paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Jaegers PAintball Field / Jaegers PAintball Field / Jaegers PAintball Field / Jaegers PAintball Field

Jaegers PAintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
79Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 816-452-6600
Address: 9300 NE Underground Drive
Kansas City, Missouri 64161
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
scott_shotcalla Thursday, July 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat City and Dropzone.
Review: Jaegers is were I started and it's a great place to stay. Jaegers isn't really expensive at all as long as you play in their outdoor fields, which do have the best fields there, but if you come on the wrong day you could have to play indoors and thats were it gets expensive. Also to old players they have gotten rid of the annoying sand. Most of the refs are pretty awesome to and are experienced player so they might be able to fix any little problems that you are having with your gun on the spot.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Coryn Friday, July 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WW Paintball - The best
Many others - just look around
Review: I was previously on a team with many of the refs at Jaegers, before they removed the sand, so I've spent a lot of time here.

The only good thing about Jaegers is the n00b count. If you haven't played a lot, this is a great place for you to start. Prices are still a bit expensive, but it's better than getting eaten up at some of the other places.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tru7h Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Big Sky-- best field in state
Review: I have only played at Jeagers a couple of times, and I think it is a terrible place to play. The humidity is terrible, it smells like a dead rat, the freakin sand gets everywere, and it is so damn expensive!!!

Dont go here if it is the last place on earth!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FreebirdSST Monday, June 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WW
Splat
Review: Jaeger's is thebest option for paintballing in the NKC area. It's interesting to me when someone posts that their isn't enough competition. I suggest going out of the cave, up the hill, and taking on all comers on their outside fields. I've seen some cocky guys get lit up like Xmas trees.
For the rec guy (like me) or gal, the cave environment offers space to move around (unless its the day after Christmas...sheesh!) and a chance to fire at some competition. Most people I have played with at J's seem to be laughing becuase they shot someone or visa versa. They seem to be enjoying themselves...except the one guy who always is whining constantly about something or someone. 99% of the time this person hasn't been wronged by J's, but has displaced anger about something other than the game. I'd rather pass a kidney stone than play with whiners.
My pluses and minuses for Jaegers:

+ Many different levels of competiition (I'd question anyone who writes they have mastered the compitition there)

+ Staff is good and helpful if you ask the right questions. They know the game and are pretty quick to give you good advice. New or intermediate.

+ Cave has good obstacles to duck around. (Hide behind a barrell or a rock formations) Sucks being tall though.

+ Coke machiene (I get thirsty)

+ Girl at the counter (true)

+ Buy a gun from them...free field fees (that saves some greenbacks there)

+sand is gone for the most part but gets a little muddy if it rains a lot.

There are some things that I wished were changed though:

- Older referees (some players intimidate or ignore the 13 year old refs) I do think the kids do the best they can but are put in a bad situation.

-You have to ask the staff the right questions if you aren't familiar with safety or game rules. They assume you know. Last time I was there the safety issues weren't even brought up. I was explaining things to a 1st timer as we went along. Yikes!

-Sometimes there isn't enough players for the semi, rec players in the caves. Do you wait or punt the idea of playing? Perhaps go to the fields against a guy with a $1000 auto marker that shoots 10,000 rounds a second? I personally will pass on scraping a gallon of paint out of my ear. (I'm content at getting shot with a semi)

-locker rentals...I have to think they could make come $$ off them. Some kids swipe the paintballs when you are in the game. The excessive paintball price is well noted.(they do have a byop night to their credit)

All this being said, Jaegers is still the best thing going in the area. It's a good place to have fun. (which is suppose to be the whole idea...unless something changed) Is there room for improvement on their end? Yes, but there is a lot of room to slide down to mediocrity as well. Their formula works for me. I would give it a 8.5 on a ten scale if I had the choice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

raiden345 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
dropzone, splat city, ww
Review: My day at jaegers:

Advantages
nice temperature
good staff
nice arena

Disadvantages
bad smell
bad refs
expensive paint

i went with a friend to jaegers, and his dad is rich so i didnt have to pay for anything. but the bill at the end was well over 300 dollars for 5 rentals w/ paint for about 3 hours of play. in a cave. with no one else there (it was a tuesday night). i give it a six because it was fun just go with your friends rich dad.
Last edited on Friday, June 4th, 2004 at 8:22 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Warchilde316 Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Drop Zone
Review: Let me preface my review by stating that in the 4 years that I've used Jaegers, I've actually only been there about 5 times during that period. Each time I go I am reminded why I haven't been there for a long time. The field, in and of itself, isn't bad. The smell isn't horrible, it's just a musky cave. But that is where the stuff that isn't bad ends.

First, it's in a cave where the humidity is about 100% 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. It doesn't matter what mask you wear, it will fog some. (I've got a fan equipped JT, and it fogged)

Second, the floor is sand and when you combine that with the high humidity and a zillion busted paintballs, it's basically glue. It gets stuck to everything, and after it took me almost 2 hours to clean my cocker after a visit, I can assure you that you don't want to take a high end marker in there. If you think sand can get into something, it will, and if you think you can get it out, you are wrong because it is stuck there.

Third, this is the most expensive field I have ever seen, or even heard of. They only offer 1 kind of paint, and it's $100 a case and it is only slightly better then what you can pick up at Walmart. They don't offer ANY options for BYO, and I've seen them kick people out for have a dozen rounds of old paint in their hopper with the paint they bought from the field. I try to limit myself to half a case per day of playing, and I can't get out of there without spending $70 or so. That's 2 days at Drop Zone, for example, and you get much better paint.

Finally, and this is the big one for me, the staff. Now this doesn't apply to everyone. I know 1 guy who works there who is a nice guy, and did some great work on my cocker for me dirt cheap, but the ref staff is horrific. The cheating that goes on in this place is insane! My last trip there I hit a guy, with a clear mark and good break, right on his thigh. Not only did he not go out, he didn't even bother to wipe it! When I called for a check, he claimed that HE had put ME out before I shot him, and that *I* was cheating. Now, I did get marked just after that. From another player *FROM BEHIND.* 12 times. That is right. 12 times. 7 times after I called myself out. What did the ref do to the cheater/wiper AND the bonus ball guy? They gave ME a warning, and then went off to joke with the guys cheating.

To sum up, if you like to cheat or know the refs so you can do whatever you want, this is the place to go. If not, find somewhere else. Anywhere else.

I can't possibly rate this field low enough. I'll donate my gear to charity and never play again before I return there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

xxclown Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none others
Review: this place sucks the prices are like 2000 for like $100 or something thats y u have to sneek ur own paintballs in its crazy and it smell like as i no all field do cuz of the paintballs and stuff but this is like crappy smell the good think its the temp. is just right and everyone there are like beginers and stuff and they dont wanna play me just cuz i have a better gun
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

betdathurt Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
WW Paintball
Dropzone
Review: I hate seeing people bad talking Jaegers. Its a great place for beginner to learn the game. And its getting better. They are making another field inside and up top. They are adding lights to field up top for day and night play. Prices are still high but they are working on lowering this too. And if you don't think theres any competion there, my team (PK-Unit) practice there sometimes and im there on the weekends sometime. They have a airball field for team practices and the new field will have carpet. Its a fun place if you want to play rec ball fo sho (lots of targets). They have BYOP nights and I beleive you can shot your own paint up top. They are good people and they try hard to make things right.

You can't beat that!
Last edited on Tuesday, April 20th, 2004 at 11:16 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

yeaitsme Sunday, April 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
splat....ww......pgp....
Review: let me start off by saying yea extremely expensive....i just played on our teams personal airball field today and it cost me $20 the whole day....for just paint...(i get discount paint from sponsor).......and we had scubas to fill our own tanks....and at jaegers it costs what...$100 for a day?

also the competition always sucks.....i can never find people to play against that put up a huge challenge unless its my teammates.....

the hard hats blow majorly....if i get hit by a rock its my problem....why do we sign waivers?

i give it a 3 cause well....could be worse....could be a woodsball only field....(the thought makes me shudder)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nik356 Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
WW
Review: Jaegers is definitely a good spot to go paintballing in KC. The staff is great. My gun had an innner o-ring leak that took the proshop guy (which was pretty skilled) over half an hour to fix and he charged nothing. The field is a little dirty with all the sand, but it has a lot of different types of cover and bunkers. There are a lot of noobs earlier in the day including these little 5-year olds with Impulses and stuff. As it gets later the more experienced players start to come and it can get pretty crowded. If you're looking for speedball go to WW, but if not, go to Jaeger's or Dropzone. The other bad thing is the cost. The paint you have to buy their is just plain cruel ($80 case). If you bring two can-goods you get $5 off the field fee $15. Great field!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media