paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sniper Paintball Field / Sniper Paintball Field / Sniper Paintball Field / Sniper Paintball Field

Sniper Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
13Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (780)777-4704
Address: Hwy.14 RR.180
Ryley, Alberta T0B 4A0
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Lennex Sunday, October 17th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 17th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
This was my first time out. I know theres Young Guns and Action Paintball Games around the city.
Directions
to the Field:
Sniper is incredibly easy to get too, especially with the Anthony Henday pretty much done. I twas a 40 minute drive from my house in South central Edmonton. Theres a nice big blue highway sign that tells you where to turn, and from there you can't miss it. Couldn't have been easier.
Review: For my first time out not knowing what to expect I had a complete blast. I bought a used gun from a friend for cheap, but still needed to rent coveralls, use field paint (they don't accept outside paint), mask, and HPA.

Theres two fill stations for the HPA, one at the main office where theres a cool little inside arena (That we did not play on) and then a mobile one on a trailer out at the main meeting area outside. They apparently plan to add another one at another staging area thats a little deeper in.

Staff are friendly and helpful. All they want is for you to have a good time, and it shows. They go over and above to make sure your stay is a pleasant one.

It wasn't too busy, which was both nice and a disappointment. Nice because it was just our group and another group out there, so there was no waiting for other teams to finish. However I'm curious how walk ons would work if you showed up out of the blue with a buddy.

Gear was in very good condition and was well taken care of. Tipmann 98's are the rental markers with an upgraded AK kit available. Coveralls are of nice quality, masks are just front and ear cover, gloves are included, and you get 500 rounds. $50 with the regular 98, $60 with the AK. Supplying my own gun I paid $45 with a holster for 2 tubes of ammo.

The fields are well maintained and offer a lot of variety. In our 4 hours of playtime we only got to use 4 fields (Which was okay because the only remaining two were speed ball)

There are two towns, a castle, two speed ball, and a hilly field to play on.

The town behind the castle is a load of fun. There are many derelict cars and buildings to hide behind, with very limited wide open spaces.

The other town I think is actually a bit bigger but plays faster due to it being on a more open field with big barrel spindles and houses and cars around.

The castle is interesting, and really requires strategy and communication to do well on. The approaches vary from little to heavy cover. Where storming the front entrance can both be a boon, but beneficial if the teams going around back do their job properly.

What was called "mounds" was a blast. Its just a bunch of dirt hills about 10 feet tall that you maneuver around. But its a a lot of fun and opens up long range shooting a bit.

Overall a great place to play paintball and one I hope to return to soon. Apparently they also do snow days!

I have to get them a 10 because I haven't been anywhere else and they have set my standards really high!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Catlin987987 Tuesday, May 25th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 24th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: All equipment was in great shape they uase tippmann 98
fields were large and fun for all level of players
staff was great/helpfull and accommodating
free use of bbq and they had burgers if group was hungry
prices I thought to be very good
this is a hidden gem.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

darkstar107 Sunday, May 16th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 15th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gopher Hill, Lloydminster
Review: The staff at the field is very friendly. The construction of the new castle is phenomenal; I have never seen anything like it. The field and facilities are completely spotless. You can run with your head up without worrying about tripping on any debris. The cost of paint, snacks, etc is very reasonable.

The field is VERY large and well constructed. The owner is constantly trying to make the field better, so it is in great shape. You will not be disappointed. I will definitely be going back again.

This field would have gotten a 10/10 review if they had a compressor closer to the field to refill your bottles (if you brought your own). The owner said that this will hopefully be available soon, so I'm crossing my fingers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vod Saturday, February 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Young Guns
Directions
to the Field:
19k outside of Tofield towards Ryley
Review: You want to play on a Great field with great and helpfull staff, lots of ground to cover, place to camp and relax. Then go to SNIPER.....its absolutly one of the best fields i ever played on. It has HPA, everything is recently renovated and more to come, it is a bit of a drive from edmonton, but is is worth it.

the only reason i am giving 9 not 10 is because if the drive from Edmonton.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

optimusakc Tuesday, December 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have only been to Younggunspaintball twice previously and enjoyed both times alot. But when I played at Sniper Paintball it was way better! The staff at both places were easy to get a hold of but found the Sniper guys a little easier to talk to. We even invited them to our BBQ afterwards. The fields are the best part by far. Youngguns had good fields but nothing compares to the castle at Snipers!
Directions
to the Field:
The website instructions are very easy to understand and simple to find the place.
Review: Safety:
The fields were well made, very sturdy. The castle felt very strong to run on. I found no faults with any structures on the fields. The staff were always there to remind you to keep your gear on when playing or put the safety on the guns. There are designated areas you can take off your masks of course and test your gun too.

Fields:
They are the best part of Snipers. The castle is amazing! You can play a storm the castle senario where you can assualt it from 360 degrees. There were also a couple of ghost town type fields with old cars and building you could go into. There was a bush field too that was really neat, a speed ball field and countless others I can't even remember. There is no shortage of fun fields to try there.

Hours of Operation:
I don't remember the exact hours but we started at 11:00 in the morning and had no time limit for play time. We were able to play for a couple hours and then have some lunch for an hour and then go right back out there and play another couple of hours.

Prices:
The prices were very comparable to other places. You get camo coveralls, gloves (which are a nice touch) gun, paint, and air all for 50 bucks. I was able to upgrade the gun for 10 bucks too.

Rules:
The staff seemed very knowledgable about the game, equipment and rules. I did prefer the movie format that Youngguns used when we went there though. It was very thorough compared to Snipers which left me feeling like I needed to ask questions.

Services:
They have lots of firepits for hotdogs and whatever. They also have a large grill for hamburgers etc. Plenty of washrooms and the staff said they are working on future camping areas for overnight stays, awesome!

Proshop:
I didn't see any proshop at their location. Maybe thats in the works but I don't know.

Staff:
The staff were easy to get a hold of and easy to talk to, very flexible and friendly. We even invited them to our BBQ afterwards.

Refs:
The refs were great. They gave us complete freedom to pick game types or fields. They also suggested many different senarios we could play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

elizabeth08 Sunday, September 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 12th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I had my birthday at Snipers in Ryley. It was really convient for our location in Sherwood Park. we had +18 people and the barbecue area there was good for our meal, supplied with their own grill. The management(Erik and Joe) were very very friendly and my entire family was very great full to have such warm spirits to show us what we were doing. Hardly any of the people who attended had never paintball before and for many it was their first time. Everyone caught on really fast and EVERY SINGLE PERSON ENJOYED THEMSELVES. The field variety was slim but they were all very different from each other and we were informed that new fields are coming together. thank you guys very much for a good weekend. the bruises prove it was a blast and looking forward to our next numerous visits.
The Zack-Wolfram family
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sierra_1 Thursday, August 27th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 27th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Sniper paintball has made a HUGE recovery after new management took over. When you first get there, you don't see much for fields but when you get out there, you will be amazed by the array of different field variations. I fell in love with the town field and was amazed by the speedball course. The owner is very nice and extremely reasonable. The prices are excellent and I will definately be returning. WOW!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sorgan Wednesday, August 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: I cannot get over how well they treat you out there. The staff bends over backwards to make you feel like thet relly want your business. The courses are great and they are building more. Its a bit of a drive but well worth it!! They have great rental guns as well as resonable prices when you bring your own. You cant go wrong.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rozz13 Wednesday, August 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
45 min East of Edmonton
Review: The new owners have done an amazing job on the feild, friendly, helpful they made the day amazing.
Talking with the owners it sounds like a lot of new project on the way, the castle should be done soon and cant wait to get a large group in there to have some real fun.
I was there years ago and all I can say is keep it up!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

arcanumdarkelf Monday, June 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Esg, Youngguns
Directions
to the Field:
Near Tofield and Riley
Review: Sniper Paintball is located on the grounds where TAG Paintball used to be located. The field is under new management and is undergoing major upgrades and improvements. The staff is very friendly and approachable and willing to accept any reasonable suggestions that paintball players would offer.

Features: The old Castle field is being completely reconstructed and enhanced. A new old west style of town is also in the planning stages. A speed ball style area is setup with pre placed flags for either team. The re-construction on the Castle had already begun when we visited Sniper Paintball on the weekend. There are facilities for a Barbecue and a new section of the land is being set up to allow for overnight camping. They have water bottles and pop cans for sale if you need a drink to keep you going in the summer heat. There was a quad with a trailer for rent to help haul gear between various fields.

We played on the Field with the mounds, the town, the spools, and the area in front of the old castle. The equipment being used at Sniper is great. They have High Pressure air tanks for renters and will fill your tanks if you are bringing your own equipment. The paint prices are fair and if you come in with a large group of over 10 people the owner is more than willing to reduce the field fee. Anyone who enjoyed Tag back in the old days, before its rocky period, will be sure to Love Sniper Paintball. In fact if you were one of the many people that were put off by the trouble that Tag went through, then I would urge you to give Sniper paintball a fair chance and try them out.

Great Staff, Great High Pressure Air, Fair Prices, New Fields and great plans for improvement.

Out of a possible 10 I would rate Sniper Paintball a high 8.5 with the rating sure to increase once the reconstruction on the castle has been completed.
Last edited on Monday, June 22nd, 2009 at 8:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media