paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
245Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 416-781-0991
Address: 54 Wingold Avenue
Toronto, Ontario M6B 1P5
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
samsonwastaken Friday, December 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
area 51 not as good
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest
Review: I love this place very safe only if you want it to be. The field is great i love all the buildings open 24/7 a bit prisey unless you have a membership like me good refs all around great place

The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tado_pro05 Tuesday, October 23rd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Closed cource fields.
Directions
to the Field:
Map quest
Review: Facillites-Not clean but who needs clean when your getting paint shoot at you. your going to get dirty any ways. Im a pro paintball player and i've never been clean after a round. It is dark but still visiable.
Prices-not a cheap place but well worth it.
Staff- There not the nicest and there not the meanest.
Proshop-Small, and limited. Not to much to choose from and on top of that prices is very high.
Safety-More safety than then the air portes after 9/11.
Refs-Goes by the rules and safety rule, and pickes the best games to play.
Field-the field is laid out in the best way. two towers, 2 cars, and a giant L shape base with 2 floors.

It's worth go, no doubt about it.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

xmike212 Wednesday, October 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51 - Worse Staff, just as dirty.
Paintball City - Havent been there in a while.
Directions
to the Field:
Map quest
Review: Okay. Sgt Splatters Paintball where to begin? First off for all the people saying its too dirty, well if your not looking to get dirty DON'T GO TO PAINTBALL AND SUCK IT UP! Anyways, Sgt Splatters is rather dark I have to admit, but you can still see fine, if you wipe your mask in between rounds. A lot of people say it sucks but its not bad as a scenario paintball field the new building put in a couple months ago was a great addition, the 3 staircases makes it a real challenge. Overall I'd say it was a 7.5 out of 10 because it is a great field, I don't have a lot to compare it to like Area 51 which is a nice field I admit, but the staff are pretty bleh , I mean my friends gun broke the 1st round he went in, didn't even fire 1 paintball. They offered to "take a look at it" for 15 dolllars but he said no. He offered to give the paintballs back and get a refund because c'mon he didnt even play! But they didn't go for that, anyways thats Area51, I'd say Sgt Splatters is darker and harder to play, but Area51 has worse staff, but a great scenario field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

hardcoreman112 Saturday, August 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball city , vaughn pb, pb city, pb nation
Directions
to the Field:
map quest
Review: this place is good , i dont know why people rant on Srg Splatters

the staff can be mad at times but there justy mad at people asking stupid questions

yes the place has sand get over it i think it a good idea its better than carpit filled with paint that if you were to look at you would get dirty

the building layouts are amazing

byop is from 9 till 2 and its worth it

and they dont care what games you want to play

i give this field i nine only because its out of my way to get there 45-1hr of a drive
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Col. Doubt Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 5th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Well, I have been to Sgt. Splatter once, this was a long time ago... so some changes may have been made to this field.

Me and a few friends went off to Toronto one day to try out Sgt. Splatter.

When we got there we were both hungry and early, so we walked down the road to find a place to eat. The location of this field is amazing, everything is in walking distance, and it's perfect. Unfortunately on our visit the phones were out for some reason so debit/credit was not accepted making our walk a little longer... to where they could take it.

Well, we arrive at the location and went inside. First thing you notice is the staging area downstairs... little small tables around the pillars... these pillars are holding up the second floor, another staging area, where they have pick nick tables. So, we went and put our gear down up stairs... which is lucky for us cause in no time people were on the floors all over the place... not enough staging area. A recommendation to the field, limit the number of players during a given period of time, or build up your second floor slightly larger.

Now we have our gear down, and we work our way back downstairs to pay, get air, and get paint... so we pay, and when I was asked for money I must have said "WHAT?" like 4 times. First they said I was restricted to 4 hours unless I decided to pay $5 more bucks. (So $5 gets your 4 hours, $10 for all day... those are generally the costs for outdoor fields I play at... with lots of room, not small indoor fields). However, this was not the problem, the cost of paint is almost unconceivable. They wanted $160 for one case.... wow, I would expect two cases for that amount. The paint was nothing special... $160, I almost just walked out. The most I ever paid for paint previous to that was $120, this was $40 more... and it was indoor, not even an outdoor field. I would hate to be a renter... they had to pay $240 for a case!! WOW what a cash grab! So now I have to crony... well apparently my marker didn't crony that low... 240??? WTF? So, after some adjustment they finally let me go in.

So with the costs unbelievably high we decided to play it cheap and quick... only 4 hours, and splitting up cases giving us minimal paint.

So, now time to go on the field. Well, something positive. I almost forgot all about the costs once I stepped foot through the doors. Looking through the windows from stagging onto the field does not do it justice. The field is pretty amazing. There are a TON of buildings, very urban. One half of the field has an "L" shaped two story building that is pretty large. Now, I am a total outdoors person, so to stay this field looked great is truly saying something.

So walking in the first thing you notice is the ground... it's some type of sand, which is different. Unfortunately in this case different is a bad thing... a very bad thing. The sand gets everywhere, it mixes with the paint, gets sticky, all over you and your gear. In my case I had gotten sand in my gun which ended up scratching and wreaking a bolt. It also is harder to run in sand.

During the game, I though I was having a very amazing game. I was eliminating handfuls of people at a time, every shot hit, and I was always front line, yet never got shot. I though I was on my game until I ended up eliminating 42 people in two games... about 18 of them mercies. Thats when I realized that the people we were playing with just sucked. A lot were younger kinds, a lot of renters... now that I don't have a problem with I generally like to help out new people to the game, but this place was a total newb hangout. With that said, this would be a great place for first timers to rent (if they can afford it here).

Now, nothing is wrong with that, except when you mix it with the next:

The reffing: When we were out there we only had one reff that day. There was 25-35 people on each team... and only one ref. Worst yet, all he did was stand in the center. There was another "reff", but he had a camera and didn't do much. So, this reff in the center didn't move one bit. Never went into the building to check for cheaters, and moved so rarely to check for paint checks... if they were in the immediate vicinity.

The personal attitude I got, was that they charged a lot, shoved a lot of people into the field at once, and just let them have at it. Too many people were not informed of mercy rules, just hid in buildings, cheated, wiped, and were never called. That didn't matter, Sgt. Splatters was making money...

The field rules but safety ahead of everything, during my visit, I did not see them enforced very well.

They also have a very great pro-shop. I didn't spend much time it (wanted to get my entire 4 hours on the field), but I have been told it is pretty amazing.

I try not to be harsh at all, most of my reviews are positive reviews... I must have had a bad day, or came at the wrong time. Also, for those of you that seem to love to dispute... these are all facts, these are what happened on this date... changes may have been made, or things may/should be different. I encourage everyone to try new fields and find out for them selfs. Call the field for details and costs ahead of time, also ask about attendance.

I also admit my biasness in the fact I play woodsball and this is an indoor field. However, I have done a review on Paintball Nation but had a better experience there. This is just my experience for my day.

In the end, my rating will be a 6.5/10, my personal experience was bad... but this field has some potential, and seems to be the favorite of some people.

Doubt unfortunately does not give this field any thumbs up.

Last edited on Monday, July 16th, 2007 at 8:04 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

aplayaz2000 Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only Sgt. Splatters.
Directions
to the Field:
Main area is Dufferin and Wingold Ave.
If your going on Dufferin stop once you hit Wingold and keep walking down Wingold Ave.
Review: Introduction:
I went on a Sunday which was gun owner bring own paint Sundays which is when all the pros go with there empire gear and tippmann a-5's.
The cost ended up as,
$30 for entry and fill which is pretty pricey but if you bring 500 or 1000 then i guess you would end up saving money.

Going on gun owner day:
Well there are a lot of professionals which lead to benefits like less theft and extra tips. No problems with using the lockers upstairs with my own lock and I like the space provided upstairs for fixing your gun or eating food.

Staff:
Like any regular staff, nothing to say about the ref besides he ran out of game ideas.

Field:
Big and open, which I don't like. I rather prefer close combat, its more fun like one time we played almost half field. I enjoyed the use of sand, it wasn't that annoying and the place isn't really dirty besides some areas with wet wet sand. They should add more stuff to the field like smoke or effects, that would make it more fun.

Food Services:
Bring your own food or buy your own, they have a good clean area upstairs if your hungry.

Summary:
Can't really compare a lot since I haven't been to a lot of paintball fields.
Overall I enjoyed my morning besides the entry fee, needs to be lowered a bit down.
Next time I hope there are more beginners like me. (Spyder Sonix)


Last edited on Monday, June 11th, 2007 at 3:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jdash Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Its a bit dirty but it is a good field to play at. Prices are typical. Overall it is a okay field. they dont have much food there all they have is a little machine. you can get stuff stolen from you easilly because there is only a certain amount of locks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

BooyakaPaint Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I'm thinking Paintball City is the closest.
Directions
to the Field:
check mapquest, its off of Wingold drive or something like that.
Review: Pretty big place, I like the amount of containers, vehicles, buildings they have, makes more for a battlefield. Kind of dark in most spots and the lighting needs to be changed. I think its neat how they use sand but I don't like it because when I go to the prone and people shoot at me, I get dirt all over my face and in my gun, etc...Some of the scenario games were fun, reffing wasn't too bad, seemed fair and all but there were some @$$ holes they should have dealt with (ie. me, hehe). Good place to take a party of people for a fun time or to go with some boys to have fun, kinda dirty, lil bit of a funky smell but whatever its paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

marco897 Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Many others ones
Review: Im sorry to say but the staff are balls.
thats to remeber when you go there for ur first time.






The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.The following field contains too few words.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

site99 Monday, April 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51, Wasaga Beach Paintball, Paintball City, Paintball Nation.
Review: Staff:
The staff can get pretty frustrated when its a busy day like a Friday night or a Saturday but other than that theyre always really nice. The proshop guy is extremely laid back and always nice, sometimes you can tell hes getting annoyed by little kids asking to see guns and whatnot but is never rude and is really helpful if you have a problem.

The refs try and do the best they can but sometimes its hard because its a pretty big field and they only have 1 on at a time. Obviously really strict about things like no barrel plugs, mask on, and wiping. They'll make people sit out for doing stupid things which i like.

Price:
The prices are pretty normal for balling in Toronto. The BYOP is really good other than the fact that its at 9 in the morning on a sunday when I'm usually hungover but it goes until 2 so its worth it for only 25 dollars.

Field:
The field is made of sand which can be pretty annoying but it does get cleaned. Paint on the walls can get really annoying but its usually only bad in normal spots like on the walls of the building they use for attack and defend. Theres only really one game where one side will have an advantage which they never play so its a pretty even playing field.

Staging Area:
It really puts a barrier between the members, gun owners and renters which i happen to like because sometimes renters dont really care about the place and will be throwing paintballs around. Also, its not like a renter can't just walk up the stairs so if they have a question for an owner or a member they can just ask it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media