paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Jaegers PAintball Field / Jaegers PAintball Field / Jaegers PAintball Field / Jaegers PAintball Field

Jaegers PAintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
79Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 816-452-6600
Address: 9300 NE Underground Drive
Kansas City, Missouri 64161
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
paintballjam000 Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Kansas City Parks And Rec- way better
Review: Jaegers Sub Surface Paintball field is one that has grown greatly over the years. Located in an old abandoned lime stone mine it is one of the best in KC. The floor of this field used to be filled with sand that always gets into your gun cracks and smells. Now they cleared out all the sand to make the fields more useful, it is great. All though you are still greated with an awfull smell. You get over it after a few minutes.
Jaegers has made some improvements for the tournament players now. They hold team practices almost all year round and have a special night and special field just for tournament players.
The field also hosts a pro shop with a great selection of gear and support. They usually sell beginner guns like spyders and tippmanns. But every once and a while a guy(don't know his name) will come in their and start selling guns that he has. Usually he has about 2 angels and a cocker. Awsome prices to.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Levisjeans Monday, December 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Jaegers was the first paintball field I played paintball. The smell will about kill you but you get used to it after a few minutes. The Refs are careful, they tell you safety rules and they watch out for every single player. I would recommend that if you want to go play paintball with your first time buddies for your birthday, This is the place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KloudPB Monday, December 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WW Paintball-lame, Big Sky-pretty cool,
Review: Jaegers is a field that has grown and changed along with the sport of paintball. Originally, I thought they were just a dumpy little field, especially with the freakin' sand. They got rid of it though, and have done a lot to help with the fogging of their rental masks. They rent Tippman 98s, so it's not hard to maintain their rental gear, and they even shoot ok with Co2 down in the cold humidity. Jaegers is a great rec field, and especially friendly to first time players and casual rec ballers, Tourney players might choose to play elsewhere, but supposedly Jaegers is trying to improve this. The paint is a little pricey, and the pro shop is lacking, but the refs are usually pretty cool and the games run fairly frequently. Ignore the smell, though, the field smells twice as bad as the entrance area. A great place to just go shoot some paint when it's hella cold out. They get nine
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

buffalohead Monday, December 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat City, WWPaintball,Drop Zone
Review: I had not played at Jaegers for some time due to high paint prices and the sand used to cover the floor. Recently I went back just to see if things were any different, and they were. They have made some improvements aimed at taking care of serious players.

Quality paint can be bought for as low as $45 a case and a $10 field fee. The lighting is better, they have added more sup air along with the hyperpipe and improved the sit down area. It is becoming more of a player's field.

The Rec field is brighter with a lot more props, and most importantly ,the SAND IS GONE. I played on a teen night and it was fantastic. The refs ran games fast and fair and the field was only $5 and paint was $70 a case. I wish they would run more teen night specials because that first field of theirs is the ultimate. I wonder if they are under new management because of these obvious improvements.

I would give them a 10 if paint prices were a little cheaper.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Toothlesrooster Monday, December 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat City, KC Paintball (not open anymore I don't think).
Review: To write a serious review I must bring up some of the other reviews you will/have seen on PBReview.com about Jaegers. MOST of them DID and a few of them still do have some credibility, but as most things do...Jaegers has changed.

The days of sand in your shoes/gun, dim lights, rude ref's and Game fixing are over!

I've been playing at Jaegers since around 1995. Since then they have grown and are really starting to blossom. Jackie and JJ (owners) truly care about their customers and your experience at Jaegers. In the past they have had some rude and dishonest refs. Refs that were more worried about their pockets, friends and image to care about the customer. They WOULD allow friends to wipe. They WOULD allow friends to get onto the field chrono'd hot. But Jackie and JJ have fixed these problems. I can honestly say that the ref team they have now is top notch. Great guys (and gals) that know how to ref, and care about safety first. Most of them even love to play the game.

The field has changed alot. Most people on this board don't let you know that Jaegers as 4 indoor fields and are looking into opening another one. The main field (field one) is closest to the staging areas/pro shop/ rental counter. It's massive with lots of bunkers and cover and consists of 3 1/2 lanes and approximately 40 yards long. Two other smaller fields for PRIVATE party's or Pumps (if you prefer pumps and if there are enough pump players they'll open one of the other fields up) and the last field is a tournament practice field complete with Sup-Air INDOORS...in a CAVE...open at least 3 days a week. The paint may be a little pricier than most other places but that's how they make their money..and it's good paint. Smells like nanners. They also sell diablo blaze so there isn't any excuses about cheap poorly shooting paint. By the way, they've been selling blaze for quite a while now (over a year and a half). Most of the time crappy paint actually turns out to be a poorly tuned cocker, poor paint to barrel match or low batteries in your halo/revvy/eggo. I can shoot brass eagle paint at home without any problems and I've seen a full case of GAP go through an RT tippy without one break.

Sand? Did you say sand? Yup...I'm afraid so. One of the main weaknesses of Jaegers. BUT that's changing. The problem with wood chips and other media being used in a cave is moisture. You see it's one of those weird geological things about caves in the Midwest. They get damp sometimes. And if you used wood chips you'd get some pretty nasty moldy stuff. But JJ and Glen are smart cookies and they are looking into a rubber composite or even gravel. Anything to make the experience better, safer and cleaner. In the mean time they have removed MOST of the sand from the field that traps moisture and old paint and regularly clean and prep the field so it's nice. They use a lot less sand than they used to. Just enough for traction. I still wouldn't slide alot since it's kind of rough on your knee's but this is rec ball (except for field 4, that's dirt believe, not much moisture in that part of the cave) and you really don't have any reason to slide. If you do it won't kill ya. I do it. And sand in your gun?? How many people do you see playing outside get dirt in their gun? I've been playing there for over 8 years and have NEVER gotten sand in my gun. I don't drop it and I'm not out there trying to dig holes in the sand with it. It's really a non issue.

Let there be LIGHT!

Jaegers has put a lot of money, time and effort into the lighting system. You can see MUCH much better now. Enough said.

What's that smell?

Well, we'd all prefer to play outside where it smells like fresh flowers, but no one wants to get frost bite during the winter so you may have to deal with a little bit of a musty smell to have some indoor fun. It's gotten much better with the removal of the majority of the sand AND the use of GAP banana scented paint (caution: They still taste like crap). It's really not that bad and after about 10 minutes you completely forget about it.

I also understand that they may be lowering the price of paint, they may have already since it's been a little while since I've been up there.

All in all this field is great. Tons of good people to play with ranging from newbs to tourney practice on Field 3 with the sup-air. Great Refs. FAIR paint prices considering what it cost to keep a paintball field in a cave running year round. Great outdoor fields. And even though the rentals LOOK awful they work great. You should try to keep 50+ tippy 98's looking mint when you have a ton of people that have never played paintball before dropping them and scraping them on the pillars. And Jackie, JJ and Glen are always willing to work with people. They let some girls start a ladies night, cheap paint and field fee's for the ladies ever Tuesday night. They've let a group start a pump club and offered them cheap paint and field fee's and the use of one of the smaller fields. They have Teen Night the first Friday of every month and they even have a cheap paint night. What more can you ask for??

I give this a 10 because of how far they've come and how far they're determined to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hemdo5 Tuesday, October 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Splat City paintball in Kc Mo, and jaegers is the best ever. It is so cool in the caves. I love playing in caves.
Review: Jaegars's Paintball is pretty cool. It has inside and outside fields. The outside is like a city. There are so many spots to camp. The inside is the coolest! It is a underground cave. In the caves, there are many bunkers. The only bad part about it is that the caves are not lit up much, so it is hard to see.

I am giving Jaeger's a 9 because it is really expensive. Paint is like $90 dollers for 2000 rounds! You have to use there paint. But all in all, Jaegers is the BOMB!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mizzou1530 Thursday, September 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Lone Jack, Purple Heart, and a few others. They are all better than this one.
Review: This is the absolute worst field I have ever played on. It smells but you get used to it. The paint is way too expensive. The guns they rent to players are in really bad condition. Their other prices are way too expensive too. It is cool to play in a cave but the problems the field has are not worth it. All of the aformentioned problems could be overlooked and you could have a good time but these pale in comparison to what the refs do. I was playing a game there several years back. There were a bunch of newbies playing and another player and I decided to play with them to help them out. These kids were no older than 10 years old. When I was on the right flank I was watching some action between one of the newbies and an experienced player (who happened to know the refs). I had a direct view of the opposing player. The newbie shot him in the shoulder. The ref called paintcheck. Then the ref looked around for other people and TOLD THE PLAYER TO WIPE IT OFF. He then proceeded to yell out that there was no hit. I walked out to the lobby area and packed up my stuff and have never been back since. I have never seen such a blatent disregard for the rules and lack of respect for players. Nobody I play with likes this field and almost all of them have had similar stories to this one. I would not suggest playing here and would hope that the refs learn to respect the game.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vaporshorty10 Tuesday, August 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ww in olathe,ks...drop-zone...tornado ally...splat city...big sky. ww has a better field set up and has way better paint prices...plus the indoor is great. drop-zone is a good place to practice but go on a cool day.splat city has too much sand that can mess up your gun.big sky is the best out door field w/ sup air ive played on, great prices. tornado ally has a killer hyper-ball field.
Review: Overall i didn't like this field at all. The sand messes your gun...the prices empty your wallet and the stench is hard to take. This is a good place for newbies but if your a serious 'baller you better head down the road to a tourney friendly environment.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NLS Saturday, July 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Memphis
Review: Well when you first walk into Jaegers there is an awful smell but that will pass in 10 minutes. There is only one field inside that i got to play in it was prety good but one side to me always had an advantage. I never got to play outside because those fields were closed which made me mad. The GAP balls we had to use smelled good but were crap balls when the came out of my A-5 they went like bras eagle. But i did have a good time and they were too pricy. The rentals were ok because my brother used one and my cousin. But the V-Force goggles sucked bad. I did get a good deal on my 16 oz tank though.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RHSPaintball Monday, June 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friends farm
Review: Although ive been playing for 2 years, Ive only gone to this field about 8 times. The indoor (2 big caves separated by a net) and outdoor fields (speed ball, woods ball, and a sort of town scenario) are both pretty fun. The refs were very nice and helpful. If you do go to this field, i recommend already having your own gun/mask set up, or else plan to spend 100+ $$$ for 1 person. The paint they make you play with is terrible. it breaks all the time in my gun and smells awful and is also extremly pricey. However, every time i have been there the teams are at least 15 on 15, which only makes the experience even better. So over all, Jaegers is a good/fun field, but be prepared to spend at the very least $50 . They get a 7 because of the cost and paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media