paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field

Fox River Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
92Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 10389 Fox River Dr
Millington, Illinois 60537
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Paintballfan'03 Thursday, March 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
badlands
Review: I would have to strongly disagree with the previous post. I played this weekend for the second time at fox river games and I had a blast. I thought that the teams were actually pretty fun. We outnumbered the regulars by about 2 to 1 and we still couldn't win, I thought that it was a blast. It was a nice change of pace from the first time that I had played and it was 50 on 50 and the games drug on for the full 15 minutes, this was a little faster paced, themed to king of the hill, and I thought very fun.
Overall I thought that Fox paintball was a very good field. It was a little muddy but that was to be expected in the spring. The crowd that was there seemed to be a friendly bunch of players and I will find myself playing at Fox river games more often this summer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

D2_PBer Saturday, March 8th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz
CPX
CLP
Directions
to the Field:
Google it
Review: The posts below are very true. The field is run by inbred hillybillies that seriously needs to have some restructuring in management. They are continuing to set up games like today with regulars vs noobs and it's seriously getting out of hand. They claimed it's "fair," and while the regulars thoroughly agreed, the noobs were like WTF. I left early today because it just wasn't fun AT ALL. I would suggest somewhere that promotes fair play such as Badlandz or CLP. With the new 355 extention, Badlandz becomes almost equidistant travelwise from Naperville, Downers Grove, Oak Brook, etc. I would highly recommend Badlandz until Fox can get their act together. Their lack of employment is also a sign that this field is going down hill.

The post below that states that 12-15 year olds are causing bad game play is 100% accurate. Who wants to play with these kids, with their parents paying a grand for the best equipment, and they run their mouth thinking they're the sh*t. It's really annoying. The players at Badlandz however is for the most part mature, older, and nicer from my experience.

It is nice that Fox lets the public play their airball field... which is a huge plus because the surround area fields wont let you... but the negatives completely outweigh this one positive.

Also FORGET GETTING A PRIVATE GAME here. The numerous posts below regarding private games is very true. I've had 2 bad experiences in the past.. NEVER AGAIN. We only played at most 5 games where you could play 10+ games of private play at Badlandz. To corporate members looking for a nice outing... go to Badlandz. They treat you fair and if your gun doesn't work, they'll replace it unlike Fox.

I would not recommend Fox anymore until they revamp their management and gameplay style.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

tomfuerst68 Tuesday, March 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All fiels in area
Review: I had my worst experiance in paintball history. I know there is a lot of ego's with paintball, but this time was ridiculous. All the way from management calling people out during pre-game play, from refs saying that others refs did not know what they were doing, from individual players (mostly regulars).

I do not like shooting gallery scenerios, like we had sunday. They might as well had one team were red coats and line up to be shot. It was like the revolutionary war. Unfortunatly I was one of the redcoats. There is no benefit in having a 30 on 10 game to try to make the game even. Regular / Experienced players should be split up, then add all the cherrys as needed. A balanced 20 on 20 game would be more fun for everyone. Games like that are set-up to boost ego and talk about how many noobs I marked. The park is being taken over by 12-14 year olds that do not have a clue about sportmanship and a fun weekend.

I know this was basically the opener for the field and they said they are trying to experiment with new games. My opinion is "if it's not broken, don't fix it." Paintball is not rocket science. Hey hockey is the same game everytime, no one says lets use a soccerball instead of a puck...Duh.

Hopefully the field learns from this bad experiance and changes thier protocol.

Otherwise the location and field have beutiful setups and very clean. My only problem was with managment this time. I'm sure they realize the problems they had. My field rating is still high based on previous experiances.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Chitown_pb Monday, March 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Chicagoland Paintball good for scrims
Badlandz probably the best in the chicagoland area for refs, fields, and amount of play.
Sudden Impact another good place to scrim in central illinois.
Review: I've been playing for more than 15 years and everytime I go to fox I end the day thinking "this is why I dont like coming here." Unlike Badlanz that splits the skill level evenly, so that the better players can coach and help the noobs get better, Fox always decides to do the regulars vs noobs or their registered teams vs everyone else. This doesn't help expand the sport or help the skill level of those new to the sport. I always end up feeling bad for the noobs who out number the regs, but get beat to the ground game after game. 30 rentals that dont shoot straight vs 10 players with ego's, pm/dm's, cockers, etc is not fair by any means.

This past weekend I tried to coach some of the newer players and they were extremely appreciative and some started to play better making better decisions. This is what paintball is about. Not having the regs conduct shooting practice with their mid to high end markers.

As posted below the refs are also blind to wiping and dont take the initiative to call people out until they have a couple ropes hit them. It's too bad because the refs can make or break one's experience, and the reviews that precede mine explicitely show their caliber.

Myself as well as my team and five other teams we work with will conduct our business and share our skill at CLP or Badlandz.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Alexisawesome72 Thursday, January 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None around here
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
Review: This field is great! My experiences here have been mostly good ones. To start , the place is HUGE! The service is great too. All of the emplyees are really friendly and professional. They even helped me when I had a leak in my gun. They clearly know what they are doing. Safty is is enforced at the field, so I felt extreamley comfertable. Events, such as scenarios, that Fox runs are alot of fun and present the oppertunity to meet new people, which are friendly mostly. I especially loved the "Lost" and " Training Day III" scenarios. Prices are not bad either: $30 for the day plus free air. Its also BYOP incase you don't feel like getting field paint. Some highlights of Fox are Playing at the Village and The Hill. Overall, I have a great time every time that I go and I always feel welcomed as a player.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

oublik2 Tuesday, November 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Take Aim
Review: -FACTS-
It's $30 to get in, which isn't so bad because everyday is B.Y.O.P. Fox also sells paint if you need any and their pricing on paint also isn't too steep like some other fields. 20$ for a bag of 500, But when you turn in your wavier's and ask for a bag my friends got it for $12. Obviousley theres some kind of discount on paint when you FIRST regester, however I was ripped off and i will explain later. Fox has a decent selection of fields, when i went to Fox the first time they had 2 X-ball fields but on my second trip they took one down, A speedball field, and many woodsball fields including a field called "The Village" which in my opinion is the best woodsball field they have, A few chrono stations here and there, and a shooting range. All of which is neatly placed all over the Fox property. A nice choice of food and drink at the concession stand. Safety was pretty good they always did chrono checks before you went out on the field and while walking to the field some guy had his mask up and a ref that wasnt even sopposed to watch over our game came running across the field that he was watching over and yelling at him to put the mask down. Porta potty's are on site so don't worry.
-MY EXPERENCE-
I have been there twice with mixed feelings. The first time my friends and I went, we didn't know there was a scenario game going on that day and that worked against us. We got in 3 games that day...Yes only 3. All the open game players could join the scenario game, because thoose were the only games going on. My friends and I played an open game within the first hour of our arrival and everything was going ok. But an hour or so went by and we never heard a ref yell out "open game! 5 minutes!" so we asked one of the refs when will the next open game be and he said it would be 5 minutes. And 5 minutes goes by and so we asked another ref and he said 5-10 minutes. In total we had to wait 3 hours for the next open game to start because the refs had this food fight thing they did. Not very organised if you ask me. We then played in the Village field, which was awsome, the field was well put together the buildings weren't demented and falling over. We all played 2 rounds at 10 minutes a round, switching sides when a round was over. That was the best out of that whole day, but if the operators at Fox could organize the games properly instead of everyone waiting 3 hours for the next game, we would all be much happier paintballers.
Sorry guys if you don't like to read this much for a field review but i'm just trying to cover all the bases about the good and bad in hopes that you will get a better understanding of how Fox Paintball works.
Now, the second time i went was by far a much better experence and the best time i had paintballing ever. My friends and i learned our lesson and didn't come during a scenario game. We had open games all day long, if there is 10 or more people in your party you get special treatment because you can actually pick what field you want to play on and you get your own ref to oversee the games. While we were there another group of open game players asked us to join them so that we would have 10+ people and play at the supair field which we did. The mix between novice players and more experenced players was nice, a few game we played 6 vs 4 beacuse the 4 players were tournment players just to even things out. The ref that we had didn't call anyone out that i'm aware of, he just stood there. The only time i noticed him doing any kind of reffing was when there was a 3 vs 1 at the end of a game and that one player was trapped behind a bunker so he ended the match. that day of paintballing i must have played around 20 games and as a result of the heavy play my legs were sore the next day to the point where i had to walk funny because i couldent bend my legs but it was worth it because i had a great time. However, as i mentioned earlier i got ripped off on the paint pricing. Whoever accepts your waiver forms will ask you if you need paint or any other gear and you get a discount i don't know if that extends to the different amounts of paint, but you can get 500 for $12 in stead of the standard 500=$20. I did say i didn't need paint when she asked me but as soon as i said no she went to this guy that was waiting to ask a question, she didn't even give me the green wristband that your sopposed to get saying that you paid. I had to ask another employee for one and when i got one i went back to the person that kinda ignored me and i asked for a bag of 500 and she told me it was $20....and then i said somthing like "i thought it was 12?" and she just looked back at me blankly and said no. i got kinda pissed but i could use some extra paint and i paid the $20. Yes i know i did say i didn't need any paint but she never gave me a wristband, she completely ignored me and went on to someone else, and i did JUST turn in my waiver form to the same person not even 2 minutes ago. Am I in the wrong here? i think i should have gotten that discount i never even left walked out the door and came back in, i was there the whole time. Also, they didnt even check if i was 18. I am 18 however and i do have my licence so i didn't bother to print out the waiver form at my house because i thought it would be easier to do it there and i told them how old i am and they never asked for a card, I guess i look older? I did have problems with my gun and the guy at the fill station was running all over the place because a lot of other people needed help but he got my gun fixed so it's all good. Once again sorry for this long review, but in conclusion, if you plan on going to Fox DO NOT go on a scenario day if all you want to do is play open games all day, check the Fox website for when scenario games happen. The service needs more work and to be more organised that is really the only bad thing about Fox, and the fact that it's around an hour from where i live. Next time i'll be sure to buy paint exactly when i regester. i gave this field a 7 because it is good, it's peolple that needs improvement, I will be going again only now i know what to expect from this field, and so will you, thank you for reading.
Last edited on Friday, March 14th, 2008 at 3:01 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

nopaint Tuesday, November 6th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Everyone Please Read this including Staff member

I do NOT recommend anyone setting up a private game for this field. Plan on losing at least two hours of sitting around watching the refs pretend like they know what their doing. Seriously paintball is not rocket science!

Good luck trying to pay with a credit card because apparently ther credit card zon machianes only allow a "special amount" of transactions to be proccessed per day..... That's a first!

If you do decide give them a shot at setting a game up for you make sure whoever you talk to fully explains pricing, check in time, deposit and the responsibility of the "Group Leader" because they don't. You may want to talk notes for this one or read the policy and procedure manual on-line..

The group leader MUST COLLECT ALL OF THE MONEY for there players and hand it over Fox Paintball employee in one lump sum. Instead of making each individual player paying for themselves.....Which of cource would make more sence and less frustrating to all, but thats there policy!!! I have yet to find this one written anywhere.

This is to the Group Leader. Remember everything falls on you shoulders! Everything.... If aliens come from other space and steal any of the gear, tanks, paintballs, belt straps someone soul...... YOU WILL BE HELD RESPONSIBLE.

Overall: There field is fun to play on but definitely not worth the time, money and effort to ever go back ther again!

Advise to the staff, from one business owner to another.... During you moring meetings, please do not pass out any NOS tanks for your employees to suck on and...................

...... Do you guys drink bleach?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

CQB.Wardog Monday, August 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Played all over IL
Review: Fox always runs a good show. I remember when it was "Fox River Games". I'm an old-timer.

The "BYOP" format is really good for a lot of people, and they sell decent paint on site as well. The only problem I have is when the tourney guys show up with their special paint. my gear still has stains on it.

The only downsides are that it's way out in the middle of NOWHERE. You're going to be driving a lot to get there. They do spot-check the chrony, but not as much as I'd like to see them do it. The referees are as involved as they can be in game play, but sometimes they can get overwhlemed.

On the good side, when you go there you know you're going to get in a lot of good game play. They'll keep you running at a good pace all day. They also have a nicely stocked pro-shop on site now, selling everything you'd need. You could show up naked with a credit card and be outfitted for the day out of the on-site shop. I wouldn't recommend it, but you could.

It's worth the time to go, and the scenario games are always worth it. BYOP scenarios are very cool.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonnyboy050 Wednesday, June 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Take Aim, badlandz
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest
Review: This place is pretty nice, they have 4 on site fields, one x-ball, sup air and two trapshot fields, from what i know they are putting in the second x-ball field, everyone there is nice, but THE REFS SUCK BALLS, i played in the youg gunz series and i was called out twice on two bouncers, and off the filed i was watching a game and some kid got shot very noticably on his gut, one of the refs didnt even look like she knew what paintball was and just stod there not doing anything, they have food in the proshop which is a pretty nice place. As far as ive heard the scenario games are very well set up here (ive never played in one) Overall a 6 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spiderspawn Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 9th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPX, RoR, Private field
Directions
to the Field:
If coming from Morris, IL or I-80 it is better to take Walker Rd from Route 47. Instead of going all the way to Route 126/ 71.
Review: My first time to the this field was during the Scavenger Hunt. I had a blast then I decided to book my son's first game here.
The rates for private games are far cheaper than other fields and the Referees, Frank and Matt, were professional and helpful.
We had a group of 22 people from newbie to experienced, from 10 yrs old to 48 yrs old, boys and girls. All had a great time!!!!
We played 11 matches that day, it would have been more if people would not had been late getting there, but hey that's life.
The fields were excellent with foliage growth, the village is by far the best field, fast pace and brutal. We had several guys try to run up on people only to get shot point blank, but that's the chance you take when you do that.
The last field, added a different element to game. THE HILL. Frank told me about this field and I was thinking a hill but after what felt like a 20 minute walk to the location, I did not see a hill. I saw a wall. I never played vertical before but this was about as close as you could get. We separated in to 3 teams of 6 one team on each side and one on top.
That match was by far the best way to end the day.
I would recommend Fox Paintball to anyone who wants to play on great fields and meet some other paintballers!!
Last edited on Tuesday, November 13th, 2007 at 3:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media