paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Tree Huggers Paintball Field / Tree Huggers Paintball Field / Tree Huggers Paintball Field / Tree Huggers Paintball Field

Tree Huggers Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
17Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 812-382-4419
Address: 133 E County Road 450 N
Sullivan, Indiana 47882
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
SDVertigo Wednesday, May 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Valley, Cliff's Edge, Paintball Barn, and Silver Spur Splat. Tree Huggers tops all.
Directions
to the Field:
Sign 3 miles West of US 41 at Sullivan off St Rd 154
Review: Tree Huggers is an exellent enviroment for the pro or the first timer. The field meets everyones playing style. They have an air ball course a tire course and a plastics course for speedball. They also have a f two story fortified tower in the woods to play attack and defend games. There is also a large 10-30 person spool course in the woods for parties to play if they want.
The field is undergoing some projects such as several fortified positions place stratigically throughout the woods in preperation for scenarios. There is also a castle underway. There is also a great new proshop.
The pricing is great $5 field fee, $10 all day air, paint from $40-60 a case and rentals with 500 paint for $33 (lowest prices in the area and high quality paint.
Paul is the best field owner ever, he strives to make you happy and will do his best to help you with gun issues or if you want to buy something he doesn't stock he will gladly order it for you.
The field caters to church groups and parties, they have rv hook ups and tent sites. The enviroment is great for children everyone does their best to not use foul language and it makes for fun games. The field is also great for team practice.
Tree Huggers is great just remember to call in advance and book your party, Saturdays are the best days to play because a lot of people usually come out.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fpaplayer12 Wednesday, December 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
Go to Treehuggerspaintball.com for direction, pricing, and pics
Review: Treehuggers is probably one of the best place to play, not just because of the fields but also the owner Paul is one of the nicest guy that you will ever meet. Good pricing on everything there. Field fee is $5, All day air is $10, They carry Xball, nitro duck, and draxxus paint. And have guns, gun parts and almost everything else, and if they don't have it they can probably get it for you. There are many fields including a blow-up speed ball course, a tire course, a hyper ball course (barrels and tubes), wood course, and a woods speed course. There is also a castle in progress. The pro shop is also a working in progress but is coming along nicely.

Overall i love this field and i don't think that there is a better field owner that Paul. Just call Paul up and make some plans to play because he is only open by reservation. Plus the best team plays there FPA.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 6th, 2006 at 3:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

EliteOutlaw Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not played at any that are close to tree huggers. But out of all the field I have played on this one is at the top of my list, and is a must to stop by.
Review: Tree Huggers has many different kinds of fields to try from. They have a couple speed ball(Air up, tire field-WHICH IS COOL-and a barrel field. Also there is a woods speed ball that has many places to hide(including a look out point). Also a couple nice woods ball fields.

The pro shop is alright but the Owner Paul is one of the best Paintball field owners you could ask for. He is nice and actually cares if you are having a Good, Safe , time. And will do anything to assist you.

The price to play(field fee is good)
all day air is like only $10. C02 or HPA
Rentals are good prices with good guns.

And paint is very reasonably priced from ok paint like nitro all the way up to X-ball silver,(also offers a winter ball that works great in cold temps.

Overall this paintball field is good. Good diversity from about 2-3 Good woods ball courses and about 3 speed ball course. Good for parties, practice or just having fun.
This is a must for first timers and Teams that want to come and have a good practice.

It could improve by better ground keeping but I am not complaining.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5IN Tuesday, November 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I was also at the scenario event this past saturday, and i was there two weeks ago with my team, Indiana Shockwave.

I will have to say, Paul is one of the best paintball field owners of all time. He's nice, funny, plays paintball, and really enjoys running the field. If anyone had a problem with thier guns, he was always the one to help fix it, and if he couldn't, he would loan you one of the shop's guns for the duration of the day. He always had extra parts, and is very knowledgeable when it comes to fixing guns. When our team needs to practice, there is no doubt that Treehuggers is hwere we'll go. There is also another team there, FPA, who is great to practice with, and fun to be there with.

The scenario Event was a blast, and i didn't even play. I was a ref, and i helped out in the shop a little. I have to give the staff props, it was a lot to put together to start a scenario event like this, and it definitely was a success. From what the others i saw there had said, they had fun, and look forward to coming back in the future. Treehuggers is a great place to play, with its diverse woods courses and speedball fields. If it wasn't for treehuggers, i do not think our team would be half as good as they are.We appreciate everyone there for their generosity and the ability to play. I look forward to coming back this wekend to practice before our tournament.


I definitely reccomend this field to the beginner player, or the experienced, looking to have an awesome time at a great price.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

j-zilla Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: November 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: ok, i am posting this because I WAS the general for the Terrorist group during the Scenario. Thats right, i am the same person that in the review below you will read about. Just as a disclaimer on the review below. That didn't quite happen like that. there was a radio mix up. I thought the person on the radio said "wait till the other team gets to there base, then restart" so we was "chilaxin" and 2 people were cleaning their mask out of the base. I admit they should have been in the base, but when i spotted the other team on the hill, i yelled "guys behind us, you two mask on and in base!" so it wasnt like everyone had there masks off


anyways. Treehuggers paintball is one of hte best fields i have played on. True it is the only actaul paintball place i have played on, but KUDOS goes to Paul and everyone else who helps him. He has a wood speedball course (Rec course) another woods course. A tire speedball course, a blow-up field and is working on a castle, a weed field, a barrel field, and has pleny of land to grow on.

The scenario was a lot of fun, but it was our first. so of course there was kinks. We didnt finish the castle, we didnt have enough refs, the safety netting wasnt up, and we were working on the whole field the night before and the morning of. With that said, i know everyone i talked to had fun. We basically combined 6 courses together, with the castle in the middle. All around the castle were bunkers. to the castles north was a weed field that Paul had made paths through, the south was the rec field, the east had the blow-up field then the tire field, and the west had the woods. the two bases were located to the north west and south west of the castle. So hopefully now you can try and understand to scope of the field.

Though i had put my heart and soul into the scenario for a month (thats right, we worked for a month on it, thats why so many things weren't done) i would have to rate the game as an 8 out of 10. it was fun, but room to grow. I plan on putting the next one together in the Spring. Hopefully the castle will be done, the netting up, the bases worked with, and more refs. If you want info on it, my email is brphillips@joink.com
send me something, and i will try to keep you informed. Also any good ideas for objectives or respawn, anything would be muchly appreciated.



as for Treehuggers as a whole, i would give a 9/10. I dont believe in perfect, but Treehuggers and Paul are about as cloase as you can get. prices good, Super-dooper frielndly owner, and always fun times
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Novus Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: -Scenario Game-

I was fortunate to visit this park on their first scenario game. It was a very fun experience however, in my opinion, even with the creativity and originality that their games were obviously filled with there is still plenty of room to grow. For the first few hours, one team obviously had an advantage in player skill. In fact, until the time I left, the weaker team did not even seem to have a chance to recover from a flawed spawning system. Players were getting shot at before reaching their official "re-insertion" point.

-Rules-

The rules of the game as well as rules for the field were very brief and didn't seem to go beyond common sense. I felt also that the referees were explaining the rules in a way that an experienced player would understand. This didn't bother me personally but it was very clear later in the game that some of the newer players were not following the rules. In fact, during a game, I and another player tried to ambush our opponents but had to tell them to put their masks back on thus ruining a possible game turning maneuver. It was also discerning that the General and the Ref who were 5 feet from the offenders didn't seem to care until we spotted them.

-Safety-

Lack of Refs in a 20 vs. 20 person game was a big hassle. Paint checks were rare. Excessive shooting in the staging area. Barrel plugs and condoms were somewhat enforced meaning that on more than one occasion i felt like i should wear my mask everywhere except at my car to avoid accidentally staring down a barrel when i turn around. Netting was not secure thus every once in a while a paintball would fly into the staging area where masks were not being used.

-Fields-

The field total area for playing a scenario game was perfect. A wide variety of speed ball courses including air bunkers and a tire course. The wide range of fields offer everything you could ask for. However, even though the fields show great potential, there was a very un-tidyness too it. Rusted metal lying on the ground covered in thick, dead leaves, Broken pieces of wood from bunkers made it a chore to not slide into a potentially dangerous obstacle. Granted my visit was in the late fall, the fields were cluttered with leaves and broken branches. *Do NOT play this field without protective footwear i.e. Lace up boots that come up above the ankle!!!

-Services-

I was able to meet Paul, the owner. I must say, this guy shows a great dedication to the satisfaction to his costumers. My marker would not stop shooting above 300 fps and Paul was very understanding and offered me a tippmann to play with while he would look over my gun, Both free of charge. When it was time for me to leave, even though my gun wasn't fixed, he offered me advice on how to fix it. Candy and drinks are provided and the day i went for the scenario game, his family had prepared a delicious meal for all of the players.

-Overall-

Even with a few flaws here and there with safety and field work, It is obvious that Paul certainly has his heart in the right place. From everyone I talked to it seemed that no matter what team you were on or how often you visited this park or any park, EVERYONE had a fun time. I would rate this field a 8/10 for needs improvement but is certainly better than almost all other paintball parks this side of Indiana
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snappin89 Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: September 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Directions
to the Field:
Go to Treehuggerspaintball.com for directions, pricing, hours, costs, and fields!!!
Review: Im rating this field a 10-10. The owner Paul is the nicest guy u could every ask to run your local field. Easy to get along with, he cuts you breaks, and he always makes sure ur comfortable and ready to go everytime you visit. If your having trouble with a gun he is willing to help, if he cant solve the problem he'll hook u up with some1 who can help you. Need a part for your gun? if doesn't have it he can usually get it to you cheaper than your local shop can, so don't just go up to treehuggers as a field also treat it as a shop. Paul can get your parts at a better price and you'll be helping by supporting your field.
Why is it a 10?
-Best owner.(PAUL)
-Good rentals
-Great slection of fields
-Amazing prices
-Flexible hours
-Great Team (Team EMINENCE)
-Great guys

Thanks paul for dedicating your time in the field and in satisfying all of your customers.
-Jordan
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Deception Sunday, September 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Silver Spur Splat - Princeton
Private Woodsball Locations
Directions
to the Field:
From either North or South of Sullivan on US 41 you are going to want to drive toward the intersection in Sullivan with all of the fast food restaurants. Turn West and follow that road out toward CR450. When you find it, there will be a pink arrow pointing left, on your left. That road will take you right into it.
Review: -Safety-

There were no dedicated on-duty referees while we were there, but I am informed we played outside of normal business hours, which could be an explanation for it.

Netting was affixed around every field I saw, expect the big tire speedball course; however there were poles erected to which netting could be attached in the future. I actually got eliminated at 6 feet away, because a car passed and I wanted to not risk shooting it by mistake instead of hitting the player who's back was to the road.

-Fields-

From what I saw, there was an airball speedball course, a woodsball course with quite a view makeshift bunkers setup, a standup speedball course with a bunch of monsterous tires stacked up for cover, and another field next to the Airball course.

Netting surrounded the airball course, but I noticed none on any of the other fields.

-Hours of Operation-

The field currently operates by reservation only, as Paul has other things that require his attention. It's kinda a bummer if you're looking to drop in on some pickup players, but if you have a group together, it's great.

-Prices-

Paul charges a $5.00 Field Fee (not bad considering I'm sure it goes right back into the field) and requires that you purchase his paint. Paint runs fairly cheap there and air isn't too expensive either. He offers packages of all-day air for both Compressed Air and CO2.

-Rules-

There really wasn't any clear announcement anywhere of the rules, so your stuck using common sense and your best judgement.

-Services-

He offers CO2 fills, Compressed air and Nitro. There are also rentals available, Piranha's and Tippman's.

-Proshop-

The Proshop is a work in progress. Doesn't offer a lot on accessories and stock, but the essentials are present.

-Staff-

Paul is a very friendly person. He really goes out of his way to take care of his customers.

-Referees-

There really weren't any designated referees present when we went. I'm told that we were a little early for normal business hours, so that may be why. We basically had people who were standing out start the games and somewhat officiate.

-Players-

Treehugger's is apparently putting together a team called Eminence. For the most part, the players that I knew were associated with the team were friendly and easy to get along with. One of the players not associated with Eminence did however attempt to scalp a pair of Diablo gloves my friend left sitting on the counter. My buddy's outspoken girlfriend made sure that they were returned, and we let Paul know. You can't really control what kind of people show up at a public field, although.

-Facilities-

I can't comment on the restroom situation because I had no need to seek it out while we were there.

-Food-

He sold candy bars, and had a couple vending machines for drinks. Candy was $1.00, drinks were $1.25, reasonably priced.

--Summary--

I gave this field an 8/10, mostly because the reservation-only situation makes it hard to make a playing trip on a whim and expect enough players to make good games. If you've got a group, this place is a must to see. Just give Paul a call and see if he's available to set something up for you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

plast Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Most fields that I have played at around the area have now closed.
Directions
to the Field:
www.treehuggerspaintball.com would have better directions than I can offer.
Review: UPDATED FOR ACCURACY

Customer Service 9/10
The owner, Paul, is a great guy. He is very friendly and seems to enjoy what he does. He has really bent over backwards to make sure everyone is having a great time. Couldn't ask for more.

Field Setup 5/10
There are 4 fields that are used. The tire field is full of old tractor tires and has a speedball feel to it - as long as it doesn't become too cluttered with tires it will be a good field. The wooded speedball field looks like a trash dump and needs some work. The woods field I will leave others to comment about - not much of a woodsballer. The blow up field is very nice when its setup, which is rare.

Safety 2/10
There is rarely anyone watching the games let alone enforcing the rules. It is very unclear to players where the boundaries are to have your mask on and barrel condom on.

Pro Shop 3/10
The building has real potential but right now is cluttered and does not offer much product.

Prices 8/10
Tree Huggers is competitively priced. $5 field fee, $10 for all day air. Paint is kept reasonable.
Last edited on Sunday, August 6th, 2006 at 3:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

isujaredu Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the first field and probably only one I'll visit!
Directions
to the Field:
Take US 41 to Sullivan and then turn onto highway 154 west. It'll be about 10 minutes on 154 and to the left. The signs are easy to follow.
Review: Okay, this is the first field I've ever been to. We've played for years, but we've been in woods playing at friend's house. I've read the reviews about this place and since it's only 20 minutes from my house, I couldn't say no. We loaded up our gear and headed out. When we get there, we see TONS of cars which was awesome. They were having a SIPL tourney on the speed ball fields so we got entertained by watching them play. Now we were concerned because it seemed it was tourney only day. We walked to the pro shop and a guy comes up to us and asked us how we were doing and said he'd get us started. This guy was none other than Paul. He offered us AMAZING PRICES ON PAINT AND AMAZING QUALITY PAINT! He made sure to get the most out of air fills and took his time and did it right. So we hung around a few minutes and another guy comes up to us and asked if we were ready. We did a 2 on 2 in their woods ball field, one of their many fields out there. The guy explained to us everything we needed to know and we were ready to go. So after our game, other players said they'd like to put us in their games so now we were playing 5 v 5. The players were great and helpful and we had fun talking about many stories. Paul came out and made sure we were doing fine. When we needed a tool or a cloth, Paul had it out there in a matter of seconds. This guy knows how to treat customers right! He does have a proshop up and running now with some items in there and if it's not there, this guy can get it for you. Every Saturday and Sunday 9am to dark the field is open and if you call with groups, he'll hook you up on weekdays as well. He lent us barrel plugs since we forgot ours at home and didn't hesitate to help us in any way possible. If you are ever in Sullivan, Indiana, stop by TreeHuggers!!! I know I'll be upgrading and getting into paintball more serious now that these guys got me and awesome return from retirement!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media