paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field / American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field / American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field / American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field

American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
71Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 303.298.8573
Address: 4100 Grape Street
Denver, Colorado 80216
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
LeudaKris Tuesday, November 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mainstream Paintball (another indoor) various others
Review: I held a corporate 'event' here with a bunch of new players, and in this light, was concerned that they have an enjoyable first paintball experience.

Fortunately, most of them really enjoyed the experience. Being the only one there with significant experience though, my opinion differed.

Relatively speaking, this is the worst place I've played paintball, including many other local fields and renegade.

The building itself seems to be in shambles. the two fields are really too small to have any more than 3 on 3 types of games. The scenario field had houses, but they were small and cluttered that I couldn't have slipped into or out of them with ease, if at all. (I'm not fat, but I am on the larger size). The lighting was darker as well.

The sawdust floors were not so bad, unless you consider the polished cement underneath them. So you will slip and slide a lot, but at least you will probably land soft... (probably)

I didn't care for the way the bunkers were planned out either. (not to mention that several just fell down if you touched them). They were too cluttered and bunched up and not spaced out evenly enough.

I really didn't mind the owners/refs that bad as an experienced player they treated me ok, but I will say that they need to tone down the attitudes. Whether it was bragging about their guns or tourney teams, or ripping on other well known players/businesses in the area, it isn't necessary. Especially newbies don't need to be treated that way. The firing squad mentality for safety violations was a bit much as well.

Perhaps because of its size or because they are trying to save on paying staff, they don't do on-field reffing, which leads to all sorts of problems (cheating, safety)

Overall, I would recommend other fields in the area over this one any day. If you want/need indoor, you have much better options (like mainstream paintball) or others off of arapahoe rd.

If they refine their fields/bunkers, hire more on-field refs, and drop the attitudes, I will go back and bring others. Otherwise....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Boredloser404 Friday, November 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Shutdown extreme - GOOD FIELD!
Review: Ok i went there about a month ago and i had just bought a used 2002 autococker i'd only played 3 times before that day the staff wouldn't let me play with anyone other than the tournament guys for like 3 hours then i explained that the rec ballers said it was ok if i played with them. the pro-shop is somewhat small but still has a large number of parts and acc. now on to the fields ive never been to they're outdoor field i only played inside they have 2 field that are tiny they are very very small cluttered fields also the floor is like wood chips and on the cement floor it is very slick you will fall at least a few time if you run to a bunker and try to stop quickly. the staff was ok safety was pretty good but i did see a few people without barrel plugs for a minute or 2 before they noticed. I would only go back here if i couldn't play anywhere else because of rain or snow.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigBoomer Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Overall, not a bad field to play at. I really didn't have to interact with the staff all that much, but from what little I did have to deal with them they seemed nice enough people. The other players there were great for the most part. My friends and I ran into a few that were new to the sport and had no clue on what was going on, and didn't clock their guns before playing.
We did run into a tourney player that was very welcoming of new people and gave help and suggestions to improve your game. (He said he was being nice to everyone by keeping his Angel set on Semi-auto........ LOL, he still picked everyone off like there was no tomorrow)
The saw dust cover on the floor is kind of a mixed blessing. It is a little harder to move fast in since it gives, but after a short time you get used to it. On the other hand it really lets you throw yourself around without the worry of breaking something (mainly yourself).
If you are into Rec-Ball then this may not be the place to go unless you have a lot of people to go with, since most of the other players seemed to go for the speedball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wgp_fanatic Wednesday, September 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: !GREAT FIELD!

i play here once or twice a month.

*PROS*

Very good thinking if you buy to much paint and a bag istn opend you can leave it on a tab and get a bag for free then you come back!!!

the owners are very friendly and will set up compititions for free field passes

very nice playing fields, and setup area

the owners are helpful and are very quik to answer all your questions

if the owners find a real lopsided game they will split up the teams to make it a better experence for everyone

if you find stuff online they will order it for you and sell it to you at the same or better price

*CONS*

restroom is outside

no Air Condidioner (they are istalling swamp coolers)

sawdust fields (take a little practice to get use to)

no ref to watch you all day

*OVERALL*

this is a very nice field with decent proshop prices, it is run by very kind and helpful people and i would and do suggest APC to everyone who is looking for a place to play

Last edited on Wednesday, September 10th, 2003 at 8:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

CapitaBoards Sunday, August 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Denver Paintball. to bad it closed down a while back so cant go any more
Review: I went to the paintball coliseum about 2 weeks ago and i dident think it wasent that bad the fields were not tiny they were actually big for in door fields. the speed ball field was awsome. but the view for watching when ur hit kind of sucks, but when i went the owners made us feel right at home first we discussed the rules and they said if u break any of the rules you have to step onto the field on the back wall and let each member of the opposite team take 1 shot at u each. and i dident have a problem with this i thought it was vary funny actually and the owners would make constant jokes about people to ther face not any thing bad just harmless insults that shouldent be taken serious. and i do believe some poeple were cheating but thats not the fields fault the reff's couldent see it just the sad strange helpless little people who have to cheat and games to win. but the entry fee is cheap and the paint is a good deal and i like the atmosphere. all though i went and got my tank filled there and they totally ripped me off by making me pay full price and only filling my tank up half way.
Last edited on Saturday, August 16th, 2003 at 7:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LorenGeist Sunday, August 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt. Splatters-Rifle, CO
Review: I don't know what most of you guys are talking about... This place is very fun. The pro shop was not overpriced at all, they had alot of nice stuff there, and the paint they sell is semi-reasonable price wise and its good paint too (Diablo). The staff was very helpfull and they were quick about getting what everyone needed. I got a chance to play both fields there, and I loved them both, they had a junk-yard style arena and a black pipe speedball course, which I liked alot. There was no problem with poor reffing, and they definatley did a good job of making sure that everyone had a barrel blocking device in at all times when not playing. I only got in about 3 1/2 hours and the owner gave me a free field pass because I didn't play very long, which Ithought was very cool. The staff did a good job with chronoing all the guns to about 255 fps, so the hits didnt leave big welts and they didnt sting too bad. With the issue of unfair teams, we would just split up the good players with the little kids and it was great. I highly recomend you check this out. The only reason Im giving the coliseum an 8 is because of the smaller fields, they could definatley be a little bigger, but they are fast paced and fun. Go there!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jumbo Wednesday, July 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rocky Mountain Paintball, Dragonmans paintball
Review: I played twice at the place and I had similiar experiences as already stated. The owners/staff made anyone besides a tourny player fill stupid. Very unfriendly, accused me of bringing my own paint (which was untrue). One guy came in and bought a used angel and then the Ref told him that angels suck and he should have bought a cocker. Alot of cheating was taking place. One teenager with a cocker would run up the side buckering all the newbies. I shot him out about every game but I would have to shot him about 10 times before he would stop playing. Then he would usually yell something at the newbies and walk out. I didn't really see any of the safety issues. It was okay but it got boring after a few games because of only 2 courses and the bad attitudes. I don't think I will go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Seven Friday, June 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none close buy, but yet I have heard of two field opening up by Broomfield (close bye), but I am not sure where.
Review: To start off I went to this place for my first paintball experience and being new everyone there really treated be nice. After playing for awhile I stated to ease up and have some fun (lots of fun). Okay about the place. The fields are small, but yet there are pretty fun especially when you get 5 people on two teams. I have noticed that they don't have ref on at all times which can be bad and that leads into a bad experience. We were playing and all of a sudden this guy gets mad because he got shot at close range, which was his fault because he was over always on the other side (idiot). So when he got shot he through off his mask and put his barrel point blank to the other person head and started to yell you want me to shoot you at a close range punk. To my surprise I the ref was watching and didn't do anything expect tell the guy to come off the field. This was not right and the worst thing is the owner never told that guy to get out of here and never come back. So safety seems to be a big minus at this place. After that happened that jerk finally left and every played again. I have gone back two more times (surprised I went back) and my exprerince has been great. I have meet up with people and everyone has been really nice. So main thing about this place is beware of the lack of safety, but yet you can still have fun, because most people there are trying to have fun as well. I rate this place a seven because I had that one really bad experience, but my other two have been great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gamester Monday, June 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played all the major feilds in colorado inclueing pba old and new location rmpb and high planes paintball
Review: I Just went to American paintball Colosseum and let me tell you, after reading these reviews I didn't want two but it was the only field open on a Monday. when I got there I found out that the owners where pretty nice but definitely full of them self's about there guns.

1
PRICE: I bought a gun there and they gave me four free field passes. witch made up for the hight price. they are cheaper than most places i would say in the Denver area.

SAFETY: the owner told us the rules and made sure we didn't bunker the two women there(both there first times). but after the first 2 games the refs disappeared lucky i was playing with nice people in my skill level and my gun level except for one major cheater that shot at 300 fps started in the middle of the field and had his gun on fully auto but we shut him out.

FIELDS: one word... saw dust, the first game I fell on my butt running so many times I gave up, but u get used to it and you can overcome it after a few games. there are two fields both kinda small but not to bad one field the military field one side is much better than the other so that side always wins. the other is full of tires and huge tubes it was fun but in one game the thing i was hiding behind fell over and i got waisted. furthermore they said they are opening an outdoor field soon.

OVERVIEW: I would have to say its the worse in field in Denver but still fun. The service was poor, and safety was a joke so if you have a choice don't go here but there other door field I might check out.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snotty Wednesday, June 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None yet
Review: I have only been paintballing twice and both times enjoyed the experience as a whole. Both times we went to APC due to inclement weather. APC seems a like a good idea but not well thought out or executed.

Lack of refs, a ton of cheating, and 15 year olds with auto-cockers. Cost seems to be very high as well. Good thing I have my own marker. They need to change up the layouts as well. Only crono’d once and never checked again. Sawdust, sawdust and more sawdust on a sealed concrete floor. Slick isn’t even the correct word to describe this. They need to reiterate the rules and identify the dead zones better and more often. They need to keep the employees off the field, especially the one with the auto-cocker and an attitude. He pissed off several first timers because they could do anything but get hit with a gallon of paint. At least he stopped shooting at you when you raised your marker though.

Would I recommend APC? Not really. They have a long ways to go before I would say they are a reputable place. If I was a newbie the second time we were there, I most likely would not have enjoyed the experience and maybe shied away from paintball. Getting shot 4-5 times just trying to get off the field by a kid with auto-cocker blind shooting was not a fun at all and this in my opinion is the biggest issue they need to address. Auto-Cockers + Indoors = No fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media