paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field / American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field / American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field / American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field

American Paintball Coliseum (APC) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
71Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 303.298.8573
Address: 4100 Grape Street
Denver, Colorado 80216
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Mobat555 Tuesday, June 10th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBA , Action Persuit , Denver Paintball (Closed), Splat Masters, Roucky Mtn Paintball
Review: I have played at APC 3 times.

I dont like this place and I would not recommend it.

1st visit -
Showed up only about 9 people there to play including the my group of 4. Had a few games no refs. It wasnt to bad we played with some honest guys and the games were decent. When the other group left we played a few 2 on 2. Frank asked if we would like to play a round on them 3 on 3. So I sat out to take pictures and video tape and we got on video tape frank and one other guy wiping a hit then moving forward to bunker my buddy. At this point we were done and went home.

2nd visit - Snow on the ground so no other place to go we decided we would see if anyone was playing and NOT to play against frank and his buddies.

We get there and are happy to see that there is like 30 people there. We sign up head to the back as to paintballs whiz by my head the entire prep area had guys running around no barrel plugs and such and someone droped there gun and it went off. We wanted to play so hell just wear our masks the whole time. Had a decent day other then alot of bunkering and alot of people geting in fights for cheating.

3rd visit - Just me and my g/f and another couple went to play same thing lack of discipline and rules shown every where. So we played each other. A group of guys with cockers and a angel wanted to play us since we had impulses and a shocker. So we did and the whooped us. Which is fine it happens. About 10 rec ballers wanted to play and those guys wouldnt split up so basicly I got shot about 10 time. 5 hits behind a bunker and 5 more walking off the feild.

I dont like it if you do go for it. No one there is nice or helpful. They all are full of themselves. Ill take a day at PBA or APG over this anyday.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Black Villian Monday, June 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Pursuit
Paintball Adventures
Victory Paintball
Review: Well I went to APC for my first ever paintball outing and had a great time. The ref for our group, Frank, took the time to make sure I understood all the rules. Talked about different guns with me and made the day enjoyable. He made sure everyone followed all the rules and played safely.

The owner, Tony, was also fantastic to deal with. He answered all my questions and made me feel very comfortable with my first paintball experience.

Now on to the fields themselves....I HATE SAWDUST!!!!! A week later I am still picking sawdust out of my truck from the drive home. It was slippery, but I guess the sawdust is better than cracking your head on concrete.

The speed ball field was HOT!!!!! I was very happy to move to the scenario field as it had many broken windows so the are flow was much better...and the game play was a lot more fun....not just dumping buckets of paint, but true strategy was needed.

Like a previous review said, once the kids started showing up things went downhill fast...they cheated and wasted hoppers of paint to make up for their lack of accuracy and strategy.

The pro shop was very expensive, but for someone like me who is used to buying everything online that is the case no matter where I go. I was somewhat offended when I asked about a particular marker and after being handed the marker and noting that it was heavily scratched and beat up I was told that it was a deal for $120. I said I can get a brand new one, not the one that has been hanging on the wall for $90 online. The marker was then rudely taken from me and put back on the wall with nothing else said. If ya want someone to pay the extra bucks to keep their dollars local then you should at least say you can get a NEW item or offer some heavy discounts for the banged up one.

Overall I had a good time, but it could have been better. I definitely won't buy anything from their pro shop ever!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

moadib2k Tuesday, May 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Plains Paintball
Review: ***************************
FIRST VISIT
***************************

I did not want to go to this field because of it's rating on this site. However, I went with a group and because of poor weather (snow and rain) we were forced to go to this field.

I am glad we went, we all had a great time. The warehouse it is in has been split into 4 sections, two playing fields, a pro shop and a prep area. This is an old warehouse so it is a little run down, they could do some maintenance and probably attract more people. Personally, I did not care since I was not there to eat anything or stay clean.

The fields are covered in sawdust so my jungle boots did slip quite a bit. I would recommend some sort of cleated boot with pretty decent size rubber spikes. There were four refs on one side, and they appeared to be volunteers from an amateur team. Probably swapping practice time for ref time. A large group of little kids came and forced all the adults into one arena. Initially, I was a little bummed by this, but we had four refs and 20-30 adults playing at a time. This made the games very fast paced and very aggressive.

How could they improve?

Get more refs or spread them out. – There were four refs on one side and a single employee ref on the other. The employee really did not do a good job officiating, he basically left the room. Many times we started our own games because we could not find the employee ref (he also worked in the pro shop)

Chrono players on the field – a few players had easily adjustable pressure and once they were chrono’d they would turn their gun back up. I don’t know why, the field cant be more than 80 feet at the longest.

Kick poor players out – one guy was continuously caught playing turtle (wont take a hit) and was told to leave the field for the game but never kicked off the field. Just a note, several people did get revenge, this guy became actively hunted. Many times shot by his own teammates who called him out.

Overall, I was very happy with the field and had a great time. Maybe it was just the quality of players that happened to show up as it was a very good group of honest people. But it is a great alternative to playing on a snow / mud covered outdoor arena.

***************************
SECOND VISIT
***************************
The reffing was much looser than before (no volunteers). There were a bunch of first timers on the field which is always fun, I like to see people really get into it. Frank - the manager I think. Split my experienced group up with the first timers and we had a good time all morning.

We had some problems with people not taking hits but Frank got that under control fairly quickly. Frank made everyone stop between rounds and wipe down. Though people still did not take hits it was much more difficult to deny. The worst at this was one of the store employees, he was finally confronted after one round by Frank and when the employee pulled off his head wrap it was drenched. Frank sent him back behind the counter.

Then the afternoon came, a bunch of little 17 year olds with autocockers showed up. Their autocockers were very decked out, firing somewhere around 15-20 balls per second. The field would not let me turn my gun into response mode to even try to compete. These kids kept ending up on the same side, there were about 5 of them spraying around 2-3 hoppers of paint per game. Mind you, games only last about 5 minutes each. When you get hit it's like getting hit by a spray can, you cant even walk off the field safely, these kids just sprayed you down.

On my last round, I was shooting at one of these kids and he called out and raised his gun. I went back to covering the left side and got hit by about 10 rounds in the side of the head. The kid had wiped off and waited for me to turn. There was no ref so no point in calling him on this.

At this point, I was done. I dont mind playing with cheaters, usually, the group at large tends to take care of the problem. But after about 5 or 6 games like this and no sign the ref was going to do anything about it, I was done. The rest of my group felt the same, all 5 of us packed up and I noticed two other groups of 3-5 were doing the same thing. When I spoke to them, they cited similar reasons. All of these people were also experienced players.

I went over and told Frank why everyone was leaving and he seemed not give a damn and did not even offer to ref for a couple of rounds to get these kids in line. I went over and told the owner he was losing about 15 experienced players who play 2+ times per month and he seemed disappointed but he did not offer to do anything about it either.

These guys seriously need to get some refs. They are opening an outdoor field and it sounds like it will be an awesome layout, but, if it is reffed the same it could be as hit or miss as their indoor field.


Last edited on Monday, June 9th, 2003 at 7:21 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DAMOSIN Friday, April 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
NONE
Review: The fields are generally fun to play on but there are usually no refs. The proshop contains some nice items but not many. The owners appear to be total jerks, but seem to be adamant about safety allthough they do nothing but talk. Floors in the fields are extremely slick, must be used to playing on sawdust. The one time I played w/a ref I got shot in the head from three feet away and got one hell of a bump on my head through my mask and the other player went unpenalized.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Doolie767 Sunday, April 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not played at any other areas,i was there for xmas and played with my cousin. i am from maryland and have played at Outdoor Adventures and OC paintball
Review: When we got there, the plce was very loosely operated....the pro shop was EXTREMELY expensive and low quality. the games were un refed and the chrono was unregulated. i was unable to play on the "military field" because of construction. the other field was covered in sawdust on polished pavement....very hard on the knees and a lot of falls. it was my first time playiong indoor, but i have heard about better places. i would most likely not play there again
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Deacon Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Pursuit Paintball- Beats APC severely
Z-War Zone- Paint prices are outrageous, I'll take APC over this one.
Review: I've been to the field 3 times over a speaced period of time.

Day one (near opening): Safety standards were appaling. You simply walked into a room w/ a chrono by yourself and set your marker below 250. No one was there to make sure though, you could be shooting 300 all day and no one would know. No refs, cheat lie and inflict pain at will. Thank God I was playing with a bunch of honest, fair players. Pro shop is sparsley stocked and expensive. Paint was good. Only one field, the military field. Great layout! Wood chips in use, very slick. Owners appear rude, but turn it back around on them to have some fun. They friggin' hate crap bought off the internet. Cuts my brother's main spring without my consent to lower velocity, gun eventually rips itself apart from the inside. Paint was worthless.

Day two (couple months after day one): Safety standards are almost the same. Chronos not regulated, no refs for most of the day,but only when new people are there. Pro shop still not pro caliber. Expensive. No HPA. New field running. Sparse cover, promotes camping and little action. Military field has a very strategic layout. Wood chips, many falls. Players were friendly and honest though unregulated. A family was watching a game to get a feel for the game, and the players were allowed to exit the field without barrel plugs. Masks were constantly being lifted. A gun discharged in the staging area, nearly hitting one of the members of the visiting family. I was horrified and embarrassed. Language also went unchecked, and the family had to leave because the mother didn't need her 12 and under players hearing: "**** that, that's a load of ****ing bull****!"

Day three (fairly recently): Safety standards raised. Initial chrono not regulated. Refs in use, although only 1 and he doesn't venture onto the field. I wiped shots to see if he would catch them. I'd wipe in a very dramatic motion, and it would go unflagged, so I'd call myself out. He needed to be patrolling the field. The ref was busier chatting up the pro players there than he was ensuring proper regulations were enforced. Players were wiping and they'd go unpunished, because the ref was either distracted or not able to see. One rechrono check the whole day. The chrono is no longer in an isolated room. It isn't regulated though. Owners are adamant about safety, but they're too busy in the pro shop area to notice. The pro shop now carries fancy new markers, but ver y few upgrades and such. Still expensive. Substandard paint. Fields had crappy layout. Very open. Game-on eliminations aren't fun.

Overall: They get better over time, but it takes a LONG time for them to improve. The fact that they started a field and didn't enforce safety standards is, what's the word I'm looking for.... INSANE. Also, they don't have proper knowledge of how guns work. They should have sold me a spring kit for my brother's gun instead of simply snipping the spring. 150 bucks down the drain due to a stupid and unwarranted act. They really need to get their act together.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KrusteeButt Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Denver Paintball - didn't get a chance to play there, they went out of business because of a crooked owner!!!
Review: Hmmm...not sure what could have been going on at the time these other reviewers were at the fields and "no rules were enforced". Of all things I could say, that is easily the one thing they do more than anything else is enforce the rules! Frank and Tony are ADAMANT about plugs and masks. They chrono all of their rentals prior to use AT 255!!! not 300. If anyone complains that they think a gun in shooting higher, the refs (as I have seen) have always required that gun be chrono'd immediately.
No cover? do you not run very fast or are you just not very good? Gimme a break. Don't complain about the field just because you suck.

I am not a huge fan of sawdust...it gets all over EVERYTHING. On the other hand, when sliding to my bunker I'd rather it be on the sawdust than on concrete! One other place tried dirt for their indoor field but I was told that it turned out to be way worse than than the sawdust.

Yes, they are overpriced. I understand that they have a lot more overhead to cover than a typical outdoor field, but some of their "pro-shop" prices are absolutely insane. They also don't seem to understand that a typical person can find prices 10-25% cheaper by shopping on-line. That's just business, that's the way it goes...but they get really offended by it, and unfortunately have treated me somewhat rudely (is that a word?) when they found out I shopped somewhere else...too bad.
Crappy paint...really crappy. But I kind of expect that from field paint. Their prices would probably be even worse if they used better paint.

Hmmmm..."pro shop". That's a term I use loosely. Depends on who's working that day and what mood he's in.

They don't have 4500 psi fills.

Some of the people have a tendency to be a little "elitist". Though their rentals are Tipp's, they'll make fun of yours (behind your back of course). If you go when there are tourney players, be prepared for a LOT of attitude! Actually, APC's players are really cool guys (Larry, Rueben, Roland...), but the players from other teams can be quite a bit to deal with. It's no fun to go and spend a pretty good amount of money just to get pissed because a bunch of other guys are being jags.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

motherfu Thursday, March 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Adventures
Review: This place is merely OK. The staff is kind of bad. There is little refing in games (usually the people who are supposed to ref are playing). The pro shop is understocked and over-priced. The fields are pretty cool. The place has two: one is a hyperball field and one is more army rec oriented. The fields are covered in saw dust which covers everything! I would say this place is the best indoor paintball field in colorado only because its like the only one. Go there if you dont mind paying 70$ for primer paintballs. Its fun but I would rather go to paintball adventures.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

adamcooks Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBA, Shutdown
Review: APC is a great place to play paintball. I have played there regularly, once a week, for the last year and I have never seen any problems. The staff is quite vigilant about safety strictly enforcing a 255 fps speed, ensuring that barrel plugs are in and goggles are constantly being worn. I have had enjoyably days with some great torny players or just playing with the rec ballers. Both of the fields offer great cover and places to move, they are clean and covered with soft sawdust. For those of you that live in Colorado, one of the biggest bonus to APC is that its indoors, no mud, no snow, no rain.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

phantomforce Monday, March 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball adventures/action persuit
Review: HOLY CRAP THIS FIELD SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The staff is rude

the fields suck

prices are outragous

in all my years of paintballing i have never been to a more crappy field ever

DONT GO THERE!!!!!!!!!!!

they gave me 2 free passes and i will never use them I am disgusted with this place.

Oh one more thing

my friend shot a ref and he started crying..........

DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!

GO TO PBA OR ACTION PERSUIT!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media