paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Plex Paintball Field / Paintball Plex Paintball Field / Paintball Plex Paintball Field / Paintball Plex Paintball Field

Paintball Plex Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
16Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (260)357-1560
Address: 6485 Merchants Drive
Laotto, Indiana 46763
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
hicksr Tuesday, April 12th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 27th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I70, & Hamilton Ohio, Rush in Dayton, Woods ball courses in Ohio/Indiana,
Nothing close to this place,
Review: This place is great, I would give the facility 9/10, lighting is a little dim inside.
The out door fields are great, the varity of play is awsome,
The staff is wonderful 10/10, I e-mailed them w/ a list of equipment and they replied imediately with options and overwhelming customer service 10/10.
I only play here 2-4 times a year because of the drive but I hope to make it more often this year. If you have any thoughts of trying this palce out be it rec ball or speed ball make the trip.
I have been there once when there wasn't many speed ballers but every other time it has been good competition. The pro shop is one of the best I have been to 10/10. If you go check out their used items. You can really find some good deals. 09 virtue OLED for $60. I was amazed. When I questioned the owner he said if they get good deals they like to pass them along. This is why I will drive 2 hours when I need to drop a few grand. Thanks for the service!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RottenApple Sunday, December 27th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 26th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: This was the first time I have played indoors and at Paintball Plex and the experience was great. I traveled over 2 hours to get there but it was well worth it. I have my own equipment and it cost me $62.00 to play which I thought was reasonable. I got all day play, compressed air and 1 case of red legion paint for this price. The staff was very knowledgeable and helped me set up my gun when I didn't even purchase it there. They accommodated both speedballers and rec players by alternating games for each. They had a shooting contest with the winner getting tickets for the Rumble in Ft. Wayne. I will definitely be returning to play again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LD25Delta9 Sunday, February 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at Paintball U.S.A. and Paintball Park. Both of which could never have a chance of comparing to this amazing painball field.
Directions
to the Field:
From Glenbrook mall: Head west on Coloseum and take Lima/3 north till you hit 205. Take a left onto 205 and kablammo: You're there!
Review: OH MY GOODNESS! I was raised in the grimy dungeon of the Painball Park with a old pump tippman before the days of the 98 custom. If that doesn't tell you how much of an advancement has been made in the sport, I don't know what will!!!
This place was an amazing place to re-enter the sport of painball at. All of the players there seemed to have their own agenda going on and no one wanted to bother or split up my group, which was good for our group of 12.(all co-workers or friends and family of) The Refs there were very very courteous and had an uncanny attention to safety. It was made very aware to us of their committment to fun, but safety first. No accidentally getting shot in the face. Awesome! And I don't know what other people on this site are talking about, because the refs were very fair to us.
I especially loved the fact that I didn't have a grimey, greasy, looks-like-he-should-be-on-a-government-list-kind-of-guy trying to get me to spend more money on a better(laughable) rental kit. Instead we were greated by a very easy on the eyes(although a very ILLEGAL) young lady who was courteous and helpfull in every way. And everyone there seemed to have a good sense of humor, and NO EGO'S (the abhorable opinion of others, not the marker) If you had any kind of problem, the refs and techs were more than happy to assist, It seemed like there was a general sense of comradery amongst everyone, which can be a rarity with such a competitive sport.
Their rental packages and group rates are very comprehensive and try to include even the poorest of paintball fans. With the general semi-auto 98 all the way up to some of the latest and most advanced markers. AND FREE AIR!?!?!?! UNHEARD OF IN MY DAY!!! And the park exclusive paint was fairly cheap. I honestly couldn't tell you the difference in paint quality, though. Like I said, I grew up playing in a completely different atmosphere when there wasn't 9 and 10 yr olds talking like old pros of the sport: Which marker works best with which barell, at which trigger setting, with what dwell setting? What was your strategy? This was mine..... And the two kids I'm refferring to really did know their stuff! Kinda made me feel a little too old to be playing, or to be getting interested in the sport again, But I'm fricken superman, so I don't care! Which brings me to their pro-shop: F-Bomb Fantastic! The had everything from tourney Ego's to scenario A7's. And if they don't have what you want, they can get it. The techs were knowledgable, and due to my budget and wants, they were able to point me in the direction of the Invert Mini. Sweet... Especially for my 2-kid-having budget.
Outside of the staff and everthing that they had to sell, the facility itself was exceptional as well. CLEAN, seperate sex bathrooms, a concession stand, an amazing touney field with any bunker you can think of right down to inflatable tanks, that could be divided(it was) for rec players(like me) and because it's in laotto, you don't have to worry about being too close to the entrance while enjoying some well deserved nicotene. (Was able to use the building as wind cover in these harsh winter conditions)
The inside conditions were accomodating, as well. In the playing area, there were Park benches lined up along the wall that had more than enough space to put everybodyand their mom's gear ontop of. Even with a crapload of x-ballers there. Now granted, Im a dinosaur coming into a new sport of flying cars and markers with all sorts of bells and whistles, but the Plex made the transition comfortable and informative. I can't tell you all enough how much of an asset the Plex is to the paintball society of NE Indiana. With the horror stories I've heard and expierenced of all the other fields, this place is literally a Godsend to our Painball Scene, I'm so glad my Ol' Lady let me go. I hope I can con her into letting me go again and again, and again...etc... 10 out of 10 no doubt about it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mulletman72 Tuesday, February 3rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
apocalypse games - smaller outdoor
Review: to start off i have only played the 3 man tournaments they host with my team. we have gone down there a few times and they have had 2 devisions a rookie which is now D5 and an advanced which is now D4. they have always been pretty good on filtering out the D4 and higher teams out of the D5 tournaments. however they have recently switched to using the APPA site to register people in divisions. the last tournament there were guys that came from a D3 team called Heat. they do not however use the APPA so these guys could walk in as D5 players and take the tournament easily. some of the edge players that play the JV team even said they had seen these guys play D3 tournaments. but mike wouldn't listen to them and let them play.

**lets just say these guys swept the tournament not losing a single game! in fact the only time they lost more than one player in a match was in the finals when one guy didn't start on the box and i shot the other**


pros:
-the field is very nice
-turf from wall to wall
-psp inflatable bunkers (they do have others)
-2 crono stations
-proshop is amazing
-lots of hard and soft goods to choose from
-self air is extremely nice!

cons:
-refs they make bull crap calls and dont speak up on issues like not touching the box (the ref chased a guy from his dead box to our dead box as he rushed us off the break because he didnt touch the box then didnt speak up when another ref confronted the head ref)
-another with the refs they failed to pull 1for 1s and 3 for1s when they were needed!

-tournament levels D4-D5 who can play
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stunna1835 Sunday, February 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Apocalypse games- lot more relaxed and better environment for introducing younger kids to the sport
Review: i kno this review may seem like i absolutely hate the plex but i do not. They have a nice facility complete with xball reg fields and bunkers and a fully packed store with most of the esentials that u need to play. Their prices for paint on open plays is a decent price for the paint. and the self air is also a great aspect. now for the cons. the paint that is supplied now is fairly priced as i said for open play, but not for tournaments. the price for the paint is just to much for average paint. and the fact that it is field paint only is understandable cuz they say they dont want their bunkers staind. thats reasonable, but wat about the guys who bring in white fill. its the same color. i kno mike is tryin 2 make a profit but at least have like a 10 or 15 dollar fee for byop. u get ur profit and guys can play with paint that they can rely on. at tournaments there r many refs, but most of them r only there cuz they have 2 so that they can stay on the house team. there r only a couple of them that r decent and that actually want to do it and do it well.
The main con that mike needs to fix is his division rankings. this last tournament a team of 3 guys who play d3 xball with pb heat came and played in the rookie division. everyone knew that they were not rookies but yet mike still let them play cuz they were not registered d3 players in the appa. well u cant just go from the technical side. if these guys would have played decently and been respectful to the other teams that they beat, they may have been fine. but when they r wiping, playin on, and over shooting every team, teams start to think that they need to cheat just to have a chance to beat these guys. with guys like these in a rookie tourney, younger players will get discouraged because of how much they get shot and willstart to not enjoy the sport. and the more experienced rookie teams who r tryin to get started dont enjoy comin in and havein these guys act like this. they r already on a higher playin field then us, y shoud they cheat. it just shows wat kind of players they r. i play at apocalypse mainly all through the summer, and i kno that if these guys showed up and played like they did in this last tourny, tony, and he has b4, would have at least confronted the and said wither clean up ur play or ur outta here.

my overall rating of this field is average because yea they have a nice store, but this is a field rating, not store rating. i kno that due 2 this last tourney, my team will not b going to the plex to play tournies or open plays for a long time. not until mike either gets his refs motivated somehow to have better judgement on calls and until he starts takin a look at who he puts in his tournies. one team should not b the subject of bad call after. i dont wanna here that they r just bein sore losers. no not after teams that they played against even said that they got hosed. we were not the only team to complain about the calls and the teams. many other teams were pissed to c guys from a higher division takin pretty much easy money that they dont have a chance at cuz the calls seemed to b biased and this isnt the only tourny

p.s. there is a possibility that there will b videos on youtube of the reffing quality and calls at the most recent tournament
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

jjgoforward Sunday, February 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 31st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sycamore Sports (no longer in business)
Fort Knox, Proving Grounds, Lunkers and Bunkers
Directions
to the Field:
Easy to find-turn west onto State Road 205 off of State Road 3. The drive for the Paintball Plex is the first turn to the south after turning onto State Road 205.
Review: WOW! This is what a paintball field should be like! The Paintball Plex has it all. It has to be the premiere indoor paintball facility in the midwest. I have never experienced anything like the facilities, the organization, the courteousy, the helping attitude, the commitment to safety, the commitment to making sure everyone at every level has fun, .....WOW
First the check in was very smooth. They have a great system. The women at the check in counter were very friendly and knowledgable. They had all the prices listed very plainly so all could see and understand. The price was very reasonable. The field fee was $15 which included all day air. A case of Origin Combat Training paint was $44. I have certainly seen more $ acharged for lesser quality.
There were a huge number of tables and picnic tables to set up your gear. The staging area was spacious and clean.
There was very close scrutiny over the Chrono area. Every paintballer had to have a orange plastic ribbon tied to the marker to prove that the field velocity (285 fps) had been verified.
Barrel bag use is strictly enforced and barrel plugs are not allowed, because they can be shot out the end of the marker and thereby provide less safety.
Masked on was strictly enforced in any area where markers were going to be fired.
The games were all elimination while we were playing. They were all timed as well. This kept the games moving and ensured that you didn't waste alot of time waiting on games to begin. The refs divided the teams, and kept the sides pretty even all day long.
The field itself is HUGE by indoor standards. Later in the evening they divided the field into two seperate halves so some teams could practice X ball and the other half could be used for 3x3, 5x5 rec speedball. I must say that this was probably the funnest day of paintball my son and I have ever had. And we drove 2 3/4 hours to get there.
The number and variety of bunkers were outstanding. There was an inflatable fort in the center, with a couple of inflatable tanks on each side. There was the huge X, and a variety of sizes of temples, doritos, bricks, cans,etc. We played one game that had to be about 20 on 20 and there were stil plenty of bunkers for cover. Also the field was set up so that it was really hard to get hit off the break. This was especially encouraging for the newer players.
The turf is great too. I slide hard into bunkers. I never bruised a knee. The turf is so padded that it's almost better than playing outdoors. The traction was great too. I play with some turf shoes. They worked very well.
The refs were numerous and quite fair. They certainly took the expeience of the player into consideration when making calls. They don't count hopper or marker shots as out during open rec play. Again this was very encouraging for newer players.
They played a 5 foot surrender rule. This was a little closer than the 10 foot surrender rules that I have played with at other fields.
The snack area was at the check in. Again it was good quality and fairly priced.
And then there was the proshop! I have never seen so many high quality markers and nice accessories in one building in my life. There were great speedball markers as well as cool woodsball/scenario markers. Everything you could have wanted to repair or upgrade your marker were available. They had good quantities of high quality paintball clothing for speedballers and woodsballers. They also had the greatest variety of masks displayed that I have seen anywhere.
They buy and trade used markers also. The prices they offered seemed fairly competitve. They resold the markers there at the shop with a 30 day warranty so they had markers in everyone's price range. However, I must say that in the new markers they certainly stocked mainly markers in the $300 and over range.
To say I was overwhelmed by Paintball Plex is an understatement. If you are ever in the area and want to play paintball, I couldn't encourge you more heartily to try it out.
I only wish there was even half as good a facility in central Indiana where I live.
Last edited on Monday, February 9th, 2009 at 6:05 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tony2zmax Monday, January 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 2nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I generally try to play woods ball, so the only other fields that I’ve been to have been people’s homes. Woods ball is a lot slower and easier for me to play. I’m a fairly big guy and even getting into paintball was some what of a challenge for me. But now that I’m into it, I’m stuck for good. Like I had mentioned before, I generally play in people’s woods, however there was one time I went with a group of people to the now closed Chase Paintball. That was a horror-story and a half. Chase was dark, slimy, and unregulated; a terrible place to play in my opinion. That’s the only other professional field that I’ve played at, if you considered Chase to be “Professional”.
Directions
to the Field:
From Columbia City, take US 30 toward Fort Wayne.
Turn Left at the stop-light at 30 and 205.
Follow 205 through Churubusco and beyond.
Turn right before the Gas Station before 205 meets State Road 3.
Review: I was anxious to give this place a great review the first time I had played because I had a blast the very first time. However, I decided that one trip alone shouldn’t decide my whole outlook, and now that I’ve been there three times now, I feel that my review is more fair, than say someone who’s only visited once, and maybe had a bad experience.

For the first time I went, I wasn’t really sure if I wanted to go or not. I had heard enough about the Plex to know it was a speed-ball field. So I was pretty upset that my friend had dragged me into it. It was a “buy-one-get-one-free” day, so I didn’t have to pay for anything except the paint that my friend split with me. So twenty bucks for a day of paintball wasn’t bad. I soon found out that they required Compressed air, and all I had was Co2. I started to worry, before one of the nice girls behind the counter mentioned that they rented them for free, as long as there was some compensation exchanged, i.e. a driver’s license. So that was a relief, knowing I wouldn’t have to spend $150 dollars on an a new compressed air tank. As soon as I got it, I attached it to my remote line and went to go chrono. After failing twice, the ref told me to head out to the tech’s station, where he replaced the tank with a different one, got my gun to fire, and simply told me to ask for a different tank. Then with the new tank all aggravation had I built up with trying to get my gun to work had gone into my game, and I had loads of fun that day. It was a great first experience.

So the second time I go there, I know what’s going on, I have my previously purchased condom and am ready to play. The Plex was having a promotion event going on with one of the local radio stations and had advertised 98 cents for a day of play. I was pretty excited about that, but found that it came with a lot of ifs, ands, and buts. It was 98 cents per game, and a 98 cent rental fee for equipment, but you couldn’t use your own gun. It was a little aggravating that when I though I had known how the place did their business. We decided to leave, waiting for the promo to be over. Upon returning, there was another split case of paint, as well as an entry fee on my part, the rest of the day went alright. The field was different from the last time, focusing on castles and tanks, rather than having the large “X” in the center of the arena. Again, I had a good time then too. Lots of kids had stuck around after the promo, and it was too fun playing with them and their crazy strategies, most of the watching them get pegged was the most fun.

The third and most recent time was the second day of 2009, I had to fill out another safety flier, and was soon hit with the entire bill for a case of paint and admission. I hadn’t realized how much I couldn’t really afford to play here by myself until that moment. It was a shocker, but I still had lots of fun that day, everything went down the same way it had the last two times, minus the promo day. It was fun, and some people from the local paintball shop were lighting up the field. Me with my little Tippmann 98 Custom with a Cyclone feed and double trigger couldn’t even hope to compete with them. Generally they were split up, because it was obvious they’d rape with all of them on one team. The team division is sometimes a little swanky. The most obvious time would’ve been the second day, where it was jersey’s and camo versus anyone under the age of thirteen. That game was hilarious, but another swanky team division placed me in the firing line of some decent players on my third visit.

So over all, from my past three experiences at the Paintball Plex, I’m going to end up giving it a solid nine because of the way the teams are some times split up. The more regulars seem to have a way to influence the refs, but generally, when I was with a group of my friends, we were split up. I suppose many times teams of two or three people would ask not to be split up, which I can understand. Other than the bit of issues with the team division that I’ve personally experienced, many of the refs are funny, fair, and pretty cool guys. Their music selection isn’t that terrible either. (Thriller, Pepper, and Cotton-eyed Joe, to name a few). The tech that was able to point out it was the tanks fault, not my own was probably one of my best friends that day, and even after we’d been there a few times, people still were nice and greeted us, making sure we understood all the rules and regulations. Their show-room is impressive, their bathrooms are, well, actual bathrooms, and I’ve not had any concession stand food yet, but it was pretty popular during the promo event, or so I heard.

A well deserved nine, if there was something I would change about it, it would have to be the required purchase of their paint. If I could bring my own paint on, I would’ve shown up a few more times, and more than likely bought more paint from them if my other ran out. I know several people that wish they could b.y.o.p. But that’s something that I’ve gotten used to, so if Mike was looking for some suggestions, that would be about my only one. The place is really great.
Last edited on Monday, January 5th, 2009 at 1:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

][nvert Mini Wednesday, December 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 21st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Apocalypse Games
Review: This Place is awsome Huge Indoor Speedball Course. 25 people on a team it's crazy! THey have these inflatable army tanks that you can push around and hide behind there awsome. The turf is sweet it's all greesy cuz of the paint but it helps you dive into you're bunkers. They Have a nice store with Tons of guns and some upgrades, if you whant cool accesories for you're gun i wouldn't go there just go to PB Sports They have everything you need to customize you're S#!T. The Store in the plex has tons of guns though i mean WOW! If youre lookin for a used gun they have it or any gun it's there. This is the best field around unless you're into woodsball then ure outta luck but screw woodsball. 10! The Tanks are the coolest!! Also Giant X and castle like bunkers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IndianaGeologis Tuesday, December 30th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: This is a great indoor field. It is very large and they have interesting speedball setups. The day i went, one half was kinda a castle theme and the other was an "X" theme. There was only one field operating when I was there, but like i said it was large and supported 20 to 30 people per game. The referees are friendly and fair, and the other customers were eager to talk and have fun. The crowds were good, I like full games, and we had about 20 people for each game. The refs kept the games going every 10 min, leaving 5 min for them to pick up balls while people got their gear ready for the next game. The proshop was nice, although they don't carry all the necessary gear I believe they should, for instance i needed a spyder spring kit and they didnt have one! Anyways I really recommend this field. It is a great speedball field and I hear they will be adding an outdoor field this summer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyepber Sunday, December 21st, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
who cares
Review: i noticed every review on here was pretty much an advertisement and i wanted to say its not all what its cracked up to be.

pros-its indoors. bathrooms. nice store and concession stand. nice new bunkers. good netting. lots of refs [not exactly the greatest refs but a lot of them] self air [sucks if you dont know what your doing but its easy to do once you figure it out]


cons-its not heated, which causes the paint to be VERY BRITTLE. using Premium broke EVERY ball. the house team pretty much rapes newbies. the turf is very slick due to the oil from the paintballs. its all speedball so if you want variety dont go there. the prices are a little bit more than other fields in the area and the plex paint jams up guns and isnt cleaned thoroughly. the lighting absolutely sucks and if you are trying to take pictures they will not turn out. and they also crono you once and dont care about it the rest of the day and it being 285 or lower it is going to hurt terribly when getting shot within 7 feet. they also charged my friend 15 dollars just to look at his gun and told him its broken and they lubed it but when it was still broken another experienced paintballer tore it apart and realized mike never even opened the gun up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media