paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Triggertyme Paintball Field / Triggertyme Paintball Field / Triggertyme Paintball Field / Triggertyme Paintball Field

Triggertyme Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
36Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 429 Koon Store Road
Columbia, South Carolina 29203
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
impulseben Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adrenaline PB
Review: Definitely a redneck place. There isn't any good speedball playing at this field. And the woodsball fields aren't that great. They could definitely use some better made bunkers and mounds. They spend time on one or two places on the fields (like castles and bases) but the rest of the fields are just open and have skinny trees. There needs to be more work done on placing bunkers across the fields...like piles of limbs, or mounds of dirt.

The guy running the place that day seemed pretty cool, and there wanting to get more speedball fields put up because they're wanting to host a CFOA. But this redeneck trailor park (everything is run from inside old-ass trailor), is far from being capable of holding a CFOA.

For the money they charge you here, they should have way better fields and a MUCH better proshop! They don't even have an air fill station for nitrogen, and can't offer all day air for em. They're 5 bucks everytime you wanna nitro fill. That's just outrageous.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

UlikeGirls2 Saturday, November 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Atlanta
Paintball Charleston
MAXIMUM PAINTBALL
GA Paintball 2.0
Paintball X
Alamo Paintball
PBC
Ultimate Paintball
Review: The Good: Fields were great, awesome airball. A few helpful people. Nice refs.

The Bad: I came here last year (Never found time to write a review). I guess my only problem was with the owner. I group of first timers are gathered around the staging area chating, and one compliments my gun (of course I say thanks man) but the owner steps in with "that gun ain't nothin its prolly only worth 300". Three hundred is a little low for a strange impulse in my opinion but I was like yeah ok buddy. He proceeds to pull out his LCD Angel (Just like the back up I had in my bag) and responds with now this is a gun. Now this normally wouldn't bother me but the gun was air'd up, had a full hopper of balls, and was without a barrel condom or plug. Now around my team and what not I really don't care about plugs, but in front of 5 or 6 noobs its a great way to say "saftey isn't cool". Ill never go to a redneck field again. I'll keep playing in the atl.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SCroadkill Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Charleston, Waynes World, Action Quest
Review: Triggertyme fields rock! - and after 17 years of work they should. see pics here:
http://www.blythewoodnet.net/ad-triggertyme-paint
ball.htm

The field had management troubles over the years but is now under new ownership and vows to focus on customer service and satisfaction. If you are into really into speedball Ball Busters may be a good choice, but if you are into the hunt and old school style play, Triggertyme is world class. They are well suited to church groups, corporate events and college/high school groups and walk-ons.

To the old school players out there, bring your trust rusty marker and bring your "A" game.

Walkon Tip from a 15yr vet: call first !! 786-4539
Last edited on Wednesday, October 6th, 2004 at 1:23 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bensmith576 Friday, July 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ballbusters, Red Fox games (not that close), backyard ball
Review: Well I haven't been to triggertyme in about 3 years since I left for college and it use to be one of the best places to go play paintball, professional staff, good fields, etc. I tried to go last weekend expecting another great day of paintball. Made the 45 minute drive out to Blythewood and low and behold only one other person was there. My buddy and I went and talked to this guy who evidently volunteers at this field. He informed us that people routinely do not show up to open the field and many times the field just doesn't open because no employees are there to run the place. This was a great dissapointment since it use to be one of the best paintball fields around. This place still has some decent fields but I'd call first because they may or may not be open for their posted hours...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mdherckers Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friends, own field, not nearly as good. Plus TT has more fields and a shop, my field and friends field do not.
Review: The first time I played at TT was with a bunch of my school buddies. We all went down there to raise money for school! When we did this I had never played before. I absolutly loved it! I thought I would come back sometime and whoop some azz again, (I did pretty well the first time). When I did come back I was like one of those top guys that everyone is afraid of. I loved it, I also shot down everyone.

Anyways, enough about me... I thought the prices are pretty reasonable. The play and rent and get a bag of paint to start off with was 35$ even. The refs were absolutly great, except for some of the newbie refs. They will call you out if you get shot anywhere. Like mask or feet. Even if you aren't playing "No Man's Land"/Speedball. I hated that but at the time didn't know that they were wrong.

I felt the stage time in between games was ok, especially since I'm more of a sniper tactics player, so most of the time I'm working up a sweat and I'm dieing. So I enjoy the 15 minutes to reload and clean and occassionally get something to drink.

The fields are absolutly beautiful! Plenty of space and lots of bunkers. They will make a old tire into a bunker... it's amazing. The rules are fair enough, no communication devices on the fields, and no cheating. They let you bring bottles down there and don't care what you do with them. It's very fun and pretty afordable. I loved and all of my friends love it! Go check it out if you don't believe me. I give this field a 10-Best. For it's awesome refs, stage time was perfect for me, open spaces to snipe, even teams though I didn't mention that earlier.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sabaco Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ballbusters
Review: I've been playing at this field, irregularly for about 2 years now. It's the first place I played paintball and I've gone just about every month, between once a month and every weekend. Its a great atmosphere with good balanced fields and mostly a good group of players.

As far as refs go, they are normally on top of everything, except when the Camden Military Academy brats come, then they have trouble managing the groups of around 40 people that dont respect rules and cheat whenever they can. So I can forgive them for that. The rest of the time their's alot of dtaff yelling at each other, someone is always getting yelled at for being to slow or whining too much. Gotta love when familys work together.

The field itself is huge and most days you'll get to do the speedball field. There are two speedball fields though one is normally out of operation and the "No Man's Land" field is quasi-speedball. For the most part, don't come expecting more than two speedball games throughout the day, it is primarily a woodsball field; not that it's a bad thing, the fields are set up well and balanced well enough. There are attack/defend, Capture the Flag, King of the Hill, Defend the President, and Hostage Rescue variations throughout the field.

The normal group size is 4 - 6 players on a team most of the year, up to 10 to 15 or so average on a team in the summer. Not counting when the Camden brats come in, then its more like 20 - 40 a team and I wouldnt recommend going those days. Excepting that, most of the players that come to the field range in skill level though mostly Saturdays seems to have the newer people, Sundays are generally a more skilled crowd.

Their prices on paint, field fees, and air are good. Unfortunately their house paint seems to change brands every time, so it may be better to get the more expensive stuff. On average including a few drinks througout the day, you can get in a full day of paintball for around $45 if you have your own gear. I wouldn't recommend bringing your own paint, a $25 charge for bringing your own makes it cheaper to buy theirs.

I'm giving it a 10, because even though the wait between games can stretch into rediculous lengths, it is still the best field I've ever been to. The refs may spend alot of time between games arguing amongst themselves or making the whole group wait for some new arrivals to get signed in when everyone else is ready for a game, but they also know how to ref and I have never had any problems during a game and that's the important part.
Last edited on Friday, March 19th, 2004 at 9:44 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

silentwanderer Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ballbusters - mostly speedball vs woodsball
Review: Triggertyme is a great place to go and play in the woods and some of their courses are the best around.

Unfotunately, my group and I have had some bad experiences with them. As stated in other posts, the wait time between games is a killer. It would be nice to be able to play several times on a field and then go back to the staging area for a break but they only seem to reserve that option for the farthest course out. I have stood at the start of the trail waiting for the refs to get everyone together for 20 minutes before, and that is after 20 minutes of a break already.

Some of the refs are really good and others need some more time to grow up to become really good. In some instances I have had to wait for the refs to stop talking to one another and staring at the ground to get a paintcheck or for them to look at a situation.

The first time at TT, my group noticed that some players were not chroning and were using full auto. After getting painted like a house and recieving many welts, I watched the player who had gotten me out and verified that he was not compliant with TT rules. I informed a ref who then went over to the player and they proceeded to talk about how good of a job the new marker did and when they would get together to practive again.

If you are going to set rules for everyone, they need to apply to everyone.

Other than these issues, I think that they can provide a very nice time on a saturday or sunday and their prices are decent. I would love to try out their scenario games and see how they are.

If you only are able to go out a few times a month or every other month, take a look around and see about the other place in Columbia. I only like 5 minutes from TT, but with some of my experiences, I would rather drive 20 minutes to have a great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kuzo811 Friday, September 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ball busters (doesnt compare)
Review: Im a senerio/woods ball kind of guy. They have reasonable prices on paint i mean its not low but not over priced. u can by 1000 rounds of good quality paint for about 35 which is average.

They have many fields and u usually rotate through alot of the frields and if u play the same field of again u do a diffrent objective for the game. I love their staging area. they vending machine r sometimes out of drink but the sell water and u can just carry water with u when u go. They have a few snacks but not alot. But when i play paintball i play through lunch i dont stop to eat. They are very safe and are harsh with cheaters. They make it clear u break the rules ur in trouble with them. Its the best field i have ever went to i dont go the a ton but when i can i go.

My dad plays paintball so on some weekends well pack up and go. Its an hour away from where i live i i will glady ride an hour to get there cause i have the best time!

usually i stay from 9 in the morning until 5 in the after noon if u go and stay the full day u will be really tired by the end of the day but ull have the best time uve ever had. Its like a mini version of EMR in penssiylvania!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Grommit Wednesday, August 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Triggertyme has about eight or nine playing fields, and they use five or six of them on a given day.

I play almost all reck play though they do have a speedball field and sometimes two.

The staff is very good as a whole. The refs are Great!

The field fees are very good $10 to play and $5 to rent. Paint is only a little more than if bought on line. Some fields gauge I am told, but this is not the case at Triggertyme. Paint runs about $65 per case. Buying 500 or 1000 rounds costs a slight premium.

Great staging area with lots of shade or sections under the sun if you prefer.
lots of tables, benches.

Parking is very adequate and less than 75 yards from staging area.

Soda and water are sold from machines or inside at reasonable prices
75 cents to a $1 from machine but they sometimes run out.

You may want to bag a lunch because the field is about 5 miles from fast food restaurants.

If you have problems with your gun they can usually correct it but don't have all
the parts to every gun so you may end up with a Tippman 98 rental.

They have Co2 and nitrogen... but bring your own 12grams if thats what you use.

Games turn around pretty fast 12-14 games if you stay from 9:15 to 5:00.

Great Field!!! ..... Nice Staff ...... Been there many times.




Last edited on Friday, January 9th, 2004 at 4:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

spankyjoe Sunday, July 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
well, speedball in my front yard, i go to triggertime for speedball, but the last 3 times ive gone, some of the bunkers WERENT INFLATED, a heartbreaker for a speedballer.
Review: Triggertyme has a great staff, and good prices. I love all the fields, and ive played most all of them and i just wish there were more hours of play, especially since like the others said, it is a LONG wait between games! heres a familiar scenario "saddle up were heading out in 3 minutes!" 20 minutes later..."ok lets go over the rules", and you are still sitting in the staging for another 10 minutes going over the same rules youve heard the last...well every game before that! Ive had fun eveytime i go, i went yesterday and loved it, lots of oponents walked away with my lovely orange paint up there side, but when camden military group comes in...my GOD WTF is goin on?!? i got hit by more friendly fire than ive had in the last YEAR of paintball!!! plus they dig thru your bags trying to steal stuff, they stole my friends 12oz yesterday, and one started to walk off with my boomstick....oh was he about to be in for the beating of his life! luckily i was stopped. anyways thats not the fields fault. im gonna give it a 9, just because the wait is long...but if your a pacient person, which obviously im not, especially with an itchy trigger finger on a cocker, then go, you will have fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media