paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Urban Assault Paintball Field / Urban Assault Paintball Field / Urban Assault Paintball Field / Urban Assault Paintball Field

Urban Assault Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
51Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 724-926-9000
Address: 1217 Laurel Hill Road
Mc Donald, Pennsylvania 15057
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
ptb33 Monday, October 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Three Rivers Paintball, All American Paintball Park
Directions
to the Field:
McDonald, PA. Pretty much in the middle of nowhere.
Review: I have been going to Urban Assault for a while. I never thought of it as a wonderful place to play, don't get me wrong, I enjoy going there... but other fields are better. But, during the winter, its pretty much the only place to go...

The indoor field, needs to be shutdown for a month, and they need to CLEAN EVERYTHING!!! There is literally a fine coat of oily paint all over the catwalk, stairs, and and everywhere. This makes everything very slippery, and quite dangerous. This kid slipped from the top stairs, and fell all the way down, and broke 200 paintballs in his hopper. The flooring is all gravel, which is also completely covered in mess. If you go to Urban Assault, make sure you bring extra clothes... every inch of your body is going to be covered. If your kneeling, a majority of your pants is covered... if you lean against bunkers, houses, barrels and such, you are covered in grime.

Another problem, which SOME people don't mind, but I do... is the lack of referee's. Yes, there is one (count it, one) referee on the field... and he calls the game, and then stands by the exit. The refs are not getting involved, or calling for a fair game. There is absolutely no enforcement against ramping and overshooting. People are shooting 25bps... and bonus balling people like there was no tomorrow, and the refs just chill off to the side.

Overall, I dont like Urban Assault. It was amazing when I was starting out, but when you experience REAL fields, you don't want to go back. But, then again, its a place to play in the winter....


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

legoctf Friday, October 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none that i have been to
Directions
to the Field:
directions on site
Review: OK, safety, well there super tight on safety, i mean you have to take your hopper off in the staging area, fields they have really nice fields there indore field is 30,000+ feet and they also have a speed field the can low up. There out door fileds are pretty nice too, there are like 10, check site for details The hours are 9-11 i believe, prices well there is an up and down to this, the down is that crappy paint is REALLY expensive, the up is that on tuesday, you get there before 6:30 PM and its use your own paint and free air all night for 25$ same on sunday, except you gotta be there by 9AM Standard rules, there services are pretty good they'll fix your gun if it breaks, they really don't a proshop though, so i say bring anything you might need with you, the few of the staff can be snobs, but most off em are really nice, the refs are fair and they apear to know what there doing, the players there are pretty respectfull and fun to play with, they have good facilities that are cleaned, and there is a pizza place just down the road that they will give you the # for and there pretty cheap
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB#88 Thursday, April 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All American,Three rivers, crazey daves,my small air ball
Directions
to the Field:
easy to find site lists them
Review: i played on the indoor air ball at a team practice its kinda small and a lot of the bunkers are deflaited.the place is extremly dirty and i think they've never cleaned it at all. alot of people were getting away with whipeing and hot guns because the refs weren't paying good enough atention. i got shot at least 10 times til the ref attempted to take me out of the game. overall its not a very good place to practice for a team i would recomend All American paintball park.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SteppenWolf Sunday, March 26th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Im pretty green when it comes to paintball so this is so far the only feild ive played on
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest works fine
Review: Ok, im only reviewing the indoor course. Urban's indoor course has an awesome indoor setup and design. The refs are very nice, and so are the staff, most of the other players i meet there are great ppl too, and help me with my game cuz as i said b4 im pretty new. The games are dirt cheap, compared to the other places ive looked at, cuz u can bring ur own paint and u get free air if u get there on time. Now having said that heres the negative, The indoor course it self is absoulutly filthy, greasy, and to tell the truth im afraid of the catwalk. The ground in some parts of the field is so grimy than u will slide and slip on the catwalk. The refs arnt very strict, but most (key word most) of the ppl there are very honest about getting hit or not. Although they do chrono all the guns b4 starting, no one keeps them in check, once there was a young kid there who somehow played with his gun at 440! they lowered his gun but the guy he shot was trying to get him kicked out for the day. (i dont blame him)

Overall, it is pretty fun to play there, but the course could benifit from a good cleaning.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

El_Doyle Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Three Rivers-Amazing if you got the cash
Directions
to the Field:
the mapquest directions worked
Review: This is a review on the indoor field, the two times ive been there its been indoor. Personally the only reason i go here is because its dirt cheap. i can bring my own paint, and the air is free if i arrive early. Otherwise, the staff are like little kids they do there job but they kill time by filling tanks and dryshooting electros till they're empty. The indoor field has a really cool setu, but its so bloody dirty. If your not careful you can break your ribs on the stairs easily. Its so dirty if you start crawling anywhere your chest and legs will be literally covered in paint. I'm convinced they have never cleaned it. The refs just start the game and sit there. I asked one to make a paint check on a guy that i know i hit three times and he said "tough s***" to me.
Also the reffs don't care about any of the rules broken that are on the online waiver. There were grenades and auto's. If you don't care about that stuff anymore at least update your site.

Fun 7/10 they just have to clean the bloody place
Reffing 2/10
staff 7/10
price 10/10
Last edited on Sunday, March 19th, 2006 at 11:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Team_N.I.B Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
umm not in this area
Review: this place a a ton of fun to play at if you dont mind spending a 35 on a sunday with all day air with bring your own paint. they have an airball field and a sceneario field which is reall fun and the top wooden part is slippery as ice with oil on it so be carefull but its tons of fun and teh staff is sper nice and pretty helpfull even if you know a lot about paintball, espically talking to "Joe" or "Phil" down there they can help you out with ANYTHING, problems with your gun ieads or mods for your gun anything.

only negitave parts about urban is that its only open on tuesdays and sundays for walk on games.
yes, i have played on fields that are much better than this but hey it takes me 15 min to drive here where it took me 3 hrs to get to the other places.

summary, great place to go and have some fun, great place to recruit some people for your team maby. i go down there every week untill this last month cause i ordered a new board for my ion and it didnt come in yet. if you have read this and see a dude with a red and black ion in a blue jersey thats me stop by n say hi.

p.s if you have a 06 angel speed for sale let me know
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballer2387 Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Encounter- much better than this
Crazy Daves- Much Better and better maintained
ultamate persuit paintball- smaller but better
Three rivers- not as exspensive as here
Review: First off let me tell you this place sucked, $90 a case of paint that is like 40 at most and you can buy 5 cases for $125! the field that we played on sucked, the refs sucked, they charged me $4 for a 20oz but it ran out after to games an i didnt take an pods with me, this place just wasnt up there i could have gone to anyother place an played for less. and after they take your gun apart to get it to the lowest velosity it can go, they take there cheapo rentals an have them up higher by 40FPS. if your looking for a fun time of paintball with your friends.... dont go here. they really shouldnt be in business anymore they sucked that bad.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BTRobertson Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 27th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Three Rivers Paintball - TRP has an excellent staff that cares greatly about safety first and foremost, then about education. TRP shows everyone how to use their rental guns, how to use their goggles and other gear, and gives everyone a safety pep-talk before anyone plays...(rest in review body)
Review: Urban Assault just didn't show this kind of dedication to the sport, and while they chrono'd everyone's marker, the refs seemingly cared less about whether or not anyone cheated and raised it back up while on the field. Also, the indoor field is in complete disarray - the gravel was muddy, making it slippery and very dangerous, and the catwalks were equally slippery from all the paint and moisture. I haven't played on the outdoor fields, so when I do, I'll edit this review and give my thoughts.

There's also an issue with the lighting inside the airplane hanger they use for the indoor field. It was very dim and dark in most areas, making it hard to see your opponents unless they were standing out in the open. The blaring music, while it adds an element of excitement to the field, was a major hinderance to communication with your teammates - lots of people were shooting their own guys, and I think it was just because it was too dark and too loud.

While I had fun, I can't imagine buying a yearly membership to this field because of these issues with the indoor portion. I didn't feel like my dollars were appreciated and/or welcome to play at this field...not nearly as welcome as I have felt at TRP.

Rating: 6/10
Last edited on Saturday, December 31st, 2005 at 4:31 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sfbodybuilder Friday, September 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
operation-cheaper, not even close in field quality, owner is ok though
Review: Indoor
they have 2 fields at the indoor, an X-ball field and a scenario field. the X-ball is too small for my likeing but its not too bad, but it is nice that the younger player are intimidated by the speed of this field and the short distance. The scenario field is quite large. There are small rooms on each end and side of the field with catwalks connecting them all from above. It is a field that everyone can have fun playing on whether you are a heavily experienced speedball player or it is your first time.

Outdoor
The outdoor fields are great. They have a hyperball, X-ball, lego, castle, and a woods fields.

Service
Service is ok, if it needs done it gets done. The owner and all the employees are all real nice.

Paint
The paint is rather expensive but you can bring your own paint now so it isn't to big of a problem. If you do buy it though it is not bad and should be fine to anyones standards.

Other
Generally people who don't like this field are the rich kids that aren't really that good anyway and just blame it on the other players or refs. But they don't usually come back anyway because nobody likes them. If you start to become a regular player you'll probably like Urban and get to know all the other players and staff. Urban assault is is a good venue for any player, its not world class but how many places are.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shocker_boi Saturday, August 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball and Crazy Daves
Review: I have been playing at this field for over five years and all I can say is wow. They have the best outdoor field around. The owner and staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you with whatever problem that you have with your marker.the prices on paint are a little steep but he has changed it to bring your own paint if you wish to do so. The fields are great! They have many fields including X Ball,Hyperball,Woods,Lego,Castle and Trenches and i find all of the fields to be fun for everyone from hard core speedball players to Woodsball players.Every one at this field is very friendly and helpfull.The only problem i find with this field is that you dont get as many games in on some days as others but for the most part it moves very fast. In conclusion if your looking for a day of fun this is where you need to be.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media