paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field

Fox River Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
92Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 10389 Fox River Dr
Millington, Illinois 60537
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
rainofpaint Sunday, May 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DuPage Paintball Park - Smaller, good for beginners
Tri-City Paintball Park - Good park, despite minor flaws
Operation Paintball - The park that started my obsession.
Review: It was a bright sunny saturday, I had absolutely nothing to do, and I'd just E-bladed my cocker... Once again it was time to shoot people. But I didn't want to go to the 'same old parks' around me. No, I'd had my fill of 'the same'. I'd heard good things about this 'Fox Paintball' park, I'd been in their pro-shop at West Dundee numerous times.

I wasn't disappointed.

As you pull in, a sign warns you, Please roll up your windows. I soon discovered the reason for this,
Upon arriving, my jeep was 'christened' by a yellow fill ball over the net of one of the speedball fields. I took it as a good omen of sorts... "Jeep's out, Let 'er up!!!"

Took a parking spot, and made note of the ample parking, another good sign, the paintball gods were smiling, there had to have been at least 20 people milling about, some with jerseys and shiny new markers, some rec-ballers and first timers with the rental automags. Another good sign, diversity.

I went into the office, and checked in for some open games, knowing that there'd only be a few hours of game time. Registration and payment went quick, another very good sign, as there's little worse than waiting 15 or 20 minutes for someone to take your money so you can get to the gritty business of painting someone a brighter color.

Now, Fox is BYOP, and they also sell paint at the field (duh). But now, you can get three grades of paint AT the field, some cheaper than others. I went with the mid-grade, which was Draxxus Rec, dark shell, white fill. Didn't break my budget, didn't break in my barrel, and flew nicely from a .682 back. Nuff said, even their 'bad paint' is pretty good paint, I was expecting factory seconds or 'freedom' (That horrid stuff that I wouldn't put in a garbage can, much less my marker).

That done, I made my way to one of the tables, and behold, there was enough space to lay both my wife's and my equipment out for inspection and setup. This is of course where I take the longest.

Fill stations are Do It Yourself, except for Co2, a wise decision on management's part. Kalibur fill stations take the thinkwork out of filling your tanks, and they fill to 4500. The Kaliburs have an automatic cut-off, so you won't be overfilling your tank there. Another Yay for safety.

Chrono is probably the one thing that sticks out as 'not so great'. I chrono'd both my wife and my markers, but noone observed this fact. This is the ONE place I like to see a ref planted. Not seeing one there to chrono me in sort of left a little shiver of worry.

That said, the competition and the staff are both top caliber, pun intended. Games leave on time, and Refs let you know VERY clearly what's going on when. the referees we had that day were exactly what I'd expect a ref to be, personable, charismatic, and friendly, but no-nonsense once the game begins. Call a paint check, and they WILL check you, or your intended target. FAST. I like that. They also have safety, fairness, and good sportsmanship as top priorities, even when it comes to the rather experienced players, who sometimes 'run the park' at other fields.

Armed with this knowledge, I think I've found a new outdoor park to trek to... OFTEN.

Review data as follows.

Points of Review
Refereeing 10/10
Safety 6/10
Overall Appearance 8/10
Price 9/10
Field Quality 7/10
Size 10/10
Equipment Offered 7/10

Overall Average rating 8/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bestnewbuno Thursday, May 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball blitz, ccpaintball, funland, etc etc
Review: It is bigger than you think its normally gonna be.... Its nice because u can bring your own paint... I recomend this to players who are serious about the game if you come normaly... If your into competitive play id recomend this course...
-ion man if you are just a recreational player and you only have a low end gun and you are about 1 year experience i do not recomend it although its nice to learn by your mistakes... If you are starting a team then i recomend this place
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hotandwide224 Saturday, February 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
challenge take aim
Review: This is the third feild i palyed at and wow!!!! it was amazing good refes i love the village it was awsum [remember ful and and paint when u go there tho] i played woodball it was fun. i like it a lot better than cpx. the byop is the best i saved about 50 buck from cpx and take aim. i didnt like that some hudge noobs had wpg karnivariors and cant paly and complain that their guns are bad thats just sad overall A plus plus i love shouting into the river
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

minipaintballer Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB Shooters, Challange Park, Take Aim Paintball
Review: This field is great! If you are starting to come into the sport of paintball, you should really consider going to this field first. Some of the best fields are The Village, The Hill, and Stonehenge (they were empying it out, which really sucks). This field is more looking towrads the woodsball player, but its a good start for anybody starting this awsome sport.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

senorbob19023 Wednesday, January 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox river game> Challenge park, Tri-City, Dupage
Review: THIS PLACE WAS AWESOME!!!. Great refs. The village is my favorite. And my park district rents out the entire place 3 times a year. The BYOP rule is also quite pimpin. Only bad part is that it is closed for the winter. :-(. The rentals are pretty bad but i got my own marker so that doesn't affect me. Also the Slim Jims are great. I know the guy whose brother runs the place. In my travelings i have not come across a better park. A+
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

SOC Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Take Aim-Cheap for an indoor place, expensive paint though
Review: This was the field where I began my paintballing addiction. I was introduced to the sport of paintball here during the winter. The fields were absolutely great! I loved the woodsball places, especially The Village! I have played in almost all of the fields ( I haven't had the chance to try the Hill). Everything is great. All of the prices are reasonable and I loved the BYOP factor.

The only thing that I didn't like about the field is that they used portapotties. No offense, but I'm not a big fan of portapotties. However, I don't really care! I don't really go to the bathroom when I go paintballing!

Overall great field, great refs, great prices, great everything!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

P8TBALLER84 Thursday, December 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fox, operation
Review: This field rocks the hizouse!!!! This i can say is my home field. The people are awsome, the refs are awsome, the fields are awsome not to mention that its BYOP all the time. I have played open games and Senario games here and i always have fun. On the weekends there are always lots of people that show up to play and they make the teams even and fair. If you live in the northern illinois area then i suggest you come and play this field and if your lucky enough you could even see me there :)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pnovotny Monday, December 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB Shooters, Challenge Park, Safari Splat, Paintball Blitz
Review: I have played at Fox River Games 4 times now and all I can say is GREAT!!! From an infrastructure standpoint this is not the best field I have played at. It has that "homemade" feel to it but that is fine with me.

The refs are terrific. I have two boys ages 10 and 11 and the refs went out of their way to help with their masks, guns etc. The fields are a lot of fun and the primary focus is woods-ball. My favorite feature is that this field is BYOP so you can have a fun filled day at low cost. I usually play open games and there is always someone to play with at the filed. On any particular Saturday there have been anywhere from 40 to 60 people playing open games. The crowd doesn't seem to surprise the staff and everything runs smooth.

The air fills are 3000psi and 4500psi which is great because most fields only fill to 3000. The have a heated building with picnic tables inside that servers hot dogs, soda, candy and chips. Even the food prices are great. $1.25 for a hot dog and $.75 for a coke.

My only complaint is the fact that the Automag 68s they use need to be replaced or repaired. On most occasions, the guns have not performed very well when my guests have had to rent from the field. If they replaced the guns with Tippmann 98s or something a bit more reliable this field would score a 10 in my book. I have read the reviews for the Automags and everyone says they are great guns. That may be true but maybe they aren't good for the beatings that rental guns take. Not sure on that one.

All in all, you can tell that the people who run this place are smarter than those who run the average field. They know what the public wants and they reflect it in the way the business is run.

Fields 10/10
Staff 10/10
Price 10/10
Rental Guns 4/10
Last edited on Friday, December 10th, 2004 at 8:37 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cubsfan_1 Saturday, November 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Did not have a good experience @ this park.

CONS: 1) LONG DELAYS between games, I have never been to a park where they break after playing one side of a field before playing from the opposite side of the same field. They said 5 minutes, it was never less than 25 minutes. I was there over 5 hours and only played 3 fields, total of 6 games. At one point a judge was calling people for an open game and some regulars there told the judge they needed more time. 2) NO FOOD, the park, like most is in the middle of no where, had decent prices for soda and snacks etc. tried to get a hot dog but they were all out. 3) FIELDS TOO CLOSE, the fields are right on top of each other, I was getting hit from a game on the field next to ours. Both fields shared the same boundary line. 4) ONE LANE ENTRANCE/EXIT, vehicles coming and going have to be very careful passing each other. Judges were very inexperienced

PROS: 1) DECENT PRICES 2) BYOP, you can bring your own paint, much cheaper than buying it there.

I complained about the excessive delays and was told that the judges would be talked to, well thanks a lot that really does a lot for me and the fact that I played 3 fields in 5 hours.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

blazian Friday, November 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None (Don't think i need to)
Review: This field is great! Prices for admission and paint are extremely reasonable (BYOP is available too!) Free days are also great (buy $18 paint and get free admission/rentals). Refs are fair and very helpful. Free all day air and a great concession stand. The registration process is quick and easy and they try to squeeze in as many games as possible.
Both times I've been there they made an open game speedball game that was running simultaneously with the walk-on open game. Great big fields, free prizes, and a great day of fun!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media