paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field

Fox River Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
92Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 10389 Fox River Dr
Millington, Illinois 60537
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
sodepop Sunday, August 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Challenge Park Extreme(kinda sucks}paint costs to much)
Safari Land Splat(to small)
Review: I have only played at this place one time and it was awesome. We went for the scenario with REAL Army Rangers and REAL Navy SEALS and it was great. I had an amazing time. We played mostly woodland games and played one real speedball game with my freinds. It was like a perfect setup. But towards the end we payed a giant airball game. They lifted up the screens and played with 2 speedball fields. Like 300 ppl. It was great. At the end they gave out prizes and stuff. All in all the refs were good and cool. IT WAS FRIGGEN AWESOME!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

qhimq Monday, August 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I went there for a team practice. Only played by ourselves at the front speedball field. It was pretty fun. Only bad thing that happend was that a guy overfilled my co2 bottle. No one refed us either but since we all knew each other it didn't matter much.

but its a very good place for value. speedball fields are awsome.
Last edited on Monday, August 8th, 2005 at 6:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

whiterice Saturday, August 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Challenge Park Extreme
PB Shooters Paintball
Tri County Paintball
Review: My favorite field.

Fox has a really nice amount of fields, and while all wooded, all have a unique feel to them. The Village is a nice, wide-open, building-oriented field and it impresses me how much they really thought about the 10-foot rule in it's design. Most of the players I've ran into that I'd call "hard core" that love speedball don't really care about the 10-foot rule, but for casual players and especially younger/newer players, I think it's a great thing to enforce. But that's neither here nor there...

The staff quality has always been very high. Sometimes breaks between games does get a little long, especially around their lunchtimes, but otherwise I really haven't got any complaints about them. Great place to play whether you're "hard core", casual, or a newbie to paintball. Many wooded fields, 2 or 3 (or more) speedball fields, overall a really fun experience!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBshot31 Monday, August 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB Shooters (Before it closed)
Review: My friends and I all met up at my house one morning to go to this field.
1ST IMPRESSIONS: When we go to the field there was a large sign "WINDOWS UP WATCH OUT FOR FLYING PAINTBALLS" "Great" I thought "our car is going to get lit up any second" But it didn't and we made it to Fox unscathed
THE FIELD: BYOP $25 pretty normal, Normal safety stuff, Woods ball only that day the guy said if they have more than like 75 people there that they do speed ball and woods ball, bummer.
THE PLAY: Fields were pretty nice except I got bonus balled one round by some cool kid with a Timi :^P. And I was there for about 6 or 7 hours and played like 10 games so not that many but it was still pretty fun.
RATING I give it a 9 because there wasn't any speed ball that day and I didn't get to play a whole lot
SECOND TRIP: Pretty much the same except this time I asked a ref if he would do speedball for us and he did so I got to play a lot more.
Last edited on Monday, August 8th, 2005 at 12:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

4skins23 Sunday, July 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlands, Challenge Park, Operation Paintball, etc....
Review: I have played there once, and had a great experience. My day began about 10:00 A.M., registered no problems, no lines, did the safety brief thing which was good and short and to the point. From there we were on our own, play all day at our pace. Relaxed atmosphere, basically we wanted to play speed-ball so they sent out a ref. By the way, we did chrono first at about 270 or so. So anyway we played speed-ball most of the day and we did make it out to the village for a game. The refs are super nice and helpful; pay attention to the game and do a good job. Compared to Badlands woods-ball fields- the fields here blow them away in my opinion. The refs are much better than at badlands too. Some people are ripping on the refs at fox because of wiping, well I chalk that up to that reviewers lack of experience.If you get shot, you pat that spot to see if it broke or bounced,that's probably what he saw. now if there was any question to if he hit him and broke, he should have hit the other guy like 5-10 times till he calls himself out. (its pretty hard to hide or wipe 10 hits. I believe in hitting them til they call themselves out.) Never had any problems with anyone either.I rank this field a "10" because the speed-ball fields are as good as Badlands and the woods-ball fields are way better, refs are way better and nicer. I can't find a complaint when its 25 to get in free air and BYOP every day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HeavyHitter14 Tuesday, July 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tri-City Paintball, BadLandz, Paint Pursuit, Factory Paintball, Challenge Park Extreme, Paintball Blitz.
Review: Fox River Paintball is one of the most awesome field to play. Its a large field with lots of excitements. Staffs were very nice (they take their work very seriously and they are friendly), prices are good, and other thing is that you could bring your own paint and thats a big plus for me. Also, airs are free and you don't have to fall in line just to get air refills. The only thing that I didn't like on this field are the guns that you rent but that doesn't affect me because I do have my own gun. Referees were also very cool. We went there as a team and played woodsball and also speedball. I brought all my guns (A-5, 98C, Ion, Dye, and my Matrix) thats why I keep switching guns every game. I didn't like the fact that other players keeps wiping off the paints and kept on playing even though I did have a good shot on them. This is one of the best field I've ever played based on my experience. Me and my friends always have a plan of going back every week. SEE YA ON THE FIELD. Have fun there people and keep safe!

PS. The rating that I gave is based on the actual field and not on the other players. I aslo barely give any field a rate of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbagent Monday, July 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rockford Paintball, Operation Paintball, Paintball Sam's
Review: I have played at Fox two times, and both times had similar experiences. People generally shoot hot, and there is lots and lots of cheating.

Nobody watches you chrono, so there are lots of people shooting hot. I went to chrono, and there were several players clocking at 320 fps. I told them they were shooting hot, and that they had to turn their guns down, but I did not stick around to see if they did...

Also, there were lots of people wiping or just not coming out after being marked. There was a group of about 10 guys who wore some type of vests and looked like the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. No matter how many times you shot them, they would not leave the game. At the end of the day, one of the refs finally said something to them... but I don't think they left the game, I think they snuck around to a different part of the field.

Even when you play speedball, know that the players will not call themselves out when marked. The ref's don't really enforce much except keeping masks on.

Overall, they have a variety of fields for both speedball and woodsball, so you should not get bored if you go out there for a day. If you are OK with people shooting hot and cheating, you will have a lot of fun here. Crank your gun up and prepare to wipe!

*** EDIT ***
I recently played this field again and had a much different experience... so here you go:

The turnout was light, probably because they were having a major scenario the next day (and because it was like 95 degrees!) The ref's were a lot more relaxed and the players were a much friendlier crowd... maybe because of the lighter turnout?

They still did not have any staff at the Chrono station, and there were lots of kids out to play.

They have a lot of land here, and they divide it up into many smaller fields to get a good rotation and multiple games going. I think some of the woodsball fields are too small for huge numbers of people to play. On most of the woodsball fields, you start out within range of each other, so its more like speedball with trees. The Toxic field is awesome.

On this latest visit, we had team sizes of 8 to 12, and that seemed about right for most of the woodsball fields.

My gun broke with 2 games left to play in the day, and I was able to borrow a rental gun for the rest of the day at no charge. Kudos to the staff - they didn't have to do that.

Overall, I give this field an 8/10. I gave it another chance, because it is close to home for me and because a lot of the other reviews are positive. I'll go back again.

My two suggestions to staff (if they read this) would be:

1) to staff the Chrono station, and maybe use wire ties as proof.
2) keep the team sizes smaller by running more games at a time, which also gets more games in per day.
Last edited on Monday, September 19th, 2005 at 10:46 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

cbkid09 Saturday, June 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: One of my favorties fields beside badlandz in chicago... this is the field where my team ( Team Si Core) is sponsered by.... the woods ball and senerio is very fun... if you have ever gone to the vilage at the back of fox it will be a great experience.... but im not the type of paintballer thats into senerio. im the speed ball type of guy... with two plastic cources and two air bunker courses your going to wanna play unitll 3 in the morining...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mp1017paintball Monday, May 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Went there only once for private party, great woodland fields which are my favorite.
Refs were really cool, and helpfull as to let us decide if we want to play by their rules or make our own on the fields.You can bring your own paint which is not a hassle cause you can pick your own to mach your marker, not like other fields that want you to buy from them.
I am planning to go back there again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

triggerhappy13 Wednesday, May 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Fox Paintball is an awesome place to play. The prices are good. When you go to sign in you never have to wait long and the staff is very nice but take their job seriously. When playing the refs will watch out for noobs and not let them get picked on to much. All of their fields are nice sized. When you go there be sure to ask if you can go to the village when you do go out there make sure you bring extra paint and air and if it is a big open game paint will be flying everywhere from the beginning of the game to the end.

If you are looking for a new place to play go to Fox Paintball oyu will want to come back every time you have a chance.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media