paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field / Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field / Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field / Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field

Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
62Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (812) 386-6827
Address: 2477W 50N
Princeton, Indiana 47670
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
xyzt Thursday, July 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Silver Spur Splat is awesome, it has 5 courses plus an Indoor Airball field and RC Car track being built.

Fields/Courses
They have 2 speed ball courses, a Pipes course, the Indoor Airball which is being built, a Fort, and a Town. The 1st speedball course is my prsonal favorite it is fast paced, raining balls field. The second, which is stand up speedball is awsome, because you bunker poeple in the first 20 seconds of the game. Pipes, is alot like the first speedball, not good for bigger guys though. Fort and Town are awesome. There is always small scenario's held on sunday at 1:00. Like elimantion, and capture the flag.

Pro Shop
The Pro shop is probably the best part of SSS, Pops, the owner; Sean, pops son; Pete, the cook, are the nicest and funnyest people you will ever meet. Pops is the master mind, he comes up with all of the plans to make SSS better in everyway. Sean, is a genius, Period. He will work on your gun for free no matter whats wrong with it, or what he is doing at that moment, unless he is fixing somebody's elses gun. And then their is Pete, he makes some of the most delicious i've ever had.

Prices
Can't beat them anywhere, Pops sells PMI Paint only, and i can see why, its prolly th best brand i've used. A case of Evils there is 65$, Premium is 55$, Rampage, Flash 45$ and Stingers are 35$

If I could Give SSS an 11 I would, but in this case i can't so i'll give it the 10 out of 10

Chris Lasoya was even there last wekend, if you don't believe me, you can check silverspursplat.com at the bottom of the EVENTS page, I even got his autograph.

Paridise Paintball sucks balls!!!

w00t
Last edited on Thursday, July 14th, 2005 at 5:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

uestangguy Tuesday, July 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: This was my first experience at an actal field and I must say it was a very good one. I didn't own my own gun at the time I visited Silver Spur so I did end up renting one.

Prices/Rental Products:
First I must say prices are excellent and very fair. The owner Pops is great and will work all sorts of deals with his customers to make sure that they have a good experience. I came with a few people so $15 got me a Tippman 98 Custom, Helmet, C02, etc. The gun was in very good shape and fired as a 98 should.

Fields:
The playing fields were in great shape. They have everything from a few Speedball courses to a Town, Fort, Woods, and from what I was told soon to be an indoor course. When I visited there were various players of different skill levels so don't be afraid if you're a novice or a pro.

Overall:
I'd recommend Silver Spur to anyone n the Priceton/Evansville/Newburgh are (I've from Newburgh, 30 mins away). It was worth the drive to play on a good field with a very good staff.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilarmyman Tuesday, July 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I LOVE THE HOT DOGS, there are lots of noobs but i dont care cuz im leet. my boblong is going to run away from me if i keep pawn noobs and eatn hotdogs so i dont no
pop is a nice man to all the noobs their but he likes me aka nightfire
me and any my friend jeremy pawn everyone their the field are fun and loveable the train is a scary sight but its a place to live in
the team showtime is great and loveable...i buy all my leet parts their
im leet your not just use the foce to over run a dynasty shocker is a fun gun with the force you can run over a tank
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FLOSSIN Thursday, June 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There are hardly any other fields in the area and this field gives you no reason to go to any others
Review: This field is great. I played my first game of paintball on this field and hopefully I'll play my last on it too. Its owner, Pops, who is a vietnam veternam who probably took a bunch of names when he was over there, runs the place and is a great guy. He'll take a look at and usually fix any problem you have with your gun. If you run on HPA, it's ten dollars a day for all day air and the paint prices are excellent. It's $15 straight up for a bag of 500 rps flash. If you forget your mask or tank, they will gladly loan you one and they USUALLY don't charge. The individual courses they have set up are really good. The Alamo, as me and my buds like to call it, is one of the best courses I've ever played on. The same goes for the town. Even though the woods course leaves a little to be desired, a group of people can usually go back there and make their own fun. The only complaint I have about Silver Spur are the refs. They are usually about 9 or 10 and miss things often. I had a guy bunkered and I was about to move in on him when i fired a couple more rounds and hit his feed neck. The refs didn't even see it until I pointed it out to them. But, they are paintballs future and everyone makes mistakes. Thats the only complaint you'll get from me from this field. I hope they have lighted night games sometime this summer. Me and Ebonclaw will have to go if they do.

7/8/05- Nevermind. The refs are cool too. I found out pops actually does a class for them. Thats awesome. Keep up the great work.
Last edited on Saturday, July 9th, 2005 at 2:54 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rabi_mike Monday, June 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I have been plying on this field for 7 years. Pops is a great guy he helps me in what ever way he can. Shawn his son repairs all the guns and certified of pti . KC Shawn's son a little young sometimes nooning but pretty good kid. I am on a local team there we play about every other week end. The field is great it might be the only field i have played on but that's ok. Every time i play there there is at least around 100 people. He has air-ball, town, fort, woods, speed-ball, hyper ball, and a stand up field. If you see it deosn't matter who you are you can play whether your beginner or a pro it is for every body.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GibbyImpulse32 Thursday, May 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None there is no need for any others.
Review: This is a great field. The staff is very friendly and will help you if you are in need of almost anything. The field has 6 courses as of now, and in the future it may have an indoor airball field. The food there is excellent, their chef Pete cooks some extremely delicious food. Pops (the field owner) is very nice and will always help you if you are in need of any assistance. This is a great field if you are looking for a place to stay for a long time. I know I'm going to be there for a long...long time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

8ight Sunday, May 15th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Out Numbered Paintball - Paris, IL
TreeHuggers Paintball - Sullivan, IN
Review: This was the first time that I have played this field. We arrived a little before 9:00 AM for the "A Force Is Rising - Star Wars" scenario game. This scenario was put on my Jeff Sisson who puts on most of the other scenarios at SSS. I'm going to break this review up in two sections, the scenario and the field.

The Scenario:
Well, in my eyes, the scenario was a complete joke. It was the most mis-managed scenario I've seen. The refs are a bunch of kids, probably fourteen and under, some way younger. Half the time our team had no clue as to what we were supposed to do. The first mission we were supposed to cut the other team off before they got to their base, which we did not accomplish. The reason why we didn't accomplish this task was because when they (the other team) took off running we started to take off but were held back for some reason. They just ran, we watched. I don't know if it was the refs, our "general"... i don't know. We just absolutely had no clue as to what was going on... and that went on through the whole day too. Some missions we would get while other missions were in progress. The general would gather a few of us up and let us know what was to be done. Not five minutes after we got one of these side missions they (game directors) called us all off the field to prepare for our final mission. Well, when they read through the scores at the end of the day they state we moved nothing to the location and received zero points. Well, it's kind of hard to move as much stuff we were supposed to in the three minutes allotted. We end up moving about half our stuff half way to the point when they called us back. It was just silly. In a seperate incident, the other team got a bunch of points for retrieving a parachute guy that was shot up into the air. Well, that was easy... because the parachute guy landed RIGHT ON THEIR BASE!!! My biggest question going into this thing was "how in the hell are they going to organize this day and let every person know what is going on?" I can now say that I still don't know how they were going to do it, because it wasn't done. I actually give the scenario a score of 2 out of 10.

The Field:
I love the variety of the field. We never really played the town. We didn't play the woods course at all. Most of our time was spent around the pond, on the hill, in the fort, and on the speed/hyper ball fields. The speed ball field played great, although we didn't get to play a single true speed ball game on it. The fort/hill was a blast. That was easily my favorite part of the day. Playing around the pond was pretty fun, but the heavy foliage made for very slow and cautious battles. The pro shop was alright. I guess I went in expecting more from what I've read. The food was down right nasty. I apologize to the cooks, but eh... no thanks. There were plenty of picnic tables, the lockers were nice, the crono station, plenty of netting... it was a well kept field. My biggest beef, and it's a big one, is the aforementioned refs. The kids were annoying and barely ever did their jobs. I got into a fight with one guy and laid nearly ten rounds on him before he realized where I was and started shooting back. I continued to throw paint at him while he finally shot back. He ended up shooting me in the canister and I start my shameful walk out of the playing field. All the while I'm asking the kid ref "I didn't shoot him, are you kidding?!?" The guy said no, so the ref did a paint check and said "players clean". I get up on guy as I'm walking out and I see my paint on his back and on his pods. I pointed it out to the ref and said "that's [expletive], he's out and I'm staying in". Which is what I did. Not sure what they did with that kid, they probably let him stay in. Anyway, it was this kind of stuff all day. I saw so much wiping... it was so frustrating. Refs didn't seem to be around much but smack-dab in the middle of the field... mostly together! Anyway, the fields are big and seem like they would be a lot of fun if we were ever briefed on what was going on beforehand. Paint prices were alright. It was funny though... the head ref spotted some mauve color paint on a fort and on some people and threw a fit on the radio calling down to the shop seeing if that paint was carried (field paint only game). Response on the radio was a negative and he went silly. I listenedd in on the channel the refs were on and they were talking about checking all hoppers. HAHAHHAHA! I dropped over a hundred bucks at this place, and I brought and shot my own RPS paint after I went through the case I bought there. I'll tell you, don't be stupid... people will support your. Hell, the guy at TreeHuggers didn't charge us squat a few weeks ago. No field fee, no air/gas fee, nothing... just said go out and play, have fun. We ended up throwing the guy twenty buck, more than what he would have been asking for if he weren't such a nice guy. I just thought Sean (head ref) threw a little bit too much of a hissy on that. What's sad is that it took him, and his kiddy refs all day to spot that non-field paint. I saw a lot of paint out there that was not for sale down at the shop. I saw the stuff I brought that I shot late in the day being shot at me the entire day. I hate when people try to abuse power and get in the way of someone or somebodies good time. I'm not sure if I'll be back for another scenario game at SSS. May some straight balling... but not scenario. Especially if it's organized by Jeff Sisson. What a circus. I give the field a 8 out of 10.

The Praking Lot:
This doesn't have anything to do with the scenario or the field... but was so funny I had to throw it in. The parking lot at SSS is a riot! It's like walking on top of a birthday cake! You ever wonder how it would feel to be the bride and groom on the top of a cake... well, now you can. I'm going to take my wifey out there and get our picture taken on the lot in my tux and her wedding dress. Maybe bring it into Photoshop and play with it. No, but serisouly... who the hell did that concrete work?!? It's horrific!

Total score a 6 out of 10. The fields are good, but the scenario sucked so bad I'm docking the total score.

There were a few beautiful babies out there too. Humm, call me. =b
Last edited on Sunday, May 15th, 2005 at 7:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Justin12345 Saturday, April 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None...
I either play at this sweet field or different woods.
Review: Alright all my friends were talking about how awsome this field was, so i had to go there. when I got there I immediatly noticed that this WAS THE PERFECT Place to go.
As we were getting out. we ( we as in 10 of us) were looking for a place to set our stuff at, and they had at least 15 benches right next to the fields. After we set all of our stuff down we walked to the building to get our co2 filled ( now i have HPA) And i noticed how cheap it was $2.50 for a 20 ounce! Not to mention that the build/ garage that was turned into a pro shop was air conditioned :) getting back to the cheap prices they had quality paint for a low price and three different choices last time i went it was Rampage, then premium, then evil. so we got the tanks filled and we were ready to play we went to the fort... or some call it the alamo. we had 4 on 6 because the people on the hill had the advantage
Anyways..... Anyone who wants to try this field out i recommend it this field deserves A LOT of credit and a 10 out of 10..... so try it out NOW!!!!!!!!!
Last edited on Saturday, April 30th, 2005 at 1:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

outkastman1217 Friday, April 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
duffy`s,paintball paradise woods and friends houses
Review: silver spur splat is the best field around i think all paintball players should go an have a great day of paintball there . there are always lots of people there an the owners are nice pops runs silver spur splat an Sean can work on any gun and they have someone up there cooking food like chili nachos hot dogs an many other things they have 6 fields ,hyper-ball,wood speed-ball,crate speed-ball, the Alamo,the town, and sometimes they have an air sup field and people are allowed to play the woods and i have to say this is the best field around an for a good price 5 to get in 10 for all day are an cheap paint and you can also buy guns an parts from him i give silver spur a 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JJVLTRIAD Friday, April 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 29th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only one I need!
Review: This place is awsome they have 7 courses 2 speedball, hyperball, indoor airball, town, fort, and woods. Everyone up there is really nice and follows the rules and pops always tells us to have fun. Sean (pops son) Works on all the guns up there and can fix about anything, he helped me out when i got my ION so i didnt mess it up or anything. This is by far the best field in the area! If your around its definatly worth checking out.
Last edited on Thursday, December 29th, 2005 at 6:00 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media