paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field / American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field / American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field / American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field

American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
71Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 303.298.8573
Address: 4100 Grape Street
Denver, Colorado 80216
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
gunner142 Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
the PARC, Splatmasters,Play at the bullpen.
Review: ok so it started out we had to go here because the parc was closed so we got there and the first guy we met was Lance he was a nice guy but he was just 1 screw lose of a sturdy structure if you know what i mean. he was cool though he gave me a discount off of everything for some reason maybe because it was my first time there but he did't give my friends it and they had never been there before ethier.
the lobby area where you put your gear was good they had vending machines,tables and a counter that ran along the walls but all the accumulated paint on the slick concrete floors was a hazard, i don't know how many times i just about biffed it.
the rules were like typical field rules other than that you had to had to chrono below 255, but the fields are 3 man fields. I did't play the rec-ball field i only played the tournament field, it was ok, it was in urgent need of being washed and cleaned. some of the bunkers were not inflated all the way which sucked. and you could not wear cleats ethier.
As for prices go it was the standard entrance fee but the paint was expensive and it was the crapiest paint i have ever played with i keep braking in my angels barrel. it was happening to everybody so we went and told lance and he said it was becuase they were trying to get rid of all the paint left over from the year before.
all in all it was ok. But i hope the field is clean when i go up there for a tourney in a couple of weeks.
Last edited on Monday, May 7th, 2007 at 7:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spike_ball999 Tuesday, April 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PARC - I plan to investigate soon.
Review: Since this is the most reviewed field in the area and it's mostly good things, I decided to check them out. I went there on one of my only days off, Friday. I didn't know weekdays were mostly for groups, but Lance still let me play. That was cool. As long as you keep his groups happy, then he's happy. The two fields are nice, but I definitly like the airball more. The scenario sort of field is too close together and if there's too many people on it, it's rediculous. Both fields needed to be cleaned. The bunkers were all paint covered and the floor was slippery. That's what happens when you have an indoor field. Overall, it was good and I'd definitly go there again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ditch1978 Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in Colorado
Home Field: Dangerzone Indoor (Tacoma, Washington)
Review: Ok how did everyone else rate the field as to how Ill rate it. Ive seen quite a few things on here about discrepancies about the "home team" giving regulars the "special treatment" I didn't notice this. Matter of fact I actually learned a few things from the "Home Team."

Here's my review: (Indoor Field)

Upon entering the setting looks like an old warehouse set in an industrial district. It has limited parking and a sign from a neighboring business stating that anyone parking in their lot going to play paintball will be towed. When entering the pro shop is immediately on the left. I noticed a lot of smart part markers and accessories along with empire and reds jerseys. Just beyond that you reach the marker rental and return booth where of course you meet Lance. Hmmm How to describe Lance. A happy go lucky guy that has been playing the sport way too long. LOL nah just joshing. This guy knows his stuff, has a great attitude and sense of humor and really seems to love his job. I had a minor problem with the switch on my marker and he fixed it for free which is always a price I like.

Ok prices well this one I have to say is a bit steep. For field fee all day air and a case of stinger paint it was $94. A case of stinger can easily be purchased for $45 else where but they charge $65, field fee and air fee is pretty much a standard price no matter where you go. Id say if your gonna charge $65 for a case how bout a case of Premium paint.

Staffing well as far as I could tell everyone was very helpful. I of course did go on a sunday and didn't play in a tourney so as far as reffing went it was more on an honor system. I mean come on you can wipe the paint but ya cant wipe a welt. If you get hit get off the field. As for attitude of staff and regular players. Come on this is Speed-ball...not woods-ball and rec-ball. Off field I was told I have a different attitude than on field. There's supposed to be a level of smack talking in the game, gets your adrenaline going. So I give their attitude a ten.
As for stretching of the rules and special treatment I tried to get the staff to bend the rules a little bit and they wouldn't, not even for the regulars.

Safety: All barrels must have plugs or sleeves at all times when off the field and goggles must be on at all times in any area where a marker is in use. No Exceptions!
This is of course would seem pretty standard no matter where you play. Fire extinguishers and first aid kits were readily available. Emergency exit locations and routing was also available. Downside: They have a lot of concrete flooring and NO safety mats. Condensation paint and slick floors dont mix.

As for the field all the bunkers were wiped down and were aired up. Its nice to know that there are still homos that slash the bunkers cause they get owned. But that's another story. As for the cleanliness of the field based on what staff was talking about New turf is on its way.

Facilities: As for food and sodas they had a few vending machines, and the restrooms were kept up and clean.

The players I met were overall in good spirit. Most were very competitive on and off the field. Constantly comparing and giving pointers as well as some boasting but bragging rights come and go.

Overall I feel this is a good environment for new players as well as experienced ones. Especially those with an interest in speed-ball. My rating a 9. The amount of parking available could use some work and the price of the paint offered could use some serious work.
Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 1:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

rk3 Friday, February 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SplatMasters, APP Greeley
Directions
to the Field:
Not worth providing.
Review: Apc's Staff ... ok, Apc's indoor feilds ... undersized and in need of cleaning, Apc's home team ... terrible. Its a feild that favors its home team (obviously), but to the point where the teams rules aren't the same as everyone elses. REF'S .. Being that the only ref out there at the time was on the feild's home team i think its enough to say that he was either blind or on drugs. I mean besides the rude, cocky for no reason (because they're nothing to brag about), and unsportsmen-like home team its not a bad place. The only things that it could improve on would be cleaning the bunkers on the speedball feild (they need it badly), and some glasses for the owner so he could see what his home team is really all about.

I would honestly say just go somewhere else and save youself some time and aggravation.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kiba000 Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PARC, paintball adventures.
Review: Cost- It was $15 field fee, $20 for 500rnds and $65 for 2000rnds which is about what any field around here costs.

Staff- The staff was helpful with every problem people had and helped the newer players use the speed ball field when they wanted a chance and were to scared to play the regular speed ballers.

Fields- There is a speed ball field and a "scenario" field which is basically a hyper ball field with some barrels. The speed ball field has a green carped for the "turf" and the other field has a dirt floor.

My experience here- When i first arrived i noticed there was a pro shop on site. I played some speed ball for half the day playing with the tournament players. I then spent the other part of the day with a group of people on the scenario field. it was a very good day. I highly recommend this field!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

coz1krider Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball adventures
Review: When myself and a group of friends went to the coliseum we were limited to just the indoor facilities as it was snowing outside. Primarily, we played in the field w/ the dirt floor with irrigation tubing, tires and plywood obstacles. We also played in the speed-ball area as well. This was our first time in a indoor facility. One thing i did notice was that the obstacles were covered w/ paint as if they hadn't been clean in months. Overall though, we still had a good time. Overtime i can see how this place can get claustrophobic. Staff at the time was Lance and Tony. Although from other reviews some users had a bad experience at least w/ Tony. Mine wasn't at all bad even though he caught me on more than one occasion w/o my barrel condom. Lance was pretty helpful w/ any needs that we may have had. Showed us how to air using the HPA fill station, let us borrow tape and markers. I wouldnt have any reservation on going back to this place. My rating may change based on my experience on the outdoor fields whenever that time comes. Prices are basically on par w/ paintball adventures.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

straw Friday, October 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SXP once at paintball adventures and then a few out of state places
Review: This is my home field and this is the best place to play sure its in side but the staff is friendly and im pretty shure lance invinted the sport he can fix any thing this place rocks tehy also have an outdoor field but i have not played ther but im shure it just as good the indire field has one speedball field astro turf and then one dirt scenario field but i think there going to change it to a another speedball field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LoaderJeremy Friday, May 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Adventures; Sedalia, CO: Much larger Rec Ball area. Two fields with pneumatic bunkers. No pro Shop at the field. Paint cost is the same. All day air fill not available, costs $1/1000.
Review: I have played at APC since they were at their old location on Brighton Blvd. This location has a lot more room, especially on the scenario field. Then now have pneumatic bunkers instead of the old corrugated pipe bunkers. Lighting could be better. They have a great area for staging and time between games. About a half dozen vending machines are available for those who forget to bring refreshments. They have a flat fee for all day air fills, but they run a cascade system that only allows fills to 3,000 psi. Who cares that it can't hit 4,500 or 5,000 when there isn't any extra fee for filling. With two self serve stations, it is a quick process to refill. They also have repairs available, as well as some equipment from the pro shop. If they don't have what you want, they will order it. Field paint only is a bit of a drag, but they need to pay for electricity, phone, and water, as well as the staff. They do have special discount days and times. Regular price right now is $65 per case for paint, $15 field fee. I'm not sure what the charge was for the air, but it wasn't bad. Today's paint was small diameter, to the point where I didn't have a barrel that would fit it, but ball breaks were almost nonexistent. Give them a break about their playing surfaces. The astro turf does get slippery, but it is pretty clean to play on where grass wouldn't be able to grow. The dirt for the scenario field is far dirtier to play on than the old sawdust over concrete of their old location, but the fire department wouldn't let them do that again. The dirt is packed as well as it could be, and again grass isn't a possibility. Don't get cocky with the staff, and they won't get cocky with you. A little respect goes a long way.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ptbl Xprt Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: This place is absolutly great! It could use some tweaking in a few places but that is it! The fields are a bit small but are great for games like speedball. They have two fields, one dirt field with many obsticles and another that has inflatable barriers. The inflatable field has astro turf and can get a bit slippery from the paintballs but i found that extremely helpful in sliding. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. One of my friends had a problem with his air tank valve and they replaced it for FREE! They filled THIER air tanks for free with the rentals but if we had our own it would cost us 3 bucks thats it! They were nice and did anything to make our time there fun and it was! The only setbacks were that thier paintballs fees are outrageous ($65 for 2000 and $20 for 500) and they are oil based so don't expect them to come out of clothes easily. They are strict about the barrel plug policy as well. Thier fields are small and therefore, any gun that you bring MUST be chronographed before play and must be between 150-200 fps or they will ask you to tone the gun down but that is different with thier outdoor field (yes they have one but it is a bit far. Just ask the staff for directions). Thier guns are a Tippmann Carbine Pro and a Model 98 which performed wonderfully. I had a great time and would recommend this field to everybody. 10-10 American Paintball Coliseum!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CaptainSnake Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mainstream(RIP) , SXP, Tunka , Other mountain places
Review: I must say , I go woodsballing more than any other kind of paintballing, so this was my first visit to an indoor field in a long long time. The owner of the place was a little salty at times, but overall is a very nice man. The rest of the staff is nice too. The xball field i thought was a bit slippery and had somewhat odd lighting. The dirt field was nice too. Only problem I had with it was that once you get off that field , the dirt gets into EVERYTHING!!The proshop at the field is somewhat mediocre , but good enough for ones average pb needs. This place is prolly the best field in town at the moment due to proximity and quality. if u r low on cash, this place is a little espensive.If you are a woodsballer i do not recommend this place for you. If you are a rec, speed , or tourney. Check it out...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media