paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Middle Tennessee Paintball (MTP) Paintball Field / Middle Tennessee Paintball (MTP) Paintball Field / Middle Tennessee Paintball (MTP) Paintball Field / Middle Tennessee Paintball (MTP) Paintball Field

Middle Tennessee Paintball (MTP) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
45Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 1-931-334-9673
Address: 4215 Kedron Road
Spring Hill, Tennessee 37174
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
sarcasm Sunday, December 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: November 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gateway Action Sports
Starrion
Bearclaw Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
4215 Kedron Rd.
Spring Hill, TN 37174
Review: Safety is always the first rule of the day at MTP. This is great because everyone is there to have fun.

There are basically 4 fields
1) Xball
2) Hyperball
3) Big Woods
4) Little Woods

Hours are usually 11am to 4pm on Sat and Sun, but vary with the season. In winter months, they are usually only open on Sat.

Prices are on par with the area. It is BYOP unless you rent, then you have to buy field paint.

Reffing staff is great. There is usually a mix of tournement players and scenario players that help ref and can also help out new players with tips on where to go and what to do while not ruining the game for anyone.

Most of the experienced players there "adjust" their playing style based on who is playing. If you have a really experienced player/team that can usually tear through a group of new players the way they normally play, maybe they would use only a single hopper or single shot per target. Also, Bill the owner helps to even out teams sometimes. I think it is a great idea for him to do this - keeps games fair and lets everyone be a little more challenged. Others may feel somewhat hassled by this, but again everyone is there to have a good time.

Pizza is usually ordered shortly after the first game and usually arrives about an hour later.

This is a great field that I will someday take my children to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dreadful20 Thursday, September 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: September 12th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Very good place friendly i even work there as a ref it is a very fun place every rule is to keep players safe and the only reason people ever have a problem is they got blown away by its awesomeness not sure why anyone would hat the place because the place is great
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Samuel/Sarah Saturday, March 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Brandon, MS---> Average in comparison
Nashville Paintball-->and older group of player, far more mature
NTENSE--->good tourneys, fair reffing in comparison with the reffing at MTP
Directions
to the Field:
N/A
Review:
SAFETY first and formost was enforced and well deomonstrated by staff in a tactful way to others the majority of the time.

Alot of room for play on the woods ball course providing a fun time for group events and ect...
Airball field was average with a new addition of the X and ect..for more Xball play.

A small proshop is on hand with a minor selection.

The owner and his wife are welcoming and very curtious, props for ownership.

Overall the field makes up what it lacks in other areas and continues to promote the sport of paintball for the Greater Good.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaded_Baller Saturday, November 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NPS - Closed down
Hollow Buzzard - Closed down, terrible prices and fields
Gateway Action Sports - Only been twice, wasn't impressed. The tourney teams were not present, though

Review: First, the high points. If you're like me, and you like your eyes, you'll like this field. Safety is strictly enforced. Barrel bags are to be kept on until the game starts, no dry firing in the staging area, and masks ON in the game areas. The staff is very vocal about all of this, and that's fine by me. I've been shot in the leg too many times by new players who thought it was OK to not use a barrel cover. One day I was actually shot in the neck. There are far too many fields out there that don't really watch the players. You might find three kids horsing around in the staging area by dry firing at each other. Or maybe firing paintballs at each other. I've seen it happen. I don't like feeling like I have to step in: the staff should do that. At MTP they do. And it's pretty nice. All of the people who hate being yelled at shouldn't do dumb stuff like take their masks off after they get eliminated from a speedball match. And it's not personal: I've been yelled at a couple of times, and I like yukking it up with the staff anyways.

They use M98s for rentals, and rentals are INCLUDED with the admission fee. Much better than being asked to pay double if you're renting. For this reason and the safety awareness, I would heartily recommend MTP for any group looking for a casual day of paintball, or anyone who's looking to try paintball for the first time.

You may be disappointed if you're used to a higher level of play. Tournament level play is done, but the number of players that show up on average for that much is much less. This is primarily a recball field.

The first Sunday of every month is team practice, and those are the days to go if you're into tournament level paintball. There are usually at least 15 players who show up, and usually a few teams.

The fields are pretty varied and nice. The woods can be subdivided into smaller fields or put all together into a mega woods field. Bill runs Big Games a couple of times a year and plays the mega woods field, or sometimes if there are enough people who want to do it, he'll run one at the end of the day. There are three speedball courses: Hyperball, X-Ball, and a NPPL 5-man. The two airball fields get mixed up every couple of weeks.

Bill, the owner, is a pretty cool guy. Just don't be a jackass around him, and if he tries to sell you something, you can just smile and he'll stop. Or you can buy stuff. That's good too. This field has been around quite a while, which is a rarity in the paintball business. And it stays in business because of Bill.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

newblord5d Friday, May 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
GraceXtreme
Review: This place is really good. The regulars there are really cool and nice. The refs are cool and are fair. The prices, are not high, compared to other places ive been too. Some of my friends are on Axis Kids so, the experience's there are always memorable. Bill is really cool. And its really cool there, and i remember everytime i have been there. Ive made many friends there, Luke Venable, Vinny, Cody Williams, Carter Phillips, and Gray Peebles. lol =]]
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

doughboycpd Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: March 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
every place in tennessee and surrounding states.
Review: One of the best fields i have ever played at.
Owner is nice and helpful.
People that play here are not jerks.
Price to get in is not bad.
Has many different fields: hyperball, airball, and woodsball.
Different levels of play: tourniment and rec ball
They have youth tourniments every month in the summer
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bikerdude533 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Grace Extreme
Review: The safety at this feild is very strict. You are not allowed to take off your tank becaus people have died taking off tanks. You have to have your mask on when entering feild. A barrle cover has to always be on when of the feild. There is 3 woods courses, a hyperball feild, and 2 airball feilds(sometimes). The feild is open from 11-5 on saturday and 12-5 on sunday(in the winter the feild closes at 4 because the sun sets around then). Its $21.85 to enter the feild if I remeber right. If you need equipment it is included in the entry fee. Paint is sold here too. For Diablo heat is $55 if I remember right and for Empire ramp is $60. Bill is the owner of the feild. He will work on all guns if they need repair. Pat and Shane are also staff. Pat is the "Air Man". Shane helps out Bill on working on the rental guns and fills air. The Refs here are good. My self included accually check the players for hits. For tournys there are 1 for 1. Player at the feild are good. There are Rec player and tourny players. There sponcered team here plays alot. They are good players. They play clean and do not wipe. There is a portapotty here. Food and drinks are for sale in the shack. This is the best feild ive played at. Come down and check it out you will like it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tater101 Saturday, July 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Red River Paintball
Review: I went to this field in a youth tournament. I didn't like the field it was to small and a couple of the refs were jerks. You have to wait in line for about 5 to 10 minutes to get air and even then they only fill a 4500psi tank up to 2000psi.You can't remove your tank after it is put on, how stupid is that. I wouldn't go back, take my advice and go to Red River Paintball.
Last edited on Saturday, July 1st, 2006 at 8:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Ryan228 Saturday, June 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in this area.
SWAT Paintball - Ocean Springs, Mississippi - More pro influenced although MTP is as well. Gerwin from Team Diesel owns it and pros often play there.
Directions
to the Field:
Get on Kedron road from I-65 and go about 1.8 miles down and you'll see the white sign on the side of the road. Follow the dirt road and "drive slow". You should find the grass parking lot at the end of the road.
Review: Safety: A lot of people complain about their safety rules, but they are no different from ones you see at most other fields. Barrel condoms must be on at all times unless you are first in line to chrono or the ref gives the 10-second mark. Goggles on when you pass any netting into the fields. No taking off air tanks due to previous incidents. 10 foot rule, and don't shoot people in the back of the head if you sneak behind them. I personally didn't mind the rules at all. I'd rather get slightly annoyed than have more news about someone getting majorly injured playing paintball. It started raining at about 2 and Bill let us play one woodsball game, but no one could see because everyone was getting fogged. After that, the lightning got pretty bad so he made us stop playing. I think I saw someone complain about this previously... and.. wow.. you probably DON'T want to be holding that lightning rod in a storm. So, that didn't really bother me, but we ended up leaving shortly after since it didn't seem like it was going to stop.

Fields: What I saw was 1 Hyperball field which was nicely set up, 1 Airball field which was okay, and 3 woodsball fields that I didn't really get to play on. Overall, there wasn't anything bad about the fields or the setups in my opinion.

Hours: Saturday 9:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M., Sunday - Noon - 5:00 P.M.
I think they are also opening on Wednesdays now and also they are starting Friday Night Fight next week from 4PM - 9PM.

Prices: Not bad at all. $20 gets you all day play and air, and a full rental setup if you need it. They have Tippy98s, cheap Scott goggles, and a 3 pod recball pack with their rental package. The paint was $45 for one case and it was Diablo Heat.

Services: My Promaster hasn't arrived yet, so I ended up having to use the rental. It had a leak and kept de-cocking every 2 shots. They switched it out for a new one, but they were all pretty beat up. Air filling didn't take too long.

Proshop: First thing I asked when I got there was if there was a Proshop. The little shack that you register/pay at is the proshop, but they had very little equipment. Bill said he ordered a bunch of stuff in December, but still hasn't received it yet.

Staff: Bill, the owner, seemed nice and helpful even though I didn't really talk to him much. Someone mentioned that he tried to "control" the games too much, but I didn't experience that at all. He did make one guy who was playing with us sit because he was using a Timmy. They try to keep the pros/rec ballers seperated sometimes.. which is a good thing in my opinion. But then I noticed the guy who took his spot was also using a Dragon Timmy.. so I was like "wtf?", but whatever. heh

Refs: Yes, they are little kids, but they seemed to do okay. They checked players on request and made sure everyone knew you were eliminated so you didn't get bonus balled. They were always ready when people were ready to play.

Players: Most of the players I met seemed nice, but of course there were the group of pro players who thought they were the s**t, but the friend that was with me took out four of them with a tippy on the airball field and it was his first game. That was a good laugh. :-)

Food: They order "Hunt Brothers Pizza" from the little gas station down the road at lunch time. I think it's like $7.50 for the pizza at the store, but Bill charged $9. Not too bad since he's delivering it anyway.


Overall, it was a pretty good field IMO. Unless you are a super-picky tourny player who expects the best out of everything, then you'll probably like it. Once a whole bunch of people were ready to play, a ref was there to start the game. I liked the flow of things. It's BYOP too unless you use the rentals. The paint they sell isn't that bad though. There is some good competition there if you're a pro. And if you're newb, don't worry about it because Bill and the refs split up the teams to make them as even as possible skill wise.

9/10
Last edited on Saturday, June 24th, 2006 at 5:00 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Six Feet Under Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I didn't actually play, but I did drop by to see if they had a part for my Halo. Called a few other stores and they were less helpful.
Review: I didn't actually play at this field, but I did stop by to check out their shop to ask about a Shocktech rip wheel for my Halo since I broke the stock one about a week ago. The only real complaints I have are that no one answered the phone any of the 3 times I called, and that the owner was a little pushy when he was trying to get me to buy the Odyssey kit he had when I didn't want it.

I called once at 11:08, then 11:15, and finally 11:23 and no one answered the phone any of the three times. My uncle wanted to take me for a drive in his new car so we headed over to MTP about 15 miles away from his house. I got there and the owner was nice and professional, but unfortunately didn't have the product I wanted- he had an Odyssey rip drive kit for $14.95, but I didn't need the whole kit, only the wheel (later tried to sell me the wheel for $7.00 so I wouldn't have to buy the whole kit) but I wanted an aluminum drive wheel so I wouldn't have to worry about it snagging on my jersey or something in my bag and breaking off of the stem again.

Overall I give it a 7 because of the non-answered phone calls and the owner being pushy a few times trying to get me to buy a product I didn't need or want.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media