhere.

The last poster had it right -I had meant to post something similar at an earlier date but never got a chance - the management treats many of their customers with contempt (particularly those who are less experienced).

Sure, they run through safety regulations, chrono your guns, and strictly enforce some rules, but the refs couldn't care less if a pro or a regular uses an automatic weapon (despite an ostensible policy proscribing such devices).

Furthermore, they only verify the speed of the guns once - While this may be fine for those with rentals, it's pretty easy for those with their own guns to adjust them later on. The last time I was there, even EXPERIENCED players were claiming that certain other players were shooting at speeds above 300, but did the refs care? Nope.

I can even attest to the velocity of the pballs from the gun since I was hit by two errant shots (after I was out) from these "not really automatic weapons" - BTW, if they weren't automatic weapons, then those stray shots must have been intentionally aimed at me, but the refs didn't seem to have a problem with that either! Regardless, the difference between being struck with a shot from a rental (which was always below 280) and one from a cheater's weapon was palpable to anyone (except for the "we don't care/we don't want to hear about it" management.

What is even more outrageous is that they made no effort to divide the teams fairly. Did they separate those with the best guns to be on different teams? No. Did they have one game for those with rentals and those with little experience and another for the pro's? Nope. Instead, they put the younger kids, those with rentals, and anyone who isn't a top notch player on one side and let them serve as cannon fodder for the experienced folks with the top tier weapons. Real fair. In fact, even as the numbers dwindled on the crummy team (usually due to the stacked teams and savagery of the experienced players), there was still no effort to even out the teams!

This is not a one time experience either. The last time I was at Skyline, the refs allowed the experienced players to get away with murder as well. In fact, they were so indifferent to our requests that despite our desire to play on certain scenarios, the refs took us where they wanted us to go. We didn't even get to play the castle, but we had to waste time at some lame field that took forever to walk to and was little more than a wooded clearing with some barrels.

When we were about to play our last scenario, a bunch of locals (with plenty of experience, high powered guns and friendship with the refs to boot) were permitted to join the other team and ended up not only dominating us but also repeatedly blasted at a young kid despite the fact that he was out. His father left with him immediately following that match. A real nice day out for dad and son. Plus, the exact same thing happened this time again. However, the poor boy was actually crying!

Did the management or the refs care? Of course not. Just read the response to the post below to see how they treat such criticism. You're just a whiner or a cry baby in their eyes.

Even one of the admittedly enjoyable times that I attended Skyline wasn't untainted by their hostile "customer service". This group match up was a private game that was meant to be a contest between two organizations, but because the teams were "unfairly matched" - We had to mix our groups, despite our (the customers') objections! Gee, too bad this principle doesn't apply for walk on games when it actually makes sense.

Just read the response to the post below to understand just how much they care about their customer. No, "We're sorry you had a bad experience" or "Please let us know how we can improve our field in the future" like any reputable business would offer an upset customer. Would you purchase groceries, furniture, or a car from people who behave like this? Of course not.

Well, their "screw you" response pretty explicitly notes that they don't want your business if you're going to "whine" about little kids being bullied, inconsistent enforcement of the rules, or anything else that might impede a customer's enjoyment of the field. To that I say fine, if you're a pro who wants some target practice, Skyline is the place for you, but if you just want a leisurely day out with friends or family, then do as they request and take your business elsewhere. Clearly, they're doing fine without us.

Last edited on Monday, June 21st, 2004 at 7:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

pballin81 Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's - much better
Review: These guys are jerks.

I've been going to skyline for two years now, brought them a lot of business because, admittedly, their fields are neat. The town map is good (but it gets old after a while, they should change it up) and the Castle is awesome.

The problem is the people. The owners are inattentive, and as others noted in other posts, show incredible favortism to the locals. The owner's kid is notorious for going out to the fields, switching to full auto and just picking off noobs. I guess there's nothing inherently wrong about that except that the kid's a jerk, and there's supposedly a rule against no auto.

So, yesterday, when I went to Skyline, they had this stupid "Frankenstein" scenario which was as lame as it gets. The owner spells it out to us non-locals in the most asinine tone possible. Because me spending my hard-earned money is apparently not worth his time.

After we finally get going, the total head count was 45 or so, so we split into 22-23 teams. And one thing immediately stood out, all the 8 year olds and rental guns were on one side, and all the pros were on another side. Not wishing to be a wuss, I was fine with that, because it makes you a better player- we went out to the game and the refs, to boot, were showing complete favortism to the other team. BS you say? Try this for size- after the first game, half of the rental team left. No joke. Up and left. We did a head count- 14. After the second game that took forever to start, our numbers kept going down. They never resized the teams, even though they were lopsided in the first place.

The refs were even jerk enough to respawn us in the midst of a base that was under siege, even though we were supposed to get into the base under their protection (since our plugs were in per their direction). They called a lame "cease fire" once, but then ran away from the base. Real quality.

The straw that broke the camel's back (almost literally) was that the refs had "missions" for the rental team to continually either attack the town or attack the castle. We had the crappy guns, and we were supposed to attack. They should have called the sim "Stalingrad" instead of "Frankenstein". Oh, and before I forget, "Frankenstein" was a local punk who was invulnerable (couldn't go out) and would go around shooting everyone (in theory) except that he only shot our team. And when the game ended, he was wearing the other team's armband. He was totally working for the other team, and I even overheard some other guys from the team who were joking about it later. It was hilarious that I spent $60 to waste a day fighting rental guns against full-autos having to attack with this ridiculous "Frankenstein" idiot running around. Frankenstein raided our base (when we had a little over half a dozen people on our team) and shot an 8 year old in the back from about 4 feet. His dad, who had already gotten out, took this crying kid off the field and promptly left. It's a shame, and did the refs do anything about it? Nope.

When we went to the owners to calmly say that we had a bad day here, that we were good customers that drive from DC (1.5 hours) just to come here, they said "yea, ok." as if we were just complaining because we lost.

At the end of the day, our 22-23 teams had gone to, still 23 for the non-rental/8 year old team, and 4 (that's right, FOUR) for our team. The refs still wouldn't resize the teams. That's when we said "F this" and walked off. When we mentioned the sizes to the refs they said "well, we don't know, thats the other ref's job." So lame.


If you liked getting screwed, go to Skyline. You'll be well screwed there. I heard Pev's shut down for some reason, but I'm intent on finding another field no matter what. I WILL NEVER GO BACK TO SKYLINE.




1- Takes FOREVER for them to start games. Be prepared to wait HOURS before a SINGLE GAME starts. Get there at 10, first game starts at 11:40, second game, maybe, at 2pm.

2- Local favortism. If you're not a regular, or one of those "Team Rogue" jerks, then expect to get paired with all the 8 year olds. And when all of your team leaves because of how they're getting screwed, don't expect the refs to rearrange the teams.

3- Stupid sims- read above.

4- Owners don't care that you had a bad time. Had they just said, "we're sorry, come back next time and your field fee is waived" we would have felt there was some admission of the BS that went on during this day- but nope- just "thanks for your money now get out of here." The way a customer wants to be treated.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

IBenDrnkinAgeen Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none really. some in southern va like painted forest in lynchburg
Review: Well, i was VERY disappointed with this field. Here's what happened: I show up one day for walk on with about 11 friends expecting to be put on different teams because that's what every other place does when you have a larger group. SURPRISE!! They dind't split us up! How dare them! Giving the customer what we want. That is unheard of. Shortly thereafter we went to the chronies and i expected to be trouble with my marker, as it is not a tippmann and places in the past usually know the tippmann/kingman routine and that's about it. Yet again, SURPRISE!! the staff was knowledgable and helpful. At this point i think to myself, "Self, what kind of operation are these yahoos pullin hurre? I'm not used to customer service. They can't do this crap!" So we went and played a few rounds, where not only were all the refs awake and alert, but i didn't catch even ONE of them taking bribes of any sort (money, women, men, NOTHING!). This was a new experience for me. My last complaint was when i got tagged once and i tried to get sue to kiss my boo-boo. She didn't. Neither did Chris. Horrible place to go. 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballATS Friday, June 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ATS
Review: I played a 24 hour scenario paintball game at Skyline and loved the field. It had so many places to hid and so many cool stuff like the rocket field and a CASTLE. But I must say the best part was the finnal battle in the VILLAGE. Skyline had so much cool stuff that if there was another scenario ther I would go back no matter the distance.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

recboytagedu Sunday, May 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PEVS, North Mountain, Big L's, Private feilds.
Review: My one experience with skyline was ok but could have been better. The fields were great but the service and respect from the staff and ownership was not their at all. Not just myself but a buddy of mine had trouble with the staff as well.

CONS:
We got there before opening time and had to wait over a hour and a half to begin playing. That didn't bother me so much as when i had a problem with my gun.I busted an o-ring on the hose of my gun and the owner (Chris it think his name was) was making comments about my gun and equipment. Not to mention the fact that he scratched up my gun doing it. He charged me 10 dollars for the repair which doesn't bother me near as much as the disrespect I received.

The weekend before i played, 5 of my friends went to skyline and they were the only walk-ons there. they had to play 3 on 2 amongst themselves. The Next week when i went there was well over 100 people there and they were teaming us up 35+ to 35+. This was total chaos and i think that there should be a happy medium between the two.

Another thing I noticed was their seemed to be favoritism to the regulars, I don't thing this is a good practice to try to earn repeat business from first-timers.

The price of paint was a little steep


PROS:
The number and verity of Fields was great

The condition of the Fields was great

Close to home (Closer then the rest)

Nice shop

Good Playing hours

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow15 Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Skyline rocks!!! Great refs and fast and friendly service is enough to make you want to come back again and again. The fields are awesome. One minute you're in the jungles of Vietnam defending your helicopter base, next you're storming a castle in Normandy, then you'll try to fight your way through the streets of Somalia. Great prices on paint, guns and equipment. They have a pro shop and can fix just about anything in a matter of minutes. I would definitely recommend Skyline to the newbie or pro.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pntballchick88 Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
...pevs
Review: Skyline is by far the best field out there. Their employees are nothing but the best. I have never once had a problem at Skyline, and there are so many kind people there. Skyline has the best service around, and theres nothing I dislike about Skyline Paintball. They have awesome fields, and great customer service. Never would I go anywhere else, because I know that Skyline's the best.

Skyline truely deserves way more then a 10.
Last edited on Sunday, April 18th, 2004 at 4:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media