paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / New Breed Paintball Field / New Breed Paintball Field / New Breed Paintball Field / New Breed Paintball Field

New Breed Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
17Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 201-225-0500
Address: 625 Macopin Rd
West Milford, New Jersey 07480
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
zazor18 Thursday, November 22nd, 2012
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 27th, 2012
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The field is now called:

Battle Creek Paintball and Airsoft Fields


Safety: Pretty good with getting refs to cover games. Refs do check the standard things like barrel covers and the like. So this category is as expected for me.

Fields: There is a speedball field but most everything is woods ball. Wished they spent more time re-inflating the bunkers. I played on I believe three woodsball fields which were all pretty good. There's an incline on most the fields and you do notice the pull of gravity while playing. The castle field has this "feature" as well if you are the attackers.

Hours of operation: I think they close at 5pm on a Saturday. I'm lacking in this area of information.

Prices: A buddy of mine had coupons for this place so that day worked out real well for me in terms of cost.

Rules: They allowed full auto/ramping on the field.

Services/Proshop: No proshop noticed. Some knowledgeable staff and there may have been a gunsmith.

Staff: Friendly and helpful.

Refs: They were good. Only had an issue with allowing full auto with Ego's in a mixed group of people with rentals and non-Ego markers.

Players: Mixed crowd of first timers and experienced players.

Facilities: Typical outdoor field with porto potties. They use only HPA so no CO2 for those who only use that. You fill yourself (3000 and 4500 psi stations).

Food: There is a food shop with sandwiches and pizza.

Overall I would give this place a 7.0 - 7.5. The speedball field was soggy but you can't blame them on it raining. But it was very muddy in many spots on the field where there were patches in the artificial turf. They could use a bit of grooming of the outdoor field but no necessary. Mentioning this because it was brought up and figured it would be a concern for others. I didn't quite like the fact that you had full auto/ramping allowed on the field where newer players and players who don't have the expensive gear share the field. Staff was nice which is a big plus.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SOAPWolf Monday, April 25th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 16th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I just started a mil-sim woodsball team and took the boys here to get some realistic training in. I had to say with its price I was satisfied but not impressed. We all pack our own hardware so we only paid $35 and we brought our own paint, which gives them points. The management and staff was phenomenal. Very nice, professional, casually friendly and makes you feel welcomed. It was raining when we went so some of our weapons malfunctioned. They replaced the o-ring on my remote line for free and in seconds, and patched up a few of my buddies' guns too for no cost. Definitely an A for hospitality.

The fields was where they lost points. They only have 5 and they are not very big nor warrants much activity. They were challenging but not in a good way. There was a speedball field called "The Town" which was probably the most fun (and because there were no Boston Southies there). But some of the fields were uneven as one side had higher ground, and some of it just had a bunch of stuff dumped in it to serve as obstacles making it difficult to utilize tactics and strategies. The refs were cool but they do not do a thorough job of monitoring who is hit and who is not. Not that I don't appreciate the lack of breathing down our necks but it becomes a problem when there are wipers and blind firing.

Would I go there again? Yes, but not to have a good time. I would go there merely to train serious guys but if you're new to it, this would not be a good place I can foresee a rookie having a "good time" and encouraging them to do it again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

1MPUR1TY Saturday, November 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 27th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
old E-JAMs (indoor), Skirmish, ABC Paintball, Cousins

I've also played at NVP in Rochester NY and Fox 4 in Upton MA
Directions
to the Field:
Hardest part to locating the field is finding the turn-off on Macopin road. Look for a giant NewBreed Paintball sign, or a similar sized yellow/orange sign for the camp that's in the same area (it should be a gated entrance/exit, you'll know it when you see it)
Review: Field overview:
It's important to note that there are indeed 8 fields at Newbreed Paintball; 4 main fields that are played constantly, and 4 less popular fields that aren't requested as often (too long of a walk maybe?)

Main Fields of Play: Junkyard, Castle, Crossfire, X-Ball (currently being rebuilt from the ground up. small CQB field put up temporarily)
Lesser known Fields: D-Day, Log Jam, Big Woods, Skull Mountain

Safety:
Let it be noted that every time I've been to NewBreed Paintball, I've been informed of safety protocalls; IE when to have my mask or barrel bag on. I do notice however, that a lot of new players are VERY quick to forget these lessons after playing a round of Junkyard. Safety directions are posted all over the fields; refs and regular players usually remind new players to follow the rules however some people just never learn. That's not something that can be pinned on the field, but the sport as a whole. If you're considering picking up the sport of paintball, be sure to know when you should have your mask on!

Prices:
You get the best deal on everything, hands down. Paint is fairly cheap and getting cheaper, all day air is convenient, and CO2 fills are a minimal charge. Also note: If the manager gets a discount on a product, he's always sure to give you the best deal allowable by the manufactures....don't ask him for a discount, he's already giving you tons of them.

Proshop:
Nothing to brag about, however they're able and willing to fix just about anything. If you manage to break your gear towards the end of the day however, your best bet is to bring it into the store (in Fair Lawn) ASAP.

The Players:
A lot can be said about a field by simply looking at the people who regularly play there. You'll know who the regulars are when you see them at New Breed. They're always willing to stop and help you out if you need anything......they're also the kind to draw a crowd. One more thing can be implied by looking at the players on the field; Some of the regular players work at New Breed! This may sound surprising, but I've always felt that if ones employees come their own field to play, it's a good sign that you're doing it right.

Staff/Refs:
The staff are all paintball players themselves, and while they may each express their own opinions on marker setups, they tend to more readily give out better information than the staff at other fields.

Food:
All food on site can be found at the Snack Shack just outside of the Proshop. From what I gather, the Snack Shack is un-related to the field itself (separate vendors?)

Overall Impressions:
NewBreed Paintball has something to offer for first time players and experienced tournament veterans alike. Although the tourney players don't have a familiar X-Ball field to play on at the moment, they have found a new home in the Junkyard.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jdogshoots Thursday, October 28th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 23rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ABC after leaving New Breed - New breed is not a paintball facility so there is no comparison to be made.
Review: Visiting from Miami my friend and I went to New Breed based on an ad and a lot of phone hype from one of the employees.

The reality:

8 fields DO NOT exists, more like 3 that they actually play. The 3 functioning fields are garbage. No Speed Ball Field. No Safety. Don't ask anyone anything because they don't know anything. No customer service, no professionalism. Total disaster and waste of $100.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

FeXoNe Monday, October 18th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 16th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
et paintball
Review: Im defintely disappointed in this paintball field. First off, the young lady working behind the counter is great, shes focused, and very helpful but shes the only one working the register. And theres only 1 register. This isnt good when a group comes in and theres 15 or 20 people. They must have atleast 2 people working groups and walk ons etc... The refs... Like most other fields most refs are kids. They were good with the paint checks, but as far as safety with barrel bags or masks. That weekend i cant tell how many people were in the dead zone or walking off the field without there barrel covers on. Same as the masks.... Another great issue, there chrono has no back net., and there a field right behind the chrono zone. So when playing that field you can have the people whos chrononing shooting you in the back. Another : THERES NO BOUNDARY TAPE ON ANY FIELD !!!!!!!!!! Another : they dont provide arm bands to teams. As I walking on the field your told team 1 or team 2. Imagine the confusion !!!!!!!!

This place doesnt have potential, and almost no fields. No speed ball what so ever cause its not summer time ( what kinda crap is that !! ?? ) Safety was a issue, alot of confusion with their disorganization.

The only only postivie thing i can mention is the price, and byop. Other wise dont waste our money, theres plenty of other fields in NJ. This field gets a -5 stars. !
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jweb617 Sunday, March 21st, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
There are three other fields in West Milford but only went to this one
Review: I went to the field for about 3 and 1/2 hours and played some really good games. I guess I'll use the guidelines.

Safety: The safety portion of the field was descent I'd give them a 2.8/5. The referees were always watching to make sure barrel covers were on before you left the actual field. A couple things that bothered me was that there was dry firing in the parking lot by players that should have known better and no one was yelled at. Also, there is no verbal safety briefing whatsoever but a large yellow rules sign that is pretty long and players can obviously choose not to read it at all. A couple smaller signs that said things like "goggles on" and "barrel condoms on" had been painted with balls and were falling apart making them almost unreadable. Also, most players did not keep their safetyís on while outside the field, which made for an unexpected shot or two every now and then. Chronographing is done at 280 FPS but a player could easily walk on the field with higher if he told the referees that he/she had done it themselves without the refs watching at the target range.

Fields: The fields are pretty good. I played on Junkyard (a hybrid wood/speedball field), Castle (an all ground level fort), and Log jam (a true woodsball field with little in the way of cover and several logs piled up for bunkers). In addition the refs would occasionally combine fields making for a pretty big game. All of the fields are pretty well balanced and each side has its pros and cons.

Hours of operation/Prices: They are open every single weekend throughout the year from 8:30am to 4:30pm. I arrived at 9:30am and was really happy that I didn't come earlier as playing didn't start until 10:30am. At least one ref was really late getting there so there were at least 25 players sitting around waiting to play, myself being one of them. Pricing is not the cheapest. They just switched back to BYOP and it is $35 for admission and all day air as stated on their website. One thing I wasn't thrilled about was that the man at the counter tried to bump the price up to $45 on me claiming that it was 35 for admission and 10 dollars for air. I had my own air with me so I ended up paying just the 35 dollars. If I hadnít done my research I would have been out the 10 bucks.

Rules: They are standard stuff, players don't always follow them though as I explained earlier.

Staff: There were at least 5 or 6 people working there but it still seemed that they were understaffed. I actually had to go back inside to ask where the chronographing area was as I didn't see a target range or anything and the woman at the counter gave me a blank stare and wasn't sure. She asked another employee and even he was unsure where it was but pointed me in the right direction. I was more than a little confused as to how two people who work at a paintball field would be unsure where the all-important chrono area was located.

Overall: I might go back again but I would also like to visit some of the other fields in the area as this one was a little too unprofessional for my tastes.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

junman Friday, September 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 13th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
ABC Paintball(horrible place)
Directions
to the Field:
West Milford after you see the sign for NB its a quick left by a big sign that shows a Lake.
Review: Fields are great!
-junkyard
-castle
-d-day
-capture the flag
-xball
-log jam
Refs are good, many players show up. On a real nice weekened(weather wise) there will be able 50-60 players there. Last time I remember having a 25 on 25 D-day
$35 all Day Air/Co2 Free refills
Theres a nice snack shop that makes cheeseburgers, hot dogs, etc.
Players of all skill go there, age and size.
B Y O P
8:30 to 4:30
GO IF YOUR INTERESTED IN PLAYIN PAINTBALL ON THE WEEKENDS, THIS IS A GREAT PLACE TO START/PLAY
Last edited on Friday, September 18th, 2009 at 8:48 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

FrankB36 Tuesday, July 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 19th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ZJ Paintball
Shooters
Review: This field is amazing, it covers any and all bases for a paintball field
-safety is enforced well.
-their are 5 or 6 fields one being an all grass speedball field with inflatable bunkers.
- hours are pretty convenient 8:30-4:30 although when i went the speedball field did't open until around 10:30.
-prices are pretty fair it cost me $94 for entry and a case of mid level paint which isn't too bad, but if you can find good paint deals online its BYOP.
-rules are fair.
-service is amazing, can help with almost any problem you might have.
-staff is extremely friendly and generous.
refs are fair although in the games i played half the time an extra player would ref.
-players are kind and respecting, usually.
- food is available at a small snack stand stocked with various food and drinks with fair prices.

I will definitely be going back soon
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hockeystar17mnj Monday, July 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Depot
Directions
to the Field:
See Website.
Review: First off all I can say is that I'm sold on this place. I took my dad paintballing on the 4th and it was a blast.

Safety- Mask & Barrel plug/cover required and enforced. If you forget once or twice they wont bust your butt about it but they make sure everyone has their proper safety gear.

Fields- I would have to say that they are above average. I played the junkyard, the castle, & d-day. Those seem to be their best fields, and quite honestly you could play the junk yard all day and not take the same route. I was unable to get on the speed ball field due to the number of teams practicing, but it was a really nice all grass field with inflatable bunkers.

Hours of Operation- Works for me. We got there at 930 AM and everything was setup.

Prices- Better than most honestly. It was $35 for myself due to me having my own gear, which might seem a little high but remember PB Depot charges $25 for admission and then charges you $10 for 4 air fills. while New Breed charges 35 for admission and free air ALL DAY which i think is awesome, and for $2 more you get free Co2 all day which I haven't seen anywhere else. For my dad who didnt have anything it cost me $80 for a tippman 98, with hopper, Co2 Tank, Mask, admission & half a case of paint. Which is the best deal I have ever seen at a field. And they let you bring your own paint!!

Rules- They are more than fair with the rules of the field.

Services- I wasnt in need of any repairs or assistance this time around but their pro shop seems adequate.

Proshop- They have a few high end markers on the walls for show, and have a fully stocked parts bin including spring kits, squeeges, tanks, etc.

Staff- The proshop guy was really nice and a cool guy. Nice to talk to and knew his stuff when it came to paintball.

Refs- really cool guys.They all seemed to be paintballers who really enjoyed the sport and even helped out some of the younger players that day. I forgot to put on the barrel cover twice during the day and they just reminded me and didnt yell or get pissed. They asked everyone what they wanted to play and allowed the players to choose.

Players- There wasnt alot of people, maybe 50 in total but the ones I played with were nice people, enjoyed the sport and didnt get all pissy when they were tagged out. There was one kid who was new to the sport and didnt know about not wiping when he got hit but i called him on it and he didnt do it again. The teams that were there were more than happy to play with the people who weren't on a team and even helped the newer players learn to communicate with their team.

facilities- Not too many around, I didnt have to use the bathroom but I believe they have porta-jons which is just fine as long as you dont have to sit on them.

Food- They have a small concession stand with food, drinks and tables to sit at. Prices are about average, they dont over charge on water which was $2 for a large bottle which I thought was average.

Overall I think I have found a field I will keep going to time and time again. I really enjoyed the overall atmosphere and everyone there was pretty cool.
Last edited on Monday, July 6th, 2009 at 7:33 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HiredJP Sunday, May 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish - Great fields but it is FPO and $80-$100 for a case
Paintball Depot - West Milford - It has been a few years since I went here but I did enjoy it and plan on returning to check out the fields.
Fireball Mountain - Old Bridge - I haven't been able to try all of the fields or play that much here because it was raining and the fields were nasty
Directions
to the Field:
GPS or Map Quest does the trick
Review: I have to write a review about this field. This was one of my best experiences with paintball. I don't even know where to begin so I will just use guideline tips.

Safety - Enforced Enforced Enforced - Everyone has to chrono. I took my mask off 3 times outside the safety net and 3 times I got a shout to get that mask back on. Barrel condoms were strictly enforced and I saw the refs check everyone's gun before allowing us to take the masks off. All walk-on's play games together so we had a group of about 8 10-year-old first timers come out, and the ref made sure that they had a great first experience with paintball. They don't take kindly to bonus ballers (especially if it was against the little guys, but they were doing it the most. If someone has there gun up don't shoot them there OUT.

Fields - I had a blast and enjoyed all the fields. Junkyard - Castle - The woodsball fields were awesome as well

HOURS-Saturday & Sunday 8:30-4:30

Prices - 35$ with your own gear - $80 for rentals and 1000 rounds -
BYOP is awesome because you can get paint cheaper at different places, but they several different quality paintballs competitively priced

Staff/Services - This is were they REALLY got me. The staff here was awesome. I had a air leak in my gun and brought it right to Joe and he fixed it in no time replaced an o-ring on my bolt and lubed up all the o-rings for me. I didn't like how he said my dangerous power g3 SE sucks but he also runs the shop on 17 gets awesome prices on guns that would cost me 1500$+ compared to the 400$ I spent on my sexy G3 SE. Listen to this one. Me being the dumb ass that i am, locked the keys in the trunk of my buddies car. One of the young guys working at the field was like keys locked in the car ehh? Minutes later we had 3 guys helping us shimmy the car lock open with their kit they have just for that circumstance. Guys I really appreciated that, that was huge. At the end of the day i tried giving the ref a tip because they did awesome, and they wouldn't take it. Usually tips obviously come from private parties, but dang if someone hands me a 20$ I would say thanks hope to see you next week ha ha.

Proshop - Their Proshop is located on 17, but they had all necessities needed to play paintball at the field.

Players - Ranged from Newbies-Division1
Competition was great and they split teams every game and try to make them more even.

Facilities - They dont exist there the have Porter johns. Do not plan on taking a crap there.

Food - Nice little food spot in case you need some grub

All and all I have played a lot of paintball and this was one of my best experiences and I will defiantly be returning. JUNE 6th 2009 THEY ARE PUTTING UP THE AIR BUNKERS on there all grass field. By the way I got a sneak peak and saw them testing the bunkers and placing them on the field. IT IS GOING TO BE SEXY. I suggest getting over to this field you will not be disappointed no matter what skill level you are.
Last edited on Monday, May 25th, 2009 at 6:35 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media