paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skyline Paintball Field / Skyline Paintball Field / Skyline Paintball Field / Skyline Paintball Field

Skyline Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
90Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 540-465-9537
Address: 363 Radio Station Road
Strasburg, Virginia 22657
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
jcsjws Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skyline is it.
Review: Good- Skyline is one of the best, if not the best paintball fields in the state! The equipment at the pro shop is fairly priced, and sue will help you with anything she can.

Bad- I've been there only about 5 times. A couple of times the refs were a little stuck up when off the field. The cars also get hit with a couple balls occasionally.

Overall- Skyline is an awesome field. MAKE SURE TO KEEP BARREL CONDOMS IN (when off the field) AND MASKS ON(when on the field)

I give it a 9 overall. You should come from anywhere to get to this field! (I would give it a 9.5 but I can't.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Empyreal Rogue Wednesday, March 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Doesn't matter, this is the best. ^^
Review: I think JousterCM said it best. His rating hit the nail right on the head. I must say after reading his review there really isn't much I can say. However, here are a couple things I'd like to add.

Service: Skyline's service is wonderful. Chris and Sue (I hope they don't mind me using their names) are incredibly nice and helpful. If Sue can't answer your question, Chris can.

Proshop: The Proshop at Skyline carries almost any and everything. On top of that all their refs are experienced mechanics and Chris is like the GOD of paintball mechanics (hehe).

BlackCat Productions : Skyline has had a contract with the BlackCat Scenario Productions, the best Scenario team in the U.S. Every year, sometimes twice a year, they come by and host a massive scenario using every field at Skyline (See JousterCM's review on information on the fields). *** Note: I'll be attending the May 15th, 16th event if anyone else is. *** End Note ***

I'll gradually add more, but it'll forever be a 10. It's the best field in Virginia.
Not THE best but certainly one of the best. I haven't played at any of the fields in N. Va., like Pevs.
Last edited on Thursday, March 25th, 2004 at 6:42 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Intimidator89 Saturday, March 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at many feilds from homemade feilds to Pro feilds all over Virginia, and even some in PA.
Review: Skyline Paintball has exactly what you want from the beginning player using rental guns to the team with the newest Angles and best gear out there, no matter what your going to have an incredible time. Skyline has the best Fields in Virginia and the new X-Ball field has no equal, or if you enjoy playing wood-ball and scenario they have the frontier field, jungle field, castle field and the rocket field, and one of the most fun fields of all the Town Field. You can either bring a group of friends and family or join up with some other walk on players. Skyline most defiantly has the best fields anywhere and it is most worth your drive because on top of all those great fields they have an excellent Pro shop and unsurpassed customer service combined with great prices and a vast selection of quality paint.

--------Words don't do justice to how amazing Skyline Paintball really is so the next time you play paintball try out Skyline and you will be convinced------------
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

peaspot Wednesday, March 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Skyline Paintball is the ultimate and all around best paintball field ,PERIOD.It's only far away if don't want to live near it.It's only ,"not good", if you don't know what GOOD is.[Am talkin' to Chris.]Are you scared to play?They will soothe you.Are you new to P-ball? They will help you.Are you lookin' for adventure? See the Air Force.[what up homies!]Do you want barricades and badness? They got it.Do you want tunnels and turmoil? They got it.Do you want Kings with Kastles? They got it.Do you want to be 'tore up' in 'up town'They can do that.Do you want to "Air Out" in the "AIR" field? Just try it!From the "newbie" to the "pro",you will find some nice P-ball here. The owners will bust a "nugget" to help, and regulars will bust their "balls" to paint you.Never will things be perfect , but this place is close.Perfect place to play Paintball.[This ain't no disco, this ain't no party, this ain't no foolin' around.] Piece, MSP Please shop at BOBCO.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 10th, 2004 at 8:55 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JousterCM Thursday, March 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
A wide variety of other fields, none of which compare to the fun or professionalism of this one.
Review: Skyline is what other fields aspire to be when they grow up.

From the moment you arrive, you're surrounded by a group of friendly, outgoing paintballers who are there to ensure everybody's having fun. That's the refs. Then, you get to meet the players, who share the same attitude of sharing and playing the game for the sheer fun of it. At other fields, you borrow a squeegee, and its owner watches you like a hawk. At Skyline, there's a lot of mutual trust and respect between the players, and that extends to relations between the players and the staff, as well. Sue and Chris run a tight ship.

Paint is cheap, and comes with a free field fee. FPO in the rental guns, feel free to bring your own for your own guns, but when they're selling Evil for $65 a case and you'd pay $55 a case + shipping off the Internet, it's already worth considering buying from Skyline. Throw in the free $10 field fee, and you actually pay more when you're not using field paint.

Did I mention cheap paint? Everything is inexpensive in their Pro Shop, which is well-stocked and has a certified tech. for nearly every brand of gun in widespread use today. They've been doing this for well over a decade, and nobody comes close to how effective they are at finding the best prices and performing the best repairs.

The fields are normally immaculate; right now, they have a few holes in some of the bunkers, but that's because they had some incidents recently with people poking those holes in order to get better angles. There's an admonition against doing that in the safety briefing now.

The fields:
The Helicopter
A full-on woodsball field in the attack-and-defend style. The flag is at the far end of the field, with huge areas in which to maneuver available to try to get there, including a few tunnels and a road that runs by the gorgeous quarry lake. Don't get shot out while staring at it.
Field rating: 10/10
Jouster's Tip: Buy thermal lenses for your goggles if you don't have them already; you'll sweat a lot as you run around on this field.

Frontier Fort
Another attack-and-defend field, the fort being not so much a fort as a bunch of bunkers and walls placed haphazardly, but close together. The attackers have the advantage of multiple angles, a hill they can climb and from which they can fire down into otherwise-concealed positions, and a field of spools leading up to the front door. This field is usually a bloodbath. (Paintbath?)
Field rating: 6/10
Jouster's Tip: Attacking is fun and requires some good strategy. Defending is asking to be shot out, unless you happen to go up against a team with no semblance of leadership or cooperation within its ranks. Sit this field out, and wait for the Castle.

The Rocket
Centerflag mayhem! The field has three or four separate attack routes, and keeps open a wide array of combat areas simultaneously. The road-side tape is often buzzing with 'balls, while the center area around the rocket prop is CQB extraordinaire, and the ridge can snipe down upon the center from behind scraggly bushes or can charge through, eliminate its opposition, and sweep around the back of the enemy forces.
Field rating: 10/10
Jouster's Tip: Awesome field! Take the ridge and the tape early, and the other team will soon succumb to your bitter crossfire.

The Castle
Skyline's second attempt at a castle, and this time, they succeeded with flying colors. The castle is perched atop a huge mound of earth, and the defenders have a very real choice of whether they wish to hide behind its walls or take up positions that open them up to withering attacks from multiple angles. This field is a very good way to go through paint in a hurry, and have fun doing it. Multiple attack routes (no less than four) are open to the assault team. My only issue with the field is how difficult it is for the defenders to get into the fort by the front entrance; the pathway is slippery mud after a rainfall.
Field rating: 9/10
Jouster's Tip: As attackers, circle around the left side of the fort and use cover fire liberally to allow your team to move to the next objective along that side. Sure, if you can cover your movements well, your entrance may not be subtle, but it will be successful.

The Town
This is the one everyone comes to Skyline to see. Hectic shootouts and daring dashes; if these buildings were made out of air, it'd be obvious that this is what it is--the world's largest speedball field. Two-story buildings and a wide variety of bunker materials, though, make this more than what you could ever achieve with plastic and air, and the frantic pace and wide variety of tactics make this field popular enough that it's generally played no fewer than four times each day.
Field rating: 11/10. Yes, really.
Jouster's Tip: Remember, this field is speedball on crack--move up fast, move up early. Save your paint on the break, since you won't be able to hit anybody, and use the time you'd normally spend arcing those shots to get to a good bunker and to start communicating with your nearby teammates. You won't win this one alone.

The Jungle
Trenches. Trees. A jeep parked in the center of the map. Welcome to Vietnam, minus the Agent Orange but with no shortage of orange paint flying in all directions. This is the "sneaky" map, the one where a single player bent on destruction with good camo and a decent gun can personally eliminate every single member of the opposing team if he's good enough.
Field rating: 10/10
Jouster's Tip: Communicate. While it's easy to do crazy, impressive things and succeed on this map, if you're not careful, your own team will start shooting at you as you appear out of the shadows in the far side of the field from where you started.

Other Fields
Oh, and just to clarify: yes, there are other fields, several of which are quite fun! But I figured this is a pretty darn long review as it is, and it's a good sampling of the fields you can expect to see on an average day's play at Skyline.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 10th, 2004 at 9:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

chris in va Monday, January 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Sportsland, Frederick MD
Pev's, Leesburg VA
Review:
I've been to Skyline about 4 times now. Basically the park is set up to be one giant speedball place, even in woodsball. There is nothing natural about the fields. Everything is plywood or some type of bunker. So if you're into that sort of thing, there ya go. The 'helicopter' scenerio is the one with the least manmade bunkers.

The fields are radiused around the shop, so a walk back for an air fill is no big deal. Prices are decent at $10 + $10 for all-day air. BYOP is allowed, but field paint is not horribly priced at about $60/case on average..


However, I have to point out some problems...especially with the last visit. I went to chrono my gun and found out masks aren't needed at the station...after a talk with one of the owners. The main path to a couple fields runs right by the business end of the station and the netting has large holes in it. Also, the parking lot is well within range of paint flying from the 'town' speedball field. In reality is that a problem? Probably not, but still disturbing.

Another issue is length of time between games. At first teams are separated pretty equally, but after a couple games people started walking off for air/paint making sides uneven. Rather than re-band a few people, we had to wait 20 minutes between games so the others could come back. Yes...I did time how long it took. I saw one kid taking a nap.

In conclusion, Skyline has a very laid back 'yeah, whatever' kind of feel to it. No rules are really enforced that I could tell. Masks were off all over the place and no one got sat out. Then again, sitting out means almost an hour wait. If you really enjoy artificial paintballing, this is your place. Just be sure to wear your mask all the friggin time.


Last edited on Thursday, March 4th, 2004 at 8:15 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

golai Sunday, December 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have only played at two fields ever. Skyline Paintball today and Pev's AG Paintball in Leesburg on numerous other occasions. I like Pev's slightly better, but mostly because it suits my style of play a little better in that the opposing teams don't start right up next to each other. For people who like to play more of a speedball type play with a variety of interesting scenarios, you might prefer Skyline.
Review: This is overall an excellent place to play. The staff seem very knowledgeable and friendly, although it did seem to take forever to get started. Once started the turnaround time between games was pretty fast.

Skyline clearly put a lot of thought and effort into the various fields. The "Town" is a mock town with proably in excess of 20 different building, some of which are two story. There are older automobiles and even a motorcycle to act as bunkers. The "Castle" is pretty interesting as well. It is a large Castle set on top of a hill and the attackers must get to the top. There are a number of more interesting fields as well.

The nice thing also is the pro shop is reasonably priced. My Evolution II hopper went down and I ended up purchasing a Halo B for the same price as I would have paid in my local paintball store.

As stated above, my style of play lends itself more to stalking type paintball games. So I would prefer to play where the opposing teams can't see each other when the game starts. Anyone who likes up front in your face speedball would really like Skyline and I would recommend traveling to get there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Iceberg22 Sunday, December 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
I played at VAG's and SKYLINE by far beats them[vag's] in prices, friendly service, refs and fields. kool
Review: Ok, this is my second time playing paintball ever. and this field was/is by far the best one out the two I played at. the first one was VAG's

- The refs were way more attentive towards barrel plugs and barrel condoms then VAG's.

- Prices were very nice. the cheapest 500 rounds I ever bought. VAG's charged $20.00 and SKYLINE charged like $17.00 I think or cheaper. I forgot the price exactly but I know it was way cheaper than VAG's

- The fields were VERY nice. even in the snow the fields were great! they have 1 huge town play field with cars and motorcycles, and houses n such. they have a huge constructed castle, nice woods ball with huge rocks to hide behind and many barrels, nice fortress to battle at. I havent played on the speedball field because dynasty and aftershock(i might be wrong it may be another team other than aftershock and dynasty) was practicing against each other today. but the field were very nice!

the weather although ultra cold made my feet and hands numb I still enjoyed myself alot. I would suggest this field over VAG's anyday! I still stand by my VAG's rating but this field is way better than VAG's. btw sue is the best field opp. I came in contact with to-date.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tanuki Sunday, November 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's -- has its own strengths, but I think I had more fun at Skyline
Review: NOTICE: My experience was only as a walk-on player. I don't know how this field is for serious players in tournament games.

The Good
--------------
It's a family-run place, like others have said. The owners are friendly and easy to talk to.

All of the fields are unique and very well-designed! None of the fields are just boring woods, most involve lots of cover and varied terrain. There is even a castle to attack & defend. The design of their fields is the best aspect of Skyline. I have never been to a field where so much work is put into building terrain for the player.

All of the playfields are near to the staging area, so you never have to walk very far to get the game started.

Skyline doesn't take a mandated lunch break, so there is no 60-90 minutes of downtime like there is at Pev's. You leave for lunch when you want, and come right back and just resume play.

Right down the road is a McDonalds, so you can go to lunch and back in 30 or 40 minutes easily.

At the staging area there are squirt bottles and paper towels to clean paint off of your mask. This is a great idea and I wish other fields would do this.


The Bad
--------------
Sometimes you get the feeling that the ref's just don't care. They are in no hurry to do anything and they are not as coordinated as they could be. A player was cheating (wiping off paint hits) and I couldn't even get him called out. He seemed to call himself out later.

The playfields are not consistently enclosed in netting. Stray balls are flying all over the place, including from the SpeedBall course INTO the parking lot. My car was parked most of a Sunday and took three hits on the hood and the windshield. Other cars had some hits too. That is NOT cool -- wear your mask almost everywhere you go -- walking around is not safe in most places.

Refs contradicting each other -- not very good communication between them over the start/end of games, or whether it is safe/not-safe to be wearing your mask at any given point. Refs don't carry walkie talkies, they just yell to each other -- very inefficient.

Very lax about using the chrono machines. You're supposed to but they don't check. They're relying on the players not to chrono their guns at 330 feet/sec. I think they ought to check those themselves like they do at Pev's.

No free water to drink -- no faucets or anything. There are soda & gatorade machines though.

They don't allow you to carry your extra paint in a bag or container unless you are WEARING it. I don't like this rule, I like to bring a container of paint and leave it next to the starting point and refill between rounds. I'd rather not have to wear 4 tubes on my back, but that's how they want you to do it at Skyline. They want you to leave it at the staging area (this is not convenient).

Overall
-----------
You might be a little concerned with the sort of half-baked attempt at putting up netting, and inconsistent and confusing goggles usage. If Skyline would try a little harder at safety they would easily be the best field I've been to. Because of safety concerns and the lazy attitude of the refs, I'll have to give them a 7 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

BigAlofSP Tuesday, November 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's
Hogback
Review: Skyline is a terrific field to play at. Everyone enjoys it from the newbies to the tournament players. The fields are great and the staff is friendly. Unlike some fields they have a full service pro-shop on site and if your gun goes down while you are playing it can be repaired and you can get right back into the game or they can work on it and get it back to you later. They have the best rec-ball fields around and two great airball fields - 5 man and 7 man.Their rec ball fields include The Town, The Castle, The Rocket Ship, Black Lagoon, Jungle, and newly renovated Helicopter Field. Playing at Skyline is aways enjoyable whether you are just starting out or if you are a hard-core 'baller.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media